DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions & Status of Claims
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claims 1 and 2, drawn to a ferritic stainless steel.
Group II, claims 3 and 4, drawn to a production method for a ferritic stainless steel.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Groups I and II lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of a ferritic stainless steel, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of WO 2022/107757 A1 via its US English equivalent US 2024/0011137 A1 of Yamasaki (US’137). US’137 teaches {abstract, claims 1, 3-4, 8, 10, [0001], [0007]-[0101], [0026]-[0048], Table 1} a ferritic stainless steel with a composition wherein the claimed ranges of the constituent elements of the instant alloy of the instant claims are substantially identical to that of the instant steel thereby making technical feature not a special technical feature.
During a telephone conversation with TATSUYA SAWADA on 23 OCT 2026 a provisional election was made WITHOUT traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1 and 2, drawn to a ferritic stainless steel. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 3 and 4 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Upon correction of the figures (see section titled Drawings below), the term Fig. 1 in the specification requires modification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because a single view is used in an application to illustrate the claimed invention, but it has been numbered and with the abbreviation "FIG.". Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, claim 1 recites both “containing” as well as “consisting of” with respect to the chemical composition of the stainless steel. The transitional term “comprising”, which is synonymous with “including,” “containing,” or “characterized by,” is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps whereas the transitional phrase “consisting of” which excludes any element, step, or ingredient not specified in the claim. See MPEP § 2111.03. Therefore, it is unclear whether the instant claims allows only those elements that are recited or also allows additional, unrecited elements. For application of prior art, claims are interpreted to have open ended transitional term in view of the various compositions set forth in Table 1 of the specification as well as the additional elements of claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
List 1
Element
Instant Claims
(mass%)
Prior Art
US’137
(mass%)
Prior Art
JP’168
(mass%)
C
0.015 or less
0.001 – 0.030
0.02 or less
Si
0.05 – 2.00
0.01 – 4.00
< 0.6
Mn
0.05 – 0.80
0.01 – 2.00
0.6 – 2.0
P
0.040 or less
0 – 0.30
0.04 or less
S
0.010 or less
0 – 0.50
0.006 or less
Al
0.01 – 0.50
7.000 or less
0.005 – 0.05
N
0.020 or less
0.001 – 0.030
0.02 or less
Ni
0.02 – 1.00
0.01 – 4.00
0.10 – 0.13
(see Table 1)
Cr
14.0 – 25.0
8.0 – 35.0
17.0 – 22.0
Nb
1.10 – 3.00
0 – 2.00
0.6 – 1.5
Mo
1.0 – 4.0
0.01 – 5.00
1.0 – 3.0
Claim 2 one or more of Cu: 2.00 or less, V: 0.50 or less, W: 5.0 or less, Ti: 0.30 or less, REM: 0.50 or less, Zr: 0.50 or less, Co: 0.50 or less, B: 0.0050 or less, Ca: 0.0050 or less, Mg: 0.0050 or less, Sb: 0.50 or less, and Sn: 0.50 or less
Ti: 0 – 2.00
Cu: 0.1 – <0.3
Fe +
impurities
Balance
Balance
Balance
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022/107757 A1 via its US English equivalent US 2024/0011137 A1 of Yamasaki (US’137).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, WO 2022/107757 A1 via its US English equivalent US 2024/0011137 A1 of Yamasaki (US’137) teaches {abstract, claims 1, 3-4, 8, 10, [0001], [0007]-[0101], [0026]-[0048], Table 1} a ferritic stainless steel with a composition wherein the claimed ranges of the constituent elements of the instant alloy of the instant claims overlap or lie inside the ranges of various elements of the alloy of the prior art as shown in the List 1 above. As the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness is established as it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to select the claimed composition over the prior art disclosure since the prior art teaches the similar property/utility throughout the disclosed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP § 2144.05 I.
It is noted that the prior art does not explicitly teach that its steel abides by "[Si]-[Mn] > 0.00,where [Si] and [Mn] are respectively Si content and Mn content in mass % in the chemical composition" of instant claim 1 and b) 0.14 of instant claim 4. However, as the prior art discloses a composition wherein the claimed ranges of the various elements of the instant alloy overlap or lie inside the ranges of various elements of the alloy of the prior art (see compositional analysis above), the ranges of the formulaic expression of the instant claims would also overlap or lie inside the values of the prior art resulting from the instant formulaic expressions. For example, the prior art teaches, in mass% Si: 0.01 – 4.00 and Mn: 0.01 – 2.00, which means that the prior art allows a range of 0-3.99 for Si-Mn. In addition, it is well settled that there is no invention in the discovery of a general formula if it covers a composition described in the prior art, In re Cooper and Foley 1943 C.D. 357, 553 O.G. 177; 57 USPQ 117, Saklatwalla v. Marburg, 620 O.G. 685, 1949 C.D. 77, and In re Pilling, 403 O.G. 513, 44 F(2) 878, 1931 C.D. 75.
It is noted that the prior art is silent regarding its alloy having the properties of a) “an amount of solute Nb is more than 1.00 mass %” [claim 1], as recited in the instant claims. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2112.01 I. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2112.01 II. Therefore, it is expected that the alloy of the prior art possesses the properties as claimed in the instant claims since a) the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition (see compositional analysis above) and b) the claimed and prior art products are produced by identical or substantially identical processes of heat treatment that would result in the solute Nb {instant alloy: instant specification [0058]-[0059]; Prior art: [0109]-[0110], [0119], heat treatment temperature of 1290°C}.
Instant Specification
[0058] [Final Annealing Treatment]
It is important that the material to be treated prepared as described above is then subjected to a final annealing treatment at a final annealing temperature of 1120° C. or higher. The above-described ferritic stainless steel according to an embodiment of the present disclosure can thus be obtained.
[0059] Final Annealing Temperature: 1120° C. Or Higher
In the final annealing treatment, Nb precipitated as carbides and nitrides, such as NbC and NbN, and Laves phase (hereafter also referred to as Laves phase, etc.) is dissolved. When the final annealing temperature is higher, Laves phase, etc. are dissolved more, resulting in a larger amount of solute Nb. In order to cause the amount of solute Nb to be more than 1.00 mass %, the final annealing temperature needs to be 1120° C. or higher. The final annealing temperature is preferably 1150° C. or higher and more preferably 1200° C. or higher. If the final annealing temperature is higher than 1250° C., workability may decrease due to coarsening of crystal grains. The final annealing temperature is therefore preferably 1250° C. or lower. Herein, the final annealing temperature is the maximum arrival temperature in the final annealing treatment. Moreover, the final annealing time (described later) is the holding (retention) time in the temperature range from (the final annealing temperature—10° C.) to the final annealing temperature. The temperature during the holding does not need to be constant. In the case where a hot-rolled steel sheet is used as the material to be treated, hot-rolled sheet annealing may be performed as a final annealing treatment, with the annealing temperature in the hot-rolled sheet annealing being controlled within the foregoing range.
Prior Art
[0109] 4-3. Heat Treatment Temperature of Bar-shaped Steel Product
[0110] The bar-shaped steel product after hot rolling is preferably subjected to the heat treatment. A heat treatment temperature of the bar-shaped steel product varies the average particle size of nitrides and the fractions of solute contents in steel. Thus, the heat treatment temperature of the bar-shaped steel product affects soft magnetic properties, high-speed cold forging properties, and machinability. When the heat treatment temperature of the bar-shaped steel product exceeds 1,300 degrees C., nitrides easily dissolve to increase the solute N content and the solute B content, decreasing soft magnetic properties and high-speed cold forging properties. Further, the average particle size of nitrides is too small at a heat treatment temperature exceeding 1,300 degrees C., resulting in poor machinability. Thus, the heat treatment temperature is 1,300 degrees C. or less, preferably 1,200 degrees C. or less, and more preferably 1,100 degrees C. or less. On the other hand, when the heat treatment temperature of the bar-shaped steel product is less than 500 degrees C., the solute N content is too small, resulting in poor machinability. Further, when the heat treatment temperature of the bar-shaped steel product is less than 500 degrees C., nitrides not forming a solid solution make the average particle size of nitrides large, decreasing high-speed cold forging properties. The heat treatment temperature is thus 500 degrees C. or more. The heat treatment temperature is preferably 600 degrees C. or more, more preferably 700 degrees C.
[0118] Steels having chemical compositions shown in Tables 1 and 2 were melted. AOD melting, which was an inexpensive melting process for stainless steel, was assumed for steel melting, where each steel was practically melted in a 100-kg vacuum melting furnace and cast into a cast steel with a diameter of 180 mm. Then, the cast steel was formed into a stainless steel bar or wire rod with a diameter of 20.0 mm under manufacturing conditions below.
[0119] The conditions are described below. Specifically, the cast steel was heated, subjected to skew rolling, rough rolling, and intermediate rolling, and then subjected to finish rolling under the condition of No. 123 in Table 6 (temperature at finish rolling entering side: 1,180 degrees C., roll diameter of finish rolling: 480 mm). After that, the heat treatment was performed under the condition of No. 123 in Table 6 (temperature: 1,290 degrees C.). Accordingly, a bar or a wire rod with a diameter of 20.0 mm (bar-shaped steel product) was provided. (emphasis added)
Since the Office does not have a laboratory to test the reference alloy, it is applicant’s burden to show that the reference alloy does not possess the properties as claimed in the instant claims. See In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); In re Marosi, 218 USPQ 289, 292-293 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Fitzgerald et al., 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP H06-088168A of Uematsu and its English machine translation (JP’168) teaches {abstract, claims 1-4, [0001], [0009]-[0012], [0026]-[0048], Table 1} a ferritic stainless steel with a composition that is substantially identical to instant steel (See List 1 above). It is also noted that the prior art teaches a substantially identical final annealing as detailed in the making of the instant claimed steel.
[Claim 3] The ferritic stainless steel sheet according to claim 1, wherein the steel sheet is heated to a temperature of 1050 ° C. to 1200 ° C. for 10 minutes or less and then cooled to 600 ° C. at a rate of 2 ° C. / sec or more in final annealing in the production process.
[0045]Next, in the production of the steel sheet of the present invention, as described above, the annealing temperature is preferably as high as possible in order to sufficiently dissolve the solid solution strengthening elements in the final annealing. That is, as shown in FIG. 4, when the annealing temperature is less than 1050 °C., the solid solution of Nb is not sufficient, but a remarkable improvement in the high-temperature strength cannot be expected. FIG. 4 shows that the increase in high-temperature strength is saturated when the annealing temperature exceeds 1200 °C. In addition, when the annealing temperature is too high, the crystal grains are coarsened, which causes disadvantages such as a decrease in toughness. From the above, the range of the final finish annealing temperature is set to 1050 °C. or more and 1200 °C. or less.
[0046]The cooling rate after the final annealing is preferably 2 °C. / sec or more from the annealing temperature to 600 °C. so that Nb dissolved during annealing does not precipitate during cooling.
[0047]The final finish annealing time is 1050 °C. or more
When annealing is performed at a temperature of 1200 °C. or lower for a long time, crystal grains and precipitates are coarsened, and when continuous annealing is performed, a long time is required for the annealing step and the productivity is lowered, so that it is practical to set the annealing time to 10 minutes or less.
[0048]The final annealing means that a steel strip or a steel sheet rolled to a target sheet thickness through hot rolling and cold rolling in a manufacturing process of a material manufacturer is subjected to final annealing. In some cases, light skin pass rolling may be performed after the final annealing.
/JOPHY S. KOSHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733