DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 41, 50-54, 63-67, 70-72, and 74-75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rahman et al. (US 2018/0183503 A1).
Regarding claim 41, Rahman discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (116), comprising: a memory (360); and at least one processor (340) coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to: receive control signaling scheduling an uplink multiple input multiple output (MIMO) transmission for 8 antenna ports, the control signaling including a first part based on a rank, a second part based on a precoding matrix type, and a third part based on a transmitted precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) associated with one or two 4 antenna port precoding matrices (abstract; paragraph [0094]; [0121]; [0134]; [0085]; [0097]; [0106]; [0125]; [0130]-[0132]; [0140]-[0141]; [0143]-[0170]; [0171]; [0172]-[0174]; [0176]-[0196]; and so on, illustrating control signaling or DCI to schedule uplink MIMO transmission for 8 antenna ports comprising rank, matrix or codebook type, and TPMI); and transmit the uplink MIMO transmission precoded with an 8 port uplink MIMO precoder, the 8 port uplink MIMO precoder being based on a 4 port uplink MIMO codebook with a mapping indicated by a combination of the first part, the second part, or the third part of the control signaling (paragraph [006]-[0007]; [0033]; [0077]; [0146]; [0177]-[0178]; [0207]; [0268]-[0270]; [0274]-[0275]; [0277]-[0279]; [0281]; [0284]; and etc., explaining the transmission of uplink MIMO recoded with 8 ports mapping the rank, type, and TPMI).
Regarding claim 54, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1. The claim is mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding method, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 67, Rahman discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node (102), comprising: a memory (230); and at least one processor (225) coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to: transmit control signaling scheduling an uplink multiple input multiple output (MIMO) transmission for 8 antenna ports, the control signaling including a first part based on a rank, a second part based on a precoding matrix type, and a third part based on a transmitted precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) associated with one or two 4 antenna port precoding matrices (paragraph [006]-[0007]; [0033]; [0077]; [0146]; [0177]-[0178]; [0207]; [0268]-[0270]; [0274]-[0275]; [0277]-[0279]; [0281]; [0284]; and etc.); and receive the uplink MIMO transmission precoded with an 8 port uplink MIMO precoder, the 8 port uplink MIMO precoder being based on a 4 port uplink MIMO codebook with a mapping indicated by a combination of the first part, the second part, or the third part of the control signaling (abstract; paragraph [0094]; [0121]; [0134]; [0085]; [0097]; [0106]; [0125]; [0130]-[0132]; [0140]-[0141]; [0143]-[0170]; [0171]; [0172]-[0174]; [0176]-[0196]; and so on).
Regarding claim 72, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 67. The claim is a mere reformulation of claim 67 in order to define a method, and the rejection to claim 67 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 50, 63, 70, and 74, Rahman discloses wherein the 8 antenna ports are grouped into a first group of 4 antenna ports and a second group of 4 antenna ports that map to the 8 port uplink MIMO precoder (paragraph [0094]; [0121]; [0134]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 51, 64, 71, and 75, Rahman discloses wherein the first group of 4 antenna ports includes ports 0, 1, 4, and 5, and wherein the second group of 4 antenna ports includes ports 2, 3, 6, and 7 (paragraph [0094]; [0109]; [0111]; [0113]; [0131]-[0134]; [0146]-[0147]-[0153]; [0157]-[0158]; [0160]-[0166]; and so on).
Regarding claim 52, and 65, Rahman discloses wherein a grouping into the first group of 4 antenna ports and the second group of 4 antenna ports is based on a permutation operation (paragraph [0085]; [0094]; [0109]; [0111]; [0113]; [0115]-[0117]; [0131]-[0134]; [0146]-[0147]-[0153]; [0157]-[0158]; [0160]-[0166]; [0170]; [0199]; [0212]; [0268]; [0271]-[0273]; [0283]; and so on).
Regarding claim 53, and 66, Rahman discloses wherein the control signaling comprises downlink control information (DCI) (paragraph [0005]-[0007]; [0078]; [0101]-[0105]; [0113]; [0122]-[0123]; [0129]-[0130]; [0172]-[0173]; [0177]; [0180]; [0197]; [0262]-[0263]; and so on).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 42-49, 55-62, 68-69, and 73 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461