DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an acquiring unit and a generating unit in claim 1 and an identifying unit in claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the computer program is not directed toward one of the statutory categories and is therefore ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 2, it is unclear from the claim language what is meant by the phrase “parameter related to the capacitance value”?
As to claim 5, it is unclear from the claim language what is meant by the phrase “represents responsiveness relative to change in the capacitance value”?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 – 4 and 11 - 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MATSUMURA (2018/0087929).
As to claim 1, MATSUMURA discloses a gripping state detection device (gripped state sensing device) comprising that performs hands-on detection for a steering wheel (20) comprising: an acquiring unit (22) that acquires a capacitance value detected by a capacitance sensor (21) provided in the steering wheel (20); and a generating unit (30) that generates a threshold value (first threshold electrostatic capacitance Sth and temperature correction threshold value Sth(n)) for performing hands-on detection of the steering wheel (20) based on the capacitance value acquired by the acquiring unit (22) and a parameter (hands-off state 41, first self-centering state 42) corresponding to a state related to change in the capacitance value (Fig. 1 - 4), [0074]-[0081].
As to claim 3, MATSUMURA discloses an identifying unit (30) that identifies the parameter according to whether or not initial hands-on detection on the steering wheel (20) was achieved after activation of the capacitance sensor (21) and a state related to change of the capacitance value determined based on increase or decrease of the capacitance value (Fig. 2B, the state is switched from the hands-off state 41 to the first-centering state 42 when the sensor value S increases).
As to claim 4, MATSUMURA discloses a plurality of parameters are set according to the state of change of the capacitance value (hands-off state 41, first self-centering state 42).
As to claim 11, MATSUMURA discloses the generating unit (114) generates the threshold value and updates the threshold value for the case that hands-on of the steering wheel (2) is not detected ([0097], Fig. 2).
As to claim 12, MATSUMURA discloses a gripping state detection device (gripped state sensing device) comprising acquiring a capacitance value detected by a capacitance sensor (21) provided on the steering wheel (20); and executing processing (30) for generating a threshold value (first threshold electrostatic capacitance Sth and temperature correction threshold value Sth(n)) to perform hands-on detection on the steering wheel (20) based on the obtained capacitance value (22) and a parameter (hands-off state 41, first self-centering state 42) corresponding to a state related to change in the capacitance value (Fig. 1 - 4), [0040]-[0110].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 – 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant s disclosure.
Odate (2017/0129499) is cited for its disclosure of contact determination processing apparatus including a contact sensor disposed in a steering wheel of a vehicle and inside the vehicle.
/REENA AURORA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858