Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 11/06/2024 and 11/07/2024 have been considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (US 20230084066) and further in view of Yoshimoto (US 7450856).
Consider Claim 1, Jiang discloses an optical transmission system comprising: an optical switch configured to include a plurality of ports (Figure 4, element 130), outputs an optical signal input from any one of the ports from a different one of the ports (Figure 4 and Paragraph 0057, where input originates from element 20 and is output through various DCMS via element 30), and acquires transmission path information on the basis of the optical signal input to the port (Paragraph 0057, where dispersion of received wavelength could be dependent on factors such as fiber type and fiber length); a plurality of dispersion compensators configured to compensate for quality of the optical signal output from the optical switch (Figure 4, element 180) and input the optical signal with the compensated quality to the optical switch (Paragraph 0055, where element 180 reflects signals back towards element 130) but does not disclose an α parameter measurer configured to acquire an α parameter indicating a chirp level on the basis of the optical signal with the compensated quality; and a controller configured to perform correction of the α parameter or adjustment of a dispersion compensation amount in a case where a condition indicating that a problem that is attributable to the α parameter has occurred is satisfied on the basis of a cumulative wavelength dispersion amount or a transmission distance obtained on the basis of the transmission path information and the α parameter.
However, Yoshimoto discloses a controller (Figure 9, element 4) configured to perform correction of the (Column 8, Lines 9-10, where dispersion compensation is adjusted and Column 5, Lines 38-40, where element 4 performs adjustment) in a case where a condition indicating that a problem that is attributable to the α parameter (Column 8, Lines 7-10, where dispersion compensation is adjusted based on the alpha value) has occurred is satisfied on the basis of a cumulative wavelength dispersion amount (Column 8, Lines 11-15, where residual dispersion amount is controlled and bit correction ratio is less than 50%) (Colum 8, Line 8, where process is based on specific value of alpha value = 1) . While Yoshimoto does not explicitly disclose an α parameter measurer configured to acquire an α parameter indicating a chirp level on the basis of the optical signal with the compensated quality, the citied portion above is using a chirp parameter in the compensated signal to perform adjustment. It would be obvious to one of skill in the ordinary art that in the control circuit has to be able to determine (measure) the value of chirp parameter to perform the function.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Yoshimoto into Jiang to accurately control dispersion in fiber for scenarios with different chirp settings.
Consider Claim 7, Jiang discloses an adjustment method comprising: by an optical switch including a plurality of ports (Figure 4, element 130), outputting an optical signal input from any one of the ports from a different one of the ports (Figure 4 and Paragraph 0057, where input originates from element 20 and is output through various DCMS via element 30) and acquiring transmission path information on the basis of the optical signal input from the port (Paragraph 0057, where dispersion of received wavelength could be dependent on factors such as fiber type and fiber length); compensating for quality of the optical signal output from the optical switch (Figure 4, elements 180 are dispersion compensation modules) and inputting the optical signal with the compensated quality to the optical switch (Paragraph 0055, where element 180 reflects signals back towards element 130); acquiring an α parameter indicating a chirp level on the basis of the optical signal with the compensated quality; and performing correction of the α parameter or adjustment of a dispersion compensation amount in a case where a condition indicating that a problem that is attributable to the α parameter has occurred is satisfied on the basis of a cumulative wavelength dispersion amount or a transmission distance obtained on the basis of the transmission path information and the α parameter.
However, Yoshimoto discloses performing correction of the (Column 8, Lines 9-10, where dispersion compensation is adjusted Column 5, Lines 38-40, where element 4 performs adjustment) in a case where a condition indicating that a problem that is attributable to the α parameter (Column 8, Lines 7-10, where dispersion compensation is adjusted based on the alpha value) has occurred is satisfied on the basis of a cumulative wavelength dispersion amount (Column 8, Lines 11-15, where residual dispersion amount is controlled and bit correction ratio is less than 50%) (Colum 8, Line 8, where process is based on specific value of alpha value = 1) . While Yoshimoto does not explicitly disclose an α parameter measurer configured to acquire an α parameter indicating a chirp level on the basis of the optical signal with the compensated quality, the citied portion above is using a chirp parameter in the compensated signal to perform adjustment. It would be obvious to one of skill in the ordinary art that in the control circuit has to be able to determine (measure) the value of chirp parameter to perform the function.
Claim(s) 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang and further in view of Yoshimoto and in further view of Sekiya (US 7274878).
Consider Claim 2, Jiang discloses the optical transmission system according to claim 1, Jiang discloses wherein the optical switch calculates the cumulative wavelength dispersion amount (Paragraph 0057, where element 110 controls accumulated dispersion for each wavelength which is attached to switch element 100) cumulative wavelength dispersion amount or the transmission distance calculated by the optical switch is outside an allowable range obtained on the basis of the a parameter.
However, Yoshimoto discloses the controller determining that the condition indicating that the problem that is attributable to the a parameter has occurred is satisfied in a case where the cumulative wavelength dispersion amount or the transmission distance calculated by the optical switch on the basis of the a parameter (Column 8, Lines 7-10, where dispersion compensation is adjusted based on the alpha value) but does not disclose the wavelength dispersion amount being outside an allowable range.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Yoshimoto into Jiang to accurately control dispersion in fiber for scenarios with different chirp settings.
However, Sekiya discloses wavelength dispersion amount being outside an allowable range (Claim 4, Lines 31-35, where OADM node checks if residual dispersion target is within a certain range).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Sekiya into Jiang and Yoshimoto to ensure that dispersion values are within acceptable ranges to minimize bit error rate.
Consider Claim 6, Jiang does not disclose the limitations of this claim.
However. Yoshimoto discloses the optical transmission system according to claim 1 any one of claims 1 to 3, wherein the controller further determines that the condition indicating that the problem that is attributable to the α parameter has occurred is satisfied (Column 8, Lines 7-10, where dispersion compensation is adjusted based on the alpha value) but does not disclose a case where the cumulative wavelength dispersion amount or the transmission distance calculated by the optical switch is outside a threshold value within a prescribed allowable range.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Yoshimoto into Jiang to accurately control dispersion in fiber for scenarios with different chirp settings.
However, Sekiya discloses a case where the cumulative wavelength dispersion amount (Claim 4, Lines 31-35, where OADM node checks if residual dispersion target is within a certain range).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Sekiya into Jiang and Yoshimoto to ensure that dispersion values are within acceptable ranges to minimize bit error rate.
Claim(s) 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang and further in view of Yoshimoto and in further view of Hashida (6904548).
Consider Claim 4, Jiang does not disclose the limitations of this claim.
However, Yoshimoto discloses the optical transmission system according to claim 1, wherein in a case where it is determined that the condition indicating that the problem that is attributable to the a parameter has occurred (Column 8, Lines 7-10, where dispersion compensation is adjusted based on the alpha value) is satisfied but does not disclose the controller notifying a subscriber device, which is a transmission source of the optical signal, of an a parameter correction value for correcting an a parameter of the subscriber device via the optical switch.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Yoshimoto into Jiang to accurately control dispersion in fiber for scenarios with different chirp settings.
However, Hashida discloses controller notifying a subscriber device, which is a transmission source of the optical signal (Figure 7, where element 24 sends signal to element 20a on transmission side), of an a parameter correction value for correcting an a parameter of the subscriber device (Claim 2, where chirp parameter control is performed) via the optical switch.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Hashida into Jiang and Yoshimoto to minimize chirp to reduce dispersion.
Consider Claim 5, Jiang discloses he optical transmission system according to claim1 ,wherein the optical switch further includes a dispersion compensation controller unit that changes a cumulative wavelength dispersion amount of a transmission path (Figure 4, element 110 and Paragraph 0057, where element 110 controls accumulated dispersion for each wavelength which is attached to switch element 100) but does not disclose the controller unit notifying the optical switch of a cumulative wavelength dispersion correction value for causing the optical switch to change the cumulative wavelength dispersion amount in a case where it is determined that the condition indicating that the problem that is attributable to the a parameter has occurred is satisfied, and the dispersion compensation controller changing the cumulative wavelength dispersion amount of the transmission path on the basis of the cumulative wavelength dispersion correction value provided as a notification from the controller.
However, Yoshida discloses case where it is determined that the condition indicating that the problem that is attributable to the a parameter has occurred (Column 8, Lines 7-10, where dispersion compensation is adjusted based on the alpha value) is satisfied but does not disclose the dispersion compensation controller changing the cumulative wavelength dispersion amount of the transmission path on the basis of the cumulative wavelength dispersion correction value provided as a notification from the controller.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Yoshimoto into Jiang to accurately control dispersion in fiber for scenarios with different chirp settings.
However, Hashida discloses the controller unit notifies the optical switch of a cumulative wavelength dispersion correction value for causing the optical switch to change the cumulative wavelength dispersion amount (Figure 1, element 14, Column 3, Lines 66-67-Column 4, Lines 1-2, and Claim 1, Line 4 where code error correction information is supplied to transmission units) and the dispersion compensation controller changes the cumulative wavelength dispersion amount of the transmission path on the basis of the cumulative wavelength dispersion correction value provided as a notification from the controller (Claim 2, Lines 3-4 where dispersion compensation is performed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before theeffective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachingsof Hashida into Jiang and Yoshimoto to minimize chirp to reduce dispersion.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ASIF SHAMEEM/Examiner, Art Unit 2634
/KENNETH N VANDERPUYE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2634