DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 11/5/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-9, 11-16, 18-19, 21-24, 26-28 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price et al (US 20210400185 A1) in view of Menachem (US 20180227502 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Price teaches A method, comprising:
determining a scene condition for an image sensor of an image capture device (Figs. 1-3);
receiving motion data regarding movement of the image capture device (para. 0024; IMU 206 may be implemented in the HMD device 202 as described above, which may include accelerometers, gyroscopes, and/or a compass);
configuring the image sensor of the image capture device with a first image sensor configuration determined based on the motion data and the scene condition (Fig. 3; para. 0030; para. 0034: “in environments with low IMU movement and low signal, a reduced frame rate may be applied”; para. 0038: “As the light level drops, but the motion remains modest, the capture frequency may be reduced”; steps 310, 321; para. 0017: “During low signal, low motion conditions, frame rates may be reduced”);
receiving image data from the image sensor captured with the first image sensor configuration (step 340),
determining a video sequence by
but fails to teach
determining a video sequence by processing the image data based on the motion data.
However, in the same field of endeavor Menachem teaches
determining a video sequence by processing the image data based on the motion data (Figs. 6, 10; paras. 0047-0049; “each of the frames F2′, F4′, and F6′ may be generated based on acceleration measurements made during a time corresponding to their respective locations on the timeline 720”; para. 0051: “compensate for the reduced frame rate processing, the reduced rate image stream is up-converted to a higher frame rate”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Menachem in Price to have determining a video sequence by processing the image data based on the motion data for compensating for the reduced frame rate captured by the camera due to low light condition yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Price and Menachem teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Price teaches wherein:
configuring the image sensor comprises configuring the image sensor with a first readout duration based on the motion data indicating movement of the image capture device meets a first criteria (Fig. 3; para. 0030; para. 0034: “in environments with low IMU movement and low signal, a reduced frame rate may be applied”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Price and Menachem teaches everything as claimed in claim 2. In addition, Price teaches wherein configuring the image sensor with the first readout duration is further based on the scene condition indicating a low-light scene (Fig. 3; para. 0030; para. 0034: “in environments with low IMU movement and low signal, a reduced frame rate may be applied”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Price and Menachem teaches everything as claimed in claim 2. In addition, Price teaches wherein the first criteria comprises a local motion below a local motion threshold and a global motion below a global motion threshold (Fig. 3; para. 0030; para. 0034: “reducing a frame rate of the imaging device responsive to the amount of motion being below a motion threshold. For example, in environments with low IMU movement and low signal, a reduced frame rate may be applied,”; para. 0063; the amount of motion meets both local and global).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Price and Menachem teaches everything as claimed in claim 2. In addition, Price teaches wherein configuring the image sensor with the first readout duration comprises configuring the image sensor with a first frame rate (Fig. 3; para. 0030, 0034).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Price and Menachem teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Menachem teaches wherein processing the image data comprises performing frame rate conversion (FRC) on the image data to increase a frame rate of image data, wherein performing the frame rate conversion (FRC) is based on the motion data indicating movement of the image capture device meets a first criteria (Figs. 6, 10; paras. 0047-0049; “each of the frames F2′, F4′, and F6′ may be generated based on acceleration measurements made during a time corresponding to their respective locations on the timeline 720”; para. 0051: “compensate for the reduced frame rate processing, the reduced rate image stream is up-converted to a higher frame rate”; para. 0066: “the rate at which frames are dropped may be based on a level of motion detected in the frames”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Menachem in the combination to have wherein processing the image data comprises performing frame rate conversion (FRC) on the image data to increase a frame rate of image data, wherein performing the frame rate conversion (FRC) is based on the motion data indicating movement of the image capture device meets a first criteria for compensating for the reduced frame rate captured by the camera due to low light and motion conditions yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Price and Menachem teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, the combination of Price and Menachem teaches wherein:
configuring the image sensor comprises configuring the image sensor with a first frame rate based on the motion data indicating movement of the image capture device meets a first criteria and the scene condition meets a second criteria (Price: Fig. 3; para. 0030; para. 0034: “in environments with low IMU movement and low signal, a reduced frame rate may be applied”; para. 0038: “As the light level drops, but the motion remains modest, the capture frequency may be reduced”; steps 310, 321; para. 0017: “During low signal, low motion conditions, frame rates may be reduced”; Price’s two conditions cause to reduce frame rate), and processing the image data comprises performing frame rate conversion (FRC) on the image data to increase a frame rate of image data from the first frame rate to a second frame rate higher than the first frame rate (Menachem’s para. 0051: “compensate for the reduced frame rate processing, the reduced rate image stream is up-converted to a higher frame rate”) based on the motion data indicating movement of the image capture device meets the first criteria and the scene condition meets the second criteria (Price’s two conditions cause to reduce frame rate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Menachem in the combination to have processing the image data comprises performing frame rate conversion (FRC) on the image data to increase a frame rate of image data from the first frame rate to a second frame rate higher than the first frame rate for compensating for the reduced frame rate captured by the camera due to low light condition yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Price and Menachem teaches everything as claimed in claim 8. In addition, Price teaches wherein the second criteria is a brightness level below a brightness threshold (Fig. 3; step 310; para. 0030).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Price and Menachem teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Price teaches An apparatus (Figs. 1-3), comprising:
a memory storing processor-readable code; and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, the at least one processor configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to perform operations (Figs. 1-3; para. 0023) including: (corresponding features as presented in claim 1).
Regarding claims 12-16, 18 and 19, claims 12-16, 18 and 19 reciting features corresponding to claims 2-6, 8 and 9 are also rejected for the same reasons above, respectively.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Price and Menachem teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Price teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor (Figs. 1-3; para. 0023), cause the processor to perform operations comprising: (corresponding features as presented in claim 1).
Regarding claims 22-24, claims 22-24 reciting features corresponding to claims 2 and 8-9 are also rejected for the same reasons above, respectively.
Regarding claim 26, Price teaches An image capture device (Figs. 1-3), comprising:
a display (Fig. 2; 236);
a motion sensor (IMU 206);
a first camera comprising a first image sensor (para. 0024; camera 204);
a memory storing processor-readable code; and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, to the motion sensor, to the display, and to the first camera, the at least one processor configured to execute the processor-readable code to cause the at least one processor to perform operations (Figs. 1-3; para. 0023) including:
determining a scene condition for the first image sensor (paras. 0030-0031);
receiving motion data based on output from the motion sensor, the motion data indicating a movement of the image capture device (para. 0024; IMU 206 may be implemented in the HMD device 202 as described above, which may include accelerometers, gyroscopes, and/or a compass);
determining an image capture configuration, the image capture configuration comprising: a first image sensor configuration comprising a frame rate value; and
configuring the first image sensor based on the image capture configuration (para. 0034);
receiving image data from the first image sensor captured with the first image sensor configuration (Fig. 3; para. 0049; steps 330-340); and
determining a video sequence by processing the image data based on the image capture configuration (Fig. 3; para. 0049; steps 310-340),
but fails to teach
determining a frame rate conversion (FRC) configuration.
However, in the same field of endeavor Menachem teaches
determining a frame rate conversion (FRC) configuration (Figs. 6, 10; paras. 0047-0049; “each of the frames F2′, F4′, and F6′ may be generated based on acceleration measurements made during a time corresponding to their respective locations on the timeline 720”; para. 0051: “compensate for the reduced frame rate processing, the reduced rate image stream is up-converted to a higher frame rate”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Menachem in Price to have determining a frame rate conversion (FRC) configuration for compensating for the reduced frame rate captured by the camera due to low light condition yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Price and Menachem teaches everything as claimed in claim 26. In addition, Price teaches wherein determining an image capture configuration comprises determining the frame rate value to be a first frame rate based on: the motion data indicating movement of the image capture device meets a first criteria, and a brightness level for a scene of the first image sensor meets a second criteria (Fig. 3; para. 0030; para. 0034: “in environments with low IMU movement and low signal, a reduced frame rate may be applied”; para. 0038: “As the light level drops, but the motion remains modest, the capture frequency may be reduced”; steps 310, 321; para. 0017: “During low signal, low motion conditions, frame rates may be reduced).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Price and Menachem teaches everything as claimed in claim 27. In addition, the combination of Price and Menachem teaches wherein determining an image capture configuration comprises determining to include frame rate conversion (FRC) when processing the image data based on: the motion data indicating movement of the image capture device meets a first criteria, and a brightness level for a scene of the first image sensor meets a second criteria (Price: Fig. 3; para. 0030; para. 0034: “in environments with low IMU movement and low signal, a reduced frame rate may be applied”; para. 0038: “As the light level drops, but the motion remains modest, the capture frequency may be reduced”; steps 310, 321; para. 0017: “During low signal, low motion conditions, frame rates may be reduced; Menachem: para. 0051: “compensate for the reduced frame rate processing, the reduced rate image stream is up-converted to a higher frame rate” for the reasons presented in claim 26).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Price and Menachem teaches everything as claimed in claim 28. In addition, the combination of Price and Menachem teaches further comprising:
displaying the video sequence on the display (Price: fig. 3, step 340), wherein the video sequence has a second frame rate higher than the first frame rate (Menachem: para. 0051: “compensate for the reduced frame rate processing, the reduced rate image stream is up-converted to a higher frame rate” for the reasons presented in claim 26).
Claim(s) 7, 10, 17, 20, 25 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price et al (US 20210400185 A1) in view of Menachem (US 20180227502 A1) as applied to claim 6 or 9 above, and further in view of Lu et al (US 20250225663 A1).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Price and Menachem teaches everything as claimed in claim 6. In addition, Menachem teaches
performing frame rate conversion (FRC) comprises motion interpolating frames in the image data to increase a frame rate when the motion data does not meet the second criteria (Figs. 7-10; paras. 0065-0076, 0085: “block 810 may collect the acceleration measurements illustrated in FIG. 6, timeline 605. Block 810 may also determine a stabilization transform based on the acceleration measurements. For example, a variance-stabilizing transformation may be calculated based on the frame read in block 805 and at least one previous frame”; “the rate at which frames are dropped may be based on a level of motion detected in the frames”; “Back-end processing may also include stabilization of the replacement frame”) for the reasons presented in claim 1,
but fails to teach
wherein: performing frame rate conversion (FRC) comprises repeating frames in the image data to increase a frame rate when the motion data meets a second criteria; and
performing frame rate conversion (FRC) comprises motion interpolating frames in the image data to increase a frame rate when the motion data does not meet the second criteria.
However, in the same field of endeavor Lu teaches
wherein: performing frame rate conversion (FRC) comprises repeating frames in the image data to increase a frame rate when the motion data meets a second criteria (Fig. 5; paras. 0095-0098; steps 505, 508; copying frame when motion data 505 meets); and
performing frame rate conversion (FRC) comprises motion interpolating frames in the image data to increase a frame rate when the motion data does not meet the second criteria (Fig. 5; steps 505, 506, 509; interpolating frame when motion data 505 does not meet).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Lu in the combination to have wherein: performing frame rate conversion (FRC) comprises repeating frames in the image data to increase a frame rate when the motion data meets a second criteria; and performing frame rate conversion (FRC) comprises motion interpolating frames in the image data to increase a frame rate when the motion data does not meet the second criteria for optimizing frame generation based on different motion conditions yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 reciting similar features corresponding to claim 7 is also rejected for the same reasons above.
Regarding claims 17 and 20, claims 17 and 20 reciting features corresponding to claims 7 and 10 are also rejected for the same reasons above, respectively.
Regarding claim 25, claim 25 reciting similar features corresponding to claim 10/7 is also rejected for the same reasons above.
Regarding claim 29, claim 29 reciting similar features corresponding to claim 10/7 is also rejected for the same reasons above.
Conclusion
/Quan Pham/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637