DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/06/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 15, 16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Han et al. ( U.S. PGPUB 2021/0219154), Han hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Han teaches a method for resource configuration, performed by user equipment (UE), comprising: reporting measurement capability information to a network device, wherein the measurement capability information comprises at least one of: ([0125] In one embodiment, the terminal device may further send air interface capability information to the network device. Correspondingly, the network device receives the air interface capability information from the terminal device. The air interface capability information may be used to indicate at least one of the terminal device supports SSB-based cell measurement, the terminal device supports CSI-RS based cell measurement, … )
first capability information, configured to indicate a measurement capability of the UE when the UE measures a non-connected cell of the UE; or ([0125] ... The air interface capability information may be used to indicate at least one of the terminal device supports SSB-based cell measurement, the terminal device supports CSI-RS based cell measurement, the terminal device in the inactive state supports SSB-based cell measurement, the terminal device in the inactive state supports CSI-RS based cell measurement, the terminal device in the idle state supports SSB-based cell measurement, the terminal device in the idle state supports CSI-RS based cell measurement, the terminal device supports SSB-based beam measurement, the terminal device supports CSI-RS based beam measurement, the terminal device in the inactive state supports SSB-based beam measurement, the terminal device in the inactive state supports CSI-RS based beam measurement, the terminal device in the idle state supports SSB-based beam measurement, and the terminal device in the idle state supports CSI-RS based beam measurement.)
second capability information, configured to indicate a measurement capability of the UE when the UE measures a connected cell and the non-connected cell of the UE simultaneously; and
([0125] ... The air interface capability information may be used to indicate at least one of the terminal device supports SSB-based cell measurement, the terminal device supports CSI-RS based cell measurement, the terminal device in the inactive state supports SSB-based cell measurement, the terminal device in the inactive state supports CSI-RS based cell measurement, the terminal device in the idle state supports SSB-based cell measurement, the terminal device in the idle state supports CSI-RS based cell measurement, the terminal device supports SSB-based beam measurement, the terminal device supports CSI-RS based beam measurement, the terminal device in the inactive state supports SSB-based beam measurement, the terminal device in the inactive state supports CSI-RS based beam measurement, the terminal device in the idle state supports SSB-based beam measurement, and the terminal device in the idle state supports CSI-RS based beam measurement.)
acquiring a first measurement resource configuration for measuring the non-connected cell and a second measurement resource configuration for measuring the connected cell configured by the network device ([0091] In one embodiment, the measurement parameter may be used to indicate the terminal device to perform the cell measurement or the beam measurement. For example, when the terminal device is in the idle state or the inactive state, the terminal device may perform the cell measurement or intra-cell beam measurement based on the measurement parameter configured by the network device. When the terminal device switches to the connected state, the terminal device may report, to the network device, results of measurement performed by the terminal device on a serving cell and another cell, or may report, to the network device, results of measurement performed by the terminal device on a beam in the serving cell and a beam in the another cell ...)
Regarding Claim 7, Han teaches a method for resource configuration, performed by a network device, comprising: acquiring measurement capability information reported by user equipment (UE), wherein the measurement capability information comprises at least one of: ([0125] In one embodiment, the terminal device may further send air interface capability information to the network device. Correspondingly, the network device receives the air interface capability information from the terminal device. The air interface capability information may be used to indicate at least one of the terminal device supports SSB-based cell measurement, the terminal device supports CSI-RS based cell measurement, … )
first capability information, configured to indicate a measurement capability of the UE when the UE measures a non-connected cell of the UE; or ([0125] ... The air interface capability information may be used to indicate at least one of the terminal device supports SSB-based cell measurement, the terminal device supports CSI-RS based cell measurement, the terminal device in the inactive state supports SSB-based cell measurement, the terminal device in the inactive state supports CSI-RS based cell measurement, the terminal device in the idle state supports SSB-based cell measurement, the terminal device in the idle state supports CSI-RS based cell measurement, the terminal device supports SSB-based beam measurement, the terminal device supports CSI-RS based beam measurement, the terminal device in the inactive state supports SSB-based beam measurement, the terminal device in the inactive state supports CSI-RS based beam measurement, the terminal device in the idle state supports SSB-based beam measurement, and the terminal device in the idle state supports CSI-RS based beam measurement.)
second capability information, configured to indicate a measurement capability of the UE when the UE measures a connected cell and the non-connected cell of the UE simultaneously; and
([0125] ... The air interface capability information may be used to indicate at least one of the terminal device supports SSB-based cell measurement, the terminal device supports CSI-RS based cell measurement, the terminal device in the inactive state supports SSB-based cell measurement, the terminal device in the inactive state supports CSI-RS based cell measurement, the terminal device in the idle state supports SSB-based cell measurement, the terminal device in the idle state supports CSI-RS based cell measurement, the terminal device supports SSB-based beam measurement, the terminal device supports CSI-RS based beam measurement, the terminal device in the inactive state supports SSB-based beam measurement, the terminal device in the inactive state supports CSI-RS based beam measurement, the terminal device in the idle state supports SSB-based beam measurement, and the terminal device in the idle state supports CSI-RS based beam measurement.)
configuring a first measurement resource configuration for measuring the non-connected cell and a second measurement resource configuration for measuring the connected cell to the UE. ([0091] In one embodiment, the measurement parameter may be used to indicate the terminal device to perform the cell measurement or the beam measurement. For example, when the terminal device is in the idle state or the inactive state, the terminal device may perform the cell measurement or intra-cell beam measurement based on the measurement parameter configured by the network device. When the terminal device switches to the connected state, the terminal device may report, to the network device, results of measurement performed by the terminal device on a serving cell and another cell, or may report, to the network device, results of measurement performed by the terminal device on a beam in the serving cell and a beam in the another cell ...)
Regarding Claim 15, Han teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the processor is configured to: ([0045] According to yet another aspect, a communications apparatus is provided. The communications apparatus may be the terminal device in the foregoing method embodiments, or may be a chip disposed in the terminal device. The communications apparatus includes a memory, a communications interface, and a processor. The memory is configured to store a computer program or an instruction. The processor is coupled to the memory and the communications interface. When the processor executes the computer program or the instruction, the communications apparatus is enabled to perform the method performed by the terminal device in the foregoing method embodiments.)
report measurement capability information to a network device, wherein the measurement capability information comprises at least one of: ([0125] In one embodiment, the terminal device may further send air interface capability information to the network device. Correspondingly, the network device receives the air interface capability information from the terminal device. The air interface capability information may be used to indicate at least one of the terminal device supports SSB-based cell measurement, the terminal device supports CSI-RS based cell measurement, … )
first capability information, configured to indicate a measurement capability of the UE when the UE measures a non-connected cell of the UE; or ([0125] ... The air interface capability information may be used to indicate at least one of the terminal device supports SSB-based cell measurement, the terminal device supports CSI-RS based cell measurement, the terminal device in the inactive state supports SSB-based cell measurement, the terminal device in the inactive state supports CSI-RS based cell measurement, the terminal device in the idle state supports SSB-based cell measurement, the terminal device in the idle state supports CSI-RS based cell measurement, the terminal device supports SSB-based beam measurement, the terminal device supports CSI-RS based beam measurement, the terminal device in the inactive state supports SSB-based beam measurement, the terminal device in the inactive state supports CSI-RS based beam measurement, the terminal device in the idle state supports SSB-based beam measurement, and the terminal device in the idle state supports CSI-RS based beam measurement.)
second capability information, configured to indicate a measurement capability of the UE when the UE measures a connected cell and the non-connected cell of the UE simultaneously; and ([0125] ... The air interface capability information may be used to indicate at least one of the terminal device supports SSB-based cell measurement, the terminal device supports CSI-RS based cell measurement, the terminal device in the inactive state supports SSB-based cell measurement, the terminal device in the inactive state supports CSI-RS based cell measurement, the terminal device in the idle state supports SSB-based cell measurement, the terminal device in the idle state supports CSI-RS based cell measurement, the terminal device supports SSB-based beam measurement, the terminal device supports CSI-RS based beam measurement, the terminal device in the inactive state supports SSB-based beam measurement, the terminal device in the inactive state supports CSI-RS based beam measurement, the terminal device in the idle state supports SSB-based beam measurement, and the terminal device in the idle state supports CSI-RS based beam measurement.)
acquire a first measurement resource configuration for measuring the non-connected cell and a second measurement resource configuration for measuring the connected cell configured by the network device. ([0091] In one embodiment, the measurement parameter may be used to indicate the terminal device to perform the cell measurement or the beam measurement. For example, when the terminal device is in the idle state or the inactive state, the terminal device may perform the cell measurement or intra-cell beam measurement based on the measurement parameter configured by the network device. When the terminal device switches to the connected state, the terminal device may report, to the network device, results of measurement performed by the terminal device on a serving cell and another cell, or may report, to the network device, results of measurement performed by the terminal device on a beam in the serving cell and a beam in the another cell ...).
Regarding Claim 16, Han teaches claim 7.
Han further teaches a network device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 7 ([0046] ... The communications apparatus may be the network device in the foregoing method embodiments, or may be a chip disposed in the network device. The communications apparatus includes a memory, a communications interface, and a processor. The memory is configured to store a computer program or an instruction. The processor is coupled to the memory and the communications interface. When the processor executes the computer program or the instruction, the communications apparatus is enabled to perform the method performed by the network device in the foregoing method embodiments.).
Regarding Claim 19, Han teaches claim 1.
Han further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing instructions, wherein, when the instructions are executed, the method of claim 1 is performed. ([0045] According to yet another aspect, a communications apparatus is provided. The communications apparatus may be the terminal device in the foregoing method embodiments, or may be a chip disposed in the terminal device. The communications apparatus includes a memory, a communications interface, and a processor. The memory is configured to store a computer program or an instruction. The processor is coupled to the memory and the communications interface. When the processor executes the computer program or the instruction, the communications apparatus is enabled to perform the method performed by the terminal device in the foregoing method embodiments.)
Regarding Claim 20, Han teaches claim 7.
Han further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing instructions, wherein, when the instructions are executed, the method of claim 7 is performed. ([0046] ... The communications apparatus may be the network device in the foregoing method embodiments, or may be a chip disposed in the network device. The communications apparatus includes a memory, a communications interface, and a processor. The memory is configured to store a computer program or an instruction. The processor is coupled to the memory and the communications interface. When the processor executes the computer program or the instruction, the communications apparatus is enabled to perform the method performed by the network device in the foregoing method embodiments.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 2, 3, 8, 9, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al, (U.S. PGPub 2021/0219154), Han hereinafter, in view of Zhou et al. (U.S. PGPub 2021/0153003), Zhou hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 2, Han teaches claim 1.
Yet, Han does not expressly teach wherein the first capability information comprises a maximum number of reference signals supported by the UE when the UE simultaneously measures a plurality of reference signals for the non-connected cell.
However, in the analogous art, Zhou explicitly discloses wherein the first capability information comprises a maximum number of reference signals supported by the UE when the UE simultaneously measures a plurality of reference signals for the non-connected cell ([0076] At 502, the UE transmits, to a base station, UE capability information that corresponds to a first maximum number of configured pathloss reference signals and/or a second maximum number of activated pathloss reference signals. The transmission may be performed, e.g., by the capability component 608 of the apparatus 602 in FIG. 6. The maximum number of activated pathloss reference signals may be equal to or less than the maximum number of configured pathloss reference signals. ... ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han’s Cell Measurement Method and Apparatus to include Zhou's use of less than the maximum number of configured reference signal resource to better adapt to changing condition.
Regarding Claim 3, Han in view of Zhou teaches claim 2.
Zhou further teaches wherein the second capability information comprises a maximum number of reference signals supported by the UE when the UE simultaneously measures reference signals for the connected cell and the non-connected cell ([0076] At 502, the UE transmits, to a base station, UE capability information that corresponds to a first maximum number of configured pathloss reference signals and/or a second maximum number of activated pathloss reference signals. The transmission may be performed, e.g., by the capability component 608 of the apparatus 602 in FIG. 6. The maximum number of activated pathloss reference signals may be equal to or less than the maximum number of configured pathloss reference signals. ... ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han’s Cell Measurement Method and Apparatus to include Zhou's use of less than the maximum number of configured reference signal resource to better adapt to changing condition.
Regarding Claim 8, Han teaches claim 7.
Yet, Han does not expressly teach wherein the first capability information comprises a maximum number of reference signals supported by the UE when the UE simultaneously measures a plurality of reference signals for the non-connected cell.
However, in the analogous art, Zhou explicitly discloses wherein the first capability information comprises a maximum number of reference signals supported by the UE when the UE simultaneously measures a plurality of reference signals for the non-connected cell ([0076] At 502, the UE transmits, to a base station, UE capability information that corresponds to a first maximum number of configured pathloss reference signals and/or a second maximum number of activated pathloss reference signals. The transmission may be performed, e.g., by the capability component 608 of the apparatus 602 in FIG. 6. The maximum number of activated pathloss reference signals may be equal to or less than the maximum number of configured pathloss reference signals. ... ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han’s Cell Measurement Method and Apparatus to include Zhou's use of less than the maximum number of configured reference signal resource to better adapt to changing condition.
Regarding Claim 9, Han in view of Zhou teaches claim 8.
Zhou further teaches wherein the second capability information comprises a maximum number of reference signals supported by the UE when the UE simultaneously measures reference signals for the connected cell and the non-connected cell ([0076] At 502, the UE transmits, to a base station, UE capability information that corresponds to a first maximum number of configured pathloss reference signals and/or a second maximum number of activated pathloss reference signals. The transmission may be performed, e.g., by the capability component 608 of the apparatus 602 in FIG. 6. The maximum number of activated pathloss reference signals may be equal to or less than the maximum number of configured pathloss reference signals. ... ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han’s Cell Measurement Method and Apparatus to include Zhou's use of less than the maximum number of configured reference signal resource to better adapt to changing condition.
Regarding Claim 21, Han teaches claim 15.
Yet, Han does not expressly teach wherein the first capability information comprises a maximum number of reference signals supported by the UE when the UE simultaneously measures a plurality of reference signals for the non-connected cell.
However, in the analogous art, Zhou explicitly discloses wherein the first capability information comprises a maximum number of reference signals supported by the UE when the UE simultaneously measures a plurality of reference signals for the non-connected cell ([0076] At 502, the UE transmits, to a base station, UE capability information that corresponds to a first maximum number of configured pathloss reference signals and/or a second maximum number of activated pathloss reference signals. The transmission may be performed, e.g., by the capability component 608 of the apparatus 602 in FIG. 6. The maximum number of activated pathloss reference signals may be equal to or less than the maximum number of configured pathloss reference signals. ... ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han’s Cell Measurement Method and Apparatus to include Zhou's use of less than the maximum number of configured reference signal resource to better adapt to changing condition.
Regarding Claim 22, Han in view of Zhou teaches claim 21.
Zhou further teaches wherein the second capability information comprises a maximum number of reference signals supported by the UE when the UE simultaneously measures reference signals for the connected cell and the non-connected cell ([0076] At 502, the UE transmits, to a base station, UE capability information that corresponds to a first maximum number of configured pathloss reference signals and/or a second maximum number of activated pathloss reference signals. The transmission may be performed, e.g., by the capability component 608 of the apparatus 602 in FIG. 6. The maximum number of activated pathloss reference signals may be equal to or less than the maximum number of configured pathloss reference signals. ... ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han’s Cell Measurement Method and Apparatus to include Zhou's use of less than the maximum number of configured reference signal resource to better adapt to changing condition.
Claims 4, 10 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al, (U.S. PGPub 2021/0219154), Han hereinafter, in view of Rune et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0403590), Rune hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 4, Han teaches claim 1.
Yet, Han does not expressly teach 4. The method of claim 1, wherein reporting the measurement capability information to the network device comprises: reporting the measurement capability information to the network device through a radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
However, in the analogous art, Rune explicitly discloses wherein reporting the measurement capability information to the network device comprises: reporting the measurement capability information to the network device through a radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0011] ... The UE can provide its capability using the “UE Capability Information” RRC message as shown in FIG. 2 . FIG. 2 illustrates transmission of UE capability information for UTRAN. The “UE Capability Information” message can include the “UE radio access capability” (e.g., such as according 3GPP TS 25.331, Version 16.1.0 (2020 Oct. 9)). The “Measurement Capability” IE can be used from the UE to transfer to the UTRAN the information related to the capability to perform the QoE measurement collection for streaming services and/or MTSI services. UTRAN—QoE measurement configuration—RRC signaling:).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han’s Cell Measurement Method and Apparatus to include Rune's UE Capability Information on RRC message to the network to enable network to customize features for the user equipment.
Regarding Claim 10, Han teaches claim 7.
Yet, Han does not expressly teach 10. The method of claim 7, wherein acquiring the measurement capability information reported by the UE comprises: acquiring the measurement capability information reported by the UE through a radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
However, in the analogous art, Rune explicitly discloses wherein acquiring the measurement capability information reported by the UE comprises: acquiring the measurement capability information reported by the UE through a radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0011] ... The UE can provide its capability using the “UE Capability Information” RRC message as shown in FIG. 2 . FIG. 2 illustrates transmission of UE capability information for UTRAN. The “UE Capability Information” message can include the “UE radio access capability” (e.g., such as according 3GPP TS 25.331, Version 16.1.0 (2020 Oct. 9)). The “Measurement Capability” IE can be used from the UE to transfer to the UTRAN the information related to the capability to perform the QoE measurement collection for streaming services and/or MTSI services. UTRAN—QoE measurement configuration—RRC signaling:)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han’s Cell Measurement Method and Apparatus to include Rune's UE Capability Information on RRC message to the network to enable network to customize features for the user equipment.
Regarding Claim 23, Han teaches claim 15.
Yet, Han does not expressly teach wherein, when reporting the measurement capability information to the network device, the processor is configured to: report the measurement capability information to the network device through a radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
However, in the analogous art, Rune explicitly discloses wherein, when reporting the measurement capability information to the network device, the processor is configured to: report the measurement capability information to the network device through a radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0011] ... The UE can provide its capability using the “UE Capability Information” RRC message as shown in FIG. 2 . FIG. 2 illustrates transmission of UE capability information for UTRAN. The “UE Capability Information” message can include the “UE radio access capability” (e.g., such as according 3GPP TS 25.331, Version 16.1.0 (2020 Oct. 9)). The “Measurement Capability” IE can be used from the UE to transfer to the UTRAN the information related to the capability to perform the QoE measurement collection for streaming services and/or MTSI services. UTRAN—QoE measurement configuration—RRC signaling:).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han’s Cell Measurement Method and Apparatus to include Rune's UE Capability Information on RRC message to the network to enable network to customize features for the user equipment.
Claims 5, 11 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al, (U.S. PGPub 2021/0219154), Han hereinafter, in view of Zhou et al. (U.S. PGPub 2021/0153003), Zhou hereinafter and further in view of Dalsgaard et al. (U.S. PGPub 2011/0199908), Dalsgaard hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 5, Han in view of Zhou teaches claim 3.
Zhou further teaches wherein the first measurement resource configuration and the second measurement resource configuration meet following conditions: a number of resources occupied by reference signals to be measured in the first measurement resource configuration is less than or equal to the maximum number in the first capability information; ([0076] At 502, the UE transmits, to a base station, UE capability information that corresponds to a first maximum number of configured pathloss reference signals and/or a second maximum number of activated pathloss reference signals. The transmission may be performed, e.g., by the capability component 608 of the apparatus 602 in FIG. 6. The maximum number of activated pathloss reference signals may be equal to or less than the maximum number of configured pathloss reference signals. ... )
or a number of resources occupied by reference signals to be measured in the first measurement resource configuration and the second measurement resource configuration is less than or equal to the maximum number in the second capability information. ([0076] At 502, the UE transmits, to a base station, UE capability information that corresponds to a first maximum number of configured pathloss reference signals and/or a second maximum number of activated pathloss reference signals. The transmission may be performed, e.g., by the capability component 608 of the apparatus 602 in FIG. 6. The maximum number of activated pathloss reference signals may be equal to or less than the maximum number of configured pathloss reference signals. ... ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han’s Cell Measurement Method and Apparatus to include Zhou's use of less than the maximum number of configured reference signal resource to better adapt to changing condition.
Yet, Han in view of Zhou does not expressly teach wherein in response to the network device configuring the UE to simultaneously measure the connected cell and the non-connected cell, a time domain resource corresponding to the first measurement resource configuration is the same as a time domain resource corresponding to the second measurement resource configuration; and
However, in the analogous art, Dalsgaard explicitly discloses wherein in response to the network device configuring the UE to simultaneously measure the connected cell and the non-connected cell, a time domain resource corresponding to the first measurement resource configuration is the same as a time domain resource corresponding to the second measurement resource configuration; and ([0032] In one example embodiment, the interface module 412 may be configured to receive the gap pattern from an associated network node. The measurement module 416 may be configured to take measurements of the at least one inactive component carrier. Optionally, the measurement module 416 may be configured to take measurements of the at least one active component carrier at the same time. ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han’s Cell Measurement Method and Apparatus to include Dalsgaard's simultaneous measurement on active and inactive cell to quickly switch cells and reduce latency.
Regarding Claim 11, Han in view of Zhou teaches claim 9.
Zhou further teaches wherein the first measurement resource configuration and the second measurement resource configuration meet following conditions: a number of resources occupied by reference signals to be measured in the first measurement resource configuration is less than or equal to the maximum number in the first capability information; ([0076] At 502, the UE transmits, to a base station, UE capability information that corresponds to a first maximum number of configured pathloss reference signals and/or a second maximum number of activated pathloss reference signals. The transmission may be performed, e.g., by the capability component 608 of the apparatus 602 in FIG. 6. The maximum number of activated pathloss reference signals may be equal to or less than the maximum number of configured pathloss reference signals. ... )
or a number of resources occupied by reference signals to be measured in the first measurement resource configuration and the second measurement resource configuration is less than or equal to the maximum number in the second capability information. ([0076] At 502, the UE transmits, to a base station, UE capability information that corresponds to a first maximum number of configured pathloss reference signals and/or a second maximum number of activated pathloss reference signals. The transmission may be performed, e.g., by the capability component 608 of the apparatus 602 in FIG. 6. The maximum number of activated pathloss reference signals may be equal to or less than the maximum number of configured pathloss reference signals. ... ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han’s Cell Measurement Method and Apparatus to include Zhou's use of less than the maximum number of configured reference signal resource to better adapt to changing condition.
Yet, Han in view of Zhou does not expressly teach wherein in response to the network device configuring the UE to simultaneously measure the connected cell and the non-connected cell, a time domain resource corresponding to the first measurement resource configuration is the same as a time domain resource corresponding to the second measurement resource configuration.
However, in the analogous art, Dalsgaard explicitly discloses wherein in response to the network device configuring the UE to simultaneously measure the connected cell and the non-connected cell, a time domain resource corresponding to the first measurement resource configuration is the same as a time domain resource corresponding to the second measurement resource configuration; and ([0032] In one example embodiment, the interface module 412 may be configured to receive the gap pattern from an associated network node. The measurement module 416 may be configured to take measurements of the at least one inactive component carrier. Optionally, the measurement module 416 may be configured to take measurements of the at least one active component carrier at the same time. ...)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han’s Cell Measurement Method and Apparatus to include Dalsgaard's simultaneous measurement on active and inactive cell to quickly switch cells and reduce latency.
Regarding Claim 24, Han in view of Zhou teaches claim 22.
Zhou further teaches wherein the first measurement resource configuration and the second measurement resource configuration meet following conditions: a number of resources occupied by reference signals to be measured in the first measurement resource configuration is less than or equal to the maximum number in the first capability information; ([0076] At 502, the UE transmits, to a base station, UE capability information that corresponds to a first maximum number of configured pathloss reference signals and/or a second maximum number of activated pathloss reference signals. The transmission may be performed, e.g., by the capability component 608 of the apparatus 602 in FIG. 6. The maximum number of activated pathloss reference signals may be equal to or less than the maximum number of configured pathloss reference signals. ... )
or a number of resources occupied by reference signals to be measured in the first measurement resource configuration and the second measurement resource configuration is less than or equal to the maximum number in the second capability information. ([0076] At 502, the UE transmits, to a base station, UE capability information that corresponds to a first maximum number of configured pathloss reference signals and/or a second maximum number of activated pathloss reference signals. The transmission may be performed, e.g., by the capability component 608 of the apparatus 602 in FIG. 6. The maximum number of activated pathloss reference signals may be equal to or less than the maximum number of configured pathloss reference signals. ... ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han’s Cell Measurement Method and Apparatus to include Zhou's use of less than the maximum number of configured reference signal resource to better adapt to changing condition.
Yet, Han in view of Zhou does not expressly teach 24. The user equipment (UE) of claim 22, wherein in response to the network device configuring the UE to simultaneously measure the connected cell and the non-connected cell, a time domain resource corresponding to the first measurement resource configuration is the same as a time domain resource corresponding to the second measurement resource configuration ([0032] In one example embodiment, the interface module 412 may be configured to receive the gap pattern from an associated network node. The measurement module 416 may be configured to take measurements of the at least one inactive component carrier. Optionally, the measurement module 416 may be configured to take measurements of the at least one active component carrier at the same time. ...).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han’s Cell Measurement Method and Apparatus to include Dalsgaard's simultaneous measurement on active and inactive cell to quickly switch cells and reduce latency.
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al, (U.S. PGPub 2021/0219154), Han hereinafter, in view of Zhou et al. (U.S. PGPub 2021/0153003), Zhou hereinafter and further in view of Lindoff et al. (U.S. PGPub 2016/0095030Lindoff hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 6, Han in view of Zhou teaches claim 2.
Zhou further teaches wherein the first measurement resource configuration and the second measurement resource configuration meet a following condition: a number of resources occupied by reference signals to be measured in the first measurement resource configuration is less than or equal to the maximum number in the first capability information ([0076] At 502, the UE transmits, to a base station, UE capability information that corresponds to a first maximum number of configured pathloss reference signals and/or a second maximum number of activated pathloss reference signals. The transmission may be performed, e.g., by the capability component 608 of the apparatus 602 in FIG. 6. The maximum number of activated pathloss reference signals may be equal to or less than the maximum number of configured pathloss reference signals. ... ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han’s Cell Measurement Method and Apparatus to include Zhou's use of less than the maximum number of configured reference signal resource to better adapt to changing condition.
Yet, Han in view of Zhou does not expressly teach wherein in response to the network device configuring the UE not to measure the connected cell and the non-connected cell simultaneously, a time domain resource corresponding to the first measurement resource configuration is different from a time domain resource corresponding to the second measurement resource.
However, in the analogous art, Lindoff explicitly discloses wherein in response to the network device configuring the UE not to measure the connected cell and the non-connected cell simultaneously, a time domain resource corresponding to the first measurement resource configuration is different from a time domain resource corresponding to the second measurement resource; and ([0041] The arrangement may, according to some embodiments, further comprise a signal strength measurement unit adapted to measure signal strengths of at least one of the first and second cell. The controller may be adapted to determine if a non-mobility condition is fulfilled by determining at least one of if a signal strength value of the second cell is above a signal strength threshold, and if a difference between first and second signal strength values of the first cell is below a signal strength difference threshold, the first and second signal strength values measured at different time instants after transferring to the idle mode and before transferring to the active mode.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han’s Cell Measurement Method and Apparatus to include Lindoff's measurement on active and inactive cell at different time to save energy.
Regarding Claim 12, Han in view of Zhou teaches claim 8.
Zhou further teaches wherein the first measurement resource configuration and the second measurement resource configuration meet a following condition: a number of resources occupied by reference signals to be measured in the first measurement resource configuration is less than or equal to the maximum number in the first capability information ([0076] At 502, the UE transmits, to a base station, UE capability information that corresponds to a first maximum number of configured pathloss reference signals and/or a second maximum number of activated pathloss reference signals. The transmission may be performed, e.g., by the capability component 608 of the apparatus 602 in FIG. 6. The maximum number of activated pathloss reference signals may be equal to or less than the maximum number of configured pathloss reference signals. ... ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han’s Cell Measurement Method and Apparatus to include Zhou's use of less than the maximum number of configured reference signal resource to better adapt to changing condition.
Yet, Han in view of Zhou does not expressly teach wherein in response to the network device configuring the UE not to measure the connected cell and the non-connected cell simultaneously, a time domain resource corresponding to the first measurement resource configuration is different from a time domain resource corresponding to the second measurement resource configuration.
However, in the analogous art, Lindoff explicitly discloses wherein in response to the network device configuring the UE not to measure the connected cell and the non-connected cell simultaneously, a time domain resource corresponding to the first measurement resource configuration is different from a time domain resource corresponding to the second measurement resource configuration; and ([0041] The arrangement may, according to some embodiments, further comprise a signal strength measurement unit adapted to measure signal strengths of at least one of the first and second cell. The controller may be adapted to determine if a non-mobility condition is fulfilled by determining at least one of if a signal strength value of the second cell is above a signal strength threshold, and if a difference between first and second signal strength values of the first cell is below a signal strength difference threshold, the first and second signal strength values measured at different time instants after transferring to the idle mode and before transferring to the active mode.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Han’s Cell Measurement Method and Apparatus to include Lindoff's measurement on active and inactive cell at different time to save energy.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
U.S. PGPUB 2021/0045000 which describes improving idle mode radio measurements
U.S. PGPUB 2022/0394576 which describes method, device, and system for cell measurement and report in wireless networks
/A.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/Tejis Daya/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472