Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: location determination module in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-12, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Walz et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20230200614).
With respect to claim 1, Walz et al. disclose a system configured to track areas which have been cleaned using a cleaning appliance (paragraph 82, FIG. 1 shows a perspectival representation of an advantageous embodiment of a floor cleaning system), the system comprising: a location determination module; a processor (paragraph 94, In a manner known per se, operating instructions of the user at the operating device 28 can be evaluated by the control device 52 and implemented for controlling the cleaning device 30, the metering device 42, the pressing device 44, the dirt collection device 38, and the traction drive 50, paragraph 100, Based upon the signals from the sensor device 56, during operation of the floor cleaning machine 12, the control device 52 can determine what kind of cleaning path the floor cleaning machine 12 has traveled during operation, the control device comprises a processor in order to process instructions and location determination module to process sensor data);
a camera configured to capture video data of surroundings of the cleaning appliance (paragraph 99, a camera 64, for example, can be provided, e.g., as part of the sensor device 56, to provide images of the surrounding area of the floor cleaning machine 12); and a display component (paragraph 101, The floor cleaning system 10 comprises at least one display device. In the present case, the accessory device 14 has a display device 68), wherein:
the location determination module is configured to determine location information indicative of a location of a portion of a surface which is being cleaned by a cleaning appliance at a given time based on at least the captured video data (paragraph 95, The sensor device 56 comprises at least one sensor that can detect a state of movement of the floor cleaning machine 12, paragraph 99, Further, a camera 64, for example, can be provided, e.g., as part of the sensor device 56, to provide images of the surrounding area of the floor cleaning machine 12, paragraph 100, Based upon the signals from the sensor device 56, during operation of the floor cleaning machine 12, the control device 52 can determine what kind of cleaning path the floor cleaning machine 12 has traveled during operation); and
to generate a location data signal encoding the location information (paragraph 111, the signal from the sensor device 56 is used to determine the traveled cleaning path 66); and the processor is configured to receive the location data signal from the location determination module and to determine, based on the location data signal, the location information (paragraph 111, Here, the cleaning path 66 is determined proceeding from a starting point 78 at which the cleaning process is started); and to generate instructions configured to cause the display component to display the captured video data and to superimpose a visual representation of the location information over the display of the captured video data, such that each locus of the visual representation of the location information is superimposed on the corresponding locus of the captured video data (paragraph 116, Depending upon the traveled cleaning path 66, the control device 52 controls the display device 68 in order to display cleaning-related information concerning the cleaning of the floor surface 18. In particular, there is the possibility of displaying such cleaning-related information using augmented reality (AR, augmented reality). Favorably, the information is thereby superimposed on the images of the surrounding area obtained by means of the camera 74, paragraph 119, the cleaning information may have information concerning thus far cleaned sections of the floor surface 18, determined on the basis of the cleaning path 66. This is shown schematically in FIG. 3 by a dotted texture on the floor surface 18, paragraph 122, The fitting of textures to floor surface sections and separating them from the objects 76, for example, can be accomplished with the aid of signals from the camera 64).
With respect to claim 2, Walz et al. disclose the system of claim 1, wherein: the location determination module is configured to determine the location information at predetermined time intervals (paragraph 26, paragraph 27, paragraph 28, distance, acceleration, and direction change comprises a predetermined time interval based on the polling rate of the sensor).
With respect to claim 3, Walz et al. disclose the system of claim 1, wherein: the instructions are configured to cause the display component to display the visual representation of the location information in real-time (paragraph 116, Depending upon the traveled cleaning path 66, the control device 52 controls the display device 68 in order to display cleaning-related information concerning the cleaning of the floor surface 18, paragraph 121, The display of the cleaning-related information is also based upon only the evaluation of the cleaning path 66).
With respect to claim 8, Walz et al. disclose the system of claim 1, wherein: the cleaning appliance comprises a cleaning component which defines the portion of the surface being cleaned at any given time (paragraph 87, The cleaning device 30 comprises a cleaning tool 32 and a drive device 34 for the cleaning tool 32. In the present example, the cleaning tool 32 is a disk brush that can be driven in rotation about a vertical axis by means of the drive device 34); and the location determination module is configured to determine the location of the cleaning component within its surroundings, and to generate the location information based on the location of the cleaning component within its surroundings (paragraph 113, The determination of the cleaning path 66 preferably serves, among other things, to check whether a cleaning task has been performed in accordance with the specifications. For this purpose, it is preferably provided in particular that the cleaning path 66 be determined only when the cleaning tool 32 is driven, and in particular when the drive device 34 is activated, paragraph 115, it is assumed that the floor cleaning machine 12 is moved over the floor surface 18 along the cleaning path 66 shown. The traveled cleaning path 66 is determined by the control device 52, paragraph 116, Depending upon the traveled cleaning path 66, the control device 52 controls the display device 68 in order to display cleaning-related information concerning the cleaning of the floor surface 18, paragraph 119, the cleaning information may have information concerning thus far cleaned sections of the floor surface 18, determined on the basis of the cleaning path 66. This is shown schematically in FIG. 3 by a dotted texture on the floor surface 18).
With respect to claim 9, Walz et al. disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to determine one or more operating characteristics of the cleaning appliance (paragraph 90, paragraph 91, paragraph 94, operating instructions of the user at the operating device 28 can be evaluated by the control device 52 and implemented for controlling the cleaning device 30, the metering device 42, the pressing device 44, the dirt collection device 38, and the traction drive 50); the instructions are further configured to cause the display a visual representation of the operating characteristic of the cleaning appliance (paragraph 125, The cleaning-related information may further comprise, for example, the value of at least one operating parameter for cleaned sections of the floor surface 18 or the recommended value of at least one operating parameter for uncleaned sections of the floor surface 18, paragraph 126, Operating parameters are, for example, the metering of the cleaning chemical via the metering device 42, the contact pressure of the cleaning tool 32 by means of the pressing device 44, or the drive power of the drive device 34 for the cleaning tool 32, paragraph 127, it is possible to highlight sections of the floor surface 18 that require a particular use of the cleaning tool 32, a particular metering of cleaning chemical, or a particular drive power, using color or texture. Furthermore, it is possible, for example, to highlight webs that are to overlap each other to improve the cleaning result, either in color or by means of a texture).
With respect to claim 10, Walz et al. disclose the system of claim 9, wherein the one or more operating characteristics comprise one or more of: motor speed; mode of operation; stroke speed (paragraph 126, Operating parameters are, for example, the metering of the cleaning chemical via the metering device 42, the contact pressure of the cleaning tool 32 by means of the pressing device 44, or the drive power of the drive device 34 for the cleaning tool 32); speed of the cleaning appliance relative to the surface being cleaned (paragraph 134, information concerning the recommended use of the cleaning tool 32, and/or the value of at least one operating parameter, paragraph 135, speed at which the floor cleaning machine 12 is moved); a multiple pass count; and data relating to particles collected by the cleaning appliance, which comprise one or more of: particle weight; particle size; and particle type.
With respect to claim 11, Walz et al. disclose the system of claim 1, further comprising a mobile device (paragraph 82, portable, accessory device 14, which is configured as a tablet computer 16) comprising: the location determination module; the processor (paragraph 83, As an accessory device 14, a smartphone 17 and/or a head-mounted display 19 of the floor cleaning system 10 configured as data goggles, such a device comprises a processor for processing instructions and outputting graphics and location determination module for processing sensor data); and the display component (paragraph 102, The floor cleaning system 10 is designed to display information on an image display 70 of the display device 68. The information may be provided by the control device 52. For this purpose, the accessory device 14 and the floor cleaning machine 12 may be in a communications link via communications interfaces).
With respect to claim 12, Walz et al. disclose the system of claim 11, wherein: the system further comprises the cleaning appliance (paragraph 82, The floor cleaning system 10 comprises a floor cleaning machine 12); and the mobile device is mountable on the cleaning appliance (paragraph 103, The floor cleaning machine 12 comprises a receptacle 72 for the accessory device 14. In the present case, the receptacle 72 is arranged on the operating device 28. The accessory device 14 can be detachably positioned on the receptacle 72).
With respect to claim 14, Walz et al. disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the cleaning appliance is a surface-cleaning appliance (paragraph 82, The floor cleaning system 10 comprises a floor cleaning machine 12).
With respect to claim 15, Walz et al. disclose the system of claim 14, wherein the floor-cleaning appliance is a vacuum cleaner, a wet vacuum cleaner, a dry and wet vacuum cleaner, a polisher, a steam cleaner, a hard surface cleaner or a carpet cleaner (paragraph 82, The floor cleaning system 10 comprises a floor cleaning machine 12, paragraph 86, the floor cleaning machine 12 is configured as a user-guided scrubbing machine 22. In particular, this is a walk-behind machine that is controlled by the user with respect to a direction of movement 24 via an operating device 28 located on the rear side 26).
With respect to claim 16, Walz et al. disclose a method for tracking areas which have been cleaned using a cleaning appliance, as executed by the system of claim 1; see rationale for rejection of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walz et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20230200614) in view of Kumar et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20210245081).
With respect to claim 6, Walz et al. disclose the system of claim 1. However, Walz et al. does not expressly disclose the system further comprises a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) unit configured to capture mapping data of its surroundings; and the location determination module is configured to determine the location information based on at least the captured mapping data.
Kumar et al., who also deal with vacuum devices, disclose a method wherein the system further comprises a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) unit configured to capture mapping data of its surroundings (paragraph 93, The sensor system 175 includes a camera system 420, microphone 430, inertial measurement device (IMU) 440, a glass detection sensor 445, a lidar sensor 450, lights 455, a storage medium 460, and a processor 47); and the location determination module is configured to determine the location information based on at least the captured mapping data (paragraph 90, The sensor system 175 receives data from, for example, camera (video/visual), microphone (audio), lidar, infrared (IR), and/or inertial data (e.g., environmental surrounding or environment sensor data) about an environment for cleaning, paragraph 100, the mapping module 500 also uses inertial data from the IMU 440 and lidar and IR data to construct the map, the mapping module 500 may use the inertial data to determine the position of the autonomous vacuum 100 in the environment, incrementally integrate the position of the autonomous vacuum 100, and construct the map based on the position).
Walz et al. and Kumar et al. are in the same field of endeavor, namely cleaning devices with graphical displays.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method wherein the system further comprises a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) unit configured to capture mapping data of its surroundings; and the location determination module is configured to determine the location information based on at least the captured mapping data, as taught by Kumar et al., to the Walz et al. system, because the data gathered by the sensor system may inform the autonomous vacuum's planning and execution of complex objectives, such as cleaning tasks and charging. Further, the data may be used to generate a virtual rendering of the physical environment around the autonomous vacuum, which may be displayed in user interfaces on a client device (paragraph 15 of Kumar et al.).
With respect to claim 7, Walz et al. as modified by Kumar et al. disclose the system of claim 1, wherein: the system further comprises an inertial measurement unit (IMU) configured to detect changes in motion and orientation of the cleaning appliance and to generate IMU data in response to the detection (Kumar et al.: paragraph 93, The sensor system 175 includes a camera system 420, microphone 430, inertial measurement device (IMU) 440, a glass detection sensor 445, a lidar sensor 450, lights 455, a storage medium 460, and a processor 47); and the location determination module is configured to determine the location information based on at least the IMU data (Kumar et al.: paragraph 90, The sensor system 175 receives data from, for example, camera (video/visual), microphone (audio), lidar, infrared (IR), and/or inertial data (e.g., environmental surrounding or environment sensor data) about an environment for cleaning, Kumar et al.: paragraph 100, the mapping module 500 also uses inertial data from the IMU 440 and lidar and IR data to construct the map, the mapping module 500 may use the inertial data to determine the position of the autonomous vacuum 100 in the environment, incrementally integrate the position of the autonomous vacuum 100, and construct the map based on the position). It would have been obvious to apply the method wherein the system further comprises an inertial measurement unit (IMU) configured to detect changes in motion and orientation of the cleaning appliance and to generate IMU data in response to the detection; and the location determination module is configured to determine the location information based on at least the IMU data, because the data gathered by the sensor system may inform the autonomous vacuum's planning and execution of complex objectives, such as cleaning tasks and charging. Further, the data may be used to generate a virtual rendering of the physical environment around the autonomous vacuum, which may be displayed in user interfaces on a client device (paragraph 15 of Kumar et al.).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walz et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20230200614) in view of King et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20190183306).
With respect to claim 13, Walz et al. disclose the system of claim 1, further comprising the cleaning appliance comprising: the location determination module; the processor (paragraph 94, In a manner known per se, operating instructions of the user at the operating device 28 can be evaluated by the control device 52 and implemented for controlling the cleaning device 30, the metering device 42, the pressing device 44, the dirt collection device 38, and the traction drive 50, paragraph 100, Based upon the signals from the sensor device 56, during operation of the floor cleaning machine 12, the control device 52 can determine what kind of cleaning path the floor cleaning machine 12 has traveled during operation, the control device comprises a processor in order to process instructions and location determination module to process sensor data). However, Walz et al. do not expressly disclose the cleaning appliance comprises the display component.
King et al., who also deal with cleaning devices, disclose a method wherein the cleaning appliance comprises the display component (paragraph 107, The handheld vacuum cleaner 4 comprises an electronic visual display 100, which in this embodiment faces rearwards so that it faces generally towards the user during use).
Walz et al. and King et al. are in the same field of endeavor, namely cleaning devices with graphical displays.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method wherein the cleaning appliance comprises the display component, as taught by King et al., to the Walz et al. system, because this could display any suitable pieces of information (such as an error message, an indication of the mode the handheld vacuum cleaner 4 is in, or an indication of remaining battery life) to the user (paragraph 107 of King et al.).
Claim(s) 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walz et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20230200614) in view of Bax (U.S. PGPUB 20070214596).
With respect to claim 17, Walz et al. disclose the system of claim 1. However, Walz et al. do not expressly disclose: a parameter of the visual representation of the location information is configured to progressively change in response to the cleaning appliance passing over the same portion of the surface multiple times, such that the parameter of the visual representation changes with each successive pass of the cleaning appliance over the same portion of the surface, wherein the parameter comprises one or more of: opacity, hue, saturation, and brightness.
Bax, who also deals with cleaning devices, disclose a method wherein a parameter of the visual representation of the location information is configured to progressively change in response to the cleaning appliance passing over the same portion of the surface multiple times, such that the parameter of the visual representation changes with each successive pass of the cleaning appliance over the same portion of the surface, wherein the parameter comprises one or more of: opacity, hue, saturation, and brightness (paragraph 17, adapting the scale of the surface portion and strokes displayed on the user interface… the recorded data can be displayed at an appropriate scale throughout the treatment session, applying a rather large scale at the start of the session and gradually reducing said scale as the treatment progresses along, and the treated surface becomes larger, paragraph 35, Like the tracking data, the recorded quantity data are transmitted to the central processing unit, where they can be compared to the average quantity of the previous stroke or strokes… (allowing instantaneous quality detection) and/or every stroke (S)… the quality distinction can be presented to the user by means of the color of the relevant stroke, which is illustrated in FIG. 3D, showing a situation in which four strokes (Sq) have a color which is different from the rest, indicating a drop in quality… Additionally or alternatively the quality may be displayed independently of the strokes, for instance by a bar 18, as shown in FIG. 2, of which the color changes continuously with every new recorded quality value).
Walz et al. and Bax are in the same field of endeavor, namely cleaning devices with graphics displays.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method wherein a parameter of the visual representation of the location information is configured to progressively change in response to the cleaning appliance passing over the same portion of the surface multiple times, such that the parameter of the visual representation changes with each successive pass of the cleaning appliance over the same portion of the surface, wherein the parameter comprises one or more of: opacity, hue, saturation, and brightness, as taught by Bax, to the Walz et al. system, because this would result in a relative quality distinction, which may help a user to quickly detect quality changes (paragraph 35 of Bax).
With respect to claim 19, Walz et al. as modified by Bax disclose the method of claim 16, as executed by the system of claim 17; see rationale for rejection of claim 17.
Claim(s) 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walz et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20230200614) in view of Bax (U.S. PGPUB 20070214596) and further in view of Lu et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20200345193).
With respect to claim 18, Walz et al. as modified by Bax disclose the system of claim 17. However, Walz et al. as modified by Bax do not expressly disclose the parameter of the visual representation is user-configurable such that a user is able to adjust the parameter to reflect a desired number of passes of the cleaning appliance to be achieved when cleaning the surface.
Lu et al., who also deal with cleaning devices, disclose a method wherein the parameter of the visual representation is user-configurable such that a user is able to adjust the parameter to reflect a desired number of passes of the cleaning appliance to be achieved when cleaning the surface (paragraph 45, A user can select a rank overlap parameter for a cleaning mission by providing an input into a mobile device… a preset cleaning mission option for light cleaning can correspond to a rank overlap parameter value in the range of about 0-30%, a preset cleaning mission option for moderate cleaning can correspond to a rank overlap parameter value in the range of about 30-60%, and a preset cleaning mission option for deep cleaning can correspond to a rank overlap parameter value in the range of about 60-100%). As shown in Fig. 2B, the amount of rank overlap is proportional to the amount of passes, i.e., darker color based on more passes.
Walz et al., Bax, and Lu et al. are in the same field of endeavor, namely cleaning devices with graphical displays.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to apply the method wherein the parameter of the visual representation is user-configurable such that a user is able to adjust the parameter to reflect a desired number of passes of the cleaning appliance to be achieved when cleaning the surface, as taught by Lu et al., to the Walz et al. as modified by Bax system, because by enabling the user to select or specify characteristics of the cleaning mission through a display of a mobile device, the user can gain control over the cleaning mission without the need to specify precise parameter values for the characteristics (paragraph 37 of Lu et al.).
With respect to claim 20, Walz et al. as modified by Bax and Lu et al. disclose the method of claim 19, as executed by the system of claim 18; see rationale for rejection of claim 18.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Walz et al. disclose a camera configured to capture video data of surroundings of the cleaning appliance, among other limitations of previous claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. PGPUB 20220107648 to Ratanaphanyarat et al. for a method of displaying areas requiring a different amount of passes using different colors
U.S. PGPUB 20180344116 to Schriesheim et al. for a method of displaying symbols on areas where extra cleaning has been performed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW G YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614
10/4/26