DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the preliminary amendment filed on 11/7/24. As directed by the amendment: no claims have been amended, claims 1-4 have been cancelled, and new claims 5-10 have been added. Thus, claims 5-10 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, “the protective agents” lacks antecedent basis. Note that claim 8 depends from claim 5 and “protective agents” is originally recited in claim 7. For the purposes of examination the claim will be interpreted in light of claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maget (US 6413238).
Regarding claim 5, Maget discloses an apparatus (apparatus illustrated in fig. 1) for conveying a conveyable medium 4 (see fig. 1), the apparatus comprising: a gas generating cell 24 configured for generating gas for displacing the conveyable medium (col. 4, ln. 63 – col. 5, ln. 4); a containment configured for the conveyable medium in gaseous, liquid, viscous, pasty, or pulverulent form (syringe barrel 30, see fig. 1); and the apparatus being configured for dispensing the conveyable medium into an organism, being a human, an animal or a plant, or onto a technical system in a targeted, controlled, regulated and monitored manner (system of fig. 1 fully capable of delivering to any claimed target; see also col. 4, ln. 49-52).
Regarding claim 6, Maget discloses the technical system is a machine or a technical installation (as noted regarding claim 5 above, the apparatus of Maget is fully capable of delivering to a technical system, including in the form of a machine or technical installation).
Regarding claim 7, Maget discloses the conveyable medium is any one of a plurality of media selected from the group consisting of medicaments or active ingredients in liquid, dissolved or viscous form, any type of supporting substance and liquid to be conveyed by the system, and lubricants or protective agents or reagents for use in the technical system (col. 7, ln. 46: medication).
Regarding claim 8, Maget discloses the protective agents are grease or oil (the apparatus of Maget is fully capable of use with these conveyable mediums).
Regarding claim 9, Maget discloses an operating, control, regulating, monitoring and communication unit (illustrated in fig. 2), a gas drive unit (movable partition 14, driven by the gas), an active ingredient reservoir 6, and a connection system 10.
Regarding claim 10, Maget discloses the operating, control, regulating, monitoring and communication unit is configured for carrying out one or more of the following: a) a start function for an optimum ramp-up of a conveying flow; b) an indirect regulation of the dispensing quantity by means of temperature, pressure, and current measurement over time, and c) a bolus function for reacting to higher dosages required for a short time (at least “b)” is disclosed in col. 3, ln. 33-49).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Li et al. (US 20140094770) – gas cell-driven piston with electronic controls
Maget (US 4886514) – gas drives a diaphragm instead of a plunger
Gfeller et al. (US 20220081791) – electrochemical gas production cell, describing intended use as a pressure source for driving lubricants (par. 0002)
/NATHAN R PRICE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783