DETAILED ACTION
Claim 15 is amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: ORGANIC LIGHT EMITTING DIODE (OLED) DRIVING LIGHT EMITTING ELEMENT WITH THREE LEVELS OF PULSE WIDTH MODULATION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 20220319397).
As per claim 1, Kim discloses a pixel driving circuit (Fig. 6, #110) for driving a light emitting element (#20; [0164]-[0165]), comprising:
a current driving circuit (#111) for receiving a display data signal and a display control signal, and outputting a driving current having an intensity corresponding to the display data signal when the display control signal is received ([0140]; [0172]; [0184]-[0185]; [0188]); and
a grayscale control circuit (Fig. 8A, #112) for receiving the driving current, a pulse width selection signal (#Set(n)), and a pulse width modulation signal (#Sweep) and driving the light emitting element (#20) for a preset duration (i.e., first light emitting period) based on the pulse width modulation signal (#Sweep(n); [0172]; [0211]; [0236]-[0245]),
wherein the preset duration (i.e., first light emitting period) is a first duration, a second duration, or a third duration corresponding to the pulse width selection signal (#Set(n); [0236]-[0245]).
As per claim 14, Kim discloses a pixel driving method for driving a pixel driving circuit (Fig. 6, #110; [0007]; [0164]-[0165]), wherein the pixel driving circuit (#110) comprises:
a current driving circuit (#111) for receiving a display data signal and a display control signal, and outputting a driving current having an intensity corresponding to the display data signal when the display control signal is received ([0140]; [0172]; [0184]-[0185]; [0188]); and
a grayscale control circuit (Fig. 8A, #112) for receiving the driving current, a pulse width selection signal (#Set(n)), and a pulse width modulation signal (#Sweep) and driving the light emitting element (#20) for a preset duration (i.e., first light emitting period) based on the pulse width modulation signal (#Sweep(n); [0172]; [0211]; [0236]-[0245]), wherein the preset duration (i.e., first light emitting period) is a first duration, a second duration, or a third duration corresponding to the pulse width selection signal (#Set(n); [0236]-[0245]),
wherein the pixel driving method comprises:
the current driving circuit (#111) receiving the display data signal and the display control signal, and outputting the driving current having the intensity corresponding to the display data signal when the display control signal is received ([0140]; [0172]; [0184]-[0185]; [0188]); and
the grayscale control circuit (Fig. 8A, #112) receiving the driving current, the pulse width selection signal (#Set(n)), and the pulse width modulation signal (#Sweep) and driving the light emitting element (#20) for the preset duration (i.e., first light emitting period) based on the pulse width modulation signal (#Sweep(n); [0172]; [0211]; [0236]-[0245]), wherein the preset duration (i.e., first light emitting period) is a first duration, a second duration, or a third duration corresponding to the pulse width selection signal (#Set(n); [0236]-[0245]).
As per claim 15, Kim discloses a display panel (Fig. 2, #100; [0083]), comprising:
a plurality of light emitting elements (#10) and a plurality of pixel circuits each one for driving a corresponding one of the plurality of light emitting elements ([0086]-[0090]), wherein each of the plurality of pixel circuits comprises a pixel driving circuit (#110; [0164]-0165]), wherein the pixel driving circuit (#110) comprises:
a current driving circuit (#111) for receiving a display data signal and a display control signal, and outputting a driving current having an intensity corresponding to the display data signal when the display control signal is received ([0140]; [0172]; [0184]-[0185]; [0188]); and
a grayscale control circuit (Fig. 8A, #112) for receiving the driving current, a pulse width selection signal (#Set(n)), and a pulse width modulation signal (#Sweep) and driving the light emitting element (#20) for a preset duration (i.e., first light emitting period) based on the pulse width modulation signal (#Sweep(n); [0172]; [0211]; [0236]-[0245]), wherein the preset duration (i.e., first light emitting period) is a first duration, a second duration, or a third duration corresponding to the pulse width selection signal (#Set(n); [0236]-[0245]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Choi (US 20050017993).
As per claim 12, Kim discloses the pixel driving circuit of claim 1.
However, Kim does not explicitly teach the second duration is greater than or less than the third duration to perform three levels of grayscale adjustment; or
the second duration is equal to the third duration to perform two levels of grayscale adjustment.
Choi teaches the second duration is greater than or less than the third duration to perform three levels of grayscale adjustment (Fig. 2; [0010]-[0012]); or
the second duration is equal to the third duration to perform two levels of grayscale adjustment (Fig. 5; [0036]-[0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the preset durations of Kim set according to Choi so as to provide a multi-gradation display apparatus using pulse width modulation (PWM) which can enhance integration of the same and reduce current consumption by preventing an increase in the number of PWM gray scale pulses corresponding to an increase in the bit number of an image data code (Choi: [0019}).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-11, 13, and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of a pixel driving circuit for driving a light emitting element comprising a current driving circuit for receiving a display data signal and a display control signal, and outputting a driving current having an intensity corresponding to the display data signal when the display control signal is received; and a grayscale control circuit for receiving the driving current, a pulse width selection signal, and a pulse width modulation signal and driving the light emitting element for a preset duration based on the pulse width modulation signal does not teach or fairly suggest the grayscale control circuit comprises a first pulse width selection circuit and a second pulse width selection circuit each for receiving the driving current, the pulse width selection signal, and the pulse width modulation signal; and the first pulse width selection circuit and the second pulse width selection circuit alternately drive the light emitting element for a total duration of the first duration based on the pulse width modulation signal under control of the pulse width selection signal; or the first pulse width selection circuit drives the light emitting element for the second duration based on the pulse width modulation signal under control of the pulse width selection signal; or the second pulse width selection circuit drives the light emitting element for the third duration based on the pulse width modulation signal under control of the pulse width selection signal, wherein the first duration is a sum of the second duration and the third duration, wherein the current driving circuit comprises: a reset circuit, a writing compensation circuit, and a driving circuit, wherein the writing compensation circuit is connected to the reset circuit, the driving circuit, and the grayscale control circuit, respectively; the reset circuit is configured to receive a reset signal and a first scan signal and reset the writing compensation circuit based on the first scan signal; the writing compensation circuit is further configured to receive the display data signal and write the display data signal based on the second scan signal; and the driving circuit is configured to receive a first voltage and the display control signal and control the writing compensation circuit to output the driving current having the intensity corresponding to the display data signal based on the first voltage and the display control signal.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states on page 9 in the Remarks, “In independent claim 1, the current driving circuit is configured to output a driving current with an intensity corresponding to the display data signal, that is, different display data signals correspond to driving currents with different intensities. In contrast, in Kim, the constant current generator 111 is configured to provide a constant current of fixed magnitude to the organic light emitting element 20 (see Paragraph [0172] of Kim), i.e., a constant current that remains unchanged, rather than driving currents with different intensities”.
The Examiner does not agree. Claim 1 merely recites the limitation of “a current driving circuit for receiving a display data signal and a display control signal, and outputting a driving current having an intensity corresponding to the display data signal when the display control signal is received” and does not recite limitations of “different display data signals correspond to driving currents with different intensities” and/or “driving currents with different intensities” as argued by the Applicant.
Furthermore, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., different display data signals correspond to driving currents with different intensities, driving currents with different intensities) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant states on page 9 in the Remarks, “Moreover, in independent claim 1, the grayscale control circuit is configured to receive the driving current to drive the light emitting element. However, in Kim, the PWM circuit 112 is not configured to receive the driving current, instead, it controls the on/off state of the transistor T9 to regulate the duration during which the driving current provided by the constant current generator 111 flows through the inorganic light emitting element 20 within the light emitting period”.
The Examiner does not agree. Kim discloses on paragraph 0172, “The sub pixel circuits 110 may include a constant current generator circuit 111 for providing a constant current having a constant magnitude to the inorganic light emitting element 20 based on the constant current generator data voltage, and a PWM circuit 112 for controlling the time at which the constant current flows through the inorganic light emitting element 20 based on the PWM data voltage. Here, a constant current provided to the inorganic light emitting element 20 becomes a driving current”.
Kim discloses on paragraph 0211, “Accordingly, the PWM circuit 112 may control the on/off operation of the transistor T9 through the operation of the reset unit 12 and the on/off operation of the second driving transistor T2, thereby controlling the time at which the driving current flows through the inorganic light emitting element 20 in the light emitting period”.
Therefore, Kim discloses the limitation of “the grayscale control circuit is configured to receive the driving current to drive the light emitting element” as recited in claim 1 and similarly in claim 15.
Applicant states on page 9 in the Remarks, “In addition, in independent claim 1, the grayscale control circuit drives the light emitting element for a preset duration according to the pulse width modulation signal. In Kim, however, it is the constant current generator circuit 111, not PWM circuit 112 that drives the light emitting element. In fact, the PWM circuit 112 merely controls the on/off of the transistor T9”.
The Examiner does not agree. Kim discloses on paragraph 0172, “…PWM circuit 112 for controlling the time at which the constant current flows through the inorganic light emitting element 20 based on the PWM data voltage”.
Kim discloses on paragraph 0211, “Accordingly, the PWM circuit 112 may control the on/off operation of the transistor T9 through the operation of the reset unit 12 and the on/off operation of the second driving transistor T2, thereby controlling the time at which the driving current flows through the inorganic light emitting element 20 in the light emitting period”.
Kim discloses on paragraph 0245, “The emission signals (SET(n), Emi_PWM(n), Emi_PAM(n), and Sweep(n)) are respectively applied in the light emitting periods after the second time for the nth row line, and the inorganic light emitting elements 20 emit light on the basis of the image data voltage set in the data setting period”.
Therefore, Kim discloses the limitation of “driving the light emitting element for a preset duration based on the pulse width modulation signal” as recited in claim 1 and similarly in claim 15.
Applicant states on pages 9-10 in the Remarks, “Additionally, in independent claim 1, the preset duration is a first duration, a second duration, or a third duration corresponding to the pulse width selection signal, that is, the pulse width selection signal can correspond to at least three different durations, so that switching among three levels of durations can be achieved based on the pulse width selection signal. Furthermore, since the grayscale control circuit drives the light emitting element for the preset duration according to the pulse width modulation signal, and the preset duration is the first duration, the second duration, or the third duration corresponding to the pulse width selection signal, so that the switching among the three levels of durations is achieved through the collaboration of the "pulse width selection signal + pulse width modulation signal"…There is no disclosure that the emission signal SET(n) corresponds to a first duration, a second duration, or a third duration, nor is there any disclosure related to achieving switching among three levels of durations through the collaboration of the "pulse width selection signal + pulse width modulation signal".
The Examiner does not agree. Claim 1 merely recites the limitation of “wherein the preset duration is a first duration, a second duration, or a third duration corresponding to the pulse width selection signal” and does not recite that the grayscale control circuit drives the light emitting element for the preset duration according to the pulse width modulation signal, and the preset duration is the first duration, the second duration, or the third duration corresponding to the pulse width selection signal, so that the switching among the three levels of durations is achieved through the collaboration of the "pulse width selection signal + pulse width modulation signal".
Furthermore, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the grayscale control circuit drives the light emitting element for the preset duration according to the pulse width modulation signal, and the preset duration is the first duration, the second duration, or the third duration corresponding to the pulse width selection signal, so that the switching among the three levels of durations is achieved through the collaboration of the pulse width selection signal + pulse width modulation signal) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Nelson Lam/Examiner, Art Unit 2627
/KE XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2627