DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/06/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a. limit member in claim 19.
b. fixation member in claim 25.
Limit member is interpreted to cover an extension plate and a flange as per claim 20 of applicant specification; and equivalents thereof.
Fixation member is interpreted to cover the box main body as per para [0030] of applicant specification; and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18-20, 31, and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jagtap (US 20200266615 A1).
Regarding claim 18:
Jagtap discloses an electric control box (abstract; Figs. 1-7) comprising:
an electric-control-box body #12 including:
an opening mouth #17 provided at a bottom of the electric-control-box body (see Fig. 2 & 7); and
a socket #30 provided at the bottom of the electric-control-box body (best seen in Fig. 7), an opening of the socket being configured to face an inside of the opening mouth (Fig. 2 & 7);
an electric-control-box cover #14 configured to cover the opening mouth (Fig. 7), a portion of an edge of the electric-control-box cover being configured to be inserted in the socket (Fig. 7), and an opening wall of the socket being configured to position the electric-control-box cover in a cantilevered state (Fig. 7).
Note: the limitation “an opening wall of the socket being configured to position the electric-control-box cover in a cantilevered state” constitutes an intended use limitation that does not further limit the structure of the claimed invention. It has been held that “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. Hewett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987); MPEP 2114/Il.
Regarding claim 19:
Jagtap further discloses wherein the electric-control-box body includes a box main body #12, a bottom rim of the box main body enclosing to form the opening mouth (Fig. 7); and a limit member (see V shaped groove defined by #30), one end of the limit member being configured to be connected with the box main body (Fig. 7), another end of the limit member protruding from the bottom rim and extending toward the inside of the opening mouth (Fig. 7), and the limit member and the bottom rim forming the socket (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 20:
Jagtap further discloses wherein the limit member is provided as an integral member with the box main body (Fig. 7); the limit member includes an extension plate (see #30; Fig. 5) and a flange (see #62; Fig. 5), one end of the extension plate is connected to the bottom rim (Fig. 7), another end of the extension plate is configured to extend away from a top of the box main body and connect with the flange (Fig. 5 & 7), and the flange is configured to extend towards the inside of the opening mouth (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 25:
Jagtap further discloses wherein the box main body includes a plurality of sidewalls connected end to end and including a first sidewall and a second sidewall arranged opposite to each other (Fig. 7); the limit member is arranged at one end of the first sidewall close to the opening mouth (Fig. 7); and the second sidewall is provided with a fixation member #54 connected with the electric-control-box cover by a screw #56 ([0034]).
Regarding claim 31:
Jagtap further discloses an air-switch module or a junction box (one of #69 or adjacent structure seen near #69. These structures can switch direction of air), the air-switch module or the junction box each includes a shell configured to be connected to an outer wall of the electric-control-box body (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 34:
Jagtap further discloses
wherein one side of the box main body close to the shell is provided with a notch #20 for passing wires ([0030]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-24 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jagtap (US 20200266615 A1).
Regarding claim 21:
Jagtap discloses all the limitations, except for wherein the flange includes a support section and an inclined section, one end of the support section is configured to be connected to the extension plate, another end of the support section is connected to the inclined section, the support section is parallel to the bottom rim, and the inclined section is configured to be inclined toward a side away from the opening mouth.
This difference is clearly with respect to the shape of the flange.
However, it has held that the particular shape of a structure is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape of the claimed invention was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Jagtap with the claimed configuration above.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have increase the clearance space of the socket so as to facilitate assembly or installation. Other benefits included directing water or debris away from the electric box in order to limit rust and damages.
Regarding claims 22-24:
Jagtap as modified discloses all the limitations, except for wherein a thickness to of the electric-control-box cover and a width ti of the socket satisfy t1≤1.2×t0; wherein an extension length s of the support section from the extension plate to the inclined section satisfies s≥2×t1; and wherein an included angle θ formed between the inclined section and the supporting section is in a range of 150° to 180°.
These differences are clearly with respect to the sizing of the device.
However, it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Jagtap with the claimed configuration above.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have minimized material usage so as to improve manufacturing. Other benefits include increasing the clearance space of the socket so as to facilitate assembly or installation; and directing water or debris away from the electric box in order to limit rust and damages.
Regarding claim 35:
The subject matter claimed here is substantially similar to that of claim 18. Thus, for sake of simplicity, conciseness, and brevity, please refer to the rejection of claim 18 above for the rejection of claim 35.
Only the difference will be addressed.
Jagtap further discloses wherein the unit is for an air conditioner (abstract).
Jagtap does not specifically disclose wherein the electric control box is within the indoor unit.
Nonetheless, housing the electric control box inside the indoor unit is a well-known practice of the art (official notice).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Jagtap with the electric control box inside the indoor unit.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have limited exposure to high ambient moisture and airborne contaminants that commonly cause wear on outdoor electrical panels; thereby, lowering the risk of corrosion. Other benefits include facilitating access to the control box in order to facilitate maintenance.
Claim(s) 26-28 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jagtap (US 20200266615 A1) in view of Korcz (US 8987593 B2).
Regarding claims 26-28 and 30:
Jagtap discloses all the limitations, except for a wiring base board arranged within the box main body;
wherein: the box main body includes a top plate located on a side of the box main body away from the opening mouth; a buckle structure is provided between the top plate and the wiring base board, and the buckle structure is configured to position the wiring base board; the wiring base board is connected to the top plate by at least one screw; wherein the buckle structure includes a mounting hole provided on the top plate; and a buckle provided on the wiring base board, and protruding from a top surface of the wiring base board and buckled with the mounting hole; wherein the buckle structure is one of at least two buckle structures provided between the top plate and the wiring base board; wherein the wiring base board is provided with a reinforcement rib extending towards the opening mouth and arranged corresponding to the limit member.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Korcz teaches this arrangement. Korcz teaches an electric control box (Fig. 1-2) comprising a wiring base board #12 arranged within the box main body; wherein
the box main body includes a top plate #16 located on a side of the box main body away from an opening mouth; a buckle structure #14 is provided between the top plate and the wiring base board, and the buckle structure is configured to position the wiring base board (Fig. 2); the wiring base board is connected to the top plate by at least one screw (see Fig. 2); wherein the buckle structure includes a mounting hole provided on the top plate; and a buckle provided on the wiring base board, and protruding from a top surface of the wiring base board and buckled with the mounting hole; wherein the buckle structure is one of at least two buckle structures (#14 & #46) provided between the top plate and the wiring base board (see Fig. 1-2); wherein the wiring base board is provided with a reinforcement rib (#70, #62) extending towards the opening mouth.
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Jagtap with the claimed configuration above as taught by Korcz.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have allowed for adjustability within the electrical box so as to accommodate various type of electrical components.
As modified, the wiring base board is provided with a reinforcement rib extending towards the opening mouth and arranged corresponding to the limit member.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 29 and 32-33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
There is no teaching in the prior art of record that would, reasonably and absent impermissible hindsight, motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the prior art of record so as to provide the electric control box with an electric control main board; wherein the wiring base board is provided with a positioning groove, and the electric control main board is installed in the positioning groove, the wiring base board is provided with a plurality of limiting buckles arranged along a peripheral direction of the electric control main board and buckled with an edge of the electric control main board to fix the electric control main board as required by claim 29; and wherein the shell includes a mounting box welded to the box main body and a mounting cover arranged on the mounting box; the electric-control-box cover includes a first edge and a second edge arranged opposite to each other, the first edge is configured to be inserted in the socket, the second edge is arranged corresponding to the shell, and the second edge extends to a bottom surface of the mounting cover and is connected with the mounting cover by at least one screw as required by claim 32.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kelly (US 20200068736 A1), Kakimi (US 20180309279 A1), Elbaz (US 9478956 B1), Shiraki (US 20150101839 A1), Dinh (US 20040144556 A1), and Castner (US 4672510 A).
/LIONEL NOUKETCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763