DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a protection assembly” in claim 1, “an abutting assembly” in claim 3, “an intake protection assembly” in claim 3, and “an exhaust protection assembly” in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a protection assembly”. It is unclear what structure is encompassed by the metes and bounds of “a protection assembly” in claim 1.
Dependent claim 3 recites “an intake protection assembly”. It is unclear what structure is encompassed by the metes and bounds of “an intake protection assembly” in claim 3 because the structure corresponding to “an intake protection assembly” would appear to overlap (at least to some extent) the structure that corresponds to “a protection assembly” in claim 1.
Dependent claim 3 recites “an abutting assembly”. It is unclear what structure is encompassed by the metes and bounds of “an abutting assembly” in claim 3 because the structure corresponding to “an abutting assembly” would appear to overlap (at least to some extent) the structure that corresponds to “a protection assembly” in claim 1 and/or “an intake protection assembly” in claim 3. Note that claim 4 would appear to have some structure (e.g. projections) to be part of both the abutting assembly, the intake protection assembly (and perhaps the protection assembly).
Dependent claim 9 recites “an exhaust protection assembly”. It is unclear what structure is encompassed by the metes and bounds of “an exhaust protection assembly” in claim 9 because the structure corresponding to “an exhaust protection assembly” would appear to overlap (at least to some extent) the structure that corresponds to “a protection assembly” in claim 1.
Claim 1 recites “a compression spring”. Claim 3 recites “an intake spring”. Claim 9 recites “an exhaust spring”. The springs in the dependent claims appear to overlap in scope (at least to some extent) with the spring recited in claim 1. It is unclear if the recitations are meant to refer to the same spring or different springs.
Claim 1 recites “an air hole”. Claim 3 recites “an intake hole”. Claim 9 recites “an exhaust hole”. The holes in the dependent claims appear to overlap in scope (at least to some extent) with the hole recited in claim 1. It is unclear if the recitations are meant to refer to the same hole or different holes.
Claim 1 recites “a valve core”. Claim 3 recites “an intake valve core”. Claim 9 recites “an exhaust valve core”. The valve cores in the dependent claims appear to overlap in scope (at least to some extent) with the valve core recited in claim 1. It is unclear if the recitations are meant to refer to the same valve core or different valve cores.
Claim 1 recites “an annular wall”. Claim 3 recites “an intake annular wall”. Claim 9 recites “an exhaust annular wall”. The annular walls in the dependent claims appear to overlap in scope (at least to some extent) with the annular wall recited in claim 1. It is unclear if the recitations are meant to refer to the same annular wall or different annular walls.
Claim 1 recites “a radial ventilation passage”. Claim 3 recites “an intake passage”. Claim 9 recites “an exhaust passage”. The passsage in the dependent claims appear to overlap in scope (at least to some extent) with the passage recited in claim 1. It is unclear if the recitations are meant to refer to the same passage or different passages.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 9 (as understood) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schroeder et alia (US Patent Number 6,719,003), hereinafter “Schroeder”.
Re claim 1, Schroeder discloses a ventilation structure of a refrigerant recovery machine (see the embodiments shown in Figs. 4-10), comprising: a valve seat (the portion that 154, 155, or 454 seats upon, see Figs. 4-6 and 10) provided with an air hole (the path through the valve seat when the valve core is not seated on the valve seat); a valve core (140, 148) axially movable relative to the air hole; a compression spring (144) mounted on the valve core: and a protection assembly (124, 168) provided on the valve seat (in Figs. 4-6, the protection assembly is the upper portion provided with the valve and in Fig. 10, the protection assembly is a separate component), wherein the protection assembly is provided with an annular wall, the annular wall surrounds the compression spring (see Figs. 4, 5, and 7), the compression spring is located at a distance from the valve seat (above the seat as shown in Figs. 4, 5, and 7), and a region of the protection assembly between the compression spring and the valve seat forms a radial ventilation passage (172).
Re claim 2, Schroeder discloses the ventilation structure of the refrigerant recovery machine according to claim 1, wherein the protection assembly is provided with a guide portion (the narrow portion surrounding the valve core) for guiding a central part of the valve core, and the compression spring is further away from the air hole than the guide portion (see Figs. 4, 5 and 7).
Re claim 3, Schroeder discloses the ventilation structure of the refrigerant recovery machine according to claim 1, wherein the ventilation structure of the refrigerant recovery machine comprises an intake structure, and the intake structure comprises: the valve seat provided with an intake hole (air hole of claim 1); an intake valve core (valve core of claim 1) axially movable relative to the intake hole; an abutting assembly (read as part of the protection assembly of claim 1 and/or the portion of the valve core that the spring abuts against) mounted at the end of the intake valve core away from the intake hole; an intake protection assembly (protection assembly of claim 1) provided on the valve seat; and an intake spring (compression spring from claim 1) sleeving the intake valve core and respectively abutting against the intake protection assembly and the abutting assembly, wherein the intake protection assembly is provided with an intake annular wall (intake wall of claim 1), the intake annular wall surrounds the intake spring, the intake spring is located at a distance from the valve seat, and a region of the intake protection assembly between the intake spring and the valve seat forms an intake passage (172).
Re claim 9, Schroeder discloses the ventilation structure of the refrigerant recovery machine according to claim 1, wherein the ventilation structure of the refrigerant recovery machine comprises an exhaust structure, and the exhaust structure comprises: the valve seat (valve seat of claim 1) provided with an exhaust hole (air hole of claim 1); an exhaust valve core (valve core of claim 1) axially movable relative to the exhaust hole (air hole of claim 1); an exhaust protection assembly (protection assembly of claim 1) provided on the valve seat and provided with an exhaust guide portion (the narrow portion of the protection assembly surrounding the valve core) for guiding the exhaust valve core; and an exhaust spring (compression spring of claim 1) provided on the exhaust valve core and respectively abutting against the exhaust protection assembly and the exhaust valve core (see Figs. 4, 5, and 7), wherein the exhaust protection assembly is provided with an exhaust annular wall (annular wall of claim 1), the exhaust annular wall surrounds the exhaust spring, the exhaust spring is located at a distance from the valve seat, and a region of the exhaust protection assembly between the exhaust spring and the valve seat forms an exhaust passage (172).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8 and 10 may be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. However, this is dependent on the nature of the amendments to overcome the 35 USC 112 rejections above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim and Park disclose similar ventilation valves in refrigerant systems.
/ERIC KEASEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753