Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-8) in the reply filed on 11/14/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/14/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/07/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0037] recites “a weld 60” and in at least paragraph [0041] recites “an end fitting 60” which appears to use the same reference numeral 60 for two different parts.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 6-7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “the connector portion extending from the socket portion; a stop located between the socket external surface and the connector external surface;” and should be “, wherein the connector portion extends from the stop;” since the connector portion 43 shown in Fig. 6A extends from the stop 44 and appears to be spaced from the socket portion 42.
Claim 6 recites “the collar cone sections compress the wedge cone sections” and should be “the series of collar cone sections compress each of the series of wedge cone sections”.
Claim 7 recites “a thick cone end” for both of the each collar cone section and each wedge cone section and should be “a thicker cone end” to avoid ambiguity of what is considered thick and that the thicker cone end of the collar and wedges is the end of the cone sections having a thicker end to at least an opposite end of the cone sections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gianluca (WO 2020105004 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Gianluca discloses an end fitting assembly (Fig. 2 shows an end fitting assembly) for a composite pipe (Fig. 2, pipe 3 is at least a composite pipe with at least a coating layer R), the end fitting assembly comprising:
a socket portion (Fig. 7, the part 36 defines at least a socket portion which inserts into pipe 3) having a cylindrical shape (Fig. 7, 36 has a cylindrical shape) and comprising a socket internal surface and a socket external surface (Fig. 7, 36 has an internal surface and an external surface), the socket portion configured to fit within an end of the composite pipe (Fig. 7, 36 fits within an end of pipe 3 as shown);
a connector portion having a cylindrical shape (Fig. 2, the cylindrical portion at 16 defines a connector portion having a cylindrical shape) and comprising a connector internal surface and a connector external surface (Fig. 2, the connector portion at 16 has an internal surface and an external surface);
a stop located between the socket external surface and the connector external surface (Fig. 2, the flange portion at 17 defines at least a stop for various components of the end fitting as shown and is axially between 16 and 36), wherein the connector portion extends from the stop (Fig. 2, the connector portion at 16 extends from the stop at 17 similar to applicant’s invention);
a collar that attaches to the stop (Fig. 2, tubular body 15 defines a collar which attaches to the stop by at least an actuator 18), the collar having a cylindrical shape (Fig. 2, 15 is a tubular body and has at least a cylindrical shape); and
at least two wedges (Figs. 2 and 3, the part 14 defines at least two wedges divided by a spacer 23 in order for the wedges 14 to compress inwardly by 15) that are positioned between an external surface of the composite pipe and a collar internal surface (Fig. 2, 14 is radially positioned between an external surface of 3 and an internal surface of 15 as shown),
wherein each wedge of the at least two wedges comprises a series of wedge cone sections along an outer surface of the at least two wedges (Fig. 2, each 14 comprises a series of wedge cone sections along an outer surface of each 14 as shown), and
wherein the collar internal surface comprises a series of collar cone sections (Fig. 2, collar 15 has respective series of collar cone sections at the collar internal surface of 15).
In regard to claim 2, Gianluca discloses the end fitting assembly of claim 1, wherein the collar has a constant outer diameter (Fig. 2, the outer surface of 15 has a constant outer diameter).
In regard to claim 3, Gianluca discloses the end fitting assembly of claim 1, wherein the end fitting assembly is configured to attach to one of: another end fitting assembly (Fig. 2, the opposite end of 3 not shown is at least configured to another end fitting assembly shown in Fig. 2), a bulkhead (Fig. 2, the end fitting shown is at least configured to attach to a bulkhead since it is part of a pipeline system), and a flowline end termination (Fig. 2, the flange 2 can be reasonably interpreted as a flowline end termination of the connector portion 16).
It is noted that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2d 1647. See MPEP § 2114. In this case, the recitation “configured to attach to one of…” is a functional recitation of the claimed apparatus to which it is intended to be attached to one of another end fitting assembly, a bulkhead, and a flowline end termination which does not structurally differentiate the claimed apparatus from the end fitting of Gianluca since the end fitting of Gianluca is also an end fitting configured to couple to other pipeline components.
In regard to claim 4, Gianluca discloses the end fitting assembly of claim 1, wherein when the collar and the at least two wedges are fitted around the external surface of the composite pipe (Fig. 2 shows 15 and 14 are fitting around the external surface of 3) and, when the composite pipe is inserted into an outer pipe to form a pipe-in-pipe assembly (Fig. 2, tube 13 define at least an outer pipe and pipe 3 extends within 13, therefore, pipe 3 is inserted into an outer pipe 13 which can be reasonably interpreted as at least a pipe-in-pipe assembly), an external surface of the collar is parallel to an internal surface of the outer pipe of the pipe-in-pipe assembly (Fig. 2, outer diameter of 15 defines an external surface which is parallel to an internal surface of 13 as shown).
In regard to claim 5, Gianluca discloses the end fitting assembly of claim 1, wherein the at least two wedges surround the external surface of the composite pipe (Fig. 2, both 14 surround the external surface of pipe 3 as shown).
In regard to claim 6, Gianluca discloses the end fitting assembly of claim 1, wherein when the collar is moved toward the stop and the connector portion, the series of collar cone sections compress the each of the series of wedge cone sections thereby compressing the composite pipe (Fig. 2, when 15 moves toward 17 and 16, the cone sections of 15 compress the cone sections of 14 in order to compress against pipe 3. This gripping mechanism is similar to the applicant’s invention of using cone sections of the collar to compress the cone sections of the wedges.).
In regard to claim 7, Gianluca discloses the end fitting assembly of claim 1, wherein, when a clamping force is applied to the collar toward the stop and the connector portion, a thicker cone end of each collar cone section is moved toward a thicker cone end of each wedge cone section (Fig. 2, when a clamping force is applied to 15 towards 17 and 16, a thicker cone end of each collar cone section is moved toward a thicker cone end of each wedge cone section of 14 in order to compress 14 radially inwardly against pipe 3. As previously mentioned above, this gripping mechanism is similar to the applicant’s invention.).
Claims 1, 3, and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Newman (US 5,558,375).
In regard to claim 1, Newman discloses an end fitting assembly (Fig. 2 shows an end fitting assembly) for a composite pipe (Fig. 2, the end fitting is for a pipe 10 and is also capable of attaching to a composite pipe in the same manner as pipe 10. See note below.), the end fitting assembly comprising:
a socket portion (Fig. 2, socket portion at 28) having a cylindrical shape (Fig. 2, 28 has a cylindrical shape) and comprising a socket internal surface and a socket external surface (Fig. 2, 28 has an internal surface and an external surface), the socket portion configured to fit within an end of the composite pipe (Fig. 2, 28 is configured to fit within 10 as shown);
a connector portion having a cylindrical shape (Fig. 1, section at 14 defines a connector portion having a cylindrical shape) and comprising a connector internal surface and a connector external surface (Fig. 1, 14 has an internal surface and an external surface);
a stop located between the socket external surface and the connector external surface (Fig. 1, section at 26 defines a stop for at least an end of pipe 10 and is between 28 and 14), wherein the connector portion extends from the stop (Fig. 1, 14 extends from 26);
a collar that attaches to the stop (Fig. 2, nut 22 defines a collar that attaches to stop at 26), the collar having a cylindrical shape (Fig. 2, 22 has a cylindrical shape); and
at least two wedges (Fig. 1, the part 16 have slots 49 that define at least two identical wedges in the circumferential direction) that are positioned between an external surface of the composite pipe and a collar internal surface (Fig. 2, the at least two wedges of 16 are radially between an external surface of 10 and a collar internal surface of 22 as shown),
wherein each wedge of the at least two wedges comprises a series of wedge cone sections along an outer surface of the at least two wedges (Fig. 1, conical sections 38 and 42 define at least a series of wedge cone sections along an outer surface of each of the at least two wedges), and
wherein the collar internal surface comprises a series of collar cone sections (Fig. 2, 22 has at least conical sections 56 and 60 that define a series of collar cone sections).
It is noted that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2d 1647. See MPEP § 2114. In this case, the recitation “for a composite pipe” is a recitation of intended use of the end fitting assembly which does not structurally differentiate the claimed apparatus from the end fitting of Newman which is for a pipe 10, and therefore, capable of attaching to a composite pipe.
In regard to claim 3, Newman discloses the end fitting assembly of claim 1, wherein the end fitting assembly is configured to attach to one of: another end fitting assembly (Fig. 2, the opposite end of pipe 10 not shown is at least configured to couple to another end fitting shown in Fig. 2), a bulkhead, and a flowline end termination (Fig. 2, the end fitting shown is at least configured to connect to other pipeline components such as a bulkhead and a flowline end termination. See note below.).
It is noted that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2d 1647. See MPEP § 2114. In this case, the recitation “configured to attach to one of…” is a functional recitation of the claimed apparatus to which it is intended to be attached to one of another end fitting assembly, a bulkhead, and a flowline end termination which does not structurally differentiate the claimed apparatus from the end fitting of Newman since the end fitting of Newman is also an end fitting configured to couple to other pipeline components.
In regard to claim 5, Newman discloses the end fitting assembly of claim 1, wherein the at least two wedges surround the external surface of the composite pipe (Fig. 2, wedges of 14 surround the external surface of 10 as shown).
In regard to claim 6, Newman discloses the end fitting assembly of claim 1, wherein when the collar is moved toward the stop and the connector portion, the series of collar cone sections compress the each of the series of wedge cone sections thereby compressing the composite pipe (Fig. 2, when 22 moves toward 26 and 14 by the threads at 26, the cone sections of 22 compress each of the series of cone sections of the wedges of 14).
In regard to claim 7, Newman discloses the end fitting assembly of claim 1, wherein, when a clamping force is applied to the collar toward the stop and the connector portion, a thicker cone end of each collar cone section is moved toward a thicker cone end of each wedge cone section (Fig. 2, when a clamping force is applied to 22 toward 26 and 14 when 22 is threaded onto 26, at least a thicker cone end of each of the collar cone section is moved toward a thicker cone end of each of the cone sections of the wedges 14 in order to compress 14 toward pipe 10).
In regard to claim 8, Newman discloses the end fitting assembly of claim 1, wherein the collar attaches to an outer circumferential surface of the stop by one of: a weld, a dowel, and threads (Fig. 2, 22 attaches to an outer circumferential surface of 26 by threads).
Conclusion
The following prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Harrington (US 2,179,930), Marshall (US 3,158,388), Miller (US 2,694,584), Bennett (US 1,266,655), Marshall (US 3,222,091), Paquin (US 2,420,617), Welch (US 2007/0241555 A1), and Bouey et al. (US 6,902,205 B2) disclose an end fitting having a socket portion inserted into a pipe and a collar that radially compresses at least two wedges on an outer surface of the pipe.
Reneau (US 4,330,143) discloses an end fitting having a collar and at least two wedges, wherein both the collar and wedges have respective cone sections for compressing over a pipe.
/WILLIAM S. CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679