DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/06/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jeon et al. (US 2021/0377876 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Jeon et al. (figure 1) disclose a terminal (wireless device) comprising: a processor that, when uplink (UL) simultaneous transmission using multiple panels is supported (paragraph [0355], “A UL transmission of a wireless device may be scheduled antenna group 1 and antenna group 2 simultaneously. For a multi-antenna groups (panels) …”), applies reporting of power headroom (PH) per panel; and a transmitter that transmits a medium access control control element (MAC CE) including the PH per panel corresponding to one cell (paragraphs [0363], [0366] and [0374]).
Regarding claim 9, Jeon et al. (figure 1) disclose a radio communication method for a terminal (wireless device), comprising: when uplink (UL) simultaneous transmission using multiple panels is supported (paragraph [0355], “A UL transmission of a wireless device may be scheduled antenna group 1 and antenna group 2 simultaneously. For a multi-antenna groups (panels) …”), applying reporting of power headroom (PH) per panel; and transmitting a medium access control control element (MAC CE) including the PH per panel corresponding to one cell (paragraphs [0363], [0366] and [0374]).
Regarding claim 10, Jeon et al. (figure 1) disclose a base station comprising: a processor that, when uplink (UL) simultaneous transmission using multiple panels is supported in a terminal (wireless device) (paragraph [0355], “A UL transmission of a wireless device may be scheduled antenna group 1 and antenna group 2 simultaneously. For a multi-antenna groups (panels) …”), configures reporting of power headroom (PH) per panel for the terminal; and a receiver that receives a medium access control control element (MAC CE) including the PH per panel corresponding to one cell (paragraphs [0363], [0366] and [0374]).
Regarding claim 11, Jeon et al. (figure 1) disclose a system comprising a terminal (wireless device) and a base station, wherein the terminal comprises: a processor that, when uplink (UL) simultaneous transmission using multiple panels is supported (paragraph [0355], “A UL transmission of a wireless device may be scheduled antenna group 1 and antenna group 2 simultaneously. For a multi-antenna groups (panels) …”), applies reporting of power headroom (PH) per panel; and a transmitter that transmits a medium access control control element (MAC CE) including the PH per panel corresponding to one cell, and the base station comprises: a processor that configures the reporting of the PH per panel for the terminal; and a receiver that receives the MAC CE (paragraphs [0363], [0366] and [0374]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. in view of Park et al. (US 2022/0322245 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Jeon et al. disclose the terminal according to claim 6 above. In addition, Jeon et al. disclose wherein the MAC CE includes a field indicating whether the PH per panel is based on a real transmission or follows a reference format, a field indicating maximum power per panel (paragraph [0366]). Jeon et al. do not explicitly disclose wherein the MAC CE includes a field related to maximum permitted exposure (MPE) per panel. However, Park et al. disclose MAC CE includes a field related to maximum permitted exposure (MPE) per panel (paragraphs [0648] and [0658]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the MPE per panel of Park et al. to the MAC CE of Jeon et al. for safeguarding user health.
Regarding claim 8, Jeon et al. disclose the terminal according to claim 6 above. Jeon et al. do not explicitly disclose wherein the PH per panel is associated with a respective different transmission configuration indication (TCI) state. However, Park et al. disclose the PH per panel is associated with a respective different transmission configuration indication (TCI) state (paragraph [0172]-[0173] and [0185]-[0190]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the TCI state of Park et al. to the MAC CE of Jeon et al. for more dynamic resource management and scheduling.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xu et al. (US 2022/0124642 A1) disclose a wireless device receives configuration parameters indicating a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) threshold. First uplink signals are transmitted via a first antenna panel; a downlink control information (DCI) indicating switching from the first antenna panel to a second antenna panel is received; an MPE event is detected based on the MPE threshold and a power value associated with the second antenna panel. Based on the detecting the MPE event: the switching indication is ignored by not switching to the second antenna panel; and second uplink signals are transmitted via the first antenna panel.
Go et al. (US 2023/0379843 A1) teach a method of a user equipment (UE) to report a power headroom (PH) in a wireless communication system includes receiving configuration information related to the power headroom (PH), and transmitting a message for a report of the PH; the report of the PH is triggered based on a pre-configured event, and the message for the report of the PH includes information related to P-MPR (Power management - Maximum Power Reduction); the information related to the P-MPR includes one or more values related to the PH, and the one or more values related to the PH are related to one or more specific indexes.
Zhou et al. (US 11,689,235 B2) disclose wireless communications use one or more devices for transmission and/or reception that may lead to potentially harmful exposure; one or more safety measures may be used for wireless communication devices, such as maximum power exposure (MPE) reporting.
/QUOCHIEN B VUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645