DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 11/05/2024. Claims 1-17 are pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Drawing
The drawing submitted on 11/05/2024 is acknowledged and accepted by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/05/2024, 06/24/2025, 10/28/2025, and 06/02/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (IEEE_ Steady-State Characterization of LLC-Based Single-Stage AC/DC Converter Based on Numerical Analysis, hereinafter Li).
Claim 1, Li teaches an isolated matrix converter (figure 3), comprising:
a bidirectional switching module (e.g., S1u/S1d, S2u/S2d); a transformer (e.g., the transformer); a resonant inductor (e.g., Lr); a resonant capacitor (e.g., Cr); and a bridge arm capacitor (e.g., C1, C2), wherein the bidirectional switching module is connected in series with the bridge arm capacitor to form a bridge arm of the converter, and each bridge arm of the converter comprises the at least one bidirectional switching module (e.g., see Fig. 3); a primary winding of the transformer (e.g., the primary winding of the transformer) is connected in series with the resonant inductor and the resonant capacitor to form a branch, and the branch is connected between two terminals of the bridge arm of the converter (e.g., see figure 3); the bidirectional switching module comprises a clamping capacitor (e.g., the parallel connected capacitors with S1u, Sd1d or S2u, Sd2d respectively) and a bidirectional switching unit (e.g., the circuit comprising S1u, Sd1d or S2u, Sd2d, and the respective parallel connected dioses), wherein the bidirectional switching unit forms two bridge arms of the module, and two terminals of the clamping capacitor are connected to two terminals of each of the two bridge arms of the module, wherein the clamping capacitor is connected to two upper bridge arms or to two lower bridge arms of the two bridge arms to form a clamping absorption circuit (e.g., the absorption by the capacitors is implicitly taught), and wherein the bidirectional switching unit comprises at least two controllable switching transistors (e.g., S1u, Sd1d or S2u, Sd2d respectively, see para 3-4, col. 1, page 9973; Fig. 3); the clamping capacitor is configured to suppress a voltage spike generated in a switching process of the at least two controllable switching transistors in the bidirectional switching module (e.g., voltage/current spike across S1u, Sd1d, S2u, or Sd2d being suppressed or damped by their parallel connected capacitors is implicitly taught, see para 3-4, col. 1, page 9973; Fig. 3).
For method claims 12, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 2-7, 9-11, 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Li et al. (IEEE_ Steady-State Characterization of LLC-Based Single-Stage AC/DC Converter Based on Numerical Analysis, hereinafter Li), in view of Budo et al. (NPL_IEEE_ A Unidirectional Isolated Secondary-Resonant Medium-Voltage AC-DC Converter, hereinafter Budo).
Claims 2 and 13, Li teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 12 as discussed above. Li does not explicitly disclose that wherein the bidirectional switching module comprises two controllable switching transistors, and the two controllable switching transistors are arranged at the two upper bridge arms or at the two lower bridge arms.
Budo discloses an isolated matrix converter with having bidirectional switching module in its bridge arms (e.g., the module, see Fig. 1). It further discloses that the bidirectional switching module comprises two controllable switching transistors (e.g., the four MOSFETs and Cm) respectively, and the two controllable switching transistors are arranged at the two upper bridge arms or at the two lower bridge arms (e.g., the module, see Fig. 1).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Li by including the bidirectional switching module comprising two controllable switching transistors arranged at the two upper bridge arms or at the two lower bridge arms as taught by Budo in order of being able to provide downsized and high-efficient AC-DC converter (e.g., see Abstract).
Claims 3 and 14, the combination of Li and Budo teaches the limitations of claim 2 and 13 as discussed above. Li does not explicitly disclose that wherein the bidirectional switching module comprises the following four controllable switching transistors: a first switching transistor, a second switching transistor, a third switching transistor and a fourth switching transistor; wherein a first terminal of the first switching transistor and a first terminal of the third switching transistor are connected to a first terminal of the clamping capacitor, a second terminal of the second switching transistor and a second terminal of the fourth switching transistor are connected to a second terminal of the clamping capacitor, a second terminal of the first switching transistor is connected to a first terminal of the second switching transistor, and a second terminal of the third switching transistor is connected to a first terminal of the fourth switching transistor; and a common terminal of the first switching transistor and the second switching transistor serves as a first terminal of the bidirectional switching module, and a common terminal of the third switching transistor and the fourth switching transistor serves as a second terminal of the bidirectional switching module.
Budo further discloses that wherein the bidirectional switching module comprises the following four controllable switching transistors: a first switching transistor, a second switching transistor, a third switching transistor and a fourth switching transistor (e.g., the four MOSFET transistors of the Module); wherein a first terminal of the first switching transistor and a first terminal of the third switching transistor are connected to a first terminal of the clamping capacitor (e.g., Cm), a second terminal of the second switching transistor and a second terminal of the fourth switching transistor are connected to a second terminal of the clamping capacitor, a second terminal of the first switching transistor is connected to a first terminal of the second switching transistor, and a second terminal of the third switching transistor is connected to a first terminal of the fourth switching transistor; and a common terminal of the first switching transistor and the second switching transistor serves as a first terminal of the bidirectional switching module, and a common terminal of the third switching transistor and the fourth switching transistor serves as a second terminal of the bidirectional switching module (e.g., see the Module in Fig. 3).
Budo reads the dame obviousness as discussed in the claim 2 rejection above).
Claim 4, the combination of Li and Budo teaches the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above. Li does not explicitly disclose that wherein the bidirectional switching module comprises the following three controllable switching transistors and a diode: a first switching transistor, a second switching transistor, a third switching transistor, and a first diode, wherein the first switching transistor is connected in series with the second switching transistor to form a first bridge arm of the module, and the third switching transistor is connected in series with the first diode to form a second bridge arm of the module.
Budo further discloses that wherein the bidirectional switching module comprises the following three controllable switching transistors and a diode (e.g., the corresponding MOSFET transistors and the respective Diode in the Module in Fig. 3): a first switching transistor, a second switching transistor, a third switching transistor, and a first diode, wherein the first switching transistor is connected in series with the second switching transistor to form a first bridge arm of the module, and the third switching transistor is connected in series with the first diode to form a second bridge arm of the module (e.g., see the corresponding MOSFET transistors and the respective Diode in the Module in Fig. 3).
Budo reads the dame obviousness as discussed in the claim 2 rejection above.
Claim 5, the combination of Li and Budo teaches the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above. Li does not explicitly disclose that wherein the bidirectional switching module comprises the following two controllable switching transistors and two diodes: a first switching transistor and a second switching transistor, a first diode and a second diode, wherein the first switching transistor is connected in series with the first diode to form a first bridge arm of the module, and the second switching transistor connected in series with the second diode to form a second bridge arm of the module.
Budo further discloses that wherein the bidirectional switching module comprises the following two controllable switching transistors and two diodes (e.g., the corresponding MOSFET transistors and the respective Diode in the Module in Fig. 3): a first switching transistor and a second switching transistor, a first diode and a second diode, wherein the first switching transistor is connected in series with the first diode to form a first bridge arm of the module, and the second switching transistor connected in series with the second diode to form a second bridge arm of the module (e.g., see the corresponding MOSFET transistors and the respective Diode in the Module in Fig. 3).
Budo reads the dame obviousness as discussed in the claim 2 rejection above.
Claims 6 and 15, the combination of Li and Budo teaches the limitations of claim 1 and 12 as discussed above. Li does not explicitly disclose that at least two bidirectional switching modules connected in series, wherein the converter further comprises a controller, configured to: control the controllable switching transistors in the bidirectional switching unit to operate to discharge the clamping capacitor if a voltage of the clamping capacitor is greater than a first preset voltage, until the voltage of the clamping capacitor is less than a second preset voltage, to achieve a voltage balance among the at least two bidirectional switching modules, wherein the first preset voltage is greater than the second preset voltage.
Budo further discloses that at least two bidirectional switching modules connected in series (e.g., see Fig. 3), wherein the converter further comprises a controller (e.g., the Controller, see Fig. 4), configured to: control the controllable switching transistors in the bidirectional switching unit to operate to discharge the clamping capacitor if a voltage of the clamping capacitor is greater than a first preset voltage, until the voltage of the clamping capacitor is less than a second preset voltage, to achieve a voltage balance among the at least two bidirectional switching modules, wherein the first preset voltage is greater than the second preset voltage (e.g., an upper limit and a lower limit during the regulation of the Vc to its average voltage reference Vc* is implicitly taught, see Section Capacitor Voltage Average Control, Col 2, page 904, Fig. 4).
Budo reads the dame obviousness as discussed in the claim 2 rejection above.
Claims 7 and 16, Li teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 12 as discussed above. Li does not explicitly disclose that at least two bidirectional switching modules connected in series, wherein the converter further comprises a controller, configured to: control the controllable switching transistors in the bidirectional switching unit to operate to charge the clamping capacitor if a voltage of the clamping capacitor is less than a third preset voltage, until the voltage of the clamping capacitor is greater than a fourth preset voltage, to achieve a voltage balance among the at least two bidirectional switching modules, wherein the third preset voltage is less than the fourth preset voltage.
Budo further discloses that at least two bidirectional switching modules connected in series (e.g., see Fig. 3), wherein the converter further comprises a controller (e.g., the Controller, see Fig. 4), configured to: control the controllable switching transistors in the bidirectional switching unit to operate to charge the clamping capacitor if a voltage of the clamping capacitor is less than a third preset voltage, until the voltage of the clamping capacitor is greater than a fourth preset voltage, to achieve a voltage balance among the at least two bidirectional switching modules, wherein the third preset voltage is less than the fourth preset voltage (e.g., an upper limit and a lower limit during the regulation of the Vc to its average voltage reference Vc* is implicitly taught, see Section Capacitor Voltage Average Control, Col 2, page 904, Fig. 4).
Budo reads the dame obviousness as discussed in the claim 2 rejection above.
Claim 9, Li teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Li does not explicitly disclose that wherein the number of the bidirectional switching unit in the each bridge arm of the converter is more than one, and the more than one bidirectional switching unit is connected in series.
Budo further discloses that wherein the number of the bidirectional switching unit in the each bridge arm of the converter is more than one, and the more than one bidirectional switching unit is connected in series (e.g., see Fig. 3).
Budo reads the dame obviousness as discussed in the claim 2 rejection above.
Claim 10, Li teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Li does not explicitly disclose that wherein a secondary winding of the transformer is connected to a rectifier bridge, and the rectifier bridge comprises at least one of a diode or a controllable switching transistor.
Budo further discloses that wherein a secondary winding of the transformer is connected to a rectifier bridge, and the rectifier bridge comprises at least one of a diode or a controllable switching transistor (e.g., the diode based bridge rectifier-circuit, see Fig. 3).
Budo reads the dame obviousness as discussed in the claim 2 rejection above.
Claim 11, the combination of Li and Budo teaches the limitations of claim 9 as discussed above. Li further teaches that wherein the transformer comprises a plurality of secondary windings (e.g., the two secondary windings, see Fig. 3), and each of the plurality of secondary windings is connected to a corresponding rectifier bridge.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matters:
For claim 8, the closet prior art (which has been made of record) fail to disclose (by themselves or in combination): “control a switching transistor bearing a voltage stress in the maximum phase to operate at a preset duty ratio; turn on a switching transistor in a sub-maximum phase before a bidirectional switching module in the maximum phase is turned off, wherein the sub-maximum phase has an intermediate absolute value of a voltage, and the switching transistor bears no voltage stress when the switching transistor in the maximum phase is turned on, and turn on a switching transistor bearing a voltage stress in the sub-maximum phase after the bidirectional switching module in the maximum phase is turned off; and turn on a switching transistor in a minimum phase before a bidirectional switching module in the sub-maximum phase is turned off, wherein the minimum phase has a minimum absolute value of a voltage, and the switching transistor bears no voltage stress when the bidirectional switching module in the sub-maximum phase is turned on; and turn on a switching transistor bearing a voltage stress in the minimum phase after the bidirectional switching module in the sub-maximum phase is turned off”.
For claim 17, the closet prior art (which has been made of record) fail to disclose (by themselves or in combination): “controlling a switching transistor bearing a voltage stress in the maximum phase to operate at a preset duty ratio; turning on a switching transistor in a sub-maximum phase before a bidirectional switching module in the maximum phase is turned off, wherein the sub-maximum phase has an intermediate absolute value of a voltage, and the switching transistor bears no voltage stress when the switching transistor in the maximum phase is turned on, and turning on a switching transistor bearing a voltage stress in the sub-maximum phase after the bidirectional switching module in the maximum phase is turned off; and turning on a switching transistor in a minimum phase before a bidirectional switching module in the sub-maximum phase is turned off, wherein the minimum phase has a minimum absolute value of a voltage, and the switching transistor bears no voltage stress when the bidirectional switching module in the sub-maximum phase is turned on; and turning on a switching transistor bearing a voltage stress in the minimum phase after the bidirectional switching module in the sub-maximum phase is turned off”.
Examiner's Note:
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/JUE ZHANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838