DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the means for connection to the drive means" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, the limitation has been interpreted to read “a means for connection to the drive mean”.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the central yoke" in line 2 and “the forks” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
For the purpose of examination, the limitation has been interpreted to read “a central yoke” and “at least two forks”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Berthusen et al. (US 7,503,921).
Regarding claim 1, Berthusen et al. disclose a rotary instrument capable of use for dental implantology or endodontics, comprising at least a proximal part (see figure below) configured to be connected to a rotational drive means (column 3, lines 24-25), a distal part (52) whose shape is determined by the use of the instrument, characterized in that the instrument comprises flexible means (38, 56) allowing flexibility of said instrument (column 3, line 56 – column 4, line 5, figures 5-6).
Regarding claim 2, Berthusen et al. disclose that the flexible means have two states, a flexible state (when the recesses and projections are disengaged to position the head at the correct angle, aka biases away from reamer 14, column 3, line 56 - column 4, line 5) and a rigid state (“fixed angle orientation” when the recesses and projections are engaged, column 3, line 56 - column 4, line 5).
Regarding claim 3, Berthusen et al. disclose the flexible means are located on the proximal part of the instrument (figure 3).
Regarding claim 5, Berthusen et al. disclose the flexible means (38, 56) are located between the proximal part and the means for connection to the drive means (26, figures 2-3).
Regarding claim 10, Berthusen et al. disclose the flexible means comprise a spiral spring (38, figure 3/56, figure 3).
Regarding claim 11, Berthusen et al. disclose the flexible means comprise a wire-shaped spring (38, figure 3/56, figure 3).
Regarding claim 12, Berthusen et al. disclose the proximal part comprises a plurality of flexible means (56, 38).
Regarding claim 13, Berthusen et al. disclose said instrument being a drill, a reamer, a tap, an implant holder, a screwdriver, a file, an adapter or an extension piece that can be connected to one or more other instruments (Abstract, Figure 1).
Claims 1, 4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cohen (US 2014/0274425).
Regarding claim 1, Cohen discloses a rotary instrument capable of use for dental implantology or endodontics, comprising at least a proximal part (82) configured to be connected to a rotational drive means (if one so chooses), a distal part (84) whose shape is determined by the use of the instrument, characterized in that the instrument comprises flexible means (10, figure 3) allowing flexibility of said instrument (¶37-38).
Regarding claim 4, Cohen discloses that the flexible means are located between the proximal part and the distal part of the instrument (figures 3-4).
Regarding claim 6, Cohen discloses that the flexible means comprise an articulation (10, figures 3-4).
Regarding claim 7, Cohen discloses that the articulation comprises a universal joint (10, figures 3-4, ¶35) formed of at least two forks (82, 84) and a central yoke (15) of substantially spherical shape (¶41).
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses that the universal joint comprises a pin (20, figures 3-4) and a pair of half-pins (30, 40, figures 3-4), and in that the central yoke (15) is traversed by two perpendicular passages (91, 92") dimensioned so as to receive the pin and the pair of half-pins (figures 3-4).
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (US 2012/0135811).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao et al. discloses a rotary instrument capable of use for dental implantology or endodontics, comprising at least a proximal part (“left” 30, figure 1) configured to be connected to a rotational drive means (if one so chooses), a distal part (“right” 30, figure 1) whose shape is determined by the use of the instrument, characterized in that the instrument comprises flexible means (10, figure 1) allowing flexibility of said instrument (¶9, ¶14).
Regarding claim 9, Zhao et al. disclose that the central yoke (10) comprises two perpendicular grooves (15’s, ¶9), and in that the forks (315’s) comprise guides (315/317) dimensioned so as to slide in said grooves (¶14).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW J LAWSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619