CTNF 18/863,853 CTNF 85417 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-4, 6, 8-11, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Schowengerdt (US 2018/0275411) . Regarding claim 1, Schowengerdt teaches A waveguide ([0025] waveguide display 205) comprising: a first set of optical components comprising a first incoupler (Fig. 2 right pupil expander 210 includes input coupling element 212) , a first exit pupil expander (Fig. 2 orthogonal pupil expander OPE 214) , and a first outcoupler (Fig. 2 exit pupil expander EPE 216) ; and a second set of optical components comprising a second incoupler (Fig. 2 input coupling element 232) , a second exit pupil expander (Fig. 2 orthogonal pupil expander OPE 234 r, and a second outcoupler (Fig. 2 exit pupil expander EPE 236) , wherein the first outcoupler outcouples display light in a first section of a field of view (FOV) area and the second outcoupler outcouples display light in a second section of the FOV area different from the first section ([0034]) . Regarding claim 2, Schowengerdt teaches wherein the first section is arranged vertically adjacent to the second section in the FOV area ([0034][0059]) . Regarding claim 3, Schowengerdt teaches wherein the first section is horizontally adjacent to the second section in the FOV area (Fig. 2 shows that the expander 210 and 230 will align horizontally adjacent to each other [0026][0030] . Regarding claim 4, Schowengerdt teaches wherein the first incoupler and the second incoupler are located adjacent to one another on a same side of the waveguide ([0026][0030]) . Regarding claim 6, Schowengerdt teaches wherein the first incoupler and the second incoupler incouple light into the waveguide from a common image source ([0026][0030]) . Regarding claim 8, Schowengerdt teaches wherein each of the first section and the second section of the FOV area correspond to a different focal range of an eyewear display ([0048-0050]) . Regarding claim 9, Schowengerdt teaches wherein each of the first section and the second section of the FOV area correspond to a different user interface (UI) depth of an eyewear display ([0048-0050]) . Regarding claim 10, Schowengerdt teaches comprising one or more additional sets of optical components, each of the one or more additional sets of optical components comprising a respective incoupler, exit pupil expander, and outcoupler, wherein each of the one or more additional sets of optical components corresponds to a distinct section of the FOV area (Fig. 2 and Fig. 6 show how the optical components are manufactured for right and left lens of display device) . Regarding claim 11, Schowengerdt teaches one or more image sources to emit display light ([0022]) a waveguide comprising: a plurality of sets of optical components, each set of the plurality of sets of optical components comprising a respective incoupler (ICG 212) , exit pupil expander (OPE 214) , and outcoupler (EPE 216) , wherein each set outcouples display light received from the one or more image sources to a different section of a plurality of sections of a field of view (FOV) area of the eyewear display ([0034]) . Regarding claim 16, Schowengerdt teaches wherein a first section of the plurality of sections is on top of a second section of the plurality of sections in the FOV area (Fig. 2-3 shows how the sections overlap to form the lens) . Regarding claim 17, Schowengerdt teaches wherein a first section of the plurality of sections is horizontally next to a second section of the plurality of sections in the FOV area. (Fig. 2 shows that the expander 210 and 230 will align horizontally adjacent to each other [0026][0030] ). Regarding claim 18, Schowengerdt teaches wherein a first section of the plurality of sections is a larger than a second section of the plurality of sections in the FOV area ([0034]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5, 7, 12-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schowengerdt (US 2018/0275411) in view of Tuomisto (US 2020/0271932) . Regarding claim 5, Schowengerdt teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above but fails to teach wherein the first incoupler and the second incoupler are located on opposite ends of the waveguide, wherein a first end is located in or near a temple region of an eyewear display housing the waveguide and a second end is located in or near a nose bridge region of the eyewear display. However in the field of manufacturing a waveguide for a display deivce, Tuomisto teaches a display system wherein the first incoupler and the second incoupler are located on opposite ends of the waveguide, wherein a first end is located in or near a temple region of an eyewear display housing the waveguide and a second end is located in or near a nose bridge region of the eyewear display (Fig. 1A-1C show that micro projector 120 can be disposed at the nose bridge 102-L/R or at the temple 120-N [0033]. In [0034] Tuomisto teaches the micro projector must be align with waveguide 130 at input region 140, and [0041] teaches the input regions have different grating (input coupler) structures. It is therefore obvious that if the micro projector 120 is placed on opposite ends of the waveguide 130 as shown in Fig. 1A then a grating (input coupler) will also be disposed at said input location.). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device as taught by Schowengerdt with the projector method as taught by Tuomisto. This combination provide a method to of using a plurality of image sources to be combined to form an image as taught by Tuomisto [0004]. Regarding claims 7 and 12, Schowengerdt teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 11 as discussed above respectively, but they fail to teach wherein a first incoupler of a first set of optical components of the plurality of sets of optical components incouples light from a first image source and a second incoupler of a second set of optical components of the plurality of sets of optical components incouples light from a second image source. However in the field of manufacturing a waveguide for a display deivce, Tuomisto teaches a display system wherein a first incoupler of a first set of optical components of the plurality of sets of optical components incouples light from a first image source and a second incoupler of a second set of optical components of the plurality of sets of optical components incouples light from a second image source (Fig. 1A shows a structural makeup of micro-image projectors 120 for both optical lens components of the left eye and the right eye. In Figs. 3-4 Tuomisto teach the projectors are aligned with a waveguide 130 at input regions 140a-c. [0041] teaches the input regions have different grating (input coupler) structures.) . Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device as taught by Schowengerdt with the projector method as taught by Tuomisto. This combination provide a method to of using a plurality of image sources to be combined to form an image as taught by Tuomisto [0004]. Regarding claim 13, Tuomisto teaches wherein light from the first image source and light from the second image source are combined to form a common image ([0034]) . Regarding claim 14, Tuomisto teaches wherein the first image source and the second image source are both in either a temple region or a nose bridge region of the eyewear display (Fig. 1A image sources 120-L/R are in bridge of eyewear and 102-N is in the temple [0033]) . Regarding claim 15, Tuomisto teaches wherein the first image source is in a temple region of the eyewear display and the second image source is in a nose bridge region of the eyewear display (Fig. 1A image sources 120-L/R are in bridge of eyewear and 102-N is in the temple [0033]) . Regarding claim 20, Schowengerdt teaches An eyewear display comprising waveguide ([0025] waveguide display 205) comprising: a first set of optical components comprising a first incoupler (Fig. 2 right pupil expander 210 includes input coupling element 212) , a first exit pupil expander (Fig. 2 orthogonal pupil expander OPE 214) , and a first outcoupler (Fig. 2 exit pupil expander EPE 216) ; and a second set of optical components comprising a second incoupler (Fig. 2 input coupling element 232) , a second exit pupil expander (Fig. 2 orthogonal pupil expander OPE 234 r, and a second outcoupler (Fig. 2 exit pupil expander EPE 236) , wherein the first outcoupler outcouples display light in a first section of a field of view (FOV) area and the second outcoupler outcouples display light in a second section of the FOV area different from the first section ([0034]) . Although Schowengerdt the limitation as discussed above, he fails to teach a first image source located in a temple region of the eyewear display and a second image source located in a nose bridge region of the eyewear display. However in the field of manufacturing a waveguide for a display deivce, Tuomisto teaches a display system wherein teach a first image source located in a temple region of the eyewear display and a second image source located in a nose bridge region of the eyewear display. (Fig. 1A-1C show that micro projector 120 can be disposed at the nose bridge 102-L/R or at the temple 120-N [0033]. In [0034] Tuomisto teaches the micro projector must be align with waveguide 130 at input region 140, and [0041] teaches the input regions have different grating (input coupler) structures. It is therefore obvious that if the micro projector 120 is placed on opposite ends of the waveguide 130 as shown in Fig. 1A then a grating (input coupler) will also be disposed at said input location.). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the device as taught by Schowengerdt with the projector method as taught by Tuomisto. This combination provide a method to of using a plurality of image sources to be combined to form an image as taught by Tuomisto [0004]. Allowable Subject Matter Claim19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 19 is indicated allowable based on the eye tracking process as expressed in the claim limitations. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANDRE L MATTHEWS whose telephone number is (571)270-5806. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 9:00-6:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Amr Awad can be reached at 571-272-7764. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ANDRE L MATTHEWS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621 Application/Control Number: 18/863,853 Page 2 Art Unit: 2621 Application/Control Number: 18/863,853 Page 3 Art Unit: 2621 Application/Control Number: 18/863,853 Page 4 Art Unit: 2621 Application/Control Number: 18/863,853 Page 6 Art Unit: 2621 Application/Control Number: 18/863,853 Page 7 Art Unit: 2621