DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17, 22 and 24-25 are pending. Claims 1-17, 22 and 24-25 have been examined and are rejected.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. Paragraph 0011 of the specification as filed states “FIG. 1 illustrates an example live streaming interface according to a conventional approach”. The term “conventional” indicates lack of originality and therefore, Figure 1 is an illustration of that which is old. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “processing unit” in claim 24.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: "actual processor” (see paragraph 0147 of the specification as filed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 claim 25 is directed towards transitory propagating signals. A broad but reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer readable medium (also called machine readable medium and other such variations) typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and also transitory propagating signals in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media. When the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim covers a signal, the claim must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as covering non-statutory subject matter. A claim drawn to such a computer readable medium that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments may be amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 by adding the limitation “non-transitory” to the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 24 recites “causing the apparatus”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the apparatus” in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 12, 14 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Springer et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0353835).
Regarding claims 1, 24 and 25, Springer teaches A method for live streaming interface interaction, comprising: receiving a predetermined request for a live streaming interface, (Springer, see fig. 2; see paragraph 0041 connecting participants to a live communication stream via their respective client devices…; see paragraph 0054 receives a request to place a chosen selector component from the asset selector section into a specified location in the canvas section...request may take the form of a participant using the client device interactively selecting one or more UI components in such a way that a request is triggered)
the live streaming interface providing, in real time, content associated with a target session established in a live stream; (Springer, see figs. 3A-4D; see paragraph 0041 connecting participants to a live communication stream via their respective client devices…; see paragraph 0081 the user has selected various selector components to be placed within the canvas section, particularly App 4, Video Stream 1, Video Stream 2, and Content Share 1...)
causing a target interface corresponding to the predetermined request to be presented; and (Springer, see fig. 2; see paragraph 0065 where the system presents, at the client device in substantially real time upon receiving the request, the chosen selector component within the specified location in the canvas section at the determined size while concurrently recompositing the canvas assets in the canvas section...)
superimposing, on the target interface, a window associated with the live streaming interface, (Springer, see paragraph 0056 a user selecting multiple canvas assets within the canvas section within an intention to overlay one canvas asset on top of another…)
the window at least displaying description information associated with at least one participant in the target session. (Springer, see paragraph 0053 where UI displays a number of participant windows...the participant's name (e.g., real name or chosen username) may appear in the participant window as well…)
Regarding claim 2, Springer teaches wherein receiving the predetermined request for the live streaming interface comprises: receiving a first request to jump to the target interface; receiving a second request to exit the live streaming interface; or receiving a third request to display the live streaming interface in a windowed manner. (Springer, see fig. 2; see paragraph 0041 connecting participants to a live communication stream via their respective client devices…; see paragraph 0054 receives a request to place a chosen selector component from the asset selector section into a specified location in the canvas section...request may take the form of a participant using the client device interactively selecting one or more UI components in such a way that a request is triggered)
Regarding claim 3, Springer teaches wherein the description information associated with the at least one participant comprises: a text identification of the at least one participant; and/or an image identification of the at least one participant. (Springer, see paragraph 0053 where UI displays a number of participant windows...the participant's name (e.g., real name or chosen username) may appear in the participant window as well…)
Regarding claim 4, Springer teaches wherein the description information associated with the at least one participant comprises: a dynamic graphic corresponding to an audio stream from the at least one participant; and/or a video stream from the at least one participant. (Springer, see paragraph 0053 where UI displays a number of participant windows...include video, such as, e.g., video of the participant or some representation of the participant, a room the participant is in or a virtual background, and/or some other visuals the participant may wish to share (e.g., a document, image, animation, or other visuals)...the participant's name (e.g., real name or chosen username) may appear in the participant window as well…)
Regarding claim 12, Springer teaches wherein the predetermined request corresponds to a second user, and the second user is a viewer of the target session. (Springer, see figs. 2 and 4A-4D Users A and B (second user); see paragraph 0041 connecting participants to a live communication stream via their respective client devices…; see paragraph 0054 receives a request to place a chosen selector component from the asset selector section into a specified location in the canvas section...request may take the form of a participant using the client device interactively selecting one or more UI components in such a way that a request is triggered)
Regarding claim 14, Springer teaches wherein the predetermined request corresponds to a third user, and the third user is a participant of the target session. (Springer, see figs. 2 and 4A-4D Users A and B (second user); see paragraph 0041 connecting participants (third users) to a live communication stream via their respective client devices…; see paragraph 0054 receives a request to place a chosen selector component from the asset selector section into a specified location in the canvas section...request may take the form of a participant using the client device interactively selecting one or more UI components in such a way that a request is triggered)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Springer in view of Rosenberg (U.S. PGPub 2018/0012192).
Regarding claim 5, Springer teaches all of the features of claim 1. However, Springer does not explicitly teach wherein the predetermined request corresponds to a first user, and the first user is an applicant who applies to join the target session.
Rosenberg teaches wherein the predetermined request corresponds to a first user, and the first user is an applicant who applies to join the target session. (Rosenberg, see figs. 3-4; see paragraph 0126 a join request for a user to join a scheduled meeting; see paragraph 0046 receives from the client device the join request for the user to join the online meeting (similar to operation 305).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Springer and Rosenberg to provide the technique of the predetermined request corresponds to a first user, and the first user is an applicant who applies to join the target session of Rosenberg in the system of Springer in order to improve the handling of meetings and meeting experiences (Rosenberg, see paragraphs 0066, 0121 and 0123).
Regarding claim 6, Springer-Rosenberg teaches wherein the window further presents application information, and the application information indicating an application status associated with a request to join the target session. (Rosenberg, see figs. 13-18; see paragraphs 0111- 0112 the lobby while the first meeting, meeting1, is in progress. Meeting1 includes three meeting1 participants and a host, while the lobby is empty...the meeting room and the lobby 3 mins before the second meeting, meeting2, starts. Three participants invited to meeting2 (i.e., meeting2 participants) show up and are directed to the lobby, where they are able to converse with each other...) The motivation regarding to the obviousness to claim 5 is also applied to claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Springer-Rosenberg teaches wherein the application information at least indicates: a number of users waiting to join the target session before the first user; and/or an expected waiting time for the first user to join the target session. (Rosenberg, see figs. 13-18; see paragraph 0112 the meeting room and the lobby 3 mins before the second meeting, meeting2, starts. Three participants invited to meeting2 (i.e., meeting2 participants) show up and are directed to the lobby, where they are able to converse with each other...) The motivation regarding to the obviousness to claim 5 is also applied to claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, Springer-Rosenberg teaches further comprising: in accordance with a determination that the first user is permitted to join the target session, presenting, in the window, a reminder of permission of joining the target session. (Rosenberg, see fig. 4; see paragraphs 0055-0056 determines whether the user identifier received at 427 is on the invitee list...sends a webpage to the client device informing the user that an email message has been sent to the email address representative of the user identifier received at 430 and instructing the user to open the email and click on a “join meeting” link in the email to join the online meeting.) The motivation regarding to the obviousness to claim 5 is also applied to claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Springer-Rosenberg teaches wherein the reminder comprises: countdown information for automatically jumping to the live streaming interface. (Rosenberg, see figs. 13-18; see paragraphs 0111- 0112 the lobby while the first meeting, meeting1, is in progress. Meeting1 includes three meeting1 participants and a host, while the lobby is empty...the meeting room and the lobby 3 mins before the second meeting, meeting2, starts. Three participants invited to meeting2 (i.e., meeting2 participants) show up and are directed to the lobby, where they are able to converse with each other...) The motivation regarding to the obviousness to claim 5 is also applied to claim 9.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Springer-Rosenberg in view of Renner et al. (U.S. PGPub 2005/0074107).
Regarding claim 10, Springer-Rosenberg teaches further comprising: in accordance with a determination that the first user is permitted to join the target session, presenting the live streaming interface and (Rosenberg, see figs. 13-18; see paragraphs 0111- 0112 the lobby while the first meeting, meeting1, is in progress. Meeting1 includes three meeting1 participants and a host, while the lobby is empty...the meeting room and the lobby 3 mins before the second meeting, meeting2, starts....; see abstract , the information including a start time and an end time of each web-based meeting...; see paragraphs 0027 and 0047 also) The motivation regarding to the obviousness to claim 5 is also applied to claim 10.
However, Springer-Rosenberg does not explicitly teaches closing the window after a predetermined time period.
Renner teaches closing the window after a predetermined time period. (Renner, see paragraph 0060 conference call invitation window may close when the user selects a conference call option, when the conference call is initiated, or after a predetermined interval of time.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Springer-Rosenberg and Renner to provide the technique of closing the window after a predetermined time period of Renner in the system of Springer-Rosenberg in order to avoid screen clutter (Renner, see paragraph 0060).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Springer-Rosenberg in view of Carrion (U.S. PGPub 2006/0218027).
Regarding claim 11, Springer-Rosenberg teaches all of the features of claim 5. However, Springer-Rosenberg does not explicitly teaches further comprising: receiving a close request to close the window; presenting prompt information, the prompt information indicating that a request to join the target session will be canceled; and
in response to receiving a confirmation for the prompt information, closing the window and canceling the request to join the target session.
Carrion teaches further comprising: receiving a close request to close the window; presenting prompt information, the prompt information indicating that a request to join the target session will be canceled; and (Carrion, see figs. 2A-3; see paragraphs 0039-0040 the scheduling tool will remove time block 270 from conference room X's location schedule, and reserve conference room X for the user that has the event with the "A" priority... the user wishes to cancel the event request, the user selects command button 250 to close window 200...)
in response to receiving a confirmation for the prompt information, closing the window and canceling the request to join the target session. (Carrion, see figs. 2A-3; see paragraphs 0039-0040 the scheduling tool will remove time block 270 from conference room X's location schedule, and reserve conference room X for the user that has the event with the "A" priority... the user wishes to cancel the event request, the user selects command button 250 to close window 200...; note that the user selecting the cancel button is a confirmation)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Springer-Rosenberg and Carrion to provide the technique of receiving a close request to close the window; presenting prompt information, the prompt information indicating that a request to join the target session will be canceled and in response to receiving a confirmation for the prompt information, closing the window and canceling the request to join the target session of Carrion in the system of Springer-Rosenberg in order to reduce the complexity of scheduling and canceling meetings (Carrion, see paragraph 0008).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Springer-Rosenberg in view of Garrido et al. (U.S. PGPub 2019/0342351).
Regarding claim 13, Springer-Rosenberg teaches all of the features of claim 5. However, Springer-Rosenberg does not explicitly teaches wherein in the target interface, a playing priority of an audio content is higher than a playing priority of the window.
Garrido teaches wherein in the target interface, a playing priority of an audio content is higher than a playing priority of the window. (Garrido, see figs. 2-3; see paragraph 0020-0022 only the highest priority audio stream is relayed onto receiving endpoints... Lower priority video feeds may not be presented at all, may be presented within a smaller window...higher priority video feeds may be presented in a larger window or a more prominent region of a video display. In one aspect, a video window with a highest associated audio priority may be highlighted)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Springer-Rosenberg and Garrido to provide the technique of wherein in the target interface, a playing priority of an audio content is higher than a playing priority of the window of Garrido in the system of Springer-Rosenberg in order to improve user experience and management of scarce computing and network resources (Garrido, see abstract).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Springer in view of Garrido et al. (U.S. PGPub 2019/0342351).
Regarding claim 15, Springer teaches all of the features of claim 14. However, Springer does not explicitly teach wherein in the window, a playing priority of an audio content is higher than a playing priority of the target interface.
Garrido teaches wherein in the window, a playing priority of an audio content is higher than a playing priority of the target interface. (Garrido, see figs. 2-3; see paragraph 0020-0022 only the highest priority audio stream is relayed onto receiving endpoints... Lower priority video feeds may not be presented at all, may be presented within a smaller window...higher priority video feeds may be presented in a larger window or a more prominent region of a video display. In one aspect, a video window with a highest associated audio priority may be highlighted)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Springer and Garrido to provide the technique of wherein in the window, a playing priority of an audio content is higher than a playing priority of the target interface of Garrido in the system of Springer and Garrido in order to improve user experience and management of scarce computing and network resources (Garrido, see abstract).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Springer in view of Ferren (U.S. PGPub 2011/0102539).
Regarding claim 16, Springer teaches all of the features of claim 1. However, Springer does not explicitly teach further comprising: in accordance with a determination that a number of participants of the target session is less than a predetermined threshold, presenting, in the window, description information of all participants; or in accordance with a determination that a number of participants of the target session is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold, presenting, in the window, description information of a predetermined number of participants among all participants.
Ferren teaches further comprising: in accordance with a determination that a number of participants of the target session is less than a predetermined threshold, presenting, in the window, description information of all participants; or in accordance with a determination that a number of participants of the target session is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold, presenting, in the window, description information of a predetermined number of participants among all participants. (Ferren, see figs. 3-6; see paragraph 0015 if a number of displayed participants exceeds a predetermined limit, the video processor 16 resizes the regions of the displayed participants to fit within a field of view of the curved display surface 14...if a number of displayed participants is less than a predetermined limit, the video processor 16 displays a simulated backdrop or empty station in at least one region of the curved display surface 14...positioned behind each participant, such that each video image of the participant has a common background...)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Springer and Ferren to provide the technique of in accordance with a determination that a number of participants of the target session is less than a predetermined threshold, presenting, in the window, description information of all participants; or in accordance with a determination that a number of participants of the target session is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold, presenting, in the window, description information of a predetermined number of participants among all participants of Ferren in the system of Springer in order to avoid switch frequently between participants such that participants are unable to arbitrarily view who they want (Ferren, see paragraph 0002).
Claims 17 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Springer in view of Pang et al. (U.S. PGPub 2012/0226997).
Regarding claim 17, Springer teaches all of the features of claim 1. However, Springer does not explicitly teach further comprising: in accordance with a determination that the at least one participant is outputting an audio, causing the description information of the at least one participant to be presented in the window highlighted, or wherein the method further comprise: in response to a change in participant information in the target session, updating the window to indicate the change in the participant information, or wherein the method further comprise: in response to a predetermined operation for the window, presenting the live streaming interface and closing the window.
Pang teaches further comprising: in accordance with a determination that the at least one participant is outputting an audio, causing the description information of the at least one participant to be presented in the window highlighted, or wherein the method further comprise: in response to a change in participant information in the target session, updating the window to indicate the change in the participant information, or wherein the method further comprise: in response to a predetermined operation for the window, presenting the live streaming interface and closing the window. (Pang, see fig. 4, see paragraph 0027 A talking stick paradigm can be incorporated into online meeting scenarios and, further, be provisioned in a WebEx meeting...a participant listing 62 is being illustrated, along with a talking stick soft button 64 and a designated talking stick icon 66. Additionally, FIG. 4 includes a talking stick queue 68, which allows the meeting participants to see the upcoming speakers, who will soon possess the talking stick...)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Springer and Pang to provide the technique of in accordance with a determination that the at least one participant is outputting an audio, causing the description information of the at least one participant to be presented in the window highlighted, or wherein the method further comprise: in response to a change in participant information in the target session, updating the window to indicate the change in the participant information, or wherein the method further comprise: in response to a predetermined operation for the window, presenting the live streaming interface and closing the window of Pang in the system of Springer in order to avoid meeting participants systematically talking over each other (Pang, see paragraph 0002).
Regarding claim 22, Springer teaches all of the features of claim 1. However, Springer does not explicitly teach wherein a layout of the description information of the at least one participant in the window is determined based on at least one of: an order of the at least one participant in joining the target session; or a sequence number assigned to the at least one participant in the target session.
Pang teaches wherein a layout of the description information of the at least one participant in the window is determined based on at least one of: an order of the at least one participant in joining the target session; or a sequence number assigned to the at least one participant in the target session. (Pang, see fig. 4, see paragraph 0027 A talking stick paradigm can be incorporated into online meeting scenarios and, further, be provisioned in a WebEx meeting...a participant listing 62 is being illustrated, along with a talking stick soft button 64 and a designated talking stick icon 66. Additionally, FIG. 4 includes a talking stick queue 68, which allows the meeting participants to see the upcoming speakers, who will soon possess the talking stick...)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Springer and Pang to provide the technique of an order of the at least one participant in joining the target session; or a sequence number assigned to the at least one participant in the target session of Pang in the system of Springer in order to avoid meeting participants systematically talking over each other (Pang, see paragraph 0002).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
U.S. PGPub 2017/0034224, which describes systems for implementing a multimedia conference session utilizing a software defined networking (SDN) architecture;
U.S. PGPub 2014/0219132, which describes a method for operating an integrated communications system that provides voice communications; and
U.S. PGPub 2011/0138437, which describes a method in which user generated video content is distributed over a peer to peer network as live broadcast but may be viewed at any point using 2 overlayed peer networks.
/MENG VANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443