DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to Applicant Amendments and Remarks filed on 08/18/2026 for application with case number 18/863,793 filed on 11/07/2024, in which claims 1-16 were originally presented for examination.
Claim(s) 1 & 9 is/are currently amended, claim(s) 3, 4, 11 & 12 has/have been cancelled, and no new claim(s) has/have been added. Accordingly, claim(s) 1, 2, 5-10 & 13-16 are currently pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for
foreign priority under 35 USC §119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2022-141377, filed on 09/06/2022.
this application to be a 371 of PCT/JP2023/026577, filed on 07/20/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS(s)) submitted on 11/07/2024 has/have been received and considered.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular paragraphs (or columns and lines) in the references as applied to Applicant’s claims for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. The prompt development of a clear issue requires that the replies of the Applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims. Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP §2163.06. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. See MPEP §2111.01.
Response to Arguments
Arguments filed on 08/18/2026 have been fully considered and are addressed as follows:
Regarding the Claim rejections under 35 USC §103: Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejections of the claim(s) as being unpatentable over Gei (JP-2009041342(A)) as modified by Mura (WO-2020122044-A1) and/or Kikuchi (US-2023/0311952-A1) have been fully considered. However, those arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that:
“Basically, Applicant has amended claim 1 to include the subject matter of claims 3 and 4 … Mura does not satisfy the feature of stopping the automatic control when the work machine is in the non-working state as now recited in claims 1 and 9 …
Mura fails to disclose stopping the automatic control when the travel mode is switched from forward to neutral, and Mura also fails to disclose stopping the automatic control when the travel mode is switched from neutral to reverse …
Moreover, Mura is silent regarding identifying a non-working state based on the travel mode being switched from forward to neutral. …
Meanwhile, although Mura mentions reverse travel once in paragraph [0046], Mura is silent regarding switching a traveling mode from neutral to reverse. …
Absent Applicant's disclosure, there is no apparent reason why a person of ordinary skill would modify Gei's blade control device to include the specific travel-mode transition logic recited in claims 1 and 9 as now amended ”
(see Remarks pages 6-9; emphasis added)
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes that Applicant’s arguments are all focusing on new limitations added to the amended base claims 1 & 9 apparently to overcome the current obviousness rejections under §103 as recited in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 07/15/2026. Those arguments are rendered moot in light of the new grounds of rejection outlined below, which were necessitated by the applicant’s amendment.
Examiner points that the currently amended base claims requires, under BRI, stopping the automatic control upon switched from forward to neutral or from neutral to reverse. Mura clearly teaches canceling automatic control based on a traveling state, wherein the state travel control lever(s) has/have been moved from a neutral position as a result of the operation by the operator and set at a position other than the neutral position, which at least teaches switched from neutral to revers, is defined as the traveling state.
For at least the foregoing reasons, and the rejections outlined below, the prior art rejection(s) is/are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 8-10, 13 & 16 is/are rejected under 35 USC §103 as being unpatentable over PG Pub./ Patent Publication No. JP-2009041342(A) to Gei et al. (hereinafter “Gei”) in view of Patent Publication No. WO-2020122044-A1 to Mura et al. (hereinafter “Mura”), which are both found in the IDS submitted on 11/07/2024
The rejections below are based on the machine translation of the Gei’s & Mura‘s reference a copy of which is attached to this Office Action as also indicated in the 892 form.
As per claim 1, Gei discloses a work machine (Gei, in at least Fig(s), 1-3, and ¶¶6, 16 & 24-68, discloses the blade control device 1 for controlling the raising and lowering of a blade that is arranged to be able to move up and down between the front wheels and rear wheels of a vehicle body) comprising:
Gei’s Fig. 1 (emphasis added)
a vehicle body (Gei, in at least Fig(s), 1 [reproduced here for convenience] & 2-3, and ¶¶6, 16 & 24-68, discloses the vehicle body of the motor grader M, wherein the blade control device 1 for controlling the raising and lowering of a blade that is arranged to be able to move up and down between the front wheels and rear wheels of a vehicle body);
Gei’s Fig. 3 (emphasis added)
a work implement movably supported relative to the vehicle body (Gei, in at least Fig(s), 1, 2 [reproduced here for convenience] & 3, and ¶¶6, 16 & 24-68, discloses the blade control device 1 for controlling the raising and lowering of a blade of the motor grader M that is arranged to be able to move up and down between the front wheels and rear wheels of a vehicle body);
Gei’s Fig. 2 (emphasis added)
an actuator connected to the work implement, the actuator being configured to cause the work implement to move (Gei, in at least Fig(s), 1-3, and ¶¶6, 16-17 & 24-68, discloses the hydraulic unit 40 and a cylinder 50 for allowing the height of the blade 9 to change from the present height Htn to the set finished height Hk, and raises and lowers the blade 9. Gei further discloses the hydraulic unit 40 discharges pressurized oil to the cylinder 50 based on a control signal received from the drive control unit 36 to extend and retract the cylinder 50); and
a controller configured to perform an automatic control to control the actuator so that a height of the work implement in a gravity direction is maintained even when a posture of the vehicle body changes (Gei, in at least Fig(s), 1-3 & 4 [reproduced here for convenience], and ¶¶6, 16, 24-68 & 75, discloses the drive control unit 36 that controls the hydraulic unit 40, and generates a control signal corresponding to the change variation amount α, wherein the hydraulic unit 40 discharges pressurized oil to the cylinder 50 based on a control signal received from the drive control unit 36 to extend and retract the cylinder 50. Gei further discloses, in Fig(s).4a-c, the motor grader M is advanced in the direction of the arrow to advance the blade 9, and the layer of sediment covering the reference surface B1 is leveled to the set finished height Hk to create the finished surface B2. Gei also discloses the blade control device 1 of the present invention is mounted on a motor grader M, or bulldozers and the like, which allows for control of the blade's height relative to the reference plane, thus preventing the blade from damaging the reference plane during operation, wherein the blade is reliably controlled even if the height or slope of the reference surface changes [i.e., a height of the work implement in a gravity direction is maintained even when a posture of the vehicle body changes]),
Gei’s Fig. 4 (emphasis added)
While Gei, in certain embodiments, inherently/ implicitly requires turning off automatic control while work machine is not working, it does not explicitly recite to determine whether the work machine is in a non-working state in which the work machine does not perform work with the work implement, and stop the automatic control when the work machine is in the non-working state,
the vehicle body being configured to switch a travel mode between forward, reverse, and neutral, and
the controller being configured to determine that the work machine is in the nonworking state and stop the automatic control when the travel mode is switched from forward to neutral or from neutral to reverse.
Mura, in at least Fig(s) 4, and ¶¶5-6 & 57, that it was old and well known at the time of filing in the art of work machine/vehicle control systems, teaches to determine whether the work machine is in a non-working state in which the work machine does not perform work with the work implement, and stop the automatic control when the work machine is in the non-working state (Mura, in at least Fig(s) 4, and ¶¶5-6 & 57, teaches a work machine that are capable of saving works by an operator during traveling, wherein the work machine including a vehicular main body including a traveling unit, a work implement attached to the vehicular main body, and a controller that automatically controls operations by the work implement, wherein the controller cancels automatic control of operations by the work implement based on a traveling state of the traveling unit, wherein the traveling state herein refers to a state that the operator is performing an operation to run traveling unit 5 (hydraulic excavator 100)),
the vehicle body being configured to switch a travel mode between forward, reverse, and neutral (Mura, in at least Fig(s) 4, and ¶¶5-6, 57 & 62, teaches the controller cancels automatic control of operations by the work implement based on a traveling state of the traveling unit, wherein the traveling state herein refers to a state that the operator is performing an operation to run traveling unit 5 (hydraulic excavator 100), wherein a state that at least any one of first travel control lever 251 and second travel control lever 252 has been moved from a neutral position as a result of the operation by the operator and set at a position other than the neutral position is defined as the traveling state), and
the controller being configured to determine that the work machine is in the nonworking state and stop the automatic control when the travel mode is switched from forward to neutral or from neutral to reverse (Mura, in at least Fig(s) 4, and ¶¶5-6, 57 & 62, teaches the controller cancels automatic control of operations by the work implement based on a traveling state of the traveling unit, wherein the traveling state herein refers to a state that the operator is performing an operation to run traveling unit 5 (hydraulic excavator 100), wherein a state that at least any one of first travel control lever 251 and second travel control lever 252 has been moved from a neutral position as a result of the operation by the operator and set at a position other than the neutral position is defined as the traveling state).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gei in view of Mura with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor - work machine/vehicle control systems - and the combination would save work done by an operator during traveling of a work machine (see at least Mura’s ¶¶5-7).
As per claim 2, Gei as modified by Mura teaches the work machine according to claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated.
Gei further discloses comprising:
an operating device manually operable by an operator to cause the work implement to move, the controller being configured to control the actuator according to a manual operation of the operating device upon stopping the automatic control (Gei, in at least Fig.3, and ¶¶36 & 52, discloses the operator inputs the set finished height Hk of the blade 9 relative to the reference surface B1, the thrust angle of the blade 9, the cutting angle, and other information into the input section 31 of the controller 30, wherein the controller 30, which is a control means, is for controlling the height of the blade 9).
As per claim 5, Gei as modified by Mura teaches the work machine according to claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated.
Mura further discloses wherein the controller is configured to determine whether the work machine is in the non-working state according to a position of the work implement (Mura, in at least Fig(s) 4, and ¶¶5-6, 57 & 62, teaches the controller cancels automatic control of operations by the work implement based on a traveling state of the traveling unit, wherein the traveling state herein refers to a state that the operator is performing an operation to run traveling unit 5 (hydraulic excavator 100), wherein control of processing for excavation by work implement includes stop control to automatically stop operations by work implement 2 at a position where work implement 2, e.g., a part of bucket 8 such as cutting edge 8a, comes in contact with design topography D).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gei in view of Mura with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor - work machine/vehicle control systems - and the combination would save work done by an operator during traveling of a work machine (see at least Mura’s ¶¶5-7).
As per claim 8, Gei as modified by Mura teaches the work machine according to claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated.
Mura further discloses wherein the controller is configured to determine whether a predetermined reactivation condition is satisfied after the automatic control is stopped, and reactivate the automatic control when the predetermined reactivation condition is satisfied (Mura, in at least Fig(s) 4, and ¶¶105-106, teaches the controller 26 cancels automatic control of operations by work implement 2 on condition that traveling of traveling unit 5 has continued for a prescribed time period, wherein the controller 26 determines, based on an operation condition of traveling unit 5, that an active state of automatic control of operations by work implement 2 does not have to be maintained, and automatically cancels automatic control of work implement 2. The operator can freely operate work implement 2 during traveling without performing an operation to manually cancel automatic control of work implement 2. Therefore, hydraulic excavator 100 with the features in the embodiment achieves saving of works by the operator while traveling unit 5 travels).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gei in view of Mura with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor - work machine/vehicle control systems - and the combination would save work done by an operator during traveling of a work machine (see at least Mura’s ¶¶5-7).
Claim(s) 7 & 15 is/are rejected under 35 USC §103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Gei (JP-2009041342(A)) and Mura (WO-2020122044-A1), which are both found in the IDS submitted on 11/07/2024, and further in view of PG Pub. No. US-2023/0311952-A1 to Kikuchi (hereinafter “Kikuchi”)
As per claim 7, Gei as modified by Mura teaches the work machine according to claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated.
While both Gei and Mura are silent on claim 7 limitations, Kikuchi, in at least Fig(s). 5, and ¶¶7-8 & 12, that it was old and well known at the time of filing in the art of work machine/vehicle control systems, teaches wherein the controller is configured to acquire a vehicle speed of the work machine, and stop the automatic control when the vehicle speed is greater than or equal to a predetermined speed threshold (Kikuchi, in at least Fig(s). 5, and ¶¶7-8 & 12, teaches when the speed of the vehicle is greater than the predetermined speed threshold, i.e., S105 “Yes”, the processor stops autonomous driving control of the vehicle, i.e., S104).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Gei & Mura further in view of Kikuchi with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor - work machine/vehicle control systems - and the combination would raise the level of safety at takeover (see at least Kikuchi’s ¶¶7-8).
As per claim(s) 9, 10, 13, 15 & 16, the claim(s) is/are directed towards method(s) that recite(s) to perform similar step(s) performed by the work machine(s) of claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7 & 8. The cited portions of Gei, Mura & Kikuchi used in the rejection of claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7 & 8 disclose/teach the same limitations of claim(s) 9, 10, 13, 15 & 16. Therefore, claim(s) 9, 10, 13, 15 & 16 is/are rejected under the same rationales used in the rejections of claim 1, 2, 5, 7 & 8 as outlined above.
Claims 3, 4, 11 & 12, Cancelled
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 6 & 14 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See previously mailed PTO-892 forms.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or (571)272-1000.
/Tarek Elarabi, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661