DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
2. This action responds to the amendment filed on 08-03-2026. Claims 1, 11 and 19 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Torunori et al. (CN1901760) in view of Currell (US 2003/0007648).
Consider Claim 1, Torunori teaches (claims 1-2, description, pages 5-21): a sound field measuring device comprises: microphone group, with first and second microphones arranged at specified intervals, to collect audio signals output from the first and second loudspeakers; a measuring unit that measures the distance between the first and second loudspeakers and the first and second microphones based on the audio signals collected by the first and second microphones; the position calculation unit calculates the positions of the first and second microphones and the positions of the second loudspeaker based on the corresponding measurement distance when the first loudspeaker is taken as the standard position. the measuring unit comprises: a computing unit that calculates the pulse response between the loudspeaker and the microphone according to the collected audio signal; a detection unit that calculates a delay time according to the head to the rising part of the pulse response; a calculation unit calculates the distance between the loudspeaker and the microphone according to the delay time obtained. The audio combination 1 includes: a media playback unit 2, which reads the data of music content recorded in the recording medium; The sound field correction unit 3 has the sound field correction function of changing the characteristics of the reproduced original multi-channel audio signal and the function of measuring the measurement signal collected by the microphones 6a and 6b; And a power amplifier unit 4 that multiplies the corresponding corrected multi-channel audio signals and supplies them to speakers 51 to "5n" of the corresponding type. It also includes two microphones 6a and 6b, which measure the sound field generated by the audio signal output from each speaker. In addition, the audio combination 1 includes a memory unit 8 for storing a plurality of programs for executing: a process for correcting the sound field in the sound field correction unit 3, a process for measuring signals output by loudspeakers and collected by microphones 6a, 6b, or information required for storing these processes. As the memory unit 8, nonvolatile and rewritable memory elements, such as flash memory, may be applied. The above units are completely controlled by the control unit 7. The control unit 7 includes a microcomputer with CPU (central processing unit), ROM, RAM, etc. [3].
Claims 1, 11, 19 differ from Torunori in that: two or more microphones included in the other audio output device. causing each of the plurality of audio output devices to generate an audio output associated with an audio object, wherein an output of each of the audio output devices is based on a location of the audio object and the location of each audio output device relative to the other audio output devices. [4] Said differences are common knowledge.
Torunori does not explicitly teach causing each of the plurality of audio output devices to generate an audio output associated with an audio object following a trajectory within a physical space of the plurality of audio output devices, wherein an output of each of the audio output devices is adjusted over time based on a current location of the audio object along the trajectory and the location of each audio output device relative to the other audio output devices.
However, Currell teaches determining a location of each audio output device relative to the other audio output devices(see fig. 1); and causing each of the plurality of audio output devices to generate an audio output associated with an audio object following a trajectory within a physical space of the plurality of audio output devices, wherein an output of each of the audio output devices is adjusted over time based on a current location of the audio object along the trajectory and the location of each audio output device relative to the other audio output devices(see figs.1, 3, 15-34 and paragraphs[0229]-[0250]).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Currell in to the teaching of Torunori to provide a sound processing apparatus for creating virtual sound sources in a three dimensional space includes a number of modules. These include an aural exciter module; an automated panning module; a distance control module; a delay module; an occlusion and air absorption module; a Doppler module for pitch shifting; a location processor module; and an output.
Therefore, claims 1, 11, 19 are rejected .
The additional features of claims 2-10, 12-18, 20 are disclosed by Torunori (description, pages 5-21) or common knowledge.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1-3, 10-13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. (US 2005/0152557) in view of Currell (US 2003/0007648).
Consider Claim 1, Sasaki teaches a computer-implemented method of generating audio(see fig. 43), the method comprising:
Causing(see fig. 44) each audio output device of a plurality of audio output devices to output an audio sample(see fig. 44(205, 208));
determining,(see fig. 43(100)) for each other audio output device of the plurality of audio output devices,
a detection(see fig. 44(220)) time of the audio sample from each audio output device by each of two or more microphones included in the other audio output device;
based on the detection times of each of the audio samples by each of the audio output devices(see figs. 43-77 and paragraphs[0490]-[0503]).
determining(see figs. 44-57) a location of each audio output device relative to the other audio output devices; and
causing each of the plurality of audio output devices to generate an audio output associated with an audio object, wherein an output of each of the audio output devices is based on a location of the audio object and the location of each audio output device relative to the other audio output devices(see figs. 44-57 and paragraphs[0529]-[0554]);
but Sasaki does not explicitly teach causing each of the plurality of audio output devices to generate an audio output associated with an audio object following a trajectory within a physical space of the plurality of audio output devices, wherein an output of each of the audio output devices is adjusted over time based on a current location of the audio object along the trajectory and the location of each audio output device relative to the other audio output devices.
However, Currell teaches determining a location of each audio output device relative to the other audio output devices(see fig. 1); and causing each of the plurality of audio output devices to generate an audio output associated with an audio object following a trajectory within a physical space of the plurality of audio output devices, wherein an output of each of the audio output devices is adjusted over time based on a current location of the audio object along the trajectory and the location of each audio output device relative to the other audio output devices(see figs.1, 3, 15-34 and paragraphs[0229]-[0250]).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Currell in to the teaching of Sasaki to provide A sound processing apparatus for creating virtual sound sources in a three dimensional space includes a number of modules. These include an aural exciter module; an automated panning module; a distance control module; a delay module; an occlusion and air absorption module; a Doppler module for pitch shifting; a location processor module; and an output.
Consider Claims 2 and 3, Sasaki teaches the computer-implemented method wherein determining the location of a first audio output device of the plurality of audio output devices relative to the audio output device outputting the audio sample comprises: determining a difference between a first detection time of the audio sample by a first microphone of the first audio output device and a second detection time of the audio sample by a second microphone of the first audio output device, and determining, based on the difference, an angle between the first audio output device and the audio output device outputting the audio sample(see figs. 44-57 and paragraphs[0529]-[0554]); and the computer-implemented method wherein determining the location of a first audio output device of the plurality of audio output devices relative to the audio output device outputting the audio sample comprises: determining a difference between an emission time of the audio sample and a detection time of the audio sample by at least one of the two or more microphones of the first audio output device, and determining, based on the difference, a distance between the first audio output device and the audio output device outputting the audio sample(see figs. 44-57 and paragraphs[0529]-[0554]).
Consider Claim 10, Sasaki teaches the computer-implemented method further comprising: combining the audio output for a first audio output device of the plurality of audio output devices with a second audio output for a second audio object, wherein the second audio output is based on a location of the second audio object and the location of each audio output device relative to the other audio output devices; and causing the first audio output device to output the combined audio output(see figs. 44-57 and paragraphs[0529]-[0554]).
Consider Claim 11, Sasaki teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor(see figs. 43-44 and paragraphs[0490]-[0495]) to perform the steps of:
Causing(see fig. 44) each audio output device of a plurality of audio output devices to output an audio sample(see fig. 44(205, 208));
determining,(see fig. 43(100)) for each other audio output device of the plurality of audio output devices,
a detection(see fig. 44(220)) time of the audio sample from each audio output device by each of two or more microphones included in the other audio output device;
based on the detection times of each of the audio samples by each of the audio output devices(see figs. 43-77 and paragraphs[0490]-[0503]).
determining(see figs. 44-57) a location of each audio output device relative to the other audio output devices; and
causing each of the plurality of audio output devices to generate an audio output associated with an audio object, wherein an output of each of the audio output devices is based on a location of the audio object and the location of each audio output device relative to the other audio output devices(see figs. 44-57 and paragraphs[0529]-[0554]);
but Sasaki does not explicitly teach causing each of the plurality of audio output devices to generate an audio output associated with an audio object following a trajectory within a physical space of the plurality of audio output devices, wherein an output of each of the audio output devices is adjusted over time based on a current location of the audio object along the trajectory and the location of each audio output device relative to the other audio output devices.
However, Currell teaches determining a location of each audio output device relative to the other audio output devices(see fig. 1); and causing each of the plurality of audio output devices to generate an audio output associated with an audio object following a trajectory within a physical space of the plurality of audio output devices, wherein an output of each of the audio output devices is adjusted over time based on a current location of the audio object along the trajectory and the location of each audio output device relative to the other audio output devices(see figs.1, 3, 15-34 and paragraphs[0229]-[0250]).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Currell in to the teaching of Sasaki to provide A sound processing apparatus for creating virtual sound sources in a three dimensional space includes a number of modules. These include an aural exciter module; an automated panning module; a distance control module; a delay module; an occlusion and air absorption module; a Doppler module for pitch shifting; a location processor module; and an output.
Consider Claims 12 and 13, Sasaki teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium wherein determining the location of a first audio output device of the plurality of audio output devices relative to the audio output device outputting the audio sample comprises: determining a difference between a first detection time of the audio sample by a first microphone of the first audio output device and a second detection time of the audio sample by a second microphone of the first audio output device, and determining, based on the difference, an angle between the first audio output device and the audio output device outputting the audio sample(see figs. 44-57 and paragraphs[0529]-[0554]); and the non-transitory computer readable medium wherein determining the location of a first audio output device of the plurality of audio output devices relative to the audio output device outputting the audio sample comprises: determining a difference between an emission time of the audio sample and a detection time of the audio sample by at least one of the two or more microphones of the first audio output device, and determining, based on the difference, a distance between the first audio output device and the audio output device outputting the audio sample(see figs. 44-57 and paragraphs[0529]-[0554]).
Consider Claim 19, Sasaki teaches a system comprising:
a memory storing instructions, and one or more processors that execute the instructions(see figs. 43-44 and paragraphs[0490]-[0495]) to perform steps comprising:
causing(see fig. 44) each audio output device of a plurality of audio output devices to output an audio sample(see fig. 44(205, 208));
determining,(see fig. 43(100)) for each other audio output device of the plurality of audio output devices,
a detection(see fig. 44(220)) time of the audio sample from each audio output device by each of two or more microphones included in the other audio output device;
based on the detection times of each of the audio samples by each of the audio output devices(see figs. 43-77 and paragraphs[0490]-[0503]).
determining(see figs. 44-57) a location of each audio output device relative to the other audio output devices; and
causing each of the plurality of audio output devices to generate an audio output associated with an audio object, wherein an output of each of the audio output devices is based on a location of the audio object and the location of each audio output device relative to the other audio output devices(see figs. 44-57 and paragraphs[0529]-[0554]);
but Sasaki does not explicitly teach causing each of the plurality of audio output devices to generate an audio output associated with an audio object following a trajectory within a physical space of the plurality of audio output devices, wherein an output of each of the audio output devices is adjusted over time based on a current location of the audio object along the trajectory and the location of each audio output device relative to the other audio output devices.
However, Currell teaches determining a location of each audio output device relative to the other audio output devices(see fig. 1); and causing each of the plurality of audio output devices to generate an audio output associated with an audio object following a trajectory within a physical space of the plurality of audio output devices, wherein an output of each of the audio output devices is adjusted over time based on a current location of the audio object along the trajectory and the location of each audio output device relative to the other audio output devices(see figs.1, 3, 15-34 and paragraphs[0229]-[0250]).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Currell in to the teaching of Sasaki to provide A sound processing apparatus for creating virtual sound sources in a three dimensional space includes a number of modules. These include an aural exciter module; an automated panning module; a distance control module; a delay module; an occlusion and air absorption module; a Doppler module for pitch shifting; a location processor module; and an output.
11. Claims 4-8 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. (US 2005/0152557) as modified by Currell (US 2003/0007648)
as applied to claims 1, 11,18 above, and further in view of Mansour et al. (US PAT. 11,830,471).
Consider Claim 4, Sasaki teaches the computer-implemented method wherein determining the location of each audio output device relative to the other audio output devices comprises: determining a centroid of the plurality of audio output devices in a first coordinate system, and determining the location of each audio output device relative to the centroid(see figs. 44-57 and paragraphs[0529]-[0554]); but Sasaki does not explicitly teach a first coordinate system.
However, Mansour teaches the computer-implemented method wherein determining the location of each audio output device relative to the other audio output devices comprises: determining a centroid of the plurality of audio output devices in a first coordinate system, and determining the location of each audio output device relative to the centroid(see figs. 3-11 and col. 8, line 15 and col. 9, line 67).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Mansour in to the teaching of Sasaki and Currell to provide a performing ray-based acoustic modeling that models scattering of acoustic waves by a surface of a device. The acoustic modeling uses two parameters, a room response representing acoustics and geometry of a room and a device response representing acoustics and geometry of the device. The room response is determined using ray-based acoustic modeling, such as ray tracing. The device response can be measured in an actual environment or simulated and represents an acoustic response of the device to individual acoustic plane waves. The device applies a superposition of the room response and the plane wave scattering from the device response to determine acoustic pressure values and generate microphone audio data. The device can estimate room impulse response (RIR) data using data from the microphones, and can use the RIR data to perform audio processing such as sound equalization, acoustic echo cancellation, audio beamforming, and/or the like.
Consider Claim 5, Sasaki does not explicitly teach the computer-implemented method wherein determining the location of each audio output device relative to the other audio output devices comprises: for one or more pairs of the plurality of audio output devices, determining a triangle including an origin of a first coordinate system and a first location of each audio output device of the pair in the first coordinate system, and determining a centroid of the plurality of audio output devices based on a weighted sum of centers of each triangle, wherein the weighted sum is based on areas of the triangles.
However, Mansour teaches the computer-implemented method wherein determining the location of each audio output device relative to the other audio output devices comprises: for one or more pairs of the plurality of audio output devices, determining a triangle including an origin of a first coordinate system and a first location of each audio output device of the pair in the first coordinate system, and determining a centroid of the plurality of audio output devices based on a weighted sum of centers of each triangle, wherein the weighted sum is based on areas of the triangles(see figs. 3-11 and col. 8, line 15 and col. 9, line 67).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Mansour in to the teaching of Sasaki and Currell to provide a performing ray-based acoustic modeling that models scattering of acoustic waves by a surface of a device. The acoustic modeling uses two parameters, a room response representing acoustics and geometry of a room and a device response representing acoustics and geometry of the device. The room response is determined using ray-based acoustic modeling, such as ray tracing. The device response can be measured in an actual environment or simulated and represents an acoustic response of the device to individual acoustic plane waves. The device applies a superposition of the room response and the plane wave scattering from the device response to determine acoustic pressure values and generate microphone audio data. The device can estimate room impulse response (RIR) data using data from the microphones, and can use the RIR data to perform audio processing such as sound equalization, acoustic echo cancellation, audio beamforming, and/or the like.
Consider Claim 6, Sasaki does not explicitly teach the computer-implemented method further comprising: determining a second location of each audio output device within a second coordinate system centered on a centroid of locations of the plurality of audio output devices, and determining one or more locations of a source description of an audio object within the second coordinate system.
However, Mansour teaches the computer-implemented method further comprising: determining a second location of each audio output device within a second coordinate system centered on a centroid of locations of the plurality of audio output devices, and determining one or more locations of a source description of an audio object within the second coordinate system(see figs. 3-11 and col. 8, line 15 and col. 9, line 67).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Mansour in to the teaching of Sasaki to provide a performing ray-based acoustic modeling that models scattering of acoustic waves by a surface of a device. The acoustic modeling uses two parameters, a room response representing acoustics and geometry of a room and a device response representing acoustics and geometry of the device. The room response is determined using ray-based acoustic modeling, such as ray tracing. The device response can be measured in an actual environment or simulated and represents an acoustic response of the device to individual acoustic plane waves. The device applies a superposition of the room response and the plane wave scattering from the device response to determine acoustic pressure values and generate microphone audio data. The device can estimate room impulse response (RIR) data using data from the microphones, and can use the RIR data to perform audio processing such as sound equalization, acoustic echo cancellation, audio beamforming, and/or the like.
Consider Claim 7, Sasaki does not explicitly teach the computer-implemented method further comprising determining an acoustics impulse response of each audio output device based on an acoustics model including at least one of a point-source acoustics model or a plane-wave acoustics model.
However, Mansour teaches the computer-implemented method further comprising determining an acoustics impulse response of each audio output device based on an acoustics model including at least one of a point-source acoustics model or a plane-wave acoustics model(see figs. 3-11 and col. 8, line 15 and col. 9, line 67).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Mansour in to the teaching of Sasaki to provide a performing ray-based acoustic modeling that models scattering of acoustic waves by a surface of a device. The acoustic modeling uses two parameters, a room response representing acoustics and geometry of a room and a device response representing acoustics and geometry of the device. The room response is determined using ray-based acoustic modeling, such as ray tracing. The device response can be measured in an actual environment or simulated and represents an acoustic response of the device to individual acoustic plane waves. The device applies a superposition of the room response and the plane wave scattering from the device response to determine acoustic pressure values and generate microphone audio data. The device can estimate room impulse response (RIR) data using data from the microphones, and can use the RIR data to perform audio processing such as sound equalization, acoustic echo cancellation, audio beamforming, and/or the like.
Consider Claim 8, Sasaki does not explicitly teach the computer-implemented method further comprising: determining an acoustics impulse response of each audio output device based on the location of each audio output device within a second coordinate system.
However, Mansour teaches the computer-implemented method further comprising: determining an acoustics impulse response of each audio output device based on the location of each audio output device within a second coordinate system (see figs. 3-11 and col. 8, line 15 and col. 9, line 67).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Mansour in to the teaching of Sasaki to provide a performing ray-based acoustic modeling that models scattering of acoustic waves by a surface of a device. The acoustic modeling uses two parameters, a room response representing acoustics and geometry of a room and a device response representing acoustics and geometry of the device. The room response is determined using ray-based acoustic modeling, such as ray tracing. The device response can be measured in an actual environment or simulated and represents an acoustic response of the device to individual acoustic plane waves. The device applies a superposition of the room response and the plane wave scattering from the device response to determine acoustic pressure values and generate microphone audio data. The device can estimate room impulse response (RIR) data using data from the microphones, and can use the RIR data to perform audio processing such as sound equalization, acoustic echo cancellation, audio beamforming, and/or the like.
Consider Claim 14, Sasaki does not explicitly teach the non-transitory computer readable medium wherein determining the location of each audio output device relative to the other audio output devices comprises: for one or more pairs of the plurality of audio output devices, determining a triangle including an origin of a first coordinate system and a first location of each audio output device of the pair in the first coordinate system, determining a centroid of the plurality of audio output devices based on a weighted sum of centers of each triangle, wherein the weighted sum is based on areas of the triangles, and determining the location of each audio output device relative to the centroid.
However, Mansour teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium wherein determining the location of each audio output device relative to the other audio output devices comprises: for one or more pairs of the plurality of audio output devices, determining a triangle including an origin of a first coordinate system and a first location of each audio output device of the pair in the first coordinate system, determining a centroid of the plurality of audio output devices based on a weighted sum of centers of each triangle, wherein the weighted sum is based on areas of the triangles, and determining the location of each audio output device relative to the centroid. (see figs. 3-11 and col. 8, line 15 and col. 9, line 67).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Mansour in to the teaching of Sasaki to provide a performing ray-based acoustic modeling that models scattering of acoustic waves by a surface of a device. The acoustic modeling uses two parameters, a room response representing acoustics and geometry of a room and a device response representing acoustics and geometry of the device. The room response is determined using ray-based acoustic modeling, such as ray tracing. The device response can be measured in an actual environment or simulated and represents an acoustic response of the device to individual acoustic plane waves. The device applies a superposition of the room response and the plane wave scattering from the device response to determine acoustic pressure values and generate microphone audio data. The device can estimate room impulse response (RIR) data using data from the microphones, and can use the RIR data to perform audio processing such as sound equalization, acoustic echo cancellation, audio beamforming, and/or the like.
Consider Claim 15, Sasaki does not explicitly teach the non-transitory computer readable medium wherein the steps further comprise: determining a second location of each audio output device within a second coordinate system centered on a centroid of locations of the plurality of audio output devices and determining one or more locations of a source description of an audio object within the second coordinate system.
However, Mansour teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium wherein the steps further comprise: determining a second location of each audio output device within a second coordinate system centered on a centroid of locations of the plurality of audio output devices and determining one or more locations of a source description of an audio object within the second coordinate system(see figs. 3-11 and col. 8, line 15 and col. 9, line 67).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Mansour in to the teaching of Sasaki to provide a performing ray-based acoustic modeling that models scattering of acoustic waves by a surface of a device. The acoustic modeling uses two parameters, a room response representing acoustics and geometry of a room and a device response representing acoustics and geometry of the device. The room response is determined using ray-based acoustic modeling, such as ray tracing. The device response can be measured in an actual environment or simulated and represents an acoustic response of the device to individual acoustic plane waves. The device applies a superposition of the room response and the plane wave scattering from the device response to determine acoustic pressure values and generate microphone audio data. The device can estimate room impulse response (RIR) data using data from the microphones, and can use the RIR data to perform audio processing such as sound equalization, acoustic echo cancellation, audio beamforming, and/or the like.
Consider Claim 16, Sasaki does not explicitly teach the non-transitory computer readable medium wherein the steps further comprise determining an acoustics impulse response of each audio output device, based on an acoustics model including at least one of a point-source acoustics model or a plane-wave acoustics model.
However, Mansour teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium wherein the steps further comprise determining an acoustics impulse response of each audio output device, based on an acoustics model including at least one of a point-source acoustics model or a plane-wave acoustics model(see figs. 3-11 and col. 8, line 15 and col. 9, line 67).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Mansour in to the teaching of Sasaki to provide a performing ray-based acoustic modeling that models scattering of acoustic waves by a surface of a device. The acoustic modeling uses two parameters, a room response representing acoustics and geometry of a room and a device response representing acoustics and geometry of the device. The room response is determined using ray-based acoustic modeling, such as ray tracing. The device response can be measured in an actual environment or simulated and represents an acoustic response of the device to individual acoustic plane waves. The device applies a superposition of the room response and the plane wave scattering from the device response to determine acoustic pressure values and generate microphone audio data. The device can estimate room impulse response (RIR) data using data from the microphones, and can use the RIR data to perform audio processing such as sound equalization, acoustic echo cancellation, audio beamforming, and/or the like.
Consider Claim 17, Sasaki does not explicitly teach the non-transitory computer readable medium wherein the steps further comprise determining an acoustics impulse response of each audio output device based on the location of each audio output device within a second coordinate system.
However, Mansour teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium wherein the steps further comprise determining an acoustics impulse response of each audio output device based on the location of each audio output device within a second coordinate system(see figs. 3-11 and col. 8, line 15 and col. 9, line 67).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Mansour in to the teaching of Sasaki to provide a performing ray-based acoustic modeling that models scattering of acoustic waves by a surface of a device. The acoustic modeling uses two parameters, a room response representing acoustics and geometry of a room and a device response representing acoustics and geometry of the device. The room response is determined using ray-based acoustic modeling, such as ray tracing. The device response can be measured in an actual environment or simulated and represents an acoustic response of the device to individual acoustic plane waves. The device applies a superposition of the room response and the plane wave scattering from the device response to determine acoustic pressure values and generate microphone audio data. The device can estimate room impulse response (RIR) data using data from the microphones, and can use the RIR data to perform audio processing such as sound equalization, acoustic echo cancellation, audio beamforming, and/or the like.
12 Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. (US 2005/0152557) as modified by Currell (US 2003/0007648) and Mansour et al. (US PAT. 11,830,471) as applied to claims 1, 8, 11,18 above, and further in view of Sekine (US 2003/0202667).
Consider Claim 20, Sasaki does not explicitly teach the system wherein causing each of the plurality of audio output devices to generate the audio output further comprises:
determining an acoustics impulse response of each audio output device, and
applying a convolution operation to an audio representation of the audio object and the acoustics impulse response to generate an audio output device signal including the audio object by the audio output device.
However, Sekine teaches the system wherein causing each of the plurality of audio output devices to generate the audio output further comprises:
determining an acoustics impulse response of each audio output device, and
applying a convolution operation to an audio representation of the audio object and the acoustics impulse response to generate an audio output device signal including the audio object by the audio output device(see figs. 6-11 and paragraphs[0046]- [0074]).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Sekine in to the teaching of Mansour, Currell and Sasaki to provide an apparatus estimates an impulse response for use in reproduction of a sound in a desired acoustic space. In the apparatus, a first acquisition section acquires space information indicating a spatial shape of the acoustic space and an acoustic reflectivity of a boundary surface enclosing the acoustic space. A second acquisition section acquires point information indicating positions of a sound generation point and a sound reception point set in the acoustic space. An estimation section estimates a set of acoustic ray paths of the sound traveling from the sound generation point to the sound reception point based on the acquired space information and the point information. A third acquisition section acquires directivity information indicating an acoustic directivity of the sound generation point and the sound reception point. A weighting section estimates an acoustic intensity of each acoustic ray path, and weights each acoustic intensity by the acquired directivity information. A determination section determines the impulse response based on directions of the respective acoustic ray paths toward the sound reception point and the weighed acoustic intensities of the respective acoustic ray paths.
13. Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. (US 2005/0152557) as modified by Currell (US 2003/0007648) and Mansour et al. (US PAT. 11,830,471) as applied to claims 1, 8, 11,18 above, and further in view of Sekine (US 2003/0202667).
Consider Claim 9, Sasaki does not explicitly teach the computer-implemented method wherein generating the audio output of each audio output device further comprises applying a convolution operation to an audio representation of the audio object and the acoustics impulse response of the audio output device to generate an audio output device signal for output by the audio output device.
However, Sekine teaches the computer-implemented method wherein generating the audio output of each audio output device further comprises applying a convolution operation to an audio representation of the audio object and the acoustics impulse response of the audio output device to generate an audio output device signal for output by the audio output device(see figs. 6-11 and paragraphs[0046]- [0074]).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Sekine in to the teaching of Mansour, Currell and Sasaki to provide an apparatus estimates an impulse response for use in reproduction of a sound in a desired acoustic space. In the apparatus, a first acquisition section acquires space information indicating a spatial shape of the acoustic space and an acoustic reflectivity of a boundary surface enclosing the acoustic space. A second acquisition section acquires point information indicating positions of a sound generation point and a sound reception point set in the acoustic space. An estimation section estimates a set of acoustic ray paths of the sound traveling from the sound generation point to the sound reception point based on the acquired space information and the point information. A third acquisition section acquires directivity information indicating an acoustic directivity of the sound generation point and the sound reception point. A weighting section estimates an acoustic intensity of each acoustic ray path, and weights each acoustic intensity by the acquired directivity information. A determination section determines the impulse response based on directions of the respective acoustic ray paths toward the sound reception point and the weighed acoustic intensities of the respective acoustic ray paths.
Consider Claim 18, Sasaki does not explicitly teach the non-transitory computer readable medium wherein generating the audio output of each audio output device further comprises applying a convolution operation to an audio representation of the audio object and the acoustics impulse response of the audio output device to generate an audio output device signal for output by the audio output device.
However, Sekine teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium wherein generating the audio output of each audio output device further comprises applying a convolution operation to an audio representation of the audio object and the acoustics impulse response of the audio output device to generate an audio output device signal for output by the audio output device(see figs. 6-11 and paragraphs[0046]- [0074]).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Sekine in to the teaching of Mansour, Currell and Sasaki to provide an apparatus estimates an impulse response for use in reproduction of a sound in a desired acoustic space. In the apparatus, a first acquisition section acquires space information indicating a spatial shape of the acoustic space and an acoustic reflectivity of a boundary surface enclosing the acoustic space. A second acquisition section acquires point information indicating positions of a sound generation point and a sound reception point set in the acoustic space. An estimation section estimates a set of acoustic ray paths of the sound traveling from the sound generation point to the sound reception point based on the acquired space information and the point information. A third acquisition section acquires directivity information indicating an acoustic directivity of the sound generation point and the sound reception point. A weighting section estimates an acoustic intensity of each acoustic ray path, and weights each acoustic intensity by the acquired directivity information. A determination section determines the impulse response based on directions of the respective acoustic ray paths toward the sound reception point and the weighed acoustic intensities of the respective acoustic ray paths.
Response to Arguments
14. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
15. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
16. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Olsson et al. (US 2019/0188487) is cited to show other related the TECHNIQUES FOR RENDERING AUDIO THROUGH A PLURALITY OF AUDIO OUTPUT DEVICES.
17. Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Mail Stop ____(explanation, e.g., Amendment or After-final, etc.)
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Facsimile responses should be faxed to:
(571) 273-8300
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
should be directed to Lao,Lun-See whose telephone number is (571) 272-7501 The examiner
can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:00 to 5:30.
supervisor, Nguyen Duc M(SPE), can be reached on (571) 272-7503.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding
should be directed to the Technology Center 2600 whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/LUN-SEE LAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691 US Patent and Trademark Office
Knox
571-272-7501
Date 09-08-2026