DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Peng (11,759,29) Regarding method claim 1 Peng discloses,
Generating a digital dataset representing a target tooth arrangement (note col. 4 lines 7-8, cites generating digital dataset representing target tooth arrangement), comprising:
Obtaining a 3D digital model of upper jaw teeth and lower jaw teeth at an initial tooth arrangement (note fig. 1, block 101 and col. 4 lines 16-18, cites 3D model of upper and lower teeth at initial tooth);
Preliminarily aligning the upper jaw teeth and lower jaw teeth separately according to given indices (note col. 7 lines 56-52, difference (according to given indices) position relationship of upper jaw and lower jaw;
Calculating an optimal target tooth arrangement using an energy function based on the preliminarily aligned upper jaw teeth and lower jaw teeth (note col. 8 lines 42-48, neural network predicts reasonable teeth under target tooth arrangement using loss function).
Regarding claim 2 Peng discloses,
Wherein the target tooth arrangement is a tooth arrangement to be achieved by an orthodontic treatment (note col. 8 lines 65- col. 4 lines 5, lines cite orthodontic treatment).
Regarding claim 8 Peng discloses,
Wherein the energy function is such that the target tooth arrangement meets requirements of an orthodontic treatment on the following aspects: occlusion coverage of anterior teeth, molar neutral relationship, and relationship between teeth midlines and a face midline (note col. 5 lines 20-35, cites occlusal state of upper and lower jaw).
Regarding claim 9 Peng discloses,
method for generating a digital dataset representing a target tooth arrangement (note col. 4 lines 7-8, cites generating digital dataset representing target tooth arrangement),
wherein the optimal target tooth arrangement is calculated using the energy function based on priorities of adjustment targets, degrees of difficulty of repositioning different teeth, and a total adjustment amount (note col. 8 lines 42-48, neural network predicts reasonable teeth under target tooth arrangement using loss function).
Regarding claim 10 Peng discloses,
repositioning the preliminarily aligned upper jaw teeth and lower jaw teeth to the optimal target tooth arrangement (note col. 3 lines 64-67, orthodontic treatment is a process of repositioning teeth from an initial tooth arrangement to a target tooth arrangement).
Regarding claim 11 Peng discloses,
Allocating enamel reductions and/or gaps to the upper jaw teeth and lower jaw teeth at the target tooth arrangement (note col. 8 lines 20-25, loss of teeth).
Regarding claim Peng discloses,
Adjusting occlusion depths of the upper jaw teeth and lower jaw teeth at the target tooth arrangement (note col. 5 lines 20-35, cites occlusal state of upper and lower jaw).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter for dependent claim 3-7. Regarding dependent claim 3, prior art could not be found for the features wherein the given indices comprise two dental arch curves respectively calculated based on the upper jaw teeth and lower jaw teeth at the initial tooth arrangement, and the preliminary alignment comprises arranging the upper jaw teeth and lower jaw teeth according to the two dental arch curves so that FA feature points of the teeth are located on corresponding dental arch curves. These features in combination with other features could not be found in prior art. Claims 4-7 depend on claim 3. Therefore, are also objected.
Related Prior Art
Tanugula et al (12,064,316) preliminarily aligning the upper jaw teeth and lower jaw teeth separately according to given indices (note col. 4 lines 45-55).
Shen (12,094,055) Generating a digital dataset representing a target tooth arrangement (note col. 2 lines 61-62, cites generating digital dataset representing target tooth arrangement).
Conclusion
G.D.
September 29, 2026
/GREGORY M DESIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2676