DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
The “actuator integrated in the wheel hub” from claim 11. Fig. 2 appears to show the actuator (10) as a component that is separate from the wheel hub which sits inside the central bore, as opposed to a single integrated unit.
The variation from claim 16 “wherein the at least two movable disc segments (7) have a flat contour and, when tilted, are brought into a convex contour or a concave contour to form the air gap (17).” No initial flat contour is shown. The drawings show the at least two movable disc elements each maintaining their initial convex contour after tilting.
The variation from claim 17 “wherein the at least two movable disc segments (7) have a concave contour and, when tilted, are brought into a flat contour or a convex contour to form the air gap (17).” No initial concave contour is shown. The drawings show the at least two movable disc elements each maintaining their initial convex contour after tilting.
The variation from claim 18 “wherein the at least two movable disc elements … when tilted, are brought into a flat contour or a concave contour to form the air gap (17).” The drawings show the at least two movable disc elements each maintaining their initial convex contour after tilting.
The drawings are objected to under 37 C.F.R. 1.84(r) for using arrows on the ends of lead lines pointing to individual components rather than an entire section. It is suggested to remove the arrows from lead lines pointing to single components.
The drawings are objected to under 37 C.F.R. 1.84(h)(4). Fig. 2 shows 2 positions of the invention on the same drawing without using a broken line to show the moved position. This makes the drawing confusing and difficult to read clearly.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The “electromagnetic actuator” has been referred both by reference numeral “10” (throughout the specification and drawings) and reference numeral “8” (pg. 6, para. 27).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “movable bearing point”. There is no description in the disclosure of what would make the claimed bearing point “movable”. From the drawing it appears that the bearing point is fixed to the spoke and does not move with the tilting of the disc segments so it is unclear what is meant by “movable”. In order to advance prosecution, it is assumed, based on the seemingly fixed bearing point in the drawings and lack of explanation otherwise, the applicant intended to claim that the disc segments are movable in relation to, or about, the bearing point.
Claims 16-18 describe the contour of the movable disc segments changing when tilting. However, it is unclear from the claims, specification or drawings how the contour of the movable disc segments changes when they are tilted. Figure 2 shows the movable disc segments having a convex contour both before and after they are tilted.
Claims 12-15 and 19-20 are dependent on rejected claim 11.
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “via”, as used in claim 11, lines 9 and 11 and in claim 19, line 2, is generally narrative and indefinite term that does not fully describe a structural relationship between the elements with which it is used.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the movable bearing points on the wheel spokes” on the last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as the prior mention of “movable bearing points” does not limit them to being “on the wheel spokes”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-13, 15, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wippler US 20170043616 A1 in view of Tsiberidis US 11618279 B2.
Regarding claim 11, Wippler teaches a wheel for a motor vehicle, comprising: a wheel hub disposed centrally in the wheel and having wheel spokes 234 (referred to as a “support”); a wheel rim 214 disposed radially in a circumferential region of the wheel; a wheel disc 216 (referred to as “spokes” as they are more prominently seen but do not serve the structural function of spokes like the “support” 234 does) disposed in an intermediate region between the wheel hub and the wheel rim 214; and an actuator 224 ; wherein the wheel disc 216 is divided into at least two movable disc segments separated from one another by a respective separating gap and wherein the actuator 234 is connected to the at least two movable disc segments 216 via connecting elements 238; wherein the at least two movable disc segments 216 are tiltable and are connected to the wheel spokes 234 via movable bearing points 236; wherein an angular position of the at least two movable disc segments 216 is changeable by tilting the at least two movable disc segments 216 about the movable bearing points 236 on the wheel spokes 234. (Figs 12-15)
Wippler does not teach the actuator integrated in the wheel hub. Rather that each spoke gets an individual actuator/”servo”. Tsiberidis teaches a wheel with movable segments using several different types of actuator both on the spokes and in the central hub area to move radial connecting rods outward and inward in order to open and close the wheel segments. (Fig. 2a and 2b show on the spoke; Figs. 7-10 show various central actuators) It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a central actuator instead of individual actuators on each spoke to save cost with a reasonable expectation of success
Regarding claim 12, Wippler and Tsiberidis teach the wheel according to claim 11. Wippler further teaches wherein when the at least two movable disc segments 216 are tilted, an air gap is formed between an edge region, adjacent to the wheel rim 214, of the at least two movable disc segments 216 and the wheel rim 214. (Fig. 14 shows the air gap is between the disc segment and the flat surface the disc segments sit against when flat)
Regarding claim 13, Wippler and Tsiberidis teach the wheel according to claim 11. Wippler further teaches wherein the connecting elements 238 are tilting joints or hinge joints. (Fig. 14; hinge joints are on either end of the connecting linkage bar)
Regarding claim 15, Wippler and Tsiberidis teach the wheel according to claim 11. Wippler further teaches wherein the at least two movable disc segments 216 consist of a dimensionally stable material. (Figs. 14 and 15; the disc segments do not deform when moved)
Regarding claims 16 , Wippler and Tsiberidis teach the wheel according to claim 12. Wippler further teaches the disc segments have a flat contour which is then brought into a convex contour when tilted to form the air gap.
Regarding claim 19, Wippler and Tsiberidis teach the wheel according to claim 11. Wippler further teaches wherein the actuator 236 is controllable wirelessly via a control unit 44 of the motor vehicle by a control signal. (para. 46, Fig. 14)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Back et al. US 20180281510 A1 teaches a wheel with vents that open by centrifugal force. Davis et al. US 20080036285 A1 teaches a wheel cover with movable openings.
/AP/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615