DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application is the national stage entry of PCT/IB2023/054724 filed 5 May 2023. Acknowledgement is made of the Applicant’s claim of foreign priority to application GB2206679.9 filed 6 May 2022.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 9-18 in the reply filed on 5 September 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-8 and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-8 and 19-20 are withdrawn.
Claims 9-18 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-10 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Bezzek (US 8,846,061) as evidenced by Khan et al. (US 2009/0117146).
Bezzek teaches a formulation comprising L-carnitine (4 g) and further comprising brown seaweed extract (claims 13, 15). Khan teaches that brown seaweeds are in the Phaeophyceae class [0062].
Regarding instant claim 16, the recited functional properties are inherent in the composition comprising L-carnitine and seaweed extract. It is noted that “products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP 2112.01 (II)). Moreover, “the discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus, the claiming of a new use, new function or unquantified property which is necessarily present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding instant claim 17, the limitation “seed treatment” is an intended use of the composition, does not result in a structural difference over the prior art, and is thus given minimal patentable weight (See MPEP 2111.02 (II)).
Claims 9-10 and 16-17 are accordingly anticipated by the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bezzek (US 8,846,061) in view of Khan et al. (US 2009/0117146) in view of Drugs.com (https://web.archive.org/web/20210417060834/https://www.drugs.com/npc/seaweed.html; available online 17 April 2021).
Bezzek teaches a formulation comprising L-carnitine (4 g) and further comprising brown seaweed extract (claims 13, 15). The formulation may be prepared as a solid tablet, granule, or liquid (col 8, lns 18-19).
Bezzek does not teach the claimed species of seaweed extract. Bezzek does not teach a concentration of seaweed extract.
Khan teaches that brown seaweeds are in the Phaeophyceae class and can be selected as the species Ascophyllum nodosum [0062].
Drugs.com teaches that seaweed extracts are generally used in amounts ranging from 4-12g pre day (pg 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to prepare the composition of Bezzek as granules, thus implying each component is a granule, wherein the composition comprises L-carnitine (4 g) and brown seaweed extract. The brown seaweed extract would have been obvious to select from Ascophyllum nodosum. Bezzek is non-specific on seaweed selection therefore it would have been obvious to look to Khan to make a selection as required in instant claims 9-11. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding the claimed ratios of L-carnitine to seaweed extract, it would have been obvious to use 4 g of L-carnitine, as taught in Bezzek, and adjust the amounts of brown seaweed extract to the range of from 4-12 g, as recited by Drugs.com as a suitable dosage. As such, a 1:1 ratio by weight would have been obvious, addressing instant claims 12-14.
The composition can be in the form of a granule, thus implying granulation of each component of the composition, addressing instant claim 18. Alternatively, the formulation may be a liquid, according to Bezzek. The art does not teach a concentration, however, and the skilled artisan would be able to use any suitable liquid concentration to achieve a liquid formulation. That being said and in lieu of objective evidence of unexpected results, the concentration can be viewed as a variable which achieves the recognized result of successfully solubilizing and formulating a liquid dosage form. The optimum or workable range of concentration can be accordingly characterized as routine optimization and experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05 (II)B). “[Discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art.” In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980). Appellants provide no evidence of any secondary consideration such as unexpected results that would render the optimized amounts of concentration nonobvious. As such, an amount of approximately 16-40 mL of solvent would achieve a concentration of 100-250 g/L of the reagents, addressing instant claim 15.
Regarding instant claim 16, the recited functional properties are inherent in the composition comprising L-carnitine and seaweed extract. It is noted that “products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP 2112.01 (II)). Moreover, “the discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus, the claiming of a new use, new function or unquantified property which is necessarily present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding instant claim 17, the limitation “seed treatment” is an intended use of the composition, does not result in a structural difference over the prior art, and is thus given minimal patentable weight (See MPEP 2111.02 (II)).
Claims 9-18 are accordingly rejected as obvious in view of the prior art.
Conclusion
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613