DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/12/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 19. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 14, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lu (US Patent Publication No. 2023/0385008).
With reference to claims 1, 14, and 15, Lu discloses an electronic device, a non-transitory storage medium comprising computer-executable instructions, wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by a computer processor, cause the computer processor to perform a method for screen projection (see paragraphs 35, 322; Figs. 5A-C), comprising: detecting (S001) a current network environment of a screen projection-associated device, in a process of screen projection in a first screen projection mode (see paragraphs 61-62; Figs. 1A, 2, 5A); switching (S101, 102; Fig. 5B) from the first screen projection mode to a second screen projection mode in response to detecting that the current network environment meets a screen projection switching condition (see paragraphs 65-67, 75-76, 184-185; Figs. 1B, 2); and performing screen projection in the second screen projection mode (see paragraphs 75-76, 197; Fig. 5B).
With reference to claim 2, Lu discloses the method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the screen projection switching condition is that a priority of the second screen projection mode supported by the current network environment is higher than a priority of the first screen projection mode (in teaching switching the display mode based on the type of applications to be displayed; see paragraphs 24, 27, 144).
With reference to claim 3, Lu discloses the method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the screen projection switching condition comprises: the current network environment changing to a network environment that does not support the first screen projection mode (see paragraphs 24, 27, 144, 170).
With reference to claims 4 and 16, Lu discloses the method and electronic device and method of claim 1 or 14, and further discloses wherein the second screen projection mode is a local area network screen projection mode (see paragraphs 65-66; Figs. 1-2); and the screen projection-associated device comprises a screen projection sending terminal (100) and a screen projection receiving terminal (200) (see paragraphs 68, 72-73), and the screen projection switching condition comprises: the screen projection sending terminal and the screen projection receiving terminal being located within a same local area network (see paragraphs 72-73; Figs. 1-2).
With reference to claim 5, Lu discloses the method of claim 4, and further discloses wherein detecting the current network environment of the screen projection-associated device comprises: searching for the screen projection-associated device based on the local area network (see paragraphs 66-68; Figs. 1-2); and in the case that every screen projection-associated device within the same local area network has been searched for, determining that the current network environment meets a screen projection switching condition for the local area network screen projection mode (see paragraphs 68, 183-187; Figs. 5).
With reference to claim 6, Lu discloses the method of claim 5, and further discloses wherein searching for the screen projection-associated device based on the local area network comprises: sending a search request based on a current local area network (see paragraphs 65-66, 155-156); and receiving device information fed back by a device within the current local area network, and verifying, based on the received device information, whether the device within the current local area network is a screen projection-associated device (see paragraphs 157-158, 161-162; Figs. 6C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hashimoto et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2012/0019435; hereinafter Hashimoto).
With reference to claim 7, Lu discloses the method of claim 6, and while disclosing wherein the device information comprises a device identifier (605c, d) and a screen projection meeting identifier (in teaching other forms of identifiers; see paragraphs 161-162; Fig. 6C); and wherein verifying, based on the received device information, whether the device within the current local area network is the screen projection-associated device (see paragraphs 65-66, 155-156), there fails to be disclosure of comparing a meeting identifier as recited.
Hashimoto discloses a wireless network system operable to exchange information between an information terminal apparatus (100) and an information display apparatus (200/400) (see abstract; paragraphs 21, 33; Figs. 1-2) wherein the system capable of: comparing the screen projection meeting identifier in the device information with a screen projection meeting identifier of current device (see S32-236; paragraphs 33, 37-40; Fig. 3), and matching the device identifier in the device information with a device identifier of a screen projection-associated device in the first screen projection mode (see S32-236; paragraphs 33, 37-40, 91; Fig. 3); and determining that the device within the current local area network is a screen projection-associated device, in response to determining that the screen projection meeting identifier in the device information is the same as the screen projection meeting identifier of the current device, and that the device identifier in the device information matches successfully with the device identifier of the screen projection-associated device in the first screen projection mode (see paragraphs 40-44, 91; Fig. 3).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow comparing the device identifier of device information similar to that which is taught by Hashimoto to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Lu to thereby assure proper connection to the identified device (see Hashimoto; paragraph 15-16).
With reference to claim 8, Lu discloses the method of claim 5, and further discloses wherein the method further comprises, in the case that every screen projection-associated device within the same local area network has been searched (see paragraphs 66-68; Figs. 1-2) for: connecting the screen projection-associated device to the local area network (see paragraphs 68, 183-187).
While disclosing connection to the local area network, Lu fails to teach determining a failed connection as recited.
Hashimoto discloses an information terminal apparatus (100) and an information display apparatus (200) connected through a LAN (see paragraph 31); and determining that the current network environment does not meet the screen projection condition for the local area network screen projection mode in the case of a failed connection of any screen projection-associated device (see paragraphs 59, 61-63; Fig. 5).
Claims 9-12, and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2021/0397390; hereinafter Li).
With reference to claim 9, Lu discloses the method of claim 4, and while teaching switching from the first screen mode to a second screen mode as explained, there fails to be disclosure of a cloud screen projection mode as recited.
Li discloses a method to allow mobile device to share data with nearby devices using wireless communications technology (see abstract; paragraph 140-141), wherein the first screen projection mode is a cloud screen projection mode (in teaching cloud sharing (237); see paragraphs 140-141, 168, 261, 284; Figs. 1A, 2A); and wherein switching from the first screen projection mode to the second screen projection mode comprises: leaving a screen projection room by cloud screen projection (in teaching nearby device option of cloud devices; paragraph 392, 396-397, 400-401), and sending a local area network screen projection instruction to the screen projection-associated device, such that the screen projection-associated device receives the local area network screen projection instruction and leaves the screen projection room by the cloud screen projection (see paragraphs 424-425; Figs. 7).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of a first and second projection modes similar to that which is taught by Li to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Lu to thereby provide a process of sharing with multiple types of communication means using the best available mode of communication (see Li; paragraph 22).
With reference to claims 10, 18, 21, Lu discloses the method and electronic device of claim 1, 14, or 15, and while teaching a first and second screen projection mode, fails to disclose a cloud screen projection mode as recited.
Li further discloses wherein the first screen projection mode is a local area network screen projection mode, and the second screen projection mode is a cloud screen projection mode; and wherein a screen projection switching condition for the cloud screen projection mode comprises: a screen projection-associated device disconnecting from the local area network and supporting Internet access (see paragraphs 22, 246, 677; Figs. 7, 20-21).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of a first and second projection modes similar to that which is taught by Li to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Lu to thereby provide a process of sharing with multiple types of communication means using the best available mode of communication (see Li; paragraph 22).
With reference to claim 11 Lu discloses the method of claim 10, and while teaching a first and second screen projection mode, fails to disclose a cloud screen projection mode as recited
Li further disclose wherein the screen projection-associated device pre-stores a screen projection meeting identifier of the cloud screen projection mode; and wherein the second screen projection mode is determined by: joining a screen projection meeting room in the cloud screen projection mode based on the screen projection meeting identifier (see paragraphs 772-774).
With reference to claim 12, Lu discloses the method of claim 11, and while teaching a first and second screen projection mode, fails to disclose a cloud screen projection mode as recited.
wherein the screen projection meeting identifier is determined by: sending, by any device accessing screen projection, a meeting application to a cloud meeting server, and receiving, by the any device accessing screen projection, a screen projection meeting identifier fed back by the cloud meeting server (see paragraphs 772-774); and displaying, by any device accessing screen projection, the screen projection meeting identifier, or sending, by the any device accessing screen projection and to other device accessing the screen projection, the screen projection meeting identifier (see paragraphs 326-328; Figs. 4C).
With reference to claims 17 and 19-20, Lu discloses the electronic device and non-transitory storage medium of claim 14 or 15, and while teaching a first and second screen projection mode, fails to disclose a cloud screen projection mode as recited.
Li further discloses wherein the first screen projection mode is a cloud screen projection mode; and wherein switching from the first screen projection mode to the second screen projection mode comprises: leaving a screen projection room by cloud screen projection and sending a local area network screen projection instruction to the screen projection-associated device, such that the screen projection-associated device receives the local area network screen projection instruction and leaves the screen projection room by the cloud screen projection (see paragraphs 22, 246, 677; Figs. 7, 20-21).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of a first and second projection modes similar to that which is taught by Li to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Lu to thereby provide a process of sharing with multiple types of communication means using the best available mode of communication (see Li; paragraph 22).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
YI et al (US2022/0147228) discloses an electronic device sends a first window to a large-screen device to enable display of a first user interface window via a wireless communication module (see abstract, paragraphs 90-91, 177-236; Figs. 1-6. 15).
Conclusion
/ADE/Examiner, Art Unit 2625
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625