DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the communication(s) filed on 11/07/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 10-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 101593543.
Regarding claim 1, KR 101593543 discloses a piston (fig. 1), comprising a throat (fig. 1), a first annular groove (G), an internal oil cooling channel (20), a first annular protrusion (31), and a second annular protrusion (32); wherein the throat is provided at a top of the piston (fig. 1), the first annular groove (G) is provided on an outer circumferential surface of the piston (fig. 1), the internal oil cooling channel (20) is annular and provided between the throat and the first annular groove (G) (see fig. 1), the first annular protrusion (31) protrudes from an inner annular wall of the internal oil cooling channel (20), a guide contour is provided on a upper part of the first annular protrusion (figs. 4-6), the guide contour is disposed obliquely downward from the inner annular wall of the internal oil cooling channel (20) to an outer annular wall of the internal oil cooling channel (20) (Figs. 4-6), the second annular protrusion (32) protrudes from the outer annular wall of the internal oil cooling channel (20), the second annular protrusion (32) is located below the first annular protrusion (31), the first annular protrusion (31) is located on the inner annular wall of the internal oil cooling channel (20) and below the throat (figs. 4-6), the second annular protrusion (32) is located on the outer annular wall of the internal oil cooling channel (20), and the first annular protrusion (31) is provided at a position corresponding to the first annular groove (G) (see at least figs. 1, 4-6) (additionally, see also figs. 7-11).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, KR 101593543 further discloses wherein an upper contour of the second annular protrusion is a cut-off contour, and the cut-off contour is flush with a groove bottom of the first annular groove (figs. 4-6).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, KR 101593543 further discloses wherein the cut-off contour is a plane (figs. 4-6).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, KR 101593543 further discloses wherein a bottom of the internal oil channel is provided with an oil inlet in communication with the internal oil cooling channel, the second annular protrusion has a notch, and the oil inlet is located below the notch (at least implicitly).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, KR 101593543 further discloses wherein a flow guide contour is provided on a lower part of the first annular protrusion and the flow guide contour is disposed obliquely upward from the inner annular wall of the internal oil cooling channel to the outer annular wall of the internal oil cooling channel (figs. 4-6).
Regarding claim 10, see rejection to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6, 8-9, 14-15 and 17-18are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 101593543.
Regarding claims 5 and 14, KR 101593543 discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the central angle of the second annular protrusion is 315 degree to 345 degree. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to having the central angle of the second annular protrusion to be 315 degree to 345 degree, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 6 and 15, KR 101593543 discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the central angle of the first annular protrusion is 360 degree. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the first central angle of the first annular protrusion as 360 degree, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, KR 101593543 discloses the claimed invention except for wherein an included angle between the guide contour and the flow guide contour is 15 degree to 40 degree. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to having the included angle between the guide contour and the flow guide contour to be 15 degree to 40 degree, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, KR 101593543 discloses the claimed invention except for wherein protrusion lengths of the first annular protrusion and the second annular protrusion are 3 mm to 4 mm, a height difference between the first annular protrusion and the second annular protrusion in a vertical direction is 8 mm to 9 mm, and a lateral spacing between the first annular protrusion and the second annular protrusion is 9 mm to 11 mm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to having protrusion lengths of the first annular protrusion and the second annular protrusion to be 3 mm to 4 mm, a height difference between the first annular protrusion and the second annular protrusion in a vertical direction to be 8 mm to 9 mm, and a lateral spacing between the first annular protrusion and the second annular protrusion to be 9 mm to 11 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
/XIAO EN MO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747