DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 5, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 – 2 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The recitations of “bacillus thuringiensis” should be properly identified as “Bacillus thuringiensis,” including proper italicized text and capitalization.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 4 and dependents are drawn to a spray dried pest control composition, however are rendered indefinite for reciting “using Laser Diffraction” because it is unclear whether the limitation requires active steps to be carried out, e.g., as in a product by process; or if the limitation is attempting to recite an intended use of the composition, e.g., a step of how the composition will be evaluated. Since the method of measuring particle size does not materially affect the actual particle size, for purposes of examination the limitation is not interpreted to materially change the composition itself, nor to limit the composition in any material way. Rather, the limitation is interpreted as an intended future means or use to qualify the composition, rather than limit the claimed composition.
In claims 3 – 5, the recitation of “of any one of” in line 1 renders the claims indefinite as it is unclear to what additional “claim 1” the claims refer. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and 102a2 as being anticipated by Fowler et al. (US 5851545) as evidenced by Wikipedia “Styrene,” Wikipedia “Styrene maleic anhydride” and “EPA” (2026).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Fowler teaches spray dried biopesticidal (pest control) compositions (col.3) comprising styrene/maleic anhydride copolymer (a polymer with at least 50% monomeric units of styrene, a monomer having log P of 2.7, See Wikipedia ““Styrene” and “Styrene maleic anhydride” which falls within the claimed range of 2.0 – 6.0) (col.5 line 8 – 21); and Bacillus thuringiensis (col.6); wherein the average particle size is 1 – 50 microns (col.7 line 60 – 67) which overlaps with the claimed range of 30nm – 100 microns and falls within the claimed range of 1 – 100 microns. Fowler teaches the polymer has a “high molecular weight” (col.5 line 15 – 20) which is defined as greater than 10,000 daltons (EPA, 2026), and encompasses the claimed molecular weight of 10,000 – 30,000 daltons.
Regarding the limitation of “using Laser Diffraction,” the limitation is regarded as a means to analyze the claimed composition, or an intended use of the composition, and does not further limit the composition itself. The intended use of (or later analysis of) the claimed composition does not patentably distinguish the composition, per se, since such undisclosed use is inherent in the reference composition. In order to be limiting, the intended use must create a structural difference between the claimed composition and the composition of the prior art. In the instant case, the intended use fails to create a structural difference, thus, the intended use is not limiting. Please note that when applicant claims a composition in terms of function, and the composition of the prior art appears to be the same, the Examiner may make rejections under both 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 (MPEP 2112).
Therefore, the reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fowler et al. (US 5851545) as evidenced by Wikipedia “Styrene,” Wikipedia “Styrene maleic anhydride” and “EPA” (2026).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Fowler teaches spray dried biopesticidal (pest control) compositions (col.3) comprising styrene/maleic anhydride copolymer (a polymer with at least 50% monomeric units of styrene, a monomer having log P of 2.7, See Wikipedia ““Styrene” and “Styrene maleic anhydride” which falls within the claimed range of 2.0 – 6.0) (col.5 line 8 – 21); and Bacillus thuringiensis (col.6); wherein the average particle size is 1 – 50 microns (col.7 line 60 – 67) which overlaps with the claimed range of 30 nm – 100 microns and 1 – 100 microns. Fowler teaches the polymer has a “high molecular weight” (col.5 line 15 – 20) defined as greater than 10,000 daltons (EPA, 2026), which encompasses the claimed molecular weight of 10,000 – 30,000 daltons.
Regarding the limitation of “using Laser Diffraction,” the limitation is regarded as a means to analyze the claimed composition, or an intended use of the composition, and does not further limit the composition itself. The intended use of (or later analysis of) the claimed composition does not patentably distinguish the composition, per se, since such undisclosed use is inherent in the reference composition. In order to be limiting, the intended use must create a structural difference between the claimed composition and the composition of the prior art. In the instant case, the intended use fails to create a structural difference, thus, the intended use is not limiting. Please note that when applicant claims a composition in terms of function, and the composition of the prior art appears to be the same, the Examiner may make rejections under both 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 (MPEP 2112).
Regarding claim 2, Fowler does not teach the composition comprising the claimed amount of polymer. However, Fowler teaches the active component, B. thuringiensis, is included at 30 – 90%, encompassing the claimed range of 1 – 50% and the polymer at 0.5 – 25% (col.5). At the time the claims were filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amounts of polymer since the polymer is disclosed as a functional component encapsulating and entrapping active toxins such that the toxins are delivered to the target pest (col.2). Thus, in following the teachings of Fowler, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimized the amount of polymer in the compositions disclosed therein, with a reasonable expectation for successfully obtaining an effective biopesticidal composition.
Regarding claim 3, Fowler does not teach the specifically claimed molecular weight of the polymer. However, Fowler teaches preferred polymers are “high molecular weight polymers” (col. 5) (or greater than 10,000 daltons, per EPA definition). Thus, in following the teachings of Fowler, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a polymer having the claimed molecular weight with a reasonable expectation for successfully obtaining an effective pesticidal composition.
Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 1 and 4 – 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fowler et al. (US 5851545) as evidenced by Wikipedia “Styrene,” Wikipedia “Styrene maleic anhydride” and “EPA” (2026) in view of CN 112438254 A.
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Fowler teaches spray dried biopesticidal (pest control) compositions (col.3) comprising styrene/maleic anhydride copolymer (a polymer with at least 50% monomeric units of styrene, a monomer having log P of 2.7, See Wikipedia ““Styrene” and “Styrene maleic anhydride” which falls within the claimed range of 2.0 – 6.0) (col.5 line 8 – 21); and Bacillus thuringiensis (col.6); wherein the average particle size is 1 – 50 microns (col.7 line 60 – 67) which overlaps with the claimed range of 30 nm – 100 microns and 1 – 100 microns. Fowler teaches the polymer has a “high molecular weight” (col.5 line 15 – 20) defined as greater than 10,000 daltons (EPA, 2026), which encompasses the claimed molecular weight of 10,000 – 30,000 daltons.
Regarding the limitation of “using Laser Diffraction,” the limitation is regarded as a means to analyze the claimed composition, or an intended use of the composition, and does not further limit the composition itself. The intended use of (or later analysis of) the claimed composition does not patentably distinguish the composition, per se, since such undisclosed use is inherent in the reference composition. In order to be limiting, the intended use must create a structural difference between the claimed composition and the composition of the prior art. In the instant case, the intended use fails to create a structural difference, thus, the intended use is not limiting. Please note that when applicant claims a composition in terms of function, and the composition of the prior art appears to be the same, the Examiner may make rejections under both 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 (MPEP 2112).
Regarding claim 5, Fowler does not teach the composition comprising the claimed copolymer. However, at the time the claims were filed, diisobutylene maleic anhydride copolymer was a well known and used copolymer for dispersing pesticides. In support, CN ‘254 teaches dispersing polymers for spray dried pesticides wherein the polymer is a copolymer of diisobutylene and maleic anhydride (DIBMA) (examples 1,3-6, claims). The reference teaches the polymers “solve the balance problem of the suspension percentage and the water absorbability in the pesticide dispersion process by limiting the composition and the proportion of the dispersing auxiliary agent, so that the prepared pesticide composition has high dispersion efficiency and low moisture absorbability” (p.2 of EngTrans). In this regard, the copolymer meets the requirements of Fowler including that the polymer “must be soluble in the environment of the insect gut…must not be soluble in the carrier of a formulation if the carrier is a liquid…must be substantially insoluble in the water used as a carrier in the spray tank and spray equipment” (col.5). Moreover, at the time the claims were, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use DIBMA in the compositions of Fowler since the polymer was well known and used in the art, was known to meet the requirements set forth by Fowler, and with a reasonable expectation for successfully obtaining an effective pesticidal composition.
Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 6 of copending Application No. 18/863 096 in view of Fowler et al. (US 5851545).
The reference application claims a pest control composition comprising a polymer, wherein the polymer has a weight average molecular weight from 15,000 daltons to 30,000 daltons and contains from 50 wt % to 70 wt % of monomeric structural units derived from a monomer with a log P of from 2.0 to 6.0; Bacillus thuringiensis; and water; wherein the polymer is from 0.10 wt % to 20.00 wt % of the composition; wherein the polymer contains from 50 wt % to 70 wt % of monomeric structural units derived from a monomer with log P of from 2.75 to 4.08l; wherein the polymer contains 90 wt % or greater of monomeric structural units derived from a monomer with log P of 1.0 or greater; and wherein the polymer comprises a copolymer of diisobutylene and maleic anhydride.
The reference patent does not claim the composition spray dried. However, Fowler teaches similar pesticidal compositions that are spray dried (col. 3, 7). In this regard, it was well known in the art to spray dry pesticidal compositions comprising B. thuringiensis and copolymers. As such, it would have been well within the purview of one in the art to spray dry the composition of the reference application as a matter of routine practice and procedure.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1 – 5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 4 of copending Application No. 18/863 109 in view of Fowler et al. (US 5851545).
The reference application claims a pest control composition comprising a polymer, a polymer, wherein the polymer has a weight average molecular weight from 10,000 daltons to 30,000 daltons and contains from 20 wt % to 100 wt % of monomeric structural units derived from a monomer with log P from 2.0 to 6.0; and Bacillus thuringiensis; wherein the polymer is from 0.10 to 20.00 wt % of the composition based upon a total weight of the combination; and wherein the polymer is a copolymer of diisobutylene and maleic anhydride.
The reference patent does not claim the composition spray dried. However, Fowler teaches similar pesticidal compositions that are spray dried (col. 3, 7). In this regard, it was well known in the art to spray dry pesticidal compositions comprising B. thuringiensis and copolymers. As such, it would have been well within the purview of one in the art to spray dry the composition of the reference application as a matter of routine practice and procedure.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
No claims are allowed.
/RUTH A DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699