Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to applicant’s amendment filed 7/23/2026.
Claims 1-3, 6-9 are pending.
The previous rejection of claims 1-3, 5-9 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mori (US2006/0097231) is withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendment.
The previous rejection of claims 1-4, 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Handa et al. (US6,452,476) is withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendment.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 6/23/2026 has been considered by the examiner. Initialed copies accompany this action.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01.
Claim 2 recites “the composition consists of the following agent A and agent B, agent A: a composition containing the epoxy resin as component (A) and the spike-shaped electrically conductive filler as component (B); and agent B: a composition containing the curing agent for epoxy resin as component (C)”. However, claim 1, which claim 2 depends from, requires the composition comprising A, B, C and a polyfunctional radically polymerizable compound as component (D). The “consisting of” excludes any element, step, or ingredient not specified in the claim. In re Gray, 53 F.2d 520, 11 USPQ 255 (CCPA 1931); Ex parte Davis, 80 USPQ 448, 450 (Bd. App. 1948). The omitted element is component D.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohsawa et al. (US20190067680).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Ohsawa discloses an electrically conductive resin composition (nickel slurry) comprising: an epoxy resin as component (A) (CELLOXIDE 2021P, alicyclic epoxy resin); a spike-shaped electrically conductive filler as component (B) (Vale, Type 123); and a curing agent for epoxy resin as component (C) (SANAID SI-60), and a polyfunctional radically polymerizable compound as component (D) (polyfunctional epoxy resin [MARPROOF G2050M). See para 0489. In this embodiment, epoxy resin as component (A) is an alicyclic epoxy resin. However, Ohsawa discloses that liquid phase epoxy resin including glycidylamine type epoxy resin can be used (para 0130). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the invention to use glycidylamine type epoxy resin in addition to or to replace the alicyclic epoxy resin in the composition, and by using any liquid phase epoxy resin, the crosslinked epoxy resin which has impermeability to the electrolyte solution can be obtained (para 0131).
Regarding claim 6, Ohsawa discloses the electrically conductive resin composition according to claim 1, wherein the component (C) is in a liquid state at 25°C (CPI-100P”, “CPI-110P”, “CPI-101A” or the like manufactured by San-Apro Ltd, para 0135) can be used in place of other curing agents.
Regarding claim 7, Ohsawa discloses the electrically conductive resin composition according to claim 1, comprising no peroxide (whole document).
Regarding claim 8, Ohsawa discloses the electrically conductive resin composition according to claim 1, wherein 100 to 1000 parts by mass of the component (B) is comprised relative to 100 parts by mass of the component (A) (para 0106 and 0119).
Regarding claim 9, Ohsawa discloses the cured product obtained by curing the electrically conductive resin composition according to claim 1 (para 0494).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 7/23/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAIDUNG D NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
10/14/2026