DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant' s submission for Domestic Benefit/National State Information under 35 U.S.C. 371 for PCT/US2023027995 with filing date 07/18/2023.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/06/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
(Clause 8, [0145]; Clause 27, [0164]: “a location of the search window is based at least in part on a parity the subframe offset value”). The phrase “a parity the subframe offset value” omits a preposition between “parity” and “the subframe offset value” and is grammatically incomplete.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 recites: “wherein a location of the search window is based at least in part on a parity the subframe offset value, wherein the parity includes an odd subframe offset value or an even subframe offset value” (claim 8, emphasis added). The phrase “a parity the subframe offset value” omits a preposition between “parity” and “the subframe offset value” and is grammatically incomplete.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3–6, 13–18, and 20–25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Edge et al. (US 2018/0217228 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Edge et al. (’228) discloses:
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: A method for determining a positioning reference signal search window, comprising: ([0071]: “The UE 102 may then combine the subframe offset with the expected RSTD and expected RSTD uncertainty indication to determine a window of time during which a PRS positioning occasion from the neighbor cell is expected to be received at UE 102 and during which UE 102 may measure a time of arrival ( TOA ) of the PRS positioning occasion and thereby determine an RSTD measurement”). The window of time determined for receiving the neighbor cell’s PRS positioning occasion is the positioning reference signal search window, and the recited acts are performed by UE 102 as a method.
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: receiving assistance data including an integer value associated with signals transmitted from a first station and a second station, ([0071]: “an E–SMLC 110 may provide UE 102 with a “subframe offset” (SFO) (also referred to as a “PRS subframe offset” (PRS SFO) and as an “offset value”) equal to the subframe difference between a start of a first PRS positioning occasion after System Frame Number (SFN) zero for a reference cell and a start of an immediately following PRS positioning occasion for a neighbor cell”; [0110]: “location server 404 may transmit an LPP Provide Assistance Data message 408 to UE 402 including assistance data for the OTDOA position method … The information may also include each of the PRS SFOs determined at block 407 for the inter–frequency neighbor cells”). The reference cell constitutes the first station and the neighbor cell constitutes the second station. The SFO is a subframe difference — a whole number of subframes — and is therefore an integer value, and it is associated with the PRS signals transmitted by both cells. It is delivered to the target device in the assistance data.
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: wherein the signals include similar timing indications and the integer value represents a nearest time difference between a first timing indication transmitted by the first station and a similar second timing indication transmitted by the second station; ([0071]: “equal to the subframe difference between a start of a first PRS positioning occasion after System Frame Number (SFN) zero for a reference cell and a start of an immediately following PRS positioning occasion for a neighbor cell”; [0071]: “the subframe offset may be in units of one ms subframe intervals”). The start of a PRS positioning occasion is a timing indication of the same type occurring in the signal of the reference cell and in the signal of the neighbor cell, and these are therefore similar timing indications within the meaning of the claim. The offset is measured from the reference cell’s indication to the start of the immediately following PRS positioning occasion of the neighbor cell — that is, to the nearest subsequent similar indication — and is expressed in whole subframe units. The SFO therefore represents a nearest time difference between a first timing indication transmitted by the first station and a similar second timing indication transmitted by the second station, expressed as an integer value.
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: receiving a first positioning reference signal at a first time, wherein the first positioning reference signal is transmitted by the first station; ([0071]: “UE 102 may use the subframe offset to determine times that PRS positioning occasions are to be transmitted from the neighbor cell (e.g. which may not be directly visible to UE 102 ) relative to transmission of PRS positioning occasions transmitted from the reference cell (e.g. which may be directly visible to UE 102 )”; [0113]: “UE 402 may then determine an RSTD for the neighbor cell by subtracting a TOA measured for the reference cell from the TOA measured for the neighbor cell”). The reference cell’s PRS positioning occasion is directly visible to and received by the target device, and the device measures its time of arrival; that measured time of arrival is the first time at which the first positioning reference signal, transmitted by the first station, is received.
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: determining a search window for a second positioning reference signal based at least in part on the first time and the integer value; and ([0071]: “The UE 102 may then combine the subframe offset with the expected RSTD and expected RSTD uncertainty indication to determine a window of time during which a PRS positioning occasion from the neighbor cell is expected to be received at UE 102”; [0112]: “UE 402 may determine at block 411 the expected timing of PRS positioning occasions for neighbor cells based on the PRS subframe offsets received in message 408 … may combine this with an expected RSTD for this neighbor cell to further determine a more precise time of arrival and a search window”). The window is computed from the subframe offset (the integer value) applied relative to the received transmission of the reference cell’s PRS positioning occasion (the first time), as expressly stated in [0071]: “relative to transmission of PRS positioning occasions transmitted from the reference cell”. The claim term “based at least in part on” does not exclude the additional use of the expected RSTD and its uncertainty.
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: receiving the second positioning reference signal from the second station at a second time, wherein the second time is proximate to the search window. ([0113]: “a search window obtained at block 411 for a neighbor cell may enable UE 402 to know approximately when a PRS or NPRS positioning occasion for the neighbor cell will be received at UE 402 and to perform a coherent or non–coherent integration of the received PRS or NPRS and measure a TOA”). The neighbor cell’s PRS positioning occasion is received and its time of arrival measured at a second time falling within, and therefore proximate to, the determined search window.
Regarding Claim 3, Edge et al. (’228) discloses the method of Claim 1.
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: wherein the assistance data includes an expected reference signal time difference value and an associated uncertainty value. ([0052]: “OTDOA assistance data may also include “expected RSTD” parameters, which provide UE 102 with indications of RSTD values UE 102 is expected to measure at its current location between a reference cell and each of one or more neighbor cells together with an uncertainty associated with the expected RSTD values”).
Regarding Claim 4, Edge et al. (’228) discloses the method of Claim 3.
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: wherein a duration of the search window is based at least in part on the associated uncertainty value. ([0052]: “An expected RSTD value together with an uncertainty may define a search window duration for UE 102 within which UE 102 is expected to measure an RSTD value”).
Regarding Claim 5, Edge et al. (’228) discloses the method of Claim 1.
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: further comprising determining a reference signal time difference value based at least in part on the first time and the second time. ([0113]: “UE 402 may then determine an RSTD for the neighbor cell by subtracting a TOA measured for the reference cell from the TOA measured for the neighbor cell”). The TOA measured for the reference cell is the first time and the TOA measured for the neighbor cell is the second time, and the RSTD is determined from the difference between them.
Regarding Claim 6, Edge et al. (’228) discloses the method of Claim 1.
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: wherein the assistance data is received from a location management function via one or more LPP messages. ([0039]: “location server 172 may correspond to E–SMLC 110 or H–SLP 118 in network architecture 100 or may be another location server such as a Standalone Serving Mobile Location Center (SAS) (not shown) or a Location Management Function (LMF) for 5G access (not shown)”; [0117]: “The location server may be an E–SMLC or SLP and may correspond to any of E–SMLC 110 , H–SLP 118 , location server 172 or location server 404”; [0110]: “location server 404 may transmit an LPP Provide Assistance Data message 408 to UE 402 including assistance data for the OTDOA position method”). Edge et al. expressly identifies the location server that supplies the assistance data as being, in an embodiment, a Location Management Function, and expressly identifies the LPP Provide Assistance Data message as the vehicle by which that location server delivers the assistance data to the target device.
Regarding Claim 13, Edge et al. (’228) discloses:
Claim 13 is an independent method claim reciting the same four-step sequence as Claim 1 but characterizing the assistance-data offset generically as search window subframe offset information and omitting the requirement that the first and second positioning reference signals be transmitted by identified first and second stations. Because the scope differs, the full analysis is presented separately below rather than by grouping with Claim 1.
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: A method for determining a positioning reference signal search window, comprising: ([0071]: “The UE 102 may then combine the subframe offset with the expected RSTD and expected RSTD uncertainty indication to determine a window of time during which a PRS positioning occasion from the neighbor cell is expected to be received at UE 102”).
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: receiving assistance data including search window subframe offset information; ([0071]: “an E–SMLC 110 may provide UE 102 with a “subframe offset” (SFO) (also referred to as a “PRS subframe offset” (PRS SFO) and as an “offset value”) equal to the subframe difference between a start of a first PRS positioning occasion after System Frame Number (SFN) zero for a reference cell and a start of an immediately following PRS positioning occasion for a neighbor cell”; [0110]: “The information may also include each of the PRS SFOs determined at block 407 for the inter–frequency neighbor cells”). The PRS subframe offset conveyed in the assistance data is subframe-domain offset information that is used to determine the search window, and therefore constitutes search window subframe offset information under the broadest reasonable interpretation set out in Section IV.E.
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: receiving a first positioning reference signal at a first time; ([0071]: “relative to transmission of PRS positioning occasions transmitted from the reference cell (e.g. which may be directly visible to UE 102)”; [0113]: “UE 402 may then determine an RSTD for the neighbor cell by subtracting a TOA measured for the reference cell from the TOA measured for the neighbor cell”).
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: determining a search window for a second positioning reference signal based at least in part on the first time and the search window subframe offset information; and ([0112]: “UE 402 may determine at block 411 the expected timing of PRS positioning occasions for neighbor cells based on the PRS subframe offsets received in message 408 … may combine this with an expected RSTD for this neighbor cell to further determine a more precise time of arrival and a search window”; [0071]: “UE 102 may use the subframe offset to determine times that PRS positioning occasions are to be transmitted from the neighbor cell … relative to transmission of PRS positioning occasions transmitted from the reference cell”).
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: receiving the second positioning reference signal at a second time, wherein the second time is proximate to the search window. ([0113]: “a search window obtained at block 411 for a neighbor cell may enable UE 402 to know approximately when a PRS or NPRS positioning occasion for the neighbor cell will be received at UE 402 and to perform a coherent or non–coherent integration of the received PRS or NPRS and measure a TOA”).
Regarding Claim 14, Edge et al. (’228) discloses the method of Claim 13.
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: wherein the search window subframe offset information is an information element in the assistance data. ([0073]: “a parameter in the LPP protocol that provides the subframe offset (SFO) to a UE 102 may only have a value range of 0–1279”). The subframe offset is carried as a discrete, separately defined LPP protocol parameter having its own defined value range within the assistance data message, which is an information element under the construction set out in Section IV.E.
Regarding Claim 15, Edge et al. (’228) discloses the method of Claim 13.
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: wherein the assistance data includes an expected reference signal time difference value and an associated uncertainty value. ([0052]: “OTDOA assistance data may also include “expected RSTD” parameters, which provide UE 102 with indications of RSTD values UE 102 is expected to measure at its current location between a reference cell and each of one or more neighbor cells together with an uncertainty associated with the expected RSTD values”).
Regarding Claim 16, Edge et al. (’228) discloses the method of Claim 15.
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: wherein a duration of the search window is based at least in part on the associated uncertainty value. ([0052]: “An expected RSTD value together with an uncertainty may define a search window duration for UE 102 within which UE 102 is expected to measure an RSTD value”).
Regarding Claim 17, Edge et al. (’228) discloses the method of Claim 13.
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: further comprising determining a reference signal time difference value based at least in part on the first time and the second time. ([0113]: “UE 402 may then determine an RSTD for the neighbor cell by subtracting a TOA measured for the reference cell from the TOA measured for the neighbor cell”).
Regarding Claim 18, Edge et al. (’228) discloses the method of Claim 13.
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: wherein the assistance data is received from a location management function via one or more LPP messages. ([0039]: “location server 172 … may be another location server such as a Standalone Serving Mobile Location Center (SAS) (not shown) or a Location Management Function (LMF) for 5G access (not shown)”; [0117]: “The location server may be an E–SMLC or SLP and may correspond to any of E–SMLC 110 , H–SLP 118 , location server 172 or location server 404”; [0110]: “location server 404 may transmit an LPP Provide Assistance Data message 408 to UE 402 including assistance data for the OTDOA position method”).
Regarding Claim 20, Edge et al. (’228) discloses:
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: An apparatus, comprising: ([0140]: “FIG. 6 is a schematic diagram of a mobile device 600 according to an embodiment. UE 102 and/or UE 402 as shown in FIGS. 1A, 1B, and 4 may comprise one or more features of mobile device 600 shown in FIG. 6”; Fig. 6).
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: a memory; ([0142]: “digital signal processor(s) (DSP(s)) 612 and general–purpose processor(s) 611 may be connected to memory 640 through bus 601 … Memory 640 may comprise a non–transitory processor–readable memory and/or a computer–readable memory that stores software code (programming code, instructions, etc.) that are executable by processor(s) 611 and/or DSP(s) 612”; Fig. 6, memory 640).
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: at least one transceiver; ([0140]: “mobile device 600 may comprise a wireless transceiver 621 which is capable of transmitting and receiving wireless signals 623 via wireless antenna 622 over a wireless communication network”; Fig. 6, wireless transceiver 621).
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, and configured to: ([0142]: “digital signal processor(s) (DSP(s)) 612 and general–purpose processor(s) 611 may be connected to memory 640 through bus 601”; [0140]: “Wireless transceiver 621 may be connected to bus 601 by a wireless transceiver bus interface 620”; [0141]: “general–purpose processor(s) 611 or DSP(s) 612 may process a downlink signal acquired by wireless transceiver 621 to, for example, measure a TOA and determine an RSTD as described above”). General-purpose processor 611 is coupled to memory 640 and to wireless transceiver 621 through common bus 601 and is configured, by machine-readable instructions stored in memory 640, to process the downlink signals acquired by the transceiver.
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: receive assistance data including search window subframe offset information; ([0071]: “an E–SMLC 110 may provide UE 102 with a “subframe offset” (SFO) (also referred to as a “PRS subframe offset” (PRS SFO) and as an “offset value”) equal to the subframe difference between a start of a first PRS positioning occasion after System Frame Number (SFN) zero for a reference cell and a start of an immediately following PRS positioning occasion for a neighbor cell”; [0110]: “The information may also include each of the PRS SFOs determined at block 407 for the inter–frequency neighbor cells”).
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: receive a first positioning reference signal at a first time; ([0141]: “general–purpose processor(s) 611 or DSP(s) 612 may process a downlink signal acquired by wireless transceiver 621 to, for example, measure a TOA and determine an RSTD as described above”; [0113]: “UE 402 may then determine an RSTD for the neighbor cell by subtracting a TOA measured for the reference cell from the TOA measured for the neighbor cell”).
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: determine a search window for a second positioning reference signal based at least in part on the first time and the search window subframe offset information; and ([0112]: “UE 402 may determine at block 411 the expected timing of PRS positioning occasions for neighbor cells based on the PRS subframe offsets received in message 408 … may combine this with an expected RSTD for this neighbor cell to further determine a more precise time of arrival and a search window”; [0071]: “UE 102 may use the subframe offset to determine times that PRS positioning occasions are to be transmitted from the neighbor cell … relative to transmission of PRS positioning occasions transmitted from the reference cell”).
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: receive the second positioning reference signal at a second time, wherein the second time is proximate to the search window. ([0113]: “a search window obtained at block 411 for a neighbor cell may enable UE 402 to know approximately when a PRS or NPRS positioning occasion for the neighbor cell will be received at UE 402 and to perform a coherent or non–coherent integration of the received PRS or NPRS and measure a TOA”).
Regarding Claim 21, Edge et al. (’228) discloses the apparatus of Claim 20.
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: wherein the search window subframe offset information is an information element in the assistance data. ([0073]: “a parameter in the LPP protocol that provides the subframe offset (SFO) to a UE 102 may only have a value range of 0–1279”).
Regarding Claim 22, Edge et al. (’228) discloses the apparatus of Claim 20.
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: wherein the assistance data includes an expected reference signal time difference value and an associated uncertainty value. ([0052]: “OTDOA assistance data may also include “expected RSTD” parameters, which provide UE 102 with indications of RSTD values UE 102 is expected to measure at its current location between a reference cell and each of one or more neighbor cells together with an uncertainty associated with the expected RSTD values”).
Regarding Claim 23, Edge et al. (’228) discloses the apparatus of Claim 22.
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: wherein the at least one processor is further configured to determine a duration of the search window based at least in part on the associated uncertainty value. ([0052]: “An expected RSTD value together with an uncertainty may define a search window duration for UE 102 within which UE 102 is expected to measure an RSTD value”; [0142]: “functions may be performed in response to execution of one or more machine–readable instructions stored in memory 640 … The one or more instructions may be executable by general–purpose processor(s) 611, specialized processors, or DSP(s) 612”). The window duration defined by the uncertainty is computed by the processor executing the instructions stored in memory, so the processor is configured to determine the search window duration from the uncertainty value as claimed.
Regarding Claim 24, Edge et al. (’228) discloses the apparatus of Claim 20.
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: wherein the at least one processor is further configured to determine a reference signal time difference value based at least in part on the first time and the second time. ([0141]: “general–purpose processor(s) 611 or DSP(s) 612 may process a downlink signal acquired by wireless transceiver 621 to, for example, measure a TOA and determine an RSTD as described above”; [0113]: “UE 402 may then determine an RSTD for the neighbor cell by subtracting a TOA measured for the reference cell from the TOA measured for the neighbor cell”).
Regarding Claim 25, Edge et al. (’228) discloses the apparatus of Claim 20.
Edge et al. (’228) discloses: wherein the assistance data is received from a location management function via one or more LPP messages. ([0039]: “location server 172 … may be another location server such as a Standalone Serving Mobile Location Center (SAS) (not shown) or a Location Management Function (LMF) for 5G access (not shown)”; [0117]: “The location server may be an E–SMLC or SLP and may correspond to any of E–SMLC 110 , H–SLP 118 , location server 172 or location server 404”; [0110]: “location server 404 may transmit an LPP Provide Assistance Data message 408 to UE 402 including assistance data for the OTDOA position method”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edge et al. (US 2018/0217228 A1) in view of CATT, R2-2002915, “Clarification on SFN0-Offset and DL-AoD report in LPP ASN.1,” 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 #109bis-e (20–30 April 2020).
Regarding Claim 2, Edge et al. (’228) teaches the method according to Claim 1, as set out in Section VI.
Edge et al. (’228) teaches the timing indications of Claim 1 as the starts of PRS positioning occasions, and does not explicitly teach that those timing indications are a system subframe number.
Edge et al. (’228) does not explicitly teach, but R2-2002915 teaches: wherein the first timing indication and the similar second timing indication are a system subframe number. (§ 2.1, NR-DL-PRS-Config field descriptions, integerSubframeOffset: “This field specifies the frame boundary offset at the TRP antenna location between the reference TRP and this neighbour TRP counted in full subframes. The offset is counted from the beginning of a subframe #0 of the reference TRP to the beginning of the closest subsequent subframe #0 of this neighbour TRP, rounded down to multiples of subframes.”; § 2.1, nr-DL-PRS-SFN0-Offset: “Defines time offset of the SFN0 slot 0 for given TRP with respect to SFN0 slot 0 of reference TRP.”; § 2.1 ASN.1: “integerSubframeOffset-r16 INTEGER (0.9)”). In R2-2002915 the timing indication at each end of the measured offset is subframe #0 — a system subframe number — occurring in both the reference TRP’s signal and the neighbour TRP’s signal, and the offset is measured to the closest subsequent such indication.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to define the assistance-data subframe offset of Edge et al. (’228) between the subframe #0 timing indications of the reference and neighbour stations, as specified by R2-2002915, rather than between the starts of their respective PRS positioning occasions. One would have been motivated to do so because Edge et al. (’228) expressly identifies an ambiguity that arises precisely because its offset is anchored to a PRS positioning occasion: when a neighbour cell supports more than one PRS configuration, an offset defined to one configuration’s occasion does not uniquely identify the offset for the others ([0075]: “a subframe offset SFO2 for the second PRS configuration may be in the range 0–159 subframes and may be equal to any one of SFO1, SFO1+40, SFO1+80 or SFO1+120 subframes, meaning UE 102 cannot unambiguously determine SFO2”). R2-2002915 anchors the same inter-station offset to subframe #0 of each station, a timing indication that recurs in every station’s signal independently of any PRS configuration, and identifies the reference-station anchoring that this requires (§ 2.1: “The reference TRP is required in NR-DL-PRS-Config.”). Re-anchoring Edge’s offset to subframe #0 therefore removes the configuration dependency that Edge et al. identifies as the obstacle to unambiguous determination of the neighbour cell’s occasion timing, allowing one offset field to serve all PRS configurations of that neighbour station. R2-2002915 was published in the same LPP assistance-data signaling context that Edge et al. uses to carry its subframe offset ([0110]). There is a reasonable expectation of success because R2-2002915 specifies the subframe #0-anchored offset as a bounded ASN.1 integer field (“integerSubframeOffset-r16 INTEGER (0..9)”) within the same downlink PRS assistance-data configuration carried over LPP that Edge et al. already uses, so the substitution changes only the timing reference point of an existing integer parameter and requires no change to the message-carrying mechanism, the receiver hardware, or the downstream window computation.
Claims 7 and 9–12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edge et al. (US 2018/0217228 A1) in view of Wang et al. (WO 2022/078273 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Edge et al. (’228) in view of Wang et al. (’273) teaches:
Edge et al. (’228) teaches: A method for determining a positioning reference signal search window, comprising: ([0071]: “The UE 102 may then combine the subframe offset with the expected RSTD and expected RSTD uncertainty indication to determine a window of time during which a PRS positioning occasion from the neighbor cell is expected to be received at UE 102”).
Edge et al. (’228) teaches: receiving assistance data including a subframe offset value associated with signals transmitted from a first station and a second station, ([0071]: “an E-SMLC 110 may provide UE 102 with a “subframe offset” (SFO) (also referred to as a “PRS subframe offset” (PRS SFO) and as an “offset value”) equal to the subframe difference between a start of a first PRS positioning occasion after System Frame Number (SFN) zero for a reference cell and a start of an immediately following PRS positioning occasion for a neighbor cell”; [0110]: “The information may also include each of the PRS SFOs determined at block 407 for the inter–frequency neighbor cells”). The reference cell constitutes the first station and the neighbor cell constitutes the second station.
Edge et al. (’228) teaches: wherein the signals are organized into a plurality of subframes in a time domain ([0044]: “downlink and uplink LTE Radio Frames 210 are of 10 ms duration each. For downlink Frequency Division Duplex (FDD) mode, Radio Frames 210 are organized into ten subframes 212 of 1 ms duration each. Each subframe 212 comprises two slots 214, each of 0.5 ms duration”).
Edge et al. (’228) expresses its assistance-data offset in whole-subframe units ([0071]: “the subframe offset may be in units of one ms subframe intervals”) and does not teach an offset value at half-subframe granularity.
Edge et al. (’228) does not explicitly teach, but Wang et al. (’273) teaches: and the subframe offset value represents a multiple of a half subframe; ([00383]: “The configuration information in the first information also includes the time offset information s1 of the TPR and the serving cell, the reference cell, or one of the serving cell and the reference cell, such as SFN0, absolute time or time slot offset (slot offset (slot). offset)”; [00384]: “The network-side device can configure the information in the first and second above to the terminal through the LPP\RRC\broadcast message, or update the information to the terminal through the MAC CE.”; [00389]: “If there is a non-slot integer part due to the time offset information, optionally, the transmission time may be rounded up or down at the slot or symbol level.”). Wang et al. teaches that the inter-station time offset conveyed to the terminal in configuration information may be expressed as a time slot offset rather than as a coarser frame- or absolute-time value, and that the residual non-integer part of the offset is resolved at the slot level.
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to express the assistance-data subframe offset value of Edge et al. (’228) at the slot granularity taught by Wang et al. (’273). In the frame structure on which Edge et al. operates, a slot is by definition one half of a subframe ([0044]: “Each subframe 212 comprises two slots 214, each of 0.5 ms duration”), so signaling Edge’s inter-station offset as a slot offset in accordance with Wang et al. yields a subframe offset value that represents a multiple of a half subframe, as claimed. One would have been motivated to do so because Edge et al. (’228) expressly discloses that its whole-subframe offset leaves the sub-subframe portion of the inter-station timing relationship to be absorbed elsewhere ([0071]: “The expected RSTD may be a fraction of (e.g. modulo) one ms subframe interval whereas the subframe offset may be in units of one ms subframe intervals”), so that the residual sub-subframe timing must be covered by the expected RSTD and its uncertainty when the reception window is computed ([0071]: “The UE 102 may then combine the subframe offset with the expected RSTD and expected RSTD uncertainty indication to determine a window of time”). Wang et al. addresses this same residual: it teaches that when the inter-station time offset has a non-integer part the value is resolved at the slot or symbol level, and that the terminal’s measurement window must account for that resolution ([00390]: “Wherein, if the calculated transmission time is rounded up or down, the UE expects the configured measurement window to consider the offset information”). A PHOSITA would have been motivated to adopt Wang’s finer, slot-level offset signaling in Edge’s assistance data in order to halve the residual timing uncertainty that Edge’s whole-subframe quantization leaves in the reception window, thereby narrowing the window the target device must search and reducing the integration burden that Edge et al. attributes to that window ([0113]: “perform a coherent or non–coherent integration of the received PRS or NPRS and measure a TOA”). There is a reasonable expectation of success because both references operate on the same OFDM radio frame hierarchy of frames, subframes, and slots, and Edge et al. itself defines the slot as an existing subdivision of the subframe in that hierarchy ([0044]). Expressing an already-signaled integer offset in slot units rather than subframe units is a change in the unit of an existing assistance-data parameter within a numerology the primary reference already defines; it requires no new measurement, no additional signal, and no change to the receiver front end. Wang et al. further confirms that a slot-granularity inter-station offset can in fact be delivered over the same signaling paths Edge et al. uses ([00384]: “The network-side device can configure the information in the first and second above to the terminal through the LPP\RRC\broadcast message”).
Edge et al. (’228) teaches: receiving a first positioning reference signal at a first time, wherein the first positioning reference signal is transmitted by the first station; ([0071]: “relative to transmission of PRS positioning occasions transmitted from the reference cell (e.g. which may be directly visible to UE 102 )”; [0113]: “UE 402 may then determine an RSTD for the neighbor cell by subtracting a TOA measured for the reference cell from the TOA measured for the neighbor cell”).
Edge et al. (’228) teaches: determining a search window for a second positioning reference signal based at least in part on the first time and the subframe offset value; and ([0112]: “UE 402 may determine at block 411 the expected timing of PRS positioning occasions for neighbor cells based on the PRS subframe offsets received in message 408 … may combine this with an expected RSTD for this neighbor cell to further determine a more precise time of arrival and a search window”; [0071]: “UE 102 may use the subframe offset to determine times that PRS positioning occasions are to be transmitted from the neighbor cell … relative to transmission of PRS positioning occasions transmitted from the reference cell”).
Edge et al. (’228) teaches: receiving the second positioning reference signal from the second station at a second time, wherein the second time is proximate to the search window. ([0113]: “a search window obtained at block 411 for a neighbor cell may enable UE 402 to know approximately when a PRS or NPRS positioning occasion for the neighbor cell will be received at UE 402 and to perform a coherent or non–coherent integration of the received PRS or NPRS and measure a TOA”).
Regarding Claim 9, Edge et al. (’228) in view of Wang et al. (’273) teaches the method according to Claim 7, including the motivation to combine and the reasonable expectation of success stated for Claim 7, which are expressly incorporated here: a PHOSITA would have expressed Edge’s assistance-data offset at Wang’s slot granularity to halve the residual sub-subframe timing uncertainty Edge’s whole-subframe quantization leaves in the reception window ([0071]; [00389-00390]), with a reasonable expectation of success because the slot is an existing subdivision of the subframe in Edge’s own frame hierarchy ([0044]).
Edge et al. (’228) teaches: wherein the assistance data includes an expected reference signal time difference value and an associated uncertainty value. ([0052]: “OTDOA assistance data may also include “expected RSTD” parameters, which provide UE 102 with indications of RSTD values UE 102 is expected to measure at its current location between a reference cell and each of one or more neighbor cells together with an uncertainty associated with the expected RSTD values”).
Regarding Claim 10, Edge et al. (’228) in view of Wang et al. (’273) teaches the method according to Claim 9, including the motivation to combine and the reasonable expectation of success stated for Claim 7, which are expressly incorporated here.
Edge et al. (’228) teaches: wherein a duration of the search window is based at least in part on the associated uncertainty value. ([0052]: “An expected RSTD value together with an uncertainty may define a search window duration for UE 102 within which UE 102 is expected to measure an RSTD value”).
Regarding Claim 11, Edge et al. (’228) in view of Wang et al. (’273) teaches the method according to Claim 7, including the motivation to combine and the reasonable expectation of success stated for Claim 7, which are expressly incorporated here.
Edge et al. (’228) teaches: further comprising determining a reference signal time difference value based at least in part on the first time and the second time. ([0113]: “UE 402 may then determine an RSTD for the neighbor cell by subtracting a TOA measured for the reference cell from the TOA measured for the neighbor cell”).
Regarding Claim 12, Edge et al. (’228) in view of Wang et al. (’273) teaches the method according to Claim 7, including the motivation to combine and the reasonable expectation of success stated for Claim 7, which are expressly incorporated here.
Edge et al. (’228) teaches: wherein the assistance data is received from a location management function via one or more LPP messages. ([0039]: “location server 172 … may be another location server such as a Standalone Serving Mobile Location Center (SAS) (not shown) or a Location Management Function (LMF) for 5G access (not shown)”; [0117]: “The location server may be an E–SMLC or SLP and may correspond to any of E–SMLC 110 , H–SLP 118 , location server 172 or location server 404”; [0110]: “location server 404 may transmit an LPP Provide Assistance Data message 408 to UE 402 including assistance data for the OTDOA position method”).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edge et al. (US 2018/0217228 A1) in view of Wang et al. (WO 2022/078273 A1) and further in view of Horvat et al. (US 2015/0215884 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Edge et al. (’228) in view of Wang et al. (’273) teaches the method according to Claim 7, including the motivation to combine and the reasonable expectation of success stated for Claim 7, which are expressly incorporated here: a PHOSITA would have expressed Edge’s assistance-data offset at Wang’s slot granularity to halve the residual sub-subframe timing uncertainty that Edge’s whole-subframe quantization leaves in the reception window ([0071]; [00389-00390]), with a reasonable expectation of success because the slot is an existing subdivision of the subframe in Edge’s own frame hierarchy ([0044]). The offset value in the combined system is accordingly an integer count of half subframes.
Edge et al. (’228) locates the reception window from the whole-subframe offset combined with the expected RSTD and its uncertainty ([0071]: “The UE 102 may then combine the subframe offset with the expected RSTD and expected RSTD uncertainty indication to determine a window of time during which a PRS positioning occasion from the neighbor cell is expected to be received at UE 102”), and its PRS timing relation operates on a whole-subframe index derived from the slot index ([0055]: “A PRS configuration may be defined, at least in part, with reference to a System Frame Number (SFN) of a cell that transmits PRS. A PRS occurrence for the first subframe of the NPrs downlink subframes comprising a first PRS positioning occasion, may satisfy equation (1)”; [0058]: “n.sub.s is a slot number within the radio frame defined by n.sub.f with 0≤n.sub.s≤19”; [0060]: “Δ.sub.PRS is the cell-specific subframe offset.”). Equation (1) of Edge et al. converts the slot index to a subframe index by taking the floor of the slot number divided by two, which discards the least significant bit, the parity, of the slot count. The equation as printed in the document of record is subject to transcription irregularity; it is characterized here rather than quoted, and the defined variables are quoted above. Edge et al. (’228) does not teach locating the search window on the basis of whether the offset is an odd or an even number of half subframes.
Edge et al. (’228) does not explicitly teach, but Horvat et al. (’884) teaches: wherein a location of the search window is based at least in part on a parity the subframe offset value, wherein the parity includes an odd subframe offset value or an even subframe offset value. ([0034]: “The PSS/SSS search detects the slot (half-subframe) and radio frame (10 subframes) timing. In addition, cell ID and cyclic prefix type are detected by PSS/SSS cell search. As can be observed in FIG. 4 a unique relationship between the slot/radio frame synchronization and the actual PRS sub frame timing exists.”; [0035]: “Hence, achieving a coarse timing by employing Synchronization signals (PSS/SSS) used for cell search resolves the ambiguity problem of fine timing by applying PSS/SSS cell search on the positioning cell ID list. If the cell searcher detects a positioning cell’s PSS/SSS, the slot and radio frame timing are resolved.”; [0036]: “Once slot and radio frame have been detected by the PSS/SSS search, PRS fine timing 53 can be performed based on the detected slot and radio frame.”).
Horvat et al. expressly identifies the slot as the half-subframe timing unit, resolves the timing of the positioning cell to that half-subframe unit, and then uses the resolved slot together with the resolved radio frame to place the window within which PRS fine timing is performed. In the combined system, the assistance-data offset of Edge et al., expressed at slot granularity per Wang et al., is an integer count of half subframes, and the window is located at the reference reception time displaced by that count of half-subframe intervals. Resolving the window location to the slot rather than to the whole subframe, as Horvat et al. teaches, necessarily makes the location turn on which of the two slots of the subframe is indicated: an even count places the window at a whole-subframe boundary, whereas an odd count displaces it by one additional half subframe into the second slot of the subframe. The location of the search window in the combined system is therefore based at least in part on a parity of the subframe offset value, that parity being an odd subframe offset value or an even subframe offset value.
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to resolve the location of the neighbor PRS search window in the combined system of Edge et al. (’228) and Wang et al. (’273) to the slot, that is, half-subframe, level as taught by Horvat et al. (’884), rather than to the whole subframe. One would have been motivated to do so because Horvat et al. is directed to the very deficiency that Edge et al. leaves unresolved: the search window derived from the assistance data is materially wider than the target device’s capture range, so that the device cannot complete fine timing without first narrowing it ([0034]: “It can be observed that the maximum time offset between the center of the search window and the reference cell PRS occasion is limited to 800 us, while the cell maximum span of the search window is limited to 199.8 us. … For an LTE system with 15 kHz Subcarriers spacing, the maximum capture range results in 66.66 us=1/15 kHz. which is much smaller than the maximum search window span of 199.8 us.”). Horvat et al. resolves that deficiency by obtaining timing at the slot, half-subframe, level and using it to place the fine-timing window ([0036]). Edge et al., by contrast, discards precisely that half-subframe component: its timing relation reduces the slot index to a whole-subframe index ([0055-0060]), and it expressly consigns the sub-subframe portion of the inter-station timing relationship to the expected RSTD and its uncertainty ([0071]: “The expected RSTD may be a fraction of (e.g. modulo) one ms subframe interval whereas the subframe offset may be in units of one ms subframe intervals”). Preserving and acting upon that half-subframe component whether the half-subframe count is odd or even would have predictably improved the temporal placement of the neighbor PRS window by identifying which half of the subframe contains the expected PRS timing, halved the timing space the device must search, and correspondingly reduced the coherent and non-coherent integration burden that Edge et al. attributes to that window ([0113]: “perform a coherent or non–coherent integration of the received PRS or NPRS and measure a TOA”). There is a reasonable expectation of success because Horvat et al. demonstrates slot-level timing resolution and its use in placing a PRS fine-timing window within the same LTE OTDOA framework, and on the same LPP-delivered expected-RSTD and search-window assistance data, that Edge et al. employs ([0036]: “The location server 51 communicates assistance data using the LTE Positioning Protocol via Radio Resource Control (RRC) from E-SMLC to the mobile device. The assistance data comprises the expected RSTD and search window size referred to as RSTD uncertainty.”). Edge et al. already defines the slot as an existing subdivision of the subframe within its own frame hierarchy ([0044]: “Each subframe 212 comprises two slots 214, each of 0.5 ms duration”), and Horvat et al. confirms that the resolved slot timing bears a deterministic relationship to the PRS subframe timing ([0034]: “a unique relationship between the slot/radio frame synchronization and the actual PRS sub frame timing exists”). This distinguishes the two slots of a subframe therefore requires no measurement beyond that which Horvat et al. already performs, no additional signaling, and no change to the assistance-data parameter itself.
The phrase “based at least in part on” is open-ended. It does not require that the parity be conveyed as a discrete signaled flag, and it does not require that the parity be the sole determinant of the window location. The specification describes an embodiment in which the parity operates as an express flag selecting between alternative computations ([0110]: a parity of the number of half subframes may act as a flag for the computation of N, the value being used as an integer when the number of half subframes is even and rounded up when it is odd), but that embodiment is not recited in Claim 8, and limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. Applicant’s attention is directed to the further consideration that, as presently drafted, Claim 8 may recite no more than an inherent arithmetic property of the half-subframe offset value already required by Claim 7.
Further, the international search report cites Edge et al. (’228) [0055] against this limitation. That citation is not adopted here. Paragraph [0055] and the paragraphs defining its terms ([0056-0060]) set out the PRS timing relation and define its variables — the system frame number, the slot number within the radio frame, the PRS periodicity, and the cell-specific subframe offset — and [0061] defines the cell-specific subframe offset as “a number of subframes transmitted starting from event 250 corresponding to transmission of the start of System Frame Number = 0 , Slot Number = 0 to the start of the first ( subsequent ) PRS positioning occasion”. The Examiner notes that this passage defines variables in a timing equation; it neither selects nor positions a search window according to whether a half-subframe count is odd or even, and the relation it states in fact discards the slot parity. The rejection above rests on Horvat et al. for this limitation rather than on Edge et al. [0055].
Claims 19 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edge et al. (US 2018/0217228 A1) in view of Fischer (US 2017/0288830 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, Edge et al. (’228) teaches the method according to Claim 13.
Edge et al. (’228) delivers the assistance data by point-to-point LPP messaging from the location server ([0110]) and does not explicitly teach delivery of the assistance data via system information blocks.
Edge et al. (’228) does not explicitly teach, but Fischer (’830) teaches: wherein the assistance data is received via one or more system information blocks. ([0069]: “LTU System Information Blocks ( LTU– SIB), which allow the UE to obtain measurement and position calculation information ;e.g., PRS configuration, neighbor cell list, LTU location information, etc.”; [0073]: “an LTU Physical Downlink Shared Channel (LTU–PDSCH), which provides additional TBS system information, such as PRS configuration information (if this cannot be provided in the LTU–PBCH), neighbor cell (e.g., eNB) and/or neighbor LTU list, LTU coordinates, and/or LTU transmit time offset and drift (e.g., if not zero)”). Fischer teaches that the positioning assistance information a target device needs in order to carry out RSTD measurements — including the PRS configuration, the neighbor list, and the inter-node transmit time offset — is delivered to the device in system information blocks.
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to deliver the OTDOA positioning assistance data of Edge et al. (’228) to the target device in one or more system information blocks as taught by Fischer (’830). One would have been motivated to do so because Fischer (’830) is directed to the identical assistance-data problem that Edge et al. addresses and identifies the same parameter set as the operative content (Fischer (‘830) [0120]: “The OTDOA assistance data information enable the UE to perform neighbour cell/TP RSTD measurements. The information about e.g., expected RSTD, search window and PRS subframe offset allow the UE to generate an appropriate replica PRS and estimate the RSTD”). Fischer further teaches that broadcasting this information in system information blocks makes the PRS configuration and the inter-node transmit time offset available to every target device in coverage of the transmitting node without a per-device signaling transaction ([0069], [0073]), which is significant in Edge’s scenario because Edge’s subframe offset is a property of the reference/neighbour station pair rather than of any individual target device and is therefore the same for all devices served by that pair. Broadcasting it in a system information block avoids replicating the same offset in an individually addressed LPP Provide Assistance Data message for each device, reducing point-to-point signaling load in the manner Fischer’s standalone and partial-standalone deployment scenarios ([0073]). There is a reasonable expectation of success because Fischer (’830) implements system-information-block delivery of exactly this class of OTDOA assistance content, PRS configuration, neighbor list, and inter-node transmit time offset, within the same LTE-based downlink physical layer that Edge et al. employs, and Edge et al.’s own architecture already contemplates the target device obtaining assistance content from an eNB by broadcast in addition to by LPP ([0115]: “assistance data received in the LPP Provide Assistance Data message 408 and/or received from an eNB (e.g. eNB 104) via broadcast (e.g. which may include the location coordinates of eNB antennas for the reference and neighbor cells and/or transmission timing differences between the reference cell and neighbor cells )”). Carrying Edge’s subframe offset in the broadcast system information blocks Fischer describes therefore requires no new physical channel and no change to the offset parameter itself.
Regarding Claim 26, the claim is substantially the same as claim 19 and thus, the same cited sections and rationale as corresponding apparatus claim 19 is applied.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Edge et al. (US 2020/0233057 A1): Edge teaches LPP assistance data containing PRS subframe offsets and expected RSTD values, which the UE uses to determine expected neighboring-cell PRS timing, establish a search window, and obtain RSTD measurements.
Manolakos et al. (US 2020/0228381 A1): Manolakos teaches configurable RSTD search windows based on PRS configuration, expected RSTD, uncertainty, and the timing relationship between reference-cell and neighboring-cell subframes.
Akkarakaran et al. (US 2020/0344712 A1): Akkarakaran teaches using coarse positioning information or an expected positioning measurement to narrow a PRS search window and resolve ambiguous TOA or RSTD correlation peaks.
Alawieh et al. (US 2021/0345287 A1): Alawieh teaches a base station or location server providing reference-signal search-window timing, uncertainty, periodicity, and relative timing information to a target device through positioning assistance signaling.
Gunnarsson et al. (US 2022/0236404 A1): Gunnarsson teaches providing positioning assistance data through dedicated or broadcast signaling, measuring the received times of DL PRSs from neighboring base stations, and determining a UE position using PRS timing and RTT measurements.
Yu et al. (US 2020/0154242 A1): Yu teaches broadcasting positioning assistance data to terminal devices through system messages and positioning-related system information.
Vogedes et al., US 2024/0171340 A1: Vogedes teaches NR PRS assistance and configuration information communicated by an LMF through LPP or positioning system information, including information supporting PRS measurements and positioning operations.
Yi et al. (US 2019/0007933 A1): Yi teaches reference-signal measurement configurations containing subframe-based timing offsets, measurement periods and durations, and timing references associated with SFNs or system-information signaling.
/REMASH R GUYAH/Examiner, Art Unit 3648