DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figure 5 is very hard to make out due to line shading and there is text on the figure that needs to be removed. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because there is additional text on the sheet and the title is repeated in the abstract. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitations “that covers at least a portion of a toe side of a foot” and “that covers a heel side part of the foot” should read “that covers at least a portion of a toe side of a foot when worn” and “that covers a heel side part of the foot when worn”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4, 6, 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2, 4, 6 and 8, it is unclear what applicant is requiring of the claim a ratio or the weaving pressure of different areas of the footwear. The claim uses “:” multiple times in the claims and it is unclear what would be required of the pressure of the areas to read on the limitations as claimed.
Regarding claim 6, it is unclear what is required of the wearing pressure of the ankle and upper ankle area, since the values overlap and the ration can be equal. How can the wearing pressure of the ankle area be higher than the value of the upper ankle area when the noted ranges would read as the same value with a ratio of 1:1? It is unclear what is required to read on the claim.
Regarding claim 8, it is unclear what is required of the wearing pressure of the upper ankle and shin covering portion, since the values overlap and the ratio can be equal. How can the wearing pressure of the upper ankle area be higher than the value of the shin area when the noted ranges would read as the same value with a 1:1 ratio? It is unclear what is required to read on the claim.
Regarding claims 9, 11, 13, 15, 17 and 19 it is unclear what structure and/or materials would be required to read on the limitation “for promoting falling asleep”? The claimed limitation does not appear to further define the invention. It is unclear what would or would not be needed of the footwear item to read on these claims.
Any remaining claims are rejected depending from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Higgins et al. (US 11/076,974).
In regard to claim 1, Higgins et al. teaches a footwear item (10) comprising: a first foot covering portion that covers at least a portion of a toe side of a foot (see annotated figure 2 below); and a second foot covering portion that covers a heel side part of the foot and is continuous with the first foot covering portion (see annotated figure 2 below); wherein a wearing pressure of the second foot covering portion is higher than a wearing pressure of the first foot covering portion (see annotated figure 2 below and column 7, lines 2-44).
In regard to claim 2, Higgins et al. teaches wherein the wearing pressure of the first foot covering portion (see annotated figure above): the wearing pressure of the second foot covering portion (see annotated figure above) is 9.50±0.49 hPa: 33.20±3.56 hPa (see column 7, lines 2-44 detailing the different pressure ranges of each section that reads on the ration claimed).
In regard to claim 3, Higgins et al. teaches further comprising an ankle covering portion that covers an ankle and is continuous with the second foot covering portion (see annotated figure 2 above or the ankle section can be sections 6 and 7), wherein the wearing pressure of the second foot covering portion is higher than a wearing pressure of the ankle covering portion (see annotated figure 2 above and column 7, lines 2-44).
In regard to claim 4, Higgins et al. teaches wherein the wearing pressure of the second foot covering portion (sections 3-5 in annotated figure above): the wearing pressure of the ankle covering portion (sections 6 and 7) is 33.20±3.56 hPa: 8.17±2.62 hPa (see column 7, lines 2-44, detailing the different pressure ranges in the sections that reads on the ratio claimed).
In regard to claim 5, Higgins et al. teaches further comprising: an upper ankle covering portion that covers an upper portion of an ankle and is continuous with the ankle covering portion (upper ankle portion: section 7), wherein the wearing pressure of the ankle covering portion is higher than a wearing pressure of the upper ankle covering portion (ankle portion 6 has a higher pressure than upper ankle portion 7 as detailed in annotated figure 2 above and in column 7, lines 2-44).
In regard to claim 6, Higgins et al. teaches wherein the wearing pressure of the ankle covering portion (section 6): the wearing pressure of the upper ankle covering portion (section 7) is 8.17±2.62 hPa: 5.63±0.51 hPa (see column 7, lines 2-44 detailing the different pressure ranges in the sections that reads on the ration claimed).
In regard to claims 9, 11, 13, 15, 17 and 19 Higgins et al. teaches wherein the footwear item is for promoting falling asleep (no additional structure is being required of this claim, the footwear item of Higgins et al. teaches all the claimed structure that would therefore promote falling asleep).
In regard to claim 10, 12, 14, 16, 18 and 20 Higgins et al. teaches wherein the footwear item has a cylindrical shape with openings on both sides (see figures 2, openings 11 and 12 on each end of the footwear).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higgins et al. (US 11,076,974) in view of Messier (US 9,777,413).
Higgins et al. teaches a footwear article as described above in claims 1, 3 and 5. However, Higgins et al. fails to teach further comprising a shin covering portion that covers at least a portion of a shin and is continuous with the upper ankle covering portion, wherein the wearing pressure of the upper ankle covering portion is higher than a wearing pressure of the shin covering portion; and wherein the wearing pressure of the upper ankle covering portion: the wearing pressure of the shin covering portion is 5.63±0.51 hPa: 4.8±3.13 hPa.
In regard to claim 7, Messier teaches a compression sock wherein the sock has regions that extend over a calf of a user (see figures 2-5) further comprising a shin covering portion that covers at least a portion of a shin and is continuous with the upper ankle covering portion (see figures 2-5 different sections of sock that extend up past the knee of the user), wherein the wearing pressure of the upper ankle covering portion is higher than a wearing pressure of the shin covering portion (see figures 2-5 and column 7, lines 8-28 detailing that the pressure decreases from the foot to the leg opening, making the upper ankle section with a higher compression than the calf section).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the footwear article of Higgins et al., with the longer leg section as taught by Messier, since the footwear article of Higgins et al. provided with a longer leg section would provide a footwear article that provides decreasing pressure along a greater portion of a user’s leg from the ankle to the leg opening for proper support and circulation.
In regard to claim 8, the combined references teach the compression pressure being higher in the upper ankle than the shin portion, however, Higgins et al. and Messier fail to teach the exact wearing pressure ration of 5.63±0.51 hPa: 4.8±3.13 hPa.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art and through routine experimentation to have determined the proper ratio of one section of a footwear article to another section of the footwear article based upon a user’s medical needs and anatomy of the leg. The ratio being 5.63±0.51 hPa: 4.8±3.13 hPa would not destroy the footwear articles of Higgins et al. and Messier, since they both require a lower compression region as the article extends up the user’s leg.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be found cited on PTO-892 form submitted herewith. The cited prior art to Rock (US 11,560,651) is of particular relevance to the claimed invention.
ALISSA L. HOEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/ALISSA L HOEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732