DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 11/6/2024 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 6-7, 11, and 14-15 were amended. Claims 1-15 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tang et al. CN 114347480 A (henceforth referred to as Tang).
As for claim 1, Tang teaches a wash station (Fig. 1: part 10) for cleaning a downward facing printer head (Fig. 4: part 5) in metal-binder jetting, the wash station comprises: a frame (Fig. 1: part 41); a nozzle (Fig. 2: part 145) for projecting a cleaning liquid in an upward direction; a nozzle support (Fig. 3: parts 11 and 14) supporting the nozzle, wherein the nozzle support is movable relative to the frame; an actuator (Fig. 3: part 4) configured to position the nozzle support in a first position and in a second position relative to the frame, wherein the second position is above the first position; and a lid (Fig. 1: part 10) configured to transition between a closed position (Figs. 1-2) and a first open position (Figs. 3-4) at a change between the first position and the second position of the nozzle support, wherein the lid is positioned above the nozzle in the closed position and is positioned beside and/or below the nozzle in the first open position.
As for claim 2, Tang further teaches that the nozzle support comprises an upper portion positioned above the nozzle and forming an aperture, wherein the nozzle is configured to project the cleaning liquid through aperture (Figs. 1-4).
As for claim 3, Tang further teaches that the lid is configured to cover the aperture from above with the lid in the closed position (Figs. 1-4).
As for claim 11, Tang further teaches that the lid is configured to cover the nozzle support from above with the lid in the closed position (Figs. 1-4).
As for claim 15, Tang teaches an assembly comprising: a wash station (Fig. 1: part 10) according to claim 1; a printer head (Fig. 4: part 5); and a printer head support (Fig. 3: parts 11 and 14) configured to change the position of the printer head relative to the wash station (Figs. 1-4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10 and 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Tang et al. CN 114347480 A, the closest prior art, differs from the instant claims in failing to teach that the nozzle support forms an enclosed space below the upper portion of the nozzle support, the aperture is open to the enclosed space, and the nozzle projects the cleaning liquid within the enclosed space. Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wash station taught by Tang as claimed.
Conclusion
/LEVON J SHAHINIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711