Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BROSS et al . Pub . No .: US 2021/0368176, “BROSS” in view of Zhu et al. US pat. No.: 12432385B2 “”
Regarding claim 1, BROSS discloses a decoder (BROSS, ¶ 30 [0030] fig. 10) configured to decode a picture (BROSS, ¶ 31, as cited above) from a
data stream on a block by block basis (BROSS, ¶ 199),
the data stream comprising a plurality of
transform blocks to be decoded, each transform block (BROSS, ¶ 31) being subdivided into a plurality
of subblocks (BROSS, ¶ [0010]), wherein a subblock flag indicates whether transform coefficients in a respective subblock are all zero (BROSS, ¶ [0031], i.e. An embodiment according to this invention is an apparatus for decoding a picture using predictive coding and block-based transform residual coding, configured to select, for a predetermined transform block, a selected transformation out of a predetermined list of transformations, the selected transformation comprising the identity transformation and at least one non-identity transformation. The apparatus is configured to decode, for the predetermined transform block, a block of coefficients from the data stream by decoding the coefficients of the block of coefficients from the data stream in sub-blocks into which the block of coefficients is partitioned, by inferring coefficients within sub-blocks for which a sub-block flag in the data stream signals zeroness, to be zero, and decoding coefficients within sub-blocks for which a sub-block flag in the data stream signals non-zeroness from the data stream. If the selected transformation is one of the at least one non-identity transformation, the apparatus is configured to decode, for the predetermined transform block, a block of coefficients from the data stream by sequentially decoding the sub-block flags from the data stream except at least one of a first sub-block flag, and a last sub-block flag, and inferring the at least one of the first and last sub-block flags to signal non-zeroness. If the selected transformation is the identity transformation, the apparatus is configured to decode, for the predetermined transform block, a block of coefficients from the data stream by decoding the sub-block flags from the data stream for all sub-blocks. Furthermore the apparatus is configured to derive from the block of coefficients a residual sample array for the predetermined transform block so that the block of coefficients is related to the residual sample array according to the selected transformation and correct a prediction for the predetermined transform block using the residual sample array to reconstruct the predetermined transform block.) or not (BROSS, ¶ [0010], The level coding in HEVC, as well as in the current VVC development, is independent from the selected transform type. In VVC (Draft 3), the level coding is similar to that of HEVC. First, the bitstream includes a flag that signals the significance of a transform block (coded block flag, CBF), i.e., the existence of a quantization index (level) unequal to zero. Second, when the block is significant (i.e., it includes any quantization index not equal to zero), the last significant scanning position is specified as offsets from the root in x and y coordinates with the root being located on the top-left corner of the transform block. Transform blocks 84 larger than 4×4 are divided into disjoint 4×4 sub-blocks 84′ as illustrated in Figure. In the current VVC design, a diagonal scanning pattern 85 is used to scan the subblocks 84′ as well as the levels inside the subblock 84′.), and a significance flag (BROSS, ¶ [0013], For each sub-block that follows the sub-block with the last significant scanning position, a CBF is transmitted (coded_sub_block_flag). This subblock CBF signals the significance of the corresponding sub-block, except for the sub-block that contains the DC frequency position (top-left inside a transform block). Consequently, the levels at frequency positions covered by the top-left sub-block are always coded.) indicates whether a respective transform coefficient is zero or not
(BROSS, as cited above, see also BROSS, [0033], i.e. The apparatus is configured to decode, for the predetermined transform block, a block of coefficients from the data stream by decoding the coefficients of the block of coefficients from the data stream in sub-blocks into which the block of coefficients is partitioned, by inferring coefficients within sub-blocks for which a sub-block flag in the data stream signals zeroness, to be zero, and decoding coefficients within sub-blocks for which a sub-block flag in the data stream signals non-zeroness from the data stream, with decoding a currently decoded sub-block flag from the data stream by context adaptive entropy decoding and using a context.), the decoder comprising circuitry configured to:
determine a transform of a plurality of transforms (BROSS, ¶ 30) to apply to a current transform block of
the plurality of transform blocks to be decoded (BROSS, as cited above, i.e., [0199]);
when the transform is an identity transform (BROSS, ¶ [0204], According to an embodiment, the apparatus 100 is configured to in the decoding of the sub-block flags from the data stream for all sub-blocks, decode the sub-block flags from the data stream for all sub-blocks sequentially in a sub-block order, and infer the sub-block flag being last in sub-block order to signal non-zeroness, if all preceding sub-block flags preceding in sub-block order signal zeroness. Compare the above embodiments where in 2.b. it has been stated: “This also includes the coded_sub_block_flag for the DC subblock except when all other coded_sub_block_flag syntax elements are already equal to 0. In this case, the DC coded_sub_block_flag is inferred to be equal to 1” (Compare FIGS. 13a and 13b )),
if a current subblock of the plurality of subblocks is the last subblock scanned in
the current transform block, according to a first scan order associated with the
identity transform, and each subblock flag for each previously scanned subblock
in the current transform block is zero (BROSS, ¶ [0292] In an advantageous embodiment of the invention, the processing order of the levels coding for TSM is forward, i.e., the scanning starts with the DC frequency position and ends with the highest AC frequency position (compare FIG. 21)), infer the subblock flag for the last scanned subblock is one (see BROSS, ¶ [0293}, figure 21),
otherwise, decode the subblock flag for the current subblock from the data
stream (BROSS, ¶ [0204]); and
if the subblock flag for the current subblock is zero, infer that each transform
coefficient of the current subblock is zero (BROSS, ¶ [0031]), and
if the subblock flag for the current subblock is one,
decode the significance flags for the current subblock from the bitstream
except for a last scanned position of the current subblock, according to the
first scan order, and if each significance flag preceding the last scanned
position in the current subblock is zero, infer that the significance flag for
the last scanned position of the current subblock is one (BROSS, ¶ [0205]); and
when the transform is a non-identity transform (BROSS, ¶ 30, Fig. 10, see references 121 and 124 in figure 10),
decode a position of a predetermined non-zero transform coefficient (BROSS, ¶ 40, Fig. 10) of the
current transform block, according to a second scan order corresponding to the
non-identity transform, different from the first scan order (BROSS, [0199]),, and infer that each
transform coefficient in the current subblock preceding the position of the
predetermined non-zero transform coefficient, according to the second scan
order, is zero (BROSS, [0293], figure 21), and
if the current subblock is the last subblock scanned, according to the second
scan order, or is the subblock containing the predetermined non-zero transform
coefficient, infer the subblock flag for the current subblock is one (BROSS, ¶ [0203], and
decode any significance flags corresponding to transform coefficients of the
current subblock following the position of the predetermined non-zero transform
coefficient (BROSS, ¶ [0040]), according to the second scan order (BROSS, ¶ [0033]),
otherwise, decode the subblock flag for the current subblock (BROSS, ¶ [0203]), and
if the subblock flag for the current block is zero, infer that each transform
coefficient of the current subblock is zero (BROSS, ¶ [0203]), and
if the subblock flag for the current subblock is one,
decode the significance flags for the current subblock from the
bitstream (BROSS, ¶ 33).
It is noted that BROSS is silent about when the transform is a non-identity transform, and the current sub_block is neither the last subblock scanned, according to the second scan order, nor the subblock containing the predetermined non-zero transform coefficient, and the subblock flag for the current subblock is one as claimed.
However, ZHU teaches not to decode a significance flag for the last coefficient of the sub-block
ordered last and having a sub-block significance flag inferred to be equal to 1, if the
other coefficients within said sub-block are zero, and to infer said last coefficient to be
non-zero (see ZHU, col. 8, ln 64-col. 9, ln 35, i.e. [t]he coded_sub_block_flag for the subblock covering the DC frequency position (top-left subblock) presents a special case. In VVC Draft 3, the coded_sub_block_flag for this subblock is never signaled and always inferred to be equal to 1. When the last significant scanning position is located in another subblock, it means that there is at least one significant level outside the DC subblock. Consequently, the DC subblock may contain only zero/non-significant levels although the coded_sub_block_flag for this subblock is inferred to be equal to 1. With the absence of the last scanning position information in TS, the coded_sub_block_flag for each subblock is signaled. This also includes the coded_sub_block_flag for the DC subblock except when all other coded_sub_block_flag syntax elements are already equal to 0. In this case, the DC coded_sub_block_flag is inferred to be equal to 1 (inferDcSbCbf=1). Since there has to be at least one significant level in this DC subblock, the sig_coeff_flag syntax element for the first position at (0,0) is not signaled and derived to be equal to 1 (inferSbDcSigCoeffFlag=1) instead if all other sig_coeff_flag syntax elements in this DC subblock are equal to 0).
Both BROSS and ZHU teach systems with video compression, and those systems are comparable to that of the instant application. Because the two cited references are analogous to the instant application, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to include in the BROSS disclosure, skipping a coding flag, as taught by ZHU. Such inclusion would have increased the usefulness of the system by applying this teaching to any sub-block with a significance flag equal to 1 and wherein all coefficients other than the last one are zero to improve efficiency, and would have been consistent with the rationale of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results to show a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP 2143(I)(A)) under KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 2, BROSS/ZHU, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses the decoder of claim 1, wherein the first scan order (BROSS, ¶ [0011], figures 21) traverses the plurality of subblocks of the current transform block and the transform coefficients of each subblock in the current transform block in an opposite direction to the second scan order (see BROSS, ¶ [0293], and Fig. 25)
Regarding claim 3, BROSS/ZHU, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses the decoder of claim 1, wherein the first scan order and the second scan order traverse (BROSS, ¶ 11, figures 21) the plurality of subblocks of the transform block and the transform coefficients of each subblock diagonally (BROSS, ¶ [0292] and Fig. 25)
Regarding claim 4, BROSS/ZHU, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses the decoder of claim 1, configured to
when the transform is the non-identity transform,
decode the position of the predetermined non-zero transform coefficient of the transform block from the data stream comprising two coordinates indicative of a column and a row of the transform block (see BROSS, ¶ 202).
Regarding claim 5, BROSS/ZHU, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses the decoder of claim 1, wherein the number of significance flags corresponding to transform coefficients (BROSS, ¶ [0012]) of the current subblock following the position of the predetermined non-zero transform coefficient is zero, one or higher (see BROSS, ¶ [0030].the definition of the predetermined non-zero transform coefficient)
Regarding claim 6, BROSS/ZHU, for the same motivation of combination, discloses a method for decoding a picture from a data stream on a block by block basis (see rejection of claim 1), the data stream comprising a plurality of transform blocks to be decoded, each transform block being subdivided into a plurality of subblocks (see rejection of claim 1), wherein a subblock flag indicates whether transform coefficients in a respective subblock are all zero or not (see rejection of claim 1), and a significance flag indicates whether a respective transform coefficient is zero or not (see rejection of claim 1), the method comprising:
determining a transform of a plurality of transforms to apply to a current transform block of the plurality of transform blocks to be decoded (see rejection of claim 1);
when the transform is an identity transform (see rejection of claim 1),
if a current subblock of the plurality of subblocks is the last subblock scanned in the current transform block, according to a first scan order associated with the identity transform, and each subblock flag for each previously scanned subblock in the current transform block is zero, inferring the subblock flag for the last scanned subblock is one (see rejection of claim 1) otherwise, decoding the subblock flag for the current subblock from the data stream (see rejection of claim 1); and
if the subblock flag for the current subblock is zero, inferring that each transform coefficient of the current subblock is zero (see rejection of claim 1), and
if the subblock flag for the current subblock is one (see rejection of claim 1),
decoding the significance flags for the current subblock from the bitstream except for a last scanned position of the current subblock, according to the first scan order (see rejection of claim 1), and if each significance flag preceding the last scanned position in the current subblock is zero, inferring that the significance flag for the last scanned position of the current subblock is one (see rejection of claim 1); and
when the transform is a non-identity transform (see rejection of claim 1),
decoding a position of a predetermined non-zero transform coefficient of the current transform block, according to a second scan order corresponding to the non-identity transform, different from the first scan order, and inferring that each transform coefficient in the current subblock preceding the position of the predetermined non-zero transform coefficient, according to the second scan order, is zero, and
if the current subblock is the last subblock scanned, according to the second scan order, or is the subblock containing the predetermined non-zero transform coefficient, inferring the subblock flag for the current subblock is one, and decoding any significance flags corresponding to transform coefficients of the current subblock following the position of the predetermined non-zero transform coefficient, according to the second scan order (see rejection of claim 1),
otherwise, decoding the subblock flag for the current subblock, and
if the subblock flag for the current block is zero, inferring that each transform coefficient of the current subblock is zero, and
if the subblock flag for the current subblock is one,
decoding the signifance flags for the current subblock from the bitstream except for the last scanned position of the current subblock, according to the second scan order, and if each significance flag preceding the last scanned position in the current subblock is zero, inferring that the significance flag for the last scanned position of the current subblock is one (see rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, BROSS/ZHU, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the first scan order traverses the plurality of subblocks of the current transform block and the transform coefficients of each subblock in the current transform block in an opposite direction to the second scan order (see rejection of claim 2).
Regarding claim 8, BROSS/ZHU, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the first scan order and the second scan order traverse the plurality of subblocks of the transform block and the transform coefficients of each subblock diagonally (see rejection of claim 3).
Regarding claim 9, BROSS/ZHU, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses the method of claim 6, comprising
when the transform is the non-identity transform,
decoding the position of the predetermined non-zero transform coefficient of the transform block from the data stream comprising two coordinates indicative of a column and a row of the transform block (see rejection of claim 4, BROSS, ¶ 202)
Regarding claim 10, BROSS/ZHU, for the same motivation of combination, further discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the number of significance flags corresponding to transform coefficients of the current subblock following the position of the predetermined non-zero transform coefficient is zero, one or higher (see rejection of claim 5)
Regarding claim 11, BROSS/ZHU, for the same motivation of combination, discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium for implementing the method of claim 6 when being executed on a computer or signal processor (see rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 12, BROSS/ZHU, for the same motivation of combination, discloses a computer program product comprising program code portions for implementing the method of claim 6 when being executed on a computer or signal processor (see rejection of claim 1)
Regarding claim 13, BROSS/ZHU, for the same motivation of combination, discloses a datastream having a picture encoded therein for being decoded using a method according to claim 6 (see rejection of claim 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 11197003 B2 Unified constrains for the merge affine mode and the non-merge affine mode
US 11159817 B2 Conditions for updating LUTS
US 11159816 B2 Partial cost calculation
US 20210321136 A1 VIDEO SIGNAL PROCESSING METHOD AND APPARATUS USING MULTIPLE TRANSFORM KERNEL
US 11146785 B2 Selection of coded motion information for LUT updating
US 20210306654 A1 METHOD FOR ENCODING/DECODING IMAGE SIGNAL, AND DEVICE THEREFOR
/FRANK F HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485