DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 11-14, 17 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Dai et al. (US 2025/0008470)(hereafter Dai).
Regarding claims 1 and 22, Dai discloses a ranging/side link
positioning method performed by a first terminal, comprising:
broadcasting a first ranging/side link positioning request, the first ranging/side link positioning request comprising first indication information (see, para [0006], user equipment (UE) includes receiving an announcement message from each side link anchor device of one or more side link anchor devices),
wherein the first indication information indicates that an assistant terminal is allowed to participate in ranging/side link positioning between the first terminal and a second terminal (see, para [0006], wherein the announcement message includes a side link anchor device identifier and an indication that the side link anchor device is available for positioning services, [0170] Each announcement message includes a side link anchor device identifier and an indication that the side link anchor device is available for positioning services. In this example, side link anchor device 1004 transmits an announcement message (labeled “Announcement Message UE 1”), which includes a side link anchor device identifier indicating that Announcement Message UE 1 is transmitted by the side link anchor device 1004. Additionally, Announcement Message UE 1 indicates that the side link anchor device 1004 is available for positioning services).
Dai further discloses a memory, a processor and a computer program stored on the memory, wherein the computer program, when being executed by the processor, causes the first terminal to implement actions as per claim 22 (see, para [0045]).
Regarding claim 2, Dai further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first indication information further indicates at least one candidate assistant terminal to return first response information to the first terminal based on discovering the second terminal (see, Fig. 8B, the response message from the discoveree, para [0158], a discoverer UE (labeled “UE-1”) sends a solicitation message to one or more discoveree UEs (labeled “UE-2,” “UE-3,” “UE-4,” and “UE-5”). Discoveree UEs (“UE-2” and “UE-3” in the example of FIG. 8B) interested in establishing a side link with the discoverer UE respond to the solicitation message with a response message. For a relay scenario, UE-1 is a remote UE and UE-2 (having Uu connection to gNB) is a relay UE)).
Regarding claim 3, Dai further discloses the method according to claim 2, further comprising:
sending a second ranging/side link positioning request to at least one assistant terminal, wherein the second ranging/side link positioning request comprises second indication information (see, para [0006], user equipment (UE) includes receiving an announcement message from each side link anchor device of one or more side link anchor devices), and
the second indication information is configured to authorize the candidate assistant terminal as the assistant terminal to participate in the ranging/side link positioning between the first terminal and the second terminal, and the at least one assistant terminal is determined from the at least one candidate assistant terminal that returned the first response information ((see, Fig. 8B, the response message from the discoveree, para [0158], a discoverer UE (labeled “UE-1”) sends a solicitation message to one or more discoveree UEs (labeled “UE-2,” “UE-3,” “UE-4,” and “UE-5”). Discoveree UEs (“UE-2” and “UE-3” in the example of FIG. 8B) interested in establishing a side link with the discoverer UE respond to the solicitation message with a response message. For a relay scenario, UE-1 is a remote UE and UE-2 (having Uu connection to gNB) is a relay UE)).
Regarding claim 4, Dai further discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the second indication information further indicates the assistant terminal to perform ranging/side link positioning with the first terminal, to initiate ranging/side link positioning to the second terminal, to perform the ranging/side link positioning with the second terminal, and to act as a relay for communication between the first terminal and the second terminal ([0170] Each announcement message includes a side link anchor device identifier and an indication that the side link anchor device is available for positioning services. In this example, side link anchor device 1004 transmits an announcement message (labeled “Announcement Message UE 1”), which includes a side link anchor device identifier indicating that Announcement Message UE 1 is transmitted by the side link anchor device 1004. Additionally, Announcement Message UE 1 indicates that the side link anchor device 1004 is available for positioning services. Side link anchor device 1006 transmits an announcement message (labeled “Announcement Message UE 2”), including a side link anchor device identifier indicating that Announcement Message UE 2 is transmitted by side link anchor device 1006. Additionally, Announcement Message UE 2 includes an indication that side link device 1006 is available for positioning services. Side link device 1008 transmits an announcement message (labeled “Announcement Message” UE 3), which includes a side link anchor device identifier indicating that Announcement Message UE 3 is transmitted by side link anchor device 1008. Additionally. Announcement Message UE 3 indicates that side link anchor device 1008 is available for positioning services. In positioning environments including further side link anchor devices, the further side link anchor devices would likewise transmit similar announcement messages).
Regarding claim 6, Dai further discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the first indication information further indicates the second terminal to return second response information to the first terminal based on receiving the first ranging/side link positioning request ((see, Fig. 8B, the response message from the discoveree, para [0158], a discoverer UE (labeled “UE-1”) sends a solicitation message to one or more discoveree UEs (labeled “UE-2,” “UE-3,” “UE-4,” and “UE-5”). Discoveree UEs (“UE-2” and “UE-3” in the example of FIG. 8B) interested in establishing a side link with the discoverer UE respond to the solicitation message with a response message. For a relay scenario, UE-1 is a remote UE and UE-2 (having Uu connection to gNB) is a relay UE)).
Regarding claim 11, Dai discloses a ranging/side link positioning method, performed by a third terminal, comprising:
receiving a first ranging/side link positioning request broadcast by a first terminal (see, para [0006], user equipment (UE) includes receiving an announcement message from each side link anchor device of one or more side link anchor devices); and
determining to act as a candidate to participate in ranging/side link positioning between the first terminal and a second terminal based on predetermined authorization information indicating the third terminal to act as a candidate assistant terminal, and first indication information in the first ranging/side link positioning request ((see, para [0006], wherein the announcement message includes a side link anchor device identifier and an indication that the side link anchor device is available for positioning services, [0170] Each announcement message includes a side link anchor device identifier and an indication that the side link anchor device is available for positioning services. In this example, side link anchor device 1004 transmits an announcement message (labeled “Announcement Message UE 1”), which includes a side link anchor device identifier indicating that Announcement Message UE 1 is transmitted by the side link anchor device 1004. Additionally, Announcement Message UE 1 indicates that the side link anchor device 1004 is available for positioning services, [0192], At operation 1402, the UE receives an announcement message from each side link anchor device of one or more side link anchor devices, wherein the announcement message includes a side link anchor device identifier and an indication that the side link anchor device is available for positioning services).
Regarding claim 12, Dai further discloses the method according to claim 11, further comprising: returning first response information to the first terminal based on discovering the second terminal (see, Fig. 8 B, the response message from the terminal, [0199], target UE and side link anchor devices during a discovery procedure means that the side link anchor devices only monitor potential solicitation messages transmitted by potential target UEs).
Regarding claim 13, Dai further discloses the method according to claim 11, further comprising: determining the third terminal itself to be the second terminal, and returning second response information to the first terminal (see, para [0006], wherein the announcement message includes a side link anchor device identifier and an indication that the side link anchor device is available for positioning services, [0170] Each announcement message includes a side link anchor device identifier and an indication that the side link anchor device is available for positioning services. In this example, side link anchor device 1004 transmits an announcement message (labeled “Announcement Message UE 1”), which includes a side link anchor device identifier indicating that Announcement Message UE 1 is transmitted by the side link anchor device 1004. Additionally, Announcement Message UE 1 indicates that the side link anchor device 1004 is available for positioning services, [0192], At operation 1402, the UE receives an announcement message from each side link anchor device of one or more side link anchor devices, wherein the announcement message includes a side link anchor device identifier and an indication that the side link anchor device is available for positioning services).
Regarding claim 14, Dai further discloses the method according to claim 12, further comprising: receiving a second ranging/side link positioning request sent by the first terminal, and determining to participate in the ranging/side link positioning between the first terminal and the second terminal based on second indication information in the second ranging/side link positioning request ((see, para [0006], wherein the announcement message includes a side link anchor device identifier and an indication that the side link anchor device is available for positioning services, [0170] Each announcement message includes a side link anchor device identifier and an indication that the side link anchor device is available for positioning services. In this example, side link anchor device 1004 transmits an announcement message (labeled “Announcement Message UE 1”), which includes a side link anchor device identifier indicating that Announcement Message UE 1 is transmitted by the side link anchor device 1004. Additionally, Announcement Message UE 1 indicates that the side link anchor device 1004 is available for positioning services, [0192], At operation 1402, the UE receives an announcement message from each side link anchor device of one or more side link anchor devices, wherein the announcement message includes a side link anchor device identifier and an indication that the side link anchor device is available for positioning services).
Regarding claim 17, Dai further discloses the method according to claim 12, further comprising: determining that the second terminal is discovered based on having searched the second terminal in a maintained list of terminals (para [0224], configuring each of the side link anchor devices of the one or more side link anchor devices with transmission resources in a side link discovery resource pool to transmit an announcement message).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai in view of Baek et al. (US 2023/0076030) (hereafter Baek).
Regarding claim 5, Dai does not disclose the method according to claim 4, further comprising: responding to the ranging/side link positioning result, wherein the ranging/side link positioning result is determined by at least one of the first terminal, the second terminal or the at least one assistant terminal based on the ranging/side link positioning measurement data shared.
However, in same field of endeavor, Baek teaches [0269], The main operation of the proposed side link positioning may include: 1) a process in which the UE measures a ToF (or distance) through RTT ranging with the RSU, 2) a process of sharing or providing positioning measurement information between UEs, 3) a process in which the positioning vehicle measures a relative position of a neighbor vehicle using an onboard ranging sensor, and 4) a process in which the positioning vehicle performs positioning using the relative position of the neighbor UE measured by the positioning vehicle and position measurement information provided by the neighbor UE.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Baek with the Dai, as a whole, so as to share the measurement result between the UEs, the motivation is to determining the location of the terminal based on the such measurements.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10, 15, 16, 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sahin et al. (US 2025/0274959) discloses utilizing multiple resource pools for side link positioning.
Keshavamurthy et al. (US 2025/0267630) discloses METHOD, APPARATUS AND SYSTEM RELATING TO REQUESTING TO USE A FIRST RESOURCE FOR TRANSMITTING A SECOND SIDE LINK POSITIONING REFERENCE SIGNAL.
Barbu et al. (US 2025/0254642) discloses POSITIONING OF COLLABORATING DEVICES WITH SIDE LINK
Sun et al. (US 2025/0203635) discloses METHODS AND APPARATUSES FOR SIDE LINK TRANSMISSION
Zhao et al. (US 2025/0142533) discloses A METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR SELECTING RESOURCES BASED ON ASSISTANCE INFORMATION, AND STORAGE MEDIUM
/DHAVAL V PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631