DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Priority
The priority document(s), which have been placed on record in the file, are acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/05/2024 and 02/24/2026 are acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 9-12, 14-18, 22-24, 26-28, 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferrieux et al. (US 20230261914 A1), hereinafter referenced as Ferrieux, in view of Ionita et al. (US 20150091742 A1), hereinafter referenced as Ionita.
Regarding claims 1 and 29, Ferrieux teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (Figs. 1-3, Para. [0018]-Ferrieux discloses an FPGA component for encoding/decoding and a CALC computing platform performing the other RAN functions. Para. [0009]-Ferrieux discloses when data is transmitted by the terminal to the base station, i.e. in the uplink direction UL, the terminal's encoding module (COD.sup.T) transmits hard bits (HB.sup.T) to the terminal's modulation module (MOD.sup.T), which modulates them into I/O modulated symbols which are then transmitted on the radio channel. Para. [0006]-Ferrieux discloses in the DL downlink direction, the encoding module (COD) transmits HB data in the form of “hard bits” to the modulation module (MOD). Para. [0042]-Ferrieux discloses device for quantizing data representative of a radio signal received by a radio antenna of a mobile network. Such a device comprises a demodulation module configured to demodulate said radio signal received by said antenna, providing a demodulated signal, a processor and a memory configured to quantize each value of said demodulated signal using a scalar quantization table selected according to a channel coding level used to transmit said radio signal, providing a quantized demodulated signal, and a transmission module configured to transmit said quantized demodulated signal to a channel decoding module) to cause the apparatus to:
a coding rate associated with each coding level of a coded modulation scheme based at least in part on one or more channel conditions of a wireless channel (Para. [0027]-Ferrieux discloses the quantization method comprises beforehand, the determination, for each channel coding level, of at least one scalar quantization table from a set of learning radio signals. Para. [0026]-Ferrieux discloses the channel coding level corresponds to an index representative of a combination of a modulation scheme and a channel coding rate. Para. [0024]-Ferrieux discloses the channel coding functions are not deterministic and vary according to the radio channel conditions of the terminals connected to the antenna, the data load per terminal and the quantity of traffic in the cell);
allocate a plurality of information bits among a plurality of coding schemes associated with a multi-level coding scheme (Table 1, Para. [0026]-Ferrieux discloses the channel coding level corresponds to an index representative of a combination of a modulation scheme and a channel coding rate ..., the channel coding level corresponds to an MCS index indicating the modulation scheme and the channel coding rate used to transmit the radio signal between the antenna and a terminal connected to the antenna. The coding rate is defined as the number of bits per modulated symbol. The Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) is a coding function that associates a codeword of N modulated symbols with a block of information of size D useful bits. The coding rate of the MCS is then the D/N ratio and is expressed in bits/symbol. Para. [0130]-Ferrieux discloses the optimal candidate quantization vector is extracted for each MCS {Modulation and Coding Scheme}),
a quantity of information bits allocated to each coding scheme is based at least in part on the coding rates associated with one or more coding levels corresponding to the coding scheme (Table 1, Para. [0026]-Ferrieux discloses the channel coding level corresponds to an index representative of a combination of a modulation scheme and a channel coding rate ..., the channel coding level corresponds to an MCS index indicating the modulation scheme and the channel coding rate used to transmit the radio signal between the antenna and a terminal connected to the antenna. The coding rate is defined as the number of bits per modulated symbol. The Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) is a coding function that associates a codeword of N modulated symbols with a block of information of size D useful bits. The coding rate of the MCS is then the D/N ratio and is expressed in bits/symbol. Para. [0130]-Ferrieux discloses the optimal candidate quantization vector is extracted for each MCS {Modulation and Coding Scheme});
encode an information payload using the plurality of coding schemes in accordance with the allocation of the plurality of information bits (Fig. 3, Para. [0018]-Ferrieux discloses an FPGA component for encoding/decoding and a CALC computing platform performing the other RAN functions. Para. [0009]-Ferrieux discloses when data is transmitted by the terminal to the base station, i.e. in the uplink direction UL, the terminal's encoding module (COD.sup.T) transmits hard bits (HB.sup.T) to the terminal's modulation module (MOD.sup.T), which modulates them into I/O modulated symbols which are then transmitted on the radio channel. Para. [0006]-Ferrieux discloses in the DL downlink direction, the encoding module (COD) transmits HB data in the form of “hard bits” to the modulation module (MOD). Para. [0014]-Ferrieux discloses LLR data is encoded on 16 or 12 bits. When LLRs are processed locally, i.e. the demodulation and decoding functions are implemented by the same unit, this representation does not pose a problem. Table 1, Para. [0026]-Ferrieux discloses the channel coding level corresponds to an index representative of a combination of a modulation scheme and a channel coding rate ..., the channel coding level corresponds to an MCS index indicating the modulation scheme and the channel coding rate used to transmit the radio signal between the antenna and a terminal connected to the antenna. The coding rate is defined as the number of bits per modulated symbol. The Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) is a coding function that associates a codeword of N modulated symbols with a block of information of size D useful bits. The coding rate of the MCS is then the D/N ratio and is expressed in bits/symbol. Para. [0130]-Ferrieux discloses the optimal candidate quantization vector is extracted for each MCS {Modulation and Coding Scheme}); and
transmit the encoded information payload via the wireless channel (Fig. 3, Para. [0018]-Ferrieux discloses an FPGA component for encoding/decoding and a CALC computing platform performing the other RAN functions. Para. [0009]-Ferrieux discloses when data is transmitted by the terminal to the base station, i.e. in the uplink direction UL, the terminal's encoding module (COD.sup.T) transmits hard bits (HB.sup.T) to the terminal's modulation module (MOD.sup.T), which modulates them into I/O modulated symbols which are then transmitted on the radio channel. Para. [0006]-Ferrieux discloses in the DL downlink direction, the encoding module (COD) transmits HB data in the form of “hard bits” to the modulation module (MOD). Para. [0014]-Ferrieux discloses LLR data is encoded on 16 or 12 bits. When LLRs are processed locally, i.e. the demodulation and decoding functions are implemented by the same unit, this representation does not pose a problem. Table 1, Para. [0026]-Ferrieux discloses the channel coding level corresponds to an index representative of a combination of a modulation scheme and a channel coding rate ..., the channel coding level corresponds to an MCS index indicating the modulation scheme and the channel coding rate used to transmit the radio signal between the antenna and a terminal connected to the antenna. The coding rate is defined as the number of bits per modulated symbol. The Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) is a coding function that associates a codeword of N modulated symbols with a block of information of size D useful bits. The coding rate of the MCS is then the D/N ratio and is expressed in bits/symbol. Para. [0130]-Ferrieux discloses the optimal candidate quantization vector is extracted for each MCS {Modulation and Coding Scheme}).
Ferrieux fails to explicitly teach compute a coding rate associated with each coding level of a coded modulation scheme based at least in part on one or more channel conditions of a wireless channel.
However, Ionita teaches compute a coding rate associated with each coding level of a coded modulation scheme based at least in part on one or more channel conditions of a wireless channel (Fig. 9, Para. [0078]-Ionita discloses code rate at each bit level is determined using the target error rate and the SNR at that bit level at step 906, and the polar codes are designed with the identified code rates at step 908. Fig. 3, Para. [0038]-Ionita discloses each polar code includes a set of frozen bits with the remaining bits being information bits. The code rate R.sub.1 for the first polar code used by the polar encoder 304a is expressed as K.sub.1/N, and code rate R.sub.2 for the second polar code used by the polar encoder 304b is expressed as K.sub.2/N (where K.sub.1 and K.sub.2 denote the number of information bits for the polar codes). The overall code rate R can be calculated as (K.sub.1+K.sub.2)/2N=(R.sub.1+R.sub.2)/2. At a given channel condition (such as a given SNR), the K.sub.1 or K.sub.2 value cannot be increased, which acts as a limit to the code rate for the given channel condition. Para. [0065]-Ionita discloses a single list can be stored that contains the universal ordering of the equivalent bit channels within a certain SNR range. A distinct list can be used for each modulation order. In each list, the indices of the bits at the top of the list can be assigned as frozen bits. The number of frozen bits (which corresponds to the code rate) can be determined by the SNR. This arrangement significantly simplifies the mechanism of designing the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) of a system).
Ferrieux and Ionita are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication systems, dealing with multilevel coding (MLC).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Ferrieux to incorporate the teachings of Ionita on coding rate, with a motivation to calculate coding rate for MCS levels, and guarantee full capacity of a channel to be utilized, (Ionita, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claims 18 and 30, Ferrieux teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (Figs. 1-3, Para. [0018]-Ferrieux discloses an FPGA component for encoding/decoding and a CALC computing platform performing the other RAN functions. Para. [0009]-Ferrieux discloses when data is transmitted by the terminal to the base station, i.e. in the uplink direction UL, the terminal's encoding module (COD.sup.T) transmits hard bits (HB.sup.T) to the terminal's modulation module (MOD.sup.T), which modulates them into I/O modulated symbols which are then transmitted on the radio channel. Para. [0006]-Ferrieux discloses in the DL downlink direction, the encoding module (COD) transmits HB data in the form of “hard bits” to the modulation module (MOD). Para. [0042]-Ferrieux discloses device for quantizing data representative of a radio signal received by a radio antenna of a mobile network. Such a device comprises a demodulation module configured to demodulate said radio signal received by said antenna, providing a demodulated signal, a processor and a memory configured to quantize each value of said demodulated signal using a scalar quantization table selected according to a channel coding level used to transmit said radio signal, providing a quantized demodulated signal, and a transmission module configured to transmit said quantized demodulated signal to a channel decoding module) to cause the apparatus to:
receive an information payload of encoded bits via a wireless channel (Fig. 3, Para. [0018]-Ferrieux discloses an FPGA component for encoding/decoding and a CALC computing platform performing the other RAN functions. Para. [0009]-Ferrieux discloses when data is transmitted by the terminal to the base station, i.e. in the uplink direction UL, the terminal's encoding module (COD.sup.T) transmits hard bits (HB.sup.T) to the terminal's modulation module (MOD.sup.T), which modulates them into I/O modulated symbols which are then transmitted on the radio channel. Para. [0006]-Ferrieux discloses in the DL downlink direction, the encoding module (COD) transmits HB data in the form of “hard bits” to the modulation module (MOD). Para. [0014]-Ferrieux discloses LLR data is encoded on 16 or 12 bits. When LLRs are processed locally, i.e. the demodulation and decoding functions are implemented by the same unit, this representation does not pose a problem. Table 1, Para. [0026]-Ferrieux discloses the channel coding level corresponds to an index representative of a combination of a modulation scheme and a channel coding rate ..., the channel coding level corresponds to an MCS index indicating the modulation scheme and the channel coding rate used to transmit the radio signal between the antenna and a terminal connected to the antenna. The coding rate is defined as the number of bits per modulated symbol. The Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) is a coding function that associates a codeword of N modulated symbols with a block of information of size D useful bits. The coding rate of the MCS is then the D/N ratio and is expressed in bits/symbol. Para. [0130]-Ferrieux discloses the optimal candidate quantization vector is extracted for each MCS {Modulation and Coding Scheme});
a coding rate associated with each coding level of a coded modulation scheme based at least in part on one or more channel conditions of the wireless channel (Para. [0027]-Ferrieux discloses the quantization method comprises beforehand, the determination, for each channel coding level, of at least one scalar quantization table from a set of learning radio signals. Para. [0026]-Ferrieux discloses the channel coding level corresponds to an index representative of a combination of a modulation scheme and a channel coding rate. Para. [0024]-Ferrieux discloses the channel coding functions are not deterministic and vary according to the radio channel conditions of the terminals connected to the antenna, the data load per terminal and the quantity of traffic in the cell);
allocate a plurality of information bits among a plurality of coding schemes associated with a multi-level coding scheme (Table 1, Para. [0026]-Ferrieux discloses the channel coding level corresponds to an index representative of a combination of a modulation scheme and a channel coding rate ..., the channel coding level corresponds to an MCS index indicating the modulation scheme and the channel coding rate used to transmit the radio signal between the antenna and a terminal connected to the antenna. The coding rate is defined as the number of bits per modulated symbol. The Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) is a coding function that associates a codeword of N modulated symbols with a block of information of size D useful bits. The coding rate of the MCS is then the D/N ratio and is expressed in bits/symbol. Para. [0130]-Ferrieux discloses the optimal candidate quantization vector is extracted for each MCS {Modulation and Coding Scheme}),
a quantity of information bits allocated to each coding scheme is based at least in part on the coding rates associated with one or more coding levels corresponding to the coding scheme (Table 1, Para. [0026]-Ferrieux discloses the channel coding level corresponds to an index representative of a combination of a modulation scheme and a channel coding rate ..., the channel coding level corresponds to an MCS index indicating the modulation scheme and the channel coding rate used to transmit the radio signal between the antenna and a terminal connected to the antenna. The coding rate is defined as the number of bits per modulated symbol. The Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) is a coding function that associates a codeword of N modulated symbols with a block of information of size D useful bits. The coding rate of the MCS is then the D/N ratio and is expressed in bits/symbol. Para. [0130]-Ferrieux discloses the optimal candidate quantization vector is extracted for each MCS {Modulation and Coding Scheme}); and
decode the information payload using the plurality of coding schemes in accordance with the allocation of the plurality of information bits (Fig. 3, Para. [0018]-Ferrieux discloses an FPGA component for encoding/decoding and a CALC computing platform performing the other RAN functions. Para. [0009]-Ferrieux discloses when data is transmitted by the terminal to the base station, i.e. in the uplink direction UL, the terminal's encoding module (COD.sup.T) transmits hard bits (HB.sup.T) to the terminal's modulation module (MOD.sup.T), which modulates them into I/O modulated symbols which are then transmitted on the radio channel. Para. [0006]-Ferrieux discloses in the DL downlink direction, the encoding module (COD) transmits HB data in the form of “hard bits” to the modulation module (MOD). Para. [0014]-Ferrieux discloses LLR data is encoded on 16 or 12 bits. When LLRs are processed locally, i.e. the demodulation and decoding functions are implemented by the same unit, this representation does not pose a problem. Table 1, Para. [0026]-Ferrieux discloses the channel coding level corresponds to an index representative of a combination of a modulation scheme and a channel coding rate ..., the channel coding level corresponds to an MCS index indicating the modulation scheme and the channel coding rate used to transmit the radio signal between the antenna and a terminal connected to the antenna. The coding rate is defined as the number of bits per modulated symbol. The Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) is a coding function that associates a codeword of N modulated symbols with a block of information of size D useful bits. The coding rate of the MCS is then the D/N ratio and is expressed in bits/symbol. Para. [0130]-Ferrieux discloses the optimal candidate quantization vector is extracted for each MCS {Modulation and Coding Scheme}).
Ferrieux fails to explicitly teach compute a coding rate associated with each coding level of a coded modulation scheme based at least in part on one or more channel conditions of the wireless channel.
However, Ionita teaches compute a coding rate associated with each coding level of a coded modulation scheme based at least in part on one or more channel conditions of the wireless channel (Fig. 9, Para. [0078]-Ionita discloses code rate at each bit level is determined using the target error rate and the SNR at that bit level at step 906, and the polar codes are designed with the identified code rates at step 908. Fig. 3, Para. [0038]-Ionita discloses each polar code includes a set of frozen bits with the remaining bits being information bits. The code rate R.sub.1 for the first polar code used by the polar encoder 304a is expressed as K.sub.1/N, and code rate R.sub.2 for the second polar code used by the polar encoder 304b is expressed as K.sub.2/N (where K.sub.1 and K.sub.2 denote the number of information bits for the polar codes). The overall code rate R can be calculated as (K.sub.1+K.sub.2)/2N=(R.sub.1+R.sub.2)/2. At a given channel condition (such as a given SNR), the K.sub.1 or K.sub.2 value cannot be increased, which acts as a limit to the code rate for the given channel condition. Para. [0065]-Ionita discloses a single list can be stored that contains the universal ordering of the equivalent bit channels within a certain SNR range. A distinct list can be used for each modulation order. In each list, the indices of the bits at the top of the list can be assigned as frozen bits. The number of frozen bits (which corresponds to the code rate) can be determined by the SNR. This arrangement significantly simplifies the mechanism of designing the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) of a system).
Ferrieux and Ionita are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication systems, dealing with multilevel coding (MLC).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Ferrieux to incorporate the teachings of Ionita on coding rate, with a motivation to calculate coding rate for MCS levels, and guarantee full capacity of a channel to be utilized, (Ionita, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claims 2 and 19, Ferrieux in view of Ionita teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 18 respectively,
Ferrieux further teaches the instructions to compute the coding rate for each coding level are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: compute a set of coding rates associated with a set of modulation bits of the coded modulation scheme (Table 1, Para. [0026-0027]-Ferrieux discloses the channel coding level corresponds to an index representative of a combination of a modulation scheme and a channel coding rate ..., the channel coding level corresponds to an MCS index indicating the modulation scheme and the channel coding rate used to transmit the radio signal between the antenna and a terminal connected to the antenna. The coding rate is defined as the number of bits per modulated symbol. The Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) is a coding function that associates a codeword of N modulated symbols with a block of information of size D useful bits. The coding rate of the MCS is then the D/N ratio and is expressed in bits/symbol. Para. [0130]-Ferrieux discloses the optimal candidate quantization vector is extracted for each MCS {Modulation and Coding Scheme} ... the quantization method comprises beforehand, the determination, for each channel coding level, of at least one scalar quantization table from a set of learning radio signals),
each coding level of the coded modulation scheme corresponding to one or more modulation bits of the coded modulation scheme (Table 1, Para. [0026-0027]-Ferrieux discloses the channel coding level corresponds to an index representative of a combination of a modulation scheme and a channel coding rate ..., the channel coding level corresponds to an MCS index indicating the modulation scheme and the channel coding rate used to transmit the radio signal between the antenna and a terminal connected to the antenna. The coding rate is defined as the number of bits per modulated symbol. The Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) is a coding function that associates a codeword of N modulated symbols with a block of information of size D useful bits. The coding rate of the MCS is then the D/N ratio and is expressed in bits/symbol. Para. [0130]-Ferrieux discloses the optimal candidate quantization vector is extracted for each MCS {Modulation and Coding Scheme} ... the quantization method comprises beforehand, the determination, for each channel coding level, of at least one scalar quantization table from a set of learning radio signals),
the coding rate associated with each coding level is a coding rate associated with the one or more modulation bits of each respective coding level (Table 1, Para. [0026-0027]-Ferrieux discloses the channel coding level corresponds to an index representative of a combination of a modulation scheme and a channel coding rate ..., the channel coding level corresponds to an MCS index indicating the modulation scheme and the channel coding rate used to transmit the radio signal between the antenna and a terminal connected to the antenna. The coding rate is defined as the number of bits per modulated symbol. The Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) is a coding function that associates a codeword of N modulated symbols with a block of information of size D useful bits. The coding rate of the MCS is then the D/N ratio and is expressed in bits/symbol. Para. [0130]-Ferrieux discloses the optimal candidate quantization vector is extracted for each MCS {Modulation and Coding Scheme} ... the quantization method comprises beforehand, the determination, for each channel coding level, of at least one scalar quantization table from a set of learning radio signals).
Regarding claims 5 and 22, Ferrieux in view of Ionita teaches the apparatus of claim 2 and the apparatus of claim 19 respectively,
Ferrieux further teaches the instructions to compute the set of coding rates are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: compute the set of coding rates such that a summation of the set of coding rates is equal to a quantity of the coding levels multiplied by a coding rate associated with the wireless channel (Para. [0096]-Ferrieux discloses a single quantization table can be determined for all the channel coding levels. Para. [0130]-Ferrieux discloses the optimal candidate quantization vector is extracted for each MCS {Modulation and Coding Scheme} ... the quantization method comprises beforehand, the determination, for each channel coding level, of at least one scalar quantization table from a set of learning radio signals. Table 1, Para. [0026-0027]-Ferrieux discloses the channel coding level corresponds to an index representative of a combination of a modulation scheme and a channel coding rate ..., the channel coding level corresponds to an MCS index indicating the modulation scheme and the channel coding rate used to transmit the radio signal between the antenna and a terminal connected to the antenna. The coding rate is defined as the number of bits per modulated symbol. The Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) is a coding function that associates a codeword of N modulated symbols with a block of information of size D useful bits. The coding rate of the MCS is then the D/N ratio and is expressed in bits/symbol).
Regarding claims 6 and 23, Ferrieux in view of Ionita teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 18 respectively,
Ferrieux fails to explicitly teach the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: polarize the coding levels into a set of polarized coding levels, each polarized coding level associated with a respective second coding rate, wherein each coding scheme corresponds to one or more polarized coding levels, and wherein the quantity of information bits allocate to each coding scheme is based at least in part on the second coding rates associated with the one or more polarized coding levels corresponding to the coding scheme.
However, Ionita teaches the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: polarize the coding levels into a set of polarized coding levels (Figs. 4-5, Para. [0044]-Ionita discloses coding scheme with three bit levels, where different bit levels may be associated with different polar coding schemes. Para. [0011]-Ionita discloses selecting, at one or more of the bit levels, at least one polar code having at least one of the identified code rates. Para. [0030]-Ionita discloses the rate of a polar code for a particular bit channel can be selected using knowledge of the Euclidian distance for a bit level in a corresponding multilevel pulse amplitude modulation (M-PAM) scheme, assuming bits in lower bit levels are decoded correctly and known),
each polarized coding level associated with a respective second coding rate (Figs. 2-7, Para. [0007]-Ionita discloses receiving multiple bits to be transmitted ... applying a first binary alphabet polar code to a first subset of the multiple bits to generate first encoded bits. The first encoded bits are associated with a first bit level of a multilevel coding scheme. The method further includes generating one or more symbols using the first encoded bits and bits associated with a second bit level of the multilevel coding scheme. The first binary alphabet polar code is associated with a first coding rate. Figs. 4-5, Para. [0044]-Ionita discloses coding scheme with three bit levels, where different bit levels may be associated with different polar coding schemes. Para. [0011]-Ionita discloses selecting, at one or more of the bit levels, at least one polar code having at least one of the identified code rates. Para. [0030]-Ionita discloses the rate of a polar code for a particular bit channel can be selected using knowledge of the Euclidian distance for a bit level in a corresponding multilevel pulse amplitude modulation (M-PAM) scheme, assuming bits in lower bit levels are decoded correctly and known),
each coding scheme corresponds to one or more polarized coding levels (Figs. 4-5, Para. [0044]-Ionita discloses coding scheme with three bit levels, where different bit levels may be associated with different polar coding schemes. Para. [0011]-Ionita discloses selecting, at one or more of the bit levels, at least one polar code having at least one of the identified code rates. Para. [0030]-Ionita discloses the rate of a polar code for a particular bit channel can be selected using knowledge of the Euclidian distance for a bit level in a corresponding multilevel pulse amplitude modulation (M-PAM) scheme, assuming bits in lower bit levels are decoded correctly and known), and
the quantity of information bits allocate to each coding scheme is based at least in part on the second coding rates associated with the one or more polarized coding levels corresponding to the coding scheme (Figs. 2-7, Para. [0007]-Ionita discloses receiving multiple bits to be transmitted ... applying a first binary alphabet polar code to a first subset of the multiple bits to generate first encoded bits. The first encoded bits are associated with a first bit level of a multilevel coding scheme. The method further includes generating one or more symbols using the first encoded bits and bits associated with a second bit level of the multilevel coding scheme. The first binary alphabet polar code is associated with a first coding rate).
Ionita is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication systems, dealing with multilevel coding (MLC).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Ferrieux to incorporate the teachings of Ionita on MCS, with a motivation to polarize the coding levels, and guarantee full capacity of a channel to be utilized, (Ionita, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claims 7 and 24, Ferrieux in view of Ionita teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 18 respectively,
Ferrieux further teaches the quantity of information bits allocate to each coding scheme is based at least in part on the coding rates corresponding to the coding scheme, the second coding rates associated with the one or more polarized coding levels corresponding to the coding scheme, or a combination thereof (Table 1, Para. [0026]-Ferrieux discloses the channel coding level corresponds to an index representative of a combination of a modulation scheme and a channel coding rate ..., the channel coding level corresponds to an MCS index indicating the modulation scheme and the channel coding rate used to transmit the radio signal between the antenna and a terminal connected to the antenna. The coding rate is defined as the number of bits per modulated symbol. The Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) is a coding function that associates a codeword of N modulated symbols with a block of information of size D useful bits. The coding rate of the MCS is then the D/N ratio and is expressed in bits/symbol. Para. [0130]-Ferrieux discloses the optimal candidate quantization vector is extracted for each MCS {Modulation and Coding Scheme}).
Ferrieux fails to explicitly teach the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: polarize a subset of the coding levels into a set of polarized coding levels, each polarized coding level associated with a respective second coding rate, wherein each coding scheme corresponds to one or more non-polarized coding levels, one or more polarized coding levels, or a combination thereof.
However, Ionita teaches the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: polarize a subset of the coding levels into a set of polarized coding levels (Para. [0011]-Ionita discloses selecting, at one or more of the bit levels, at least one polar code having at least one of the identified code rates. Para. [0030]-Ionita discloses the rate of a polar code for a particular bit channel can be selected using knowledge of the Euclidian distance for a bit level in a corresponding multilevel pulse amplitude modulation (M-PAM) scheme, assuming bits in lower bit levels are decoded correctly and known. Figs. 2-7, Para. [0007]-Ionita discloses receiving multiple bits to be transmitted ... applying a first binary alphabet polar code to a first subset of the multiple bits to generate first encoded bits. The first encoded bits are associated with a first bit level of a multilevel coding scheme. The method further includes generating one or more symbols using the first encoded bits and bits associated with a second bit level of the multilevel coding scheme. The first binary alphabet polar code is associated with a first coding rate. Fig. 8A, Para. [0071]-Ionita discloses One or more polar codes are applied to one or more subsets of the bits to generate codewords. Figs. 4-5, Para. [0044]-Ionita discloses coding scheme with three bit levels, where different bit levels may be associated with different polar coding schemes),
each polarized coding level associated with a respective second coding rate (Figs. 4-5, Para. [0044]-Ionita discloses coding scheme with three bit levels, where different bit levels may be associated with different polar coding schemes. Para. [0011]-Ionita discloses selecting, at one or more of the bit levels, at least one polar code having at least one of the identified code rates. Para. [0030]-Ionita discloses the rate of a polar code for a particular bit channel can be selected using knowledge of the Euclidian distance for a bit level in a corresponding multilevel pulse amplitude modulation (M-PAM) scheme, assuming bits in lower bit levels are decoded correctly and known. Figs. 2-7, Para. [0007]-Ionita discloses receiving multiple bits to be transmitted ... applying a first binary alphabet polar code to a first subset of the multiple bits to generate first encoded bits. The first encoded bits are associated with a first bit level of a multilevel coding scheme. The method further includes generating one or more symbols using the first encoded bits and bits associated with a second bit level of the multilevel coding scheme. The first binary alphabet polar code is associated with a first coding rate),
each coding scheme corresponds to one or more non-polarized coding levels, one or more polarized coding levels, or a combination thereof (Figs. 4-5, Para. [0044]-Ionita discloses coding scheme with three bit levels, where different bit levels may be associated with different polar coding schemes. Para. [0011]-Ionita discloses selecting, at one or more of the bit levels, at least one polar code having at least one of the identified code rates. Para. [0030]-Ionita discloses the rate of a polar code for a particular bit channel can be selected using knowledge of the Euclidian distance for a bit level in a corresponding multilevel pulse amplitude modulation (M-PAM) scheme, assuming bits in lower bit levels are decoded correctly and known. Figs. 2-7, Para. [0007]-Ionita discloses receiving multiple bits to be transmitted ... applying a first binary alphabet polar code to a first subset of the multiple bits to generate first encoded bits. The first encoded bits are associated with a first bit level of a multilevel coding scheme. The method further includes generating one or more symbols using the first encoded bits and bits associated with a second bit level of the multilevel coding scheme. The first binary alphabet polar code is associated with a first coding rate).
Ionita is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication systems, dealing with multilevel coding (MLC).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Ferrieux to incorporate the teachings of Ionita on MCS, with a motivation to polarize coding levels, and guarantee full capacity of a channel to be utilized, (Ionita, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claims 9 and 26, Ferrieux in view of Ionita teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 18 respectively,
Ferrieux further teaches the quantity of information bits allocated to each coding scheme is proportional to the coding rates corresponding to the coding scheme (Table 1, Para. [0026]-Ferrieux discloses the channel coding level corresponds to an index representative of a combination of a modulation scheme and a channel coding rate ..., the channel coding level corresponds to an MCS index indicating the modulation scheme and the channel coding rate used to transmit the radio signal between the antenna and a terminal connected to the antenna. The coding rate is defined as the number of bits per modulated symbol. The Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) is a coding function that associates a codeword of N modulated symbols with a block of information of size D useful bits. The coding rate of the MCS is then the D/N ratio and is expressed in bits/symbol. Para. [0130]-Ferrieux discloses the optimal candidate quantization vector is extracted for each MCS {Modulation and Coding Scheme}).
Regarding claims 10 and 27, Ferrieux in view of Ionita teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 18 respectively,
Ferrieux further teaches the quantity of information bits allocated to each coding scheme is based at least in part on a ratio of a summation of the coding rates corresponding to the coding scheme to a summation of each of the coding rates (Table 1, Para. [0026]-Ferrieux discloses the channel coding level corresponds to an index representative of a combination of a modulation scheme and a channel coding rate ..., the channel coding level corresponds to an MCS index indicating the modulation scheme and the channel coding rate used to transmit the radio signal between the antenna and a terminal connected to the antenna. The coding rate is defined as the number of bits per modulated symbol. The Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) is a coding function that associates a codeword of N modulated symbols with a block of information of size D useful bits. The coding rate of the MCS is then the D/N ratio and is expressed in bits/symbol. Para. [0130]-Ferrieux discloses the optimal candidate quantization vector is extracted for each MCS {Modulation and Coding Scheme}).
Regarding claim 11, Ferrieux in view of Ionita teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Ferrieux further teaches a quantity of coding schemes of the plurality of coding schemes is less than or equal to a quantity of coding levels of the coded modulation scheme (Para. [0096]-Ferrieux discloses a single quantization table can be determined for all the channel coding levels. Para. [0130]-Ferrieux discloses the optimal candidate quantization vector is extracted for each MCS {Modulation and Coding Scheme} ... the quantization method comprises beforehand, the determination, for each channel coding level, of at least one scalar quantization table from a set of learning radio signals. Table 1, Para. [0026-0027]-Ferrieux discloses the channel coding level corresponds to an index representative of a combination of a modulation scheme and a channel coding rate ..., the channel coding level corresponds to an MCS index indicating the modulation scheme and the channel coding rate used to transmit the radio signal between the antenna and a terminal connected to the antenna. The coding rate is defined as the number of bits per modulated symbol. The Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) is a coding function that associates a codeword of N modulated symbols with a block of information of size D useful bits. The coding rate of the MCS is then the D/N ratio and is expressed in bits/symbol).
Regarding claim 12, Ferrieux in view of Ionita teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Ferrieux further teaches the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: allocate a plurality of non-information bits among the plurality of coding schemes (Para. [0024]-Ferrieux discloses the channel coding functions are not deterministic and vary according to the radio channel conditions of the terminals connected to the antenna, the data load per terminal and the quantity of traffic in the cell. Para. [0026]-Ferrieux discloses the channel coding level corresponds to an index representative of a combination of a modulation scheme and a channel coding rate ... the channel coding level corresponds to an MCS index indicating the modulation scheme and the channel coding rate used to transmit the radio signal between the antenna and a terminal connected to the antenna. The coding rate is defined as the number of bits per modulated symbol. The Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) is a coding function that associates a codeword of N modulated symbols with a block of information of size D useful bits. The coding rate of the MCS is then the D/N ratio and is expressed in bits/symbol),
a quantity of non-information bits allocated to each coding scheme is based at least in part on the coding rates associated with the one or more coding levels corresponding to the coding scheme (Para. [0024]-Ferrieux discloses the channel coding functions are not deterministic and vary according to the radio channel conditions of the terminals connected to the antenna, the data load per terminal and the quantity of traffic in the cell. Para. [0026]-Ferrieux discloses the channel coding level corresponds to an index representative of a combination of a modulation scheme and a channel coding rate ... the channel coding level corresponds to an MCS index indicating the modulation scheme and the channel coding rate used to transmit the radio signal between the antenna and a terminal connected to the antenna. The coding rate is defined as the number of bits per modulated symbol. The Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) is a coding function that associates a codeword of N modulated symbols with a block of information of size D useful bits. The coding rate of the MCS is then the D/N ratio and is expressed in bits/symbol), and
the information payload is encoded in accordance with the allocation of the plurality of non-information bits (Table 1, Para. [0026]-Ferrieux discloses the channel coding level corresponds to an index representative of a combination of a modulation scheme and a channel coding rate ..., the channel coding level corresponds to an MCS index indicating the modulation scheme and the channel coding rate used to transmit the radio signal between the antenna and a terminal connected to the antenna. The coding rate is defined as the number of bits per modulated symbol. The Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) is a coding function that associates a codeword of N modulated symbols with a block of information of size D useful bits. The coding rate of the MCS is then the D/N ratio and is expressed in bits/symbol. Para. [0130]-Ferrieux discloses the optimal candidate quantization vector is extracted for each MCS {Modulation and Coding Scheme}. Fig. 3, Para. [0018]-Ferrieux discloses an FPGA component for encoding/decoding and a CALC computing platform performing the other RAN functions. Para. [0009]-Ferrieux discloses when data is transmitted by the terminal to the base station, i.e. in the uplink direction UL, the terminal's encoding module (COD.sup.T) transmits hard bits (HB.sup.T) to the terminal's modulation module (MOD.sup.T), which modulates them into I/O modulated symbols which are then transmitted on the radio channel. Para. [0006]-Ferrieux discloses in the DL downlink direction, the encoding module (COD) transmits HB data in the form of “hard bits” to the modulation module (MOD). Para. [0014]-Ferrieux discloses LLR data is encoded on 16 or 12 bits. When LLRs are processed locally, i.e. the demodulation and decoding functions are implemented by the same unit, this representation does not pose a problem).
Regarding claim 14, Ferrieux in view of Ionita teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Ferrieux further teaches the one or more channel conditions comprise a capacity of the wireless channel, a coding rate associated with the wireless channel, a reliability of the wireless channel or a combination thereof (Para. [0024]-Ferrieux discloses the channel coding functions are not deterministic and vary according to the radio channel conditions of the terminals connected to the antenna, the data load per terminal and the quantity of traffic in the cell. Para. [0026]-Ferrieux discloses the channel coding level corresponds to an index representative of a combination of a modulation scheme and a channel coding rate ... the channel coding level corresponds to an MCS index indicating the modulation scheme and the channel coding rate used to transmit the radio signal between the antenna and a terminal connected to the antenna. The coding rate is defined as the number of bits per modulated symbol. The Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) is a coding function that associates a codeword of N modulated symbols with a block of information of size D useful bits. The coding rate of the MCS is then the D/N ratio and is expressed in bits/symbol).
Regarding claim 15, Ferrieux in view of Ionita teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Ferrieux further teaches the plurality of coding schemes comprises one or more low-density parity check codes, one or more turbo codes, one or more polar codes, one or more Reed Solomon codes, one or more staircase codes, one or more rateless codes, one or more product codes, one or more spinal codes, one or more Reed Muller codes, one or more Bose-Chaudhuri- Hocquenghem codes, or any combination thereof (Para. [0115]-Ferrieux discloses structure (Turbo-Decoder, LDPC, Polar Codes), the decoding quality is a non-differentiable function of the input parameters which are the quantization steps. Para. [0129]-Ferrieux discloses The matching function is an evaluation of the performance of a decoder of the type considered (Turbo/LDPC/Polar), and determined by the level of MCS channel coding considered. Para. [0026]-Ferrieux discloses the channel coding level corresponds to an index representative of a combination of a modulation scheme and a channel coding rate); while
Ionita also further teaches the plurality of coding schemes comprises one or more low-density parity check codes, one or more turbo codes, one or more polar codes, one or more Reed Solomon codes, one or more staircase codes, one or more rateless codes, one or more product codes, one or more spinal codes, one or more Reed Muller codes, one or more Bose-Chaudhuri- Hocquenghem codes, or any combination thereof (Figs. 4-5, Para. [0044]-Ionita discloses coding scheme with three bit levels, where different bit levels may be associated with different polar coding schemes. Para. [0011]-Ionita discloses selecting, at one or more of the bit levels, at least one polar code having at least one of the identified code rates. Para. [0030]-Ionita discloses the rate of a polar code for a particular bit channel can be selected using knowledge of the Euclidian distance for a bit level in a corresponding multilevel pulse amplitude modulation (M-PAM) scheme, assuming bits in lower bit levels are decoded correctly and known).
Regarding claim 16, Ferrieux in view of Ionita teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Ferrieux further teaches the plurality of coding schemes comprises a plurality of polar codes (Para. [0115]-Ferrieux discloses structure (Turbo-Decoder, LDPC, Polar Codes), the decoding quality is a non-differentiable function of the input parameters which are the quantization steps. Para. [0129]-Ferrieux discloses The matching function is an evaluation of the performance of a decoder of the type considered (Turbo/LDPC/Polar), and determined by the level of MCS channel coding considered. Para. [0026]-Ferrieux discloses the channel coding level corresponds to an index representative of a combination of a modulation scheme and a channel coding rate); while
Ionita also further teaches the plurality of coding schemes comprises a plurality of polar codes (Figs. 4-5, Para. [0044]-Ionita discloses coding scheme with three bit levels, where different bit levels may be associated with different polar coding schemes. Para. [0011]-Ionita discloses selecting, at one or more of the bit levels, at least one polar code having at least one of the identified code rates. Para. [0030]-Ionita discloses the rate of a polar code for a particular bit channel can be selected using knowledge of the Euclidian distance for a bit level in a corresponding multilevel pulse amplitude modulation (M-PAM) scheme, assuming bits in lower bit levels are decoded correctly and known).
Regarding claims 17 and 28, Ferrieux in view of Ionita teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 18 respectively,
Ferrieux fails to explicitly teach the plurality of coding schemes comprises a joint polar code comprising a plurality of subpolar codes, and each subpolar code corresponds to one or more coding levels of the coded modulation scheme.
However, Ionita teaches the plurality of coding schemes comprises a joint polar code comprising a plurality of subpolar codes (Figs. 7-9, Para. [0079]-Ionita discloses designing an MLC coding scheme with binary alphabet polar codes ... while multiple polar codes are designed in FIG. 9, a single polar code could be designed, such as for use in the system 700 of FIG. 7), and
each subpolar code corresponds to one or more coding levels of the coded modulation scheme (Fig. 7, Para. [0050-0053]-Ionita discloses scheme for applying polar codes to MLC with higher-order modulation and the symbol mapping of FIG. 6. As shown in FIG. 7, input vectors 702a-702b are received, where the input vectors 702a contain twice the number of bits (2N) as the input vectors 702b (N). In the input vectors 702a, K.sub.1 would equal 2N minus the number of frozen bits. The input vectors 702a are provided to a polar encoder 704a, which uses the input vectors 702a and a polar code to generate codewords 706a that are mapped to the two LSBs on each of the I and Q directions (b.sub.0I, b.sub.0Q, b.sub.1I, and b.sub.1Q)).
Ionita is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication systems, dealing with multilevel coding (MLC).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Ferrieux to incorporate the teachings of Ionita on MCS, with a motivation for joint polar codes, and guarantee full capacity of a channel to be utilized, (Ionita, Para. [0003]).
Claims 3-4, 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferrieux et al. (US 20230261914 A1), hereinafter referenced as Ferrieux, in view of Ionita et al. (US 20150091742 A1), hereinafter referenced as Ionita, and further in view of SUH et al. (US 20210288752 A1), hereinafter referenced as Suh.
Regarding claims 3 and 20, Ferrieux in view of Ionita teaches the apparatus of claim 2 and the apparatus of claim 19 respectively,
Ferrieux fails to explicitly teach the instructions to compute the set of coding rates are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: compute a coding rate associated with a modulation bit of the coded modulation scheme based at least in part on bit values of modulation bits corresponding to less significant bits than the modulation bit.
However, Suh teaches the instructions to compute the set of coding rates are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: compute a coding rate associated with a modulation bit of the coded modulation scheme based at least in part on bit values of modulation bits corresponding to less significant bits than the modulation bit (Fig. 11, Para. [0109]-Suh discloses the interleaver 808 then performs the second permutation by reading the coded bits stored in the matrix out by columns of the matrix. The number of columns, N.sub.COL, is illustrated above as well. In some examples, the second permutation causes adjacent coded bits to be mapped alternately onto less and more significant bits of the constellation, which may help to avoid long runs of low reliability (LSB). Para. [0032-0033]-Suh discloses code rate indicated by a corresponding MCS, the corresponding MCS being selected for each of the multiple RUs; and an interleaver configured to perform an interleaving of the generated coded bits on the spatial streams ... to perform an interleaving on the sequence of coded bits by using a matrix and generate an interleaved sequence, a number of the rows of the matrix and a number of the column of the matrix being determined based on respective modulation types indicated by respective MCSs selected for the multiple RUs).
Suh is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of mobile technology, dealing with methods and systems for modulating and binary convolutional coding data for transmission in a wireless network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Ferrieux in view of Ionita to incorporate the teachings of Suh on MCS, with a motivation to compute the coding rate to include less significant bits, and optimize channel efficiency and alleviate interference between subcarriers in multi-RU applications, (Suh, Para. [0009]).
Regarding claims 4 and 21, Ferrieux in view of Ionita teaches the apparatus of claim 2 and the apparatus of claim 19 respectively,
Ferrieux fails to explicitly teach the instructions to compute the set of coding rates are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: compute a coding rate associated with a modulation bit of the coded modulation scheme based at least in part on excluding bit values of other modulation bits of the coded modulation scheme from the computation of the coding rate associated with the modulation bit.
However, Suh teaches the instructions to compute the set of coding rates are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: compute a coding rate associated with a modulation bit of the coded modulation scheme based at least in part on excluding bit values of other modulation bits of the coded modulation scheme from the computation of the coding rate associated with the modulation bit (Para. [0029]-Suh discloses BCC encoding is performed by: applying ½ BCC encoding on the sequence of data bits to generate first and second sequences of coded bits for each RU; performing a puncturing operation to combine the first and second sequences of coded bits for each RU subject to a puncturing pattern determined based on a code rate that is indicated in a corresponding modulation and coding scheme (MCS) selected for each of the multiple RUs, wherein at least some of the RU's have a different selected MCS. Para. [0032-0033]-Suh discloses code rate indicated by a corresponding MCS, the corresponding MCS being selected for each of the multiple RUs; and an interleaver configured to perform an interleaving of the generated coded bits on the spatial streams ... to perform an interleaving on the sequence of coded bits by using a matrix and generate an interleaved sequence, a number of the rows of the matrix and a number of the column of the matrix being determined based on respective modulation types indicated by respective MCSs selected for the multiple RUs).
Suh is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of mobile technology, dealing with methods and systems for modulating and binary convolutional coding data for transmission in a wireless network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Ferrieux in view of Ionita to incorporate the teachings of Suh on MCS, with a motivation to compute the coding rate based in part on excluding bit values, and optimize channel efficiency and alleviate interference between subcarriers in multi-RU applications, (Suh, Para. [0009]).
Claims 8, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferrieux et al. (US 20230261914 A1), hereinafter referenced as Ferrieux, in view of Ionita et al. (US 20150091742 A1), hereinafter referenced as Ionita, and further in view of Gorokhov et al. (US 20100202561 A1), hereinafter referenced as Gorokhov.
Regarding claims 8 and 25, Ferrieux in view of Ionita teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 18 respectively,
Ferrieux fails to explicitly teach the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: compute a second coding rate associated with each spatial layer of a set of spatial layers based at least in part on the one or more channel conditions of the wireless channel, the set of spatial layers associated with a set of coded modulation schemes comprising the coded modulation scheme, wherein each code scheme corresponds to one or more spatial layers of the set of spatial layers, and wherein the quantity of information bits allocated to each coding scheme is based at least in part on the second coding rates associated with the one or more spatial layers corresponding to the coding scheme.
However, Gorokhov teaches the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: compute a second coding rate associated with each spatial layer of a set of spatial layers based at least in part on the one or more channel conditions of the wireless channel (Fig. 1, para. [0050]-Gorokhov discloses to enable per-layer modulation and per-codeword coding as generally described herein, Node B 110 can convey (e.g., via an uplink grant) code rates for respective codewords as well as modulation schemes to be applied to respective layers to UE 120. In one example, this can be accomplished by direct signaling of the overall coding rate and modulation schemes for substantially all layers, by signaling sufficient information such that the overall coding rate and modulation schemes for each layer can be derived),
the set of spatial layers associated with a set of coded modulation schemes comprising the coded modulation scheme (Fig. 1, para. [0050]-Gorokhov discloses to enable per-layer modulation and per-codeword coding as generally described herein, Node B 110 can convey (e.g., via an uplink grant) code rates for respective codewords as well as modulation schemes to be applied to respective layers to UE 120. In one example, this can be accomplished by direct signaling of the overall coding rate and modulation schemes for substantially all layers, by signaling sufficient information such that the overall coding rate and modulation schemes for each layer can be derived),
each code scheme corresponds to one or more spatial layers of the set of spatial layers (Fig. 1, para. [0050]-Gorokhov discloses to enable per-layer modulation and per-codeword coding as generally described herein, Node B 110 can convey (e.g., via an uplink grant) code rates for respective codewords as well as modulation schemes to be applied to respective layers to UE 120. In one example, this can be accomplished by direct signaling of the overall coding rate and modulation schemes for substantially all layers, by signaling sufficient information such that the overall coding rate and modulation schemes for each layer can be derived), and
the quantity of information bits allocated to each coding scheme is based at least in part on the second coding rates associated with the one or more spatial layers corresponding to the coding scheme (Para. [0041]-Gorokhov discloses example, if the spectral efficiency supported on a given stream is 1 bit/second/Hz and a quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) constellation such as 64-QAM is used (corresponding to 6 bits per channel use), a coding rate of 1/6 would be required to avoid exceeding the spectral efficiency of the channel. Para. [0064]-Gorokhov discloses MCS information can be configured to carry modulation order for a given layer and code rate for a corresponding codeword. Subsequently, supplemental modulation signaling can be provided to indicate per-layer modulation orders for additional layers. Let M denote the modulation order, which corresponds to the number of bits that can be modulated over one constellation point. Thus, for example, QPSK can be associated with M=2, 16-QAM can be associated with M=4, 64-QAM can be associated with M=6, and so on. In one example, by multiplying a modulation order M by a coding rate r.sub.c, a spectral efficiency R can be obtained as R=r.sub.cM and/or R=2r.sub.cM in various implementations. For example, R=r.sub.cM can correspond to layer or antenna switching while R=2r.sub.cM can correspond to simultaneous transmission via multiple layers. Para. [0047]-Gorokhov discloses layer 1 and layer 2 are used to deliver coded bits from a codeword ... the final number of rate-matched bits can be expressed as N.sub.s1.times.Q.sub.1+N.sub.s2.times.Q.sub.2. (See also Para. [0052-0053])).
Gorokhov is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with conducting modulation and spatial layer mapping for information conveyed within a wireless communication environment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Ferrieux in view of Ionita to incorporate the teachings of Gorokhov on MCS, with a motivation to compute the coding rate per spatial layer, and facilitate transmission of information across multiple spatial layers with improved reliability, (Gorokhov, Para. [0008]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferrieux et al. (US 20230261914 A1), hereinafter referenced as Ferrieux, in view of Ionita et al. (US 20150091742 A1), hereinafter referenced as Ionita, and further in view of JOHN WILSON et al. (US 20180199350 A1), hereinafter referenced as Wilson.
Regarding claim 13, Ferrieux in view of Ionita teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Ferrieux fails to explicitly teach a coding scheme of the plurality of the coding schemes is an unencoded coding scheme based at least in part on a coding rate corresponding to the coding scheme satisfying a threshold.
However, Wilson teaches a coding scheme of the plurality of the coding schemes is an unencoded coding scheme based at least in part on a coding rate corresponding to the coding scheme satisfying a threshold (Fig. 7, Para. [0079]-Wilson discloses encoder 706 encodes the message using a suitable modulation and coding scheme (MCS). Claim [11]-Wilson discloses the code rate is selected according to a size of an unencoded stream of bits divided by N. Claim [14]-Wilson discloses the threshold condition comprises at least one of: a comparison of N divided by N.sup.− to a threshold value; a comparison of N divided by N.sup.+ to the threshold value; or a comparison of a target code-rate or the size of the stream of bits to a threshold value).
Wilson is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of wireless communications, dealing with methods and apparatus for control channel code rate selection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Ferrieux in view of Ionita to incorporate the teachings of Wilson on MCS, with a motivation for uncoded coding scheme, and guarantee improvements in NR technology, (Wilson, Para. [0006]).
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
Wang et al. (US 20100246720 A1)-discloses condition or quality of the channel affects the type of transmission data rate, modulation scheme and transmission scheduling that can be supported. To support high data rate transmissions for mobile devices, a base transceiver station dynamically selects the optimal transmission scheme, such as parameters for one or more of a modulation, data rate and coding level, based on the channel conditions…. …Fig. 1-2
Razavilar et al. (US 20030109261 A1)-discloses user throughput is a function of the channel conditions, e.g., the received signal-to-interference ratio (SIR), and the modulation scheme … to improve throughput is to use adaptive modulation, i.e., change the modulation level or coding rate by adapting it to the channel condition…. …Fig. 1-2
MURAKAMI et al. (US 20150171937 A1)-discloses When transmitting signals from a plurality of base stations (broadcasting stations), the base stations include at least a first base station having a first antenna with a first polarization and a second base station having a second antenna with a second polarization that is different from the first polarization. Then, when the first base station transmits a signal from the first antenna having the first polarization, the second base station transmits the same signal as the first antenna of the first base station from a second antenna having the second polarization, at the same time.… …Fig. 1-5
Levitsky et al. (US 20180269947 A1)-discloses channel (e.g., a PDSCH) and a capacity associated with the channel may change each time a beam switching event or a beam refinement event occurs for the transmission beam 220, the reception beam 225, or both. Channel state information (CSI) may be used to qualify channel conditions associated with the channel, and to assist in link adaptation procedures that may be used in the communications system to provide for robust and reliable communications. In some cases, CSI may be measured on the Rx side (e.g., UE 210) and subsequently transmitted back to the Tx side (e.g., base station 205) to be used to adaptively optimize a transmission configuration to current channel conditions. CSI messages may be used to transmit parameters including, for example, a digital precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a rank indicator (RI) and a channel quality indicator (CQI) which may be linked to an associated modulating and coding scheme (MCS) index that may describe a corresponding optimal digital precoding scheme, a number of spatial layers, and a modulation and code rate suggested for the transmission on the Tx side (e.g., base station 205)…. …Fig. 1-2
/OLADIRAN GIDEON OLALEYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2472