DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election
Applicant’s election without traverse of compound AS-CL-28 in the reply filed on 08/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Upon examination of the elected compound, it was found that lipids with the dicarboxylic acids are not found in the lipid compound registries. As such, the compounds of claims 2 and 12 appear to be free of the prior art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PubChem SID 8143629.
PubChem SID 8143629 discloses methylamine was known in 2004. Methylamine reads on the instant claims where R1 is alkyl (methyl), m and n are 0, and R2 and R3 are H.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PubChem SID 8143629 in view of Chen et al (Adv. Funct. Mater. 2022, 32, 2204692).
PubChem SID 8143629 is discussed above but does not teach making a lipid nanoparticle or having a spike protein of SARS-CoV-2 inside.
Chen et al teaches is was known to encapsulate spike protein of SARS-CoV-2 in nanoparticles (sec 2.3).
It would have been obvious to encapsulate the spike protein of SARS-CoV-2 in any known nanoparticle, including using the compounds of PubChem SID 8143629.
Claims 1, 7-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PubChem SID 8143629 in view of Wollner et al (bioRxiv 2021.01.05.425517; doi: https://doi.org/10.1101/2021.01.05.425517).
PubChem SID 8143629 is discussed above but does not teach making a lipid nanoparticle or having an mRNA of an envelope protein of Dengue virus inside.
Woolner et al teaches it was known to encapsulate mRNA of an envelope protein of Dengue virus into lipid nanoparticles (abstract).
It would have been obvious to encapsulate the mRNA of an envelope protein of Dengue virus in any known nanoparticle, including using the compounds of PubChem SID 8143629.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN J PACKARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612