DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 and 17 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2012/148926 (‘926), from IDS filed 11/7/2024 in view of Kollewe et al., Journal of the Neurological Sciences 275 (2008) 69–73.
‘926 teaches the deuterated linoleic acid such as 11,11-D2-linoleic acid as effective in treating ALS by attenuating the lipid peroxidation associated oxidative stress (see example 14, [0044]-[0045], [0189]-[0190]). ‘926 teaches other D2-lnioleic acids as useful in reducing oxidative stress (see claim 10) for example).
‘926 does not teach the use of ALSFS-R test for assessing the severity of ALS.
Kollewe et al. teaches ALSFRS-R score and its change over time can be a predictor for ALS prognosis (see the abstract). Kollewe et al. teaches “The mean ALSFRS-R score was 38.3 (SD 1.4, median 39, minimum 26, maximum48).For analysis, patients with an ALSFRS-R score below the median of 39 points were separated from those with a score above 39 points (Fig. 6). A low rank of ALSFRS-R score at the first visit correlated with a shorter survival time (log-rank p b 0.01). Patients with a value lower than 39 had a median survival time of 28 months (95% CI 21–35). However, patients with a value higher than 39 points had a longer median survival time of 59 months (95% CI 45–64).” (see page 71, col. 1, Section 3.3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to employ the herein claimed deuterated linoleic acids to treat ALS in patients with ALSFRS-R score below 38.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the herein claimed deuterated linoleic acids to treat ALS in patients with ALSFRS-R score below 38. Since with ALSFRS-R score below 38 would indicates worse survival time, treating the patients suffered with ALS would be a priority. Such treatment would be reasonably expected to have prolonged the patients’ survival rate.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13, 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,491,130 (‘130) in view of Kollewe et al. ‘130 teaches the use of 11,11-D2 linoleic acid in a method of treating neurodegenerative disease ALS (see claim 1).
‘130 does not expressly teach the use of ALSFS-R test for assessing the severity of ALS.
Kollewe et al. teaches ALSFRS-R score and its change over time can be a predictor for ALS prognosis (see the abstract). Kollewe et al. teaches “The mean ALSFRS-R score was 38.3 (SD 1.4, median 39, minimum 26, maximum48).For analysis, patients with an ALSFRS-R score below the median of 39 points were separated from those with a score above 39 points (Fig. 6). A low rank of ALSFRS-R score at the first visit correlated with a shorter survival time (log-rank p b 0.01). Patients with a value lower than 39 had a median survival time of 28 months (95% CI 21–35). However, patients with a value higher than 39 points had a longer median survival time of 59 months (95% CI 45–64).” (see page 71, col. 1, Section 3.3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to employ the herein claimed deuterated linoleic acids to treat ALS in patients with ALSFRS-R score below 38.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the herein claimed deuterated linoleic acids to treat ALS in patients with ALSFRS-R score below 38. Since with ALSFRS-R score below 38 would indicates worse survival time, treating the patients suffered with ALS would be a priority. Such treatment would be reasonably expected to have prolonged the patients’ survival rate.
Claims 1-13, 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,351,143 (‘143) in view of Kollewe et al. ‘143 teaches the use of 11,11-D2 linoleic acid in a method of treating neurodegenerative disease ALS (see claim 1).
‘143 does not expressly teach the use of ALSFS-R test for assessing the severity of ALS.
Kollewe et al. teaches ALSFRS-R score and its change over time can be a predictor for ALS prognosis (see the abstract). Kollewe et al. teaches “The mean ALSFRS-R score was 38.3 (SD 1.4, median 39, minimum 26, maximum48).For analysis, patients with an ALSFRS-R score below the median of 39 points were separated from those with a score above 39 points (Fig. 6). A low rank of ALSFRS-R score at the first visit correlated with a shorter survival time (log-rank p b 0.01). Patients with a value lower than 39 had a median survival time of 28 months (95% CI 21–35). However, patients with a value higher than 39 points had a longer median survival time of 59 months (95% CI 45–64).” (see page 71, col. 1, Section 3.3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to employ the herein claimed deuterated linoleic acids to treat ALS in patients with ALSFRS-R score below 38.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the herein claimed deuterated linoleic acids to treat ALS in patients with ALSFRS-R score below 38. Since with ALSFRS-R score below 38 would indicates worse survival time, treating the patients suffered with ALS would be a priority. Such treatment would be reasonably expected to have prolonged the patients’ survival rate.
Claims 1-13, 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,673,037 (‘037) in view of Kollewe et al. ‘037 teaches the use of 11,11-D2 linoleic acid in a method of treating ALS (see claim 1).
‘037 does not expressly teach the use of ALSFS-R test for assessing the severity of ALS.
Kollewe et al. teaches ALSFRS-R score and its change over time can be a predictor for ALS prognosis (see the abstract). Kollewe et al. teaches “The mean ALSFRS-R score was 38.3 (SD 1.4, median 39, minimum 26, maximum48).For analysis, patients with an ALSFRS-R score below the median of 39 points were separated from those with a score above 39 points (Fig. 6). A low rank of ALSFRS-R score at the first visit correlated with a shorter survival time (log-rank p b 0.01). Patients with a value lower than 39 had a median survival time of 28 months (95% CI 21–35). However, patients with a value higher than 39 points had a longer median survival time of 59 months (95% CI 45–64).” (see page 71, col. 1, Section 3.3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to employ the herein claimed deuterated linoleic acids to treat ALS in patients with ALSFRS-R score below 38.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the herein claimed deuterated linoleic acids to treat ALS in patients with ALSFRS-R score below 38. Since with ALSFRS-R score below 38 would indicates worse survival time, treating the patients suffered with ALS would be a priority. Such treatment would be reasonably expected to have prolonged the patients’ survival rate.
/SAN MING R HUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627