Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUN et al. (Patent No: US 2023/0269730 A1), hereinafter, SUN, in view of QING et al. (Patent No: WO 2020/033088 A1), hereinafter, QING.
Both the prior arts have been used in EU Opinion report.
Regarding Claim 1, SUN teaches,
A sidelink resource determination method, applied to a first node, comprising: -Abstract ( recites, “A method that may be performed by a first UE includes establishing a connection with a second UE for sidelink communication in an unlicensed spectrum and communicating with the second UE via the connection using one or more sidelink sub-channels in the unlicensed spectrum according to a mapping between sidelink sub-channels and resource block (RB) sets of the unlicensed spectrum, wherein the unlicensed spectrum comprises a plurality of RB sets and one or more guard bands disposed between RB sets in the plurality RB sets.” As described above resource allocation (determination) is done by the first UE by mapping between sidelink sub-channels and resource block (RB) sets)
determining a physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set for sidelink transmission occasions from a sidelink resource pool according to system configuration information; -Fig. 5, 13; Paragraph [0069, 0102] ([0069] recites, “FIG. 5 shows a time-frequency grid illustrating example resource pools for sidelink communication, according to certain aspects presented here. As can be seen, three different resource pools (e.g., 502, 504, and 506) are shown. The resource pool 502 may be composed of two sub-channels 508 (e.g., assigned a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) and a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)) and 510 (e.g., assigned to the PSSCH), each of the two sub-channels 508 and 510 including a consecutive set of RBs spanning different frequencies. As shown, resources pool 504 and 506 may each include four sub-channels spanning different frequency bands.” [0102] recites, “In some cases, the first UE may receive an indication of a starting RB index, indicating the first RB in frequency of the first sidelink sub-channel. The UE may also receive an indication of a RB set range, indicating the RB sets of the unlicensed spectrum with configured sidelink sub-channels as well as an indication of a number of sidelink sub-channels 1306 confined within each RB set. Accordingly, based on the starting RB index, the RB set range, and the number of sidelink sub-channels, the UE may determine a resource pool for the sidelink sub-channels, spanning the RB sets indicated by the RB set range. The first UE may then communicate with the second UE based, at least in part, on the starting RB index, the indicated number of sidelink sub-channels confined within each RB set, and the RB set range.” The first UE receives indication (configuration) and determines the resource pool for sidelink communication.”)
Although implicit, SUN explicitly does not mention,
and determining physical-layer time and frequency resources for the sidelink transmission occasions from the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set, wherein the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set satisfies one of the following: the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set does not include first resources that occupy L consecutively indexed sub-channels in a frequency domain; or the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set includes second resources that occupy L sub-channels in a frequency domain, wherein at least one pair of adjacent sub-channels for the second resources are nonconsecutively indexed; or the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set does not include first resources that occupy L consecutively indexed sub-channels in a frequency domain; and the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set includes second resources that occupy L sub-channels in the frequency domain, wherein at least one pair of adjacent sub-channels for the second resources are nonconsecutively indexed, and wherein L denotes an integer greater than or equal to 1.
However, in an analogous invention, QING teaches,
and determining physical-layer time and frequency resources for the sidelink transmission occasions from the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set, wherein the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set satisfies one of the following: the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set does not include first resources that occupy L consecutively indexed sub-channels in a frequency domain; or the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set includes second resources that occupy L sub-channels in a frequency domain, wherein at least one pair of adjacent sub-channels for the second resources are nonconsecutively indexed; or the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set does not include first resources that occupy L consecutively indexed sub-channels in a frequency domain; and the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set includes second resources that occupy L sub-channels in the frequency domain, wherein at least one pair of adjacent sub-channels for the second resources are nonconsecutively indexed, and wherein L denotes an integer greater than or equal to 1. -Paragraph [0161-0163] ([0161] recites, “For resources in frequency (e.g., RB or RBG pool or Subchannel pool) a vehicle TIE may select contiguous RBs, RBGs or Subchannel or non-contiguous RBs, RBGs or Subchannel.….For non-contiguous RBs, RBGs or Subchannel, the resources may be indicated with {RBstartl RBlengthl, RBstarU RBlength2, ... , RBstartN RBlengthN}, {RBGstartl RBGlengthl, RBGstarU RBGlength2, ... , RBGstartN RBGlengthN} OG { Sub channel startl Subchannellengthl, Sub channel .sub.Start2 Subchannehengtiu, ... , Sub channel startN, SubchanneliengthN} where N>l respectively, or with a combination of RB, RBG and Subchannel. For evenly distributed non-contiguous RBs or RBGs or Subchannels, the resources may be indicated with {RBstan RBiength, RB.sub.gap} or {RBGstan RBGiength, RBGgap} or {Sub channel Stan Subchanneliength, Subchannelgap} respectively, or with a combination of RB, RBG and Subchannel.” [0163] recites, “…The time duration or length may be in symbols, mini-slots, or slots or subframes. For non-contiguous time allocation, the resources may be indicated with ( Symbolstarti Symbol lengthi, Symbol staiu Symbol icngtiu, . . . , SymbolstartN Symbol lengthN}, {mini-slotstani mini- slotlengthl, mini-slotstart2 mini-slotlength2, . . . , mini-slotstartN mini-slotlengthN}, {slotstartl, slotlengthl, Slotstart2 slotlength2, . . . , slotstartN slotlengthN} or { Subframestarti Subframeiengthi, Subframestaru Subframeiength2, . . . , SubframestartN, SubframeiengthN} where N>l respectively” As described above both frequency and time allocation can be non-contiguous with any combination and any gap in between. Therefore, adjacent sub-channels can be nonconsecutively indexed.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “SIDELINK RESOURCE ALLOCATION IN UNLICENSED SPECTRUM”
proposed by SUN to include the concept of “the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set includes second resources that occupy L sub-channels in a frequency domain, wherein at least one pair of adjacent sub-channels for the second resources are nonconsecutively indexed” of QING . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve reliability with very short latency [0145].
Regarding Claim 2, SUN and QING teach the limitations of Claim 1.
SUN further teaches,
The sidelink resource determination method of claim 1, wherein the physical-layer time and frequency resources comprise one slot or multiple consecutive slots in a time domain. -Fig. 5; Paragraph [0017] ([0017] recites, “FIG. 5 shows a time-frequency grid illustrating example resource pools for sidelink communication, according to aspects of the present disclosure.” As shown in Fig. 5, time-frequency resource pools 502, 504, 506 corresponds to one time slot in time domain.)
Regarding Claim 3, SUN and QING teach the limitations of Claim 1.
SUN further teaches,
The sidelink resource determination method of claim 1, wherein the system configuration information comprises indication information on whether to exclude the first resources, or the system configuration information comprises indication information on whether to add the second resources, or the system configuration information comprises indication information on whether to exclude the first resources and add the second resources. -Paragraph [0097] ([0097] recites, “In some cases, as shown at 1106, if the second UE is low-capability, the first UE may receive an assignment that includes a set of resources (configuration information) within sidelink sub-channel 3 and sidelink sub-channel 4 but that excludes resources disposed between sidelink sub-channel 3 and sidelink sub-channel 4. In this case, the first UE may only use the resources included within sidelink sub-channel 3 and sidelink sub-channel 4 to communicate with the second UE.”)
Regarding Claim 4, SUN and QING teach the limitations of Claim 1.
SUN further teaches,
The sidelink resource determination method of claim 1, wherein the first resources have any one of the following features: an index of a first resource block (RB) of a lowest sub-channel of the L consecutively indexed sub-channels is greater than or equal to an index of a first RB in an n-th RB set and less than or equal to an index of a first RB in an (n+1)-th RB set;
a first RB of a lowest sub-channel of the L consecutively indexed sub-channels is in a guard band; -Fig. 11; (As shown in Fig. 11, Resource pool 1106, 1108 have sub-channels 3, 4, 5 spanned over RB set 0 and RB set 1, with the first RB (0) of the lowest sub-channel (3) is in a guard band (1102))
a lowest sub-channel of the L consecutively indexed sub-channels includes RBs in a guard band; -Fig. 11; Paragraph [0097-0098] (As shown in Fig. 11, Resource pool 1106, 1108 have sub-channels 3, 4, 5 spanned over RB set 0 and RB set 1, with the lowest sub-channel (3) of consecutive sub-channels (3, 4, 5) (L=3) includes RBs (RB set 0, 1)in a guard band (1102).)
a lowest sub-channel of the L consecutively indexed sub-channels includes RBs in a guard band, and a number of the RBs exceeds a first threshold; a lowest sub-channel of the L consecutively indexed sub-channels includes RBs in a guard band, and a ratio of a number of the RBs to a size of the lowest sub-channel exceeds a second threshold; frequency domain RB resources of the L consecutively indexed sub-channels comprise RBs in an RB set and RBs in a guard band, wherein a number of the RBs in the guard band exceeds a third threshold; at least one sub-channel of the L consecutively indexed sub-channels includes RBs in a guard band; an index of a last RB of a highest sub-channel of the L consecutively indexed sub-channels is greater than or equal to an index of a last RB in an n-th RB set and less than or equal to an index of a second RB in an (n+1)-th RB set; a last RB of a highest sub-channel of the L consecutively indexed sub-channels is in a guard band; a highest sub-channel of the L consecutively indexed sub-channels includes RBs in a guard band; a highest sub-channel of the L consecutively indexed sub-channels includes RBs in a guard band, and a number of the RBs exceeds a fourth threshold; a highest sub-channel of the L consecutively indexed sub-channels includes RBs in a guard band, and a ratio of a number of the RBs to a size of the highest sub-channel exceeds a fifth threshold; or frequency domain RBs included in the L consecutively indexed sub-channels have different interleaves across different RB sets.
Regarding Claim 5, SUN and QING teach the limitations of Claim 4.
SUN further teaches,
The sidelink resource determination method of claim 4, wherein the index of the first RB, the index of the second RB, the first threshold, the second threshold, the third threshold, the fourth threshold, and the fifth threshold are system-configured or predefined; -Fig. 13; Paragraph [0102, 0109] ([0102] recites, “in some cases, as illustrated in FIG. 13, a first RB 1302 in frequency of the sidelink sub-channel 0 may be defined with respect to a lowest indexed RB 1304 of the RB set 1 of the unlicensed spectrum. In some cases, the first UE may receive an indication of a starting RB index, indicating the first RB in frequency of the first sidelink sub-channel. The UE may also receive an indication of a RB set range, indicating the RB sets of the unlicensed spectrum with configured sidelink sub-channels as well as an indication of a number of sidelink sub-channels 1306 confined within each RB set. Accordingly, based on the starting RB index, the RB set range, and the number of sidelink sub-channels, the UE may determine a resource pool for the sidelink sub-channels, spanning the RB sets indicated by the RB set range. “ [0109] recites, “ In some cases, wherein the second sidelink sub-channel does not include a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) based on an amount of resources in the second sidelink sub-channel available for use being below a threshold.” As described above, index of the first RB, RB set range and all associated parameters (thresholds) are predefined (configured) and indicated to the UE.)
or the index of the first RB, the index of the second RB, the first threshold, the second threshold, the third threshold, the fourth threshold, and the fifth threshold are associated with at least one of the following: a channel busy ratio (CBR), a packet priority, a channel access priority class (CAPC), or an RB set index.
Regarding Claim 6, SUN and QING teach the limitations of Claim 1.
SUN further teaches,
The sidelink resource determination method of claim 1, wherein the second resources have any one of the following features: sub-channels included in the second resources have same interleaved indexes in consecutive RB sets;
sub-channels included in the second resources have consecutive interleaved indexes in any RB set; sub-channels included in the second resources have nonconsecutive interleaved indexes in any RB set;
or sub-channels included in the second resources are in consecutive RB sets. -Fig. 11; Paragraph [0097] ([0097] recites, “In some cases, as shown at 1106, if the second UE is low-capability, the first UE may receive an assignment that includes a set of resources within sidelink sub-channel 3 and sidelink sub-channel 4 but that excludes resources disposed between sidelink sub-channel 3 and sidelink sub-channel 4. In this case, the first UE may only use the resources included within sidelink sub-channel 3 and sidelink sub-channel 4 to communicate with the second UE.” As shown in Fig. 11, sub-channel 3, 4 spans over RB set 0, 1 which are consecutive RB sets.)
Claim 11 is the apparatus claim corresponding to method claim 1. The applicant’s attention is directed towards claim 1 above which is rejected. Claim 11 is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
SUN further teaches,
A sidelink resource determination device, comprising: a memory configured to store a program; and a processor configured to execute the program to perform the following: -Paragraph [0008] ([0008] recites, “…The first UE generally includes a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory, the memory and the processor configured to: establish a connection with a second UE for sidelink communication in an unlicensed spectrum and communicate with the second UE via the connection using one or more sidelink sub-channels in the unlicensed spectrum according to a mapping between sidelink sub-channels and resource block (RB) sets of the unlicensed spectrum, wherein the unlicensed spectrum comprises a plurality of RB sets and one or more guard bands disposed between RB sets in the plurality RB sets.”)
Claim 12 is essentially same as Claim 11 where sidelink resource determination device is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising a program stored therein, wherein when the program is executed. Claim 12 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 11.
SUN further teaches,
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising a program stored therein, wherein when the program is executed -Paragraph [0009] (recites, “Certain aspects of the subject matter described in this disclosure can be implemented in a computer-readable medium for wireless communication. The medium including instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a first user equipment (UE),…”)
Claim 13 is the apparatus claim corresponding to method claim 2. The applicant’s attention is directed towards claim 2 above which is rejected. Claim 13 is rejected under the same rational as claim 2.
Claim 14 is the apparatus claim corresponding to method claim 3. The applicant’s attention is directed towards claim 3 above which is rejected. Claim 14 is rejected under the same rational as claim 3.
Claim 15 is the apparatus claim corresponding to method claim 4. The applicant’s attention is directed towards claim 4 above which is rejected. Claim 15 is rejected under the same rational as claim 4.
Claim 16 is the apparatus claim corresponding to method claim 6. The applicant’s attention is directed towards claim 6 above which is rejected. Claim 16 is rejected under the same rational as claim 6.
Claims 7-10, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUN, in view of QING, and further in view of Wang et al. (Patent No: US 2022/0174690 A1), hereinafter, Wang.
Regarding Claim 7, SUN and QING teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, SUN does not explicitly mention,
The sidelink resource determination method of claim 1, wherein determining the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set for the sidelink transmission occasions from sidelink resource pool according to the system configuration information comprises: excluding in a medium access control (MAC) layer, the first resources from the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set for the sidelink transmission occasions; or adding, in a MAC layer, the second resources to the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set for the sidelink transmission occasions; or excluding, in a MAC layer, the first resources from the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set for the sidelink transmission occasion; and adding, in the MAC layer, the second resources to the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set for the sidelink transmission occasions.
However, in an analogous invention, Wang teaches,
The sidelink resource determination method of claim 1, wherein determining the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set for the sidelink transmission occasions from sidelink resource pool according to the system configuration information comprises: excluding in a medium access control (MAC) layer, the first resources from the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set for the sidelink transmission occasions; -Paragraph [0034] ([0034] recites, “Specifically, a PHY layer at a UE may exclude resources on which the UE is scheduled to receive from a set of resource available for a sidelink transmission from the UE. Similarly, the PHY layer at the UE may exclude resources on which other UEs are scheduled to transmit from a set of resources available for a sidelink transmission to those UEs. A MAC layer at the UE may indicate to the PHY layer the resources to be excluded by the PHY layer when reporting available resources. Accordingly, the PHY layer may exclude the indicated resources from resources reported as available for the sidelink transmission, and the MAC layer may avoid scheduling the sidelink transmission on the excluded resources.”
or adding, in a MAC layer, the second resources to the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set for the sidelink transmission occasions;
or excluding, in a MAC layer, the first resources from the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set for the sidelink transmission occasion; and adding, in the MAC layer, the second resources to the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set for the sidelink transmission occasions.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “SIDELINK RESOURCE ALLOCATION IN UNLICENSED SPECTRUM”
proposed by SUN to include the concept of “excluding in a medium access control (MAC) layer, the first resources from the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set for the sidelink transmission occasions; ” of Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve link efficiency [0065],
Regarding Claim 8, SUN and QING teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, SUN does not explicitly mention,
The sidelink resource determination method of claim 1, wherein determining the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set for the sidelink transmission occasions from the sidelink resource pool according to the system configuration information comprises:
excluding, in a physical layer, the first resources when determining the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set for the sidelink transmission occasions in a time interval; or adding, in a physical layer, the second resources when determining the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set for the sidelink transmission occasions in a time interval; or excluding, in a physical layer, the first resources when determining the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set for the sidelink transmission occasions in a time interval; and adding, in the physical layer, the second resources when determining the physical- layer candidate time and frequency resource set for the sidelink transmission occasions in the time interval.
However, in an analogous invention, Wang teaches,
The sidelink resource determination method of claim 1, wherein determining the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set for the sidelink transmission occasions from the sidelink resource pool according to the system configuration information comprises:
excluding, in a physical layer, the first resources when determining the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set for the sidelink transmission occasions in a time interval; -Paragraph [0067] ([0067] recites, “As described herein, a PHY layer at a UE 115 (e.g., a UE 115 performing sidelink communications) may exclude resources on which the UE 115 is scheduled to receive from a set of resource available for a sidelink transmission from the UE 115. Similarly, the PHY layer at the UE 115 may exclude resources on which other UEs 115 are scheduled to transmit from a set of resources available for a sidelink transmission to those other UEs 115. A MAC layer at the UE 115 may indicate to the PHY layer the resources to be excluded by the PHY layer when reporting available resources. Accordingly, the PHY layer may exclude the indicated resources from resources reported as available for the sidelink transmission, and the MAC layer may avoid scheduling the sidelink transmission on the excluded resources.”)
or adding, in a physical layer, the second resources when determining the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set for the sidelink transmission occasions in a time interval;
or excluding, in a physical layer, the first resources when determining the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set for the sidelink transmission occasions in a time interval; and adding, in the physical layer, the second resources when determining the physical- layer candidate time and frequency resource set for the sidelink transmission occasions in the time interval.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “SIDELINK RESOURCE ALLOCATION IN UNLICENSED SPECTRUM”
proposed by SUN to include the concept of “excluding, in a physical layer, the first resources when determining the physical-layer candidate time and frequency resource set for the sidelink transmission occasions in a time interval;” of Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve link efficiency [0065],
Claims 9-10 are very similar to Claim 8. The applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 8 above which is rejected. Claims 9-10 are rejected under the same rational as claim 8.
Claim 17 is the apparatus claim corresponding to method claim 7. The applicant’s attention is directed towards claim 7 above which is rejected. Claim 17 is rejected under the same rational as claim 7.
Claim 18 is the apparatus claim corresponding to method claim 8. The applicant’s attention is directed towards claim 8 above which is rejected. Claim 18 is rejected under the same rational as claim 8.
Claims 19-20 are the apparatus claim corresponding to method claims 9-10. The applicant’s attention is directed towards claims 9-10 above which are rejected. Claims 19-20 are rejected under the same rational as claims 9-10.
Conclusion
/AHMED SAIFUDDIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/ABDULLAHI AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2475