DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application, filed 8 November, 2024, is a national stage application of PCT/US2023/022137, filed 12 May, 2023, which claims prior benefit of application PRO 63/341,358, filed 12 May, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
Two information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12 September, 2025 and 8 May, 2026 are acknowledged and have been considered.
Status of the Application
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant's claimed invention, filed 11 August, 2025, in the matter of Application N° 18/864,030. Said documents have been entered on the record.
Claims 4-5, 7, 14-17, 22-24, 26 and 28 are amended. Claims 8-13, 18-21, 27 and 29 are canceled. No new matter was introduced.
Thus, Claims 1-7, 14-17, 22-26 and 28 represent all claims currently under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 25 is incomplete in itself because it incorporates subject matter from the specification (“…compound is selected from Table 1”). Where possible, claims are to be complete in themselves. Incorporation by reference to a specific figure or table "is permitted only in exceptional circumstances where there is no practical way to define the invention in words and where it is more concise to incorporate by reference than duplicating a drawing or table into the claim. Incorporation by reference is a necessity doctrine, not for applicant’s convenience." Ex parte Fressola, 27 USPQ2d 1608, 1609 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993). See MPEP §2173.05(s).
Claim 28 recites contacting the compound with either “the ATXN3 pre-mRNA with a splice site sequence” or “cells comprising the ATXN3 pre-mRNA,” thereby appearing to provide alternative substrates or environments for the contacting step. However, the claim subsequently requires that the compound bind the ATXN3 pre-mRNA and modulate splicing of the ATXN3 pre-mRNA “in a cell of a subject.” It is unclear how the first alternative, wherein the compound is contacted with the ATXN3 pre-mRNA itself rather than with a cell comprising the pre-mRNA, relates to or satisfies the subsequently recited requirement that modulation occur “in a cell of a subject.” For example, the claim does not specify whether the ATXN3 pre-mRNA of the first alternative is present within the cell of a subject at the time of contacting, whether the contacted pre-mRNA is subsequently introduced into such a cell, or whether the first alternative encompasses an in vitro contacting step distinct from the subsequently recited cellular modulation. Conversely, if the first alternative necessarily refers to the ATXN3 pre-mRNA within a cell of a subject, the distinction between that alternative and the expressly recited “cells comprising the ATXN3 pre-mRNA” is unclear. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the claimed method.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 15 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chakraborti et al. (Bioorg. Med. Chem. Lett. 13 (2003) 1403–1408, cited in IDS), hereinafter Chakraborti.
Chakraborti teaches Molecule 2a, which is CAS RN 568564-34-1, (2003, Pg. 1404, Table 1), shown top right, which is fully encompassed by instant Formula I (as in instant Claim 1), shown bottom right, wherein R21 is phenyl (as in instant Claim 3), X3 is CR23 wherein R23 is H (as in instant Claims 3-4), X4 is CR24 wherein R24 is H (as in instant Claim 15), and X8 is CR28 wherein R28 is butyl (as in instant Claim 24).
As such Chakraborti anticipates Claims 1, 3-4, 15 and 24.
Claims 1, 24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kusakabe et al. (US20120059162 A1, cited in IDS), hereinafter Kusakabe.
Kusakabe teaches isoxazolo[4,5-d]pyrimidin-7-amine, 3-(4-bromophenyl)-5-chloro-N-[(tetrahydro-2H-pyran-4-yl)methyl]-(ACl), which is CAS RN 1263425-96-2, (‘162, Pg. 133, Example 3-4, Col 2), shown top right, which is fully encompassed by instant Formula I (as in instant Claim 1), shown bottom right, wherein R21 is tetrahydropyranyl, X3 is N, X4 is CR24 wherein R24 is phenyl substituted with one R20d which is Br, and X8 is CR28 wherein R28 is Cl (as in instant Claim 24).
Kusakabe further teaches this compound as a pharmaceutical composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient or carrier (‘162, Pg. 4, Para 0077, Pg. 36, Para 0732, and Pg. 37, Para 0736), as in instant Claim 26.
As such, Kusakabe anticipates Claims 1, 24 and 26.
Claims 1 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakajima et al. (WO 2018038265 A1, cited in IDS), hereinafter Nakajima.
Nakajima teaches Compound 246, which is CAS RN 2199500-47-3 (‘265, Pg. 427, Para 0630), shown top right, which is fully encompassed by instant Formula I (as in instant Claim 1), shown bottom right, wherein R21 is phenyl substituted with two R1A which are both independently methoxy, X3 is N, X4 is CR24 wherein R24 is cyclohexyl, and X8 is CR28 wherein R28 is H (as in instant Claim 24).
As such, Nakajima anticipates Claims 1 and 24.
Claims 1 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Crane (CA 2984073 A1, cited in IDS).
Crane teaches Compound 1270, which is CAS RN 1358585-37-1 (‘073, Pg.279, DB Name N-0002468), shown top right, which is fully encompassed by instant Formula I (as in instant Claim 1), shown bottom right, wherein R21 is phenyl substituted with one R1A which is methoxy, X3 is N, X4 is CR24 wherein R24 is phenyl substituted with one R20d which is Cl, and X8 is CR28 wherein R28 is H (as in instant Claim 24).
As such, Crane anticipates Claims 1 and 24.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 14-17, 22-24, 26 and 28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-6, 13-20, 22 and 24 of copending Application No. 18/707,166; Claims 1-6, 13-20, 22, 24 and 26 of copending Application No. 18/707,167; Claims 1-6, 13-20, 22 and 24 of copending Application No. 18/707,168; Claims 1-6, 13-20, 22, 24 and 26 of copending Application No. 18/707,170; Claims 1-7, 14-17, 22-24, 26 and 28 of copending Application No. 18/864,033; and Claims 1-7, 14-19, 21 and 23 of copending Application No. 18/864,033 in view of Ritchie and MacDonald (European Journal of Medicinal Chemistry 124 .2016. 1057e1068).
As illustrated therein, the respective claims are directed to closely related genera of compounds sharing substantially the same overall fused heterocyclic scaffold and substituent framework, with the principal distinctions residing in the identity and/or position of heteroatoms within the heterocyclic core. Such differences constitute closely related structural variations of the same underlying compound genus, as seen below.
Instant Formula I
18/707,166 Formula I
18/707,167 Formula I
18/707,168 Formula I
18/707,170 Formula I
18/864,033 Formula I
18/864,035 Formula I
It was known in the art that modification of heteroaryl and heterocyclic scaffolds through substitution of one heteroatom for another and/or alteration of heteroatom position represents a conventional means of generating structurally related analogs while retaining the same general scaffold and associated utility. This conclusion is further supported by Ritchie and MacDonald which teaches the routine consideration of alternative heterocyclic ring systems, including variations in heteroatom identity and heteroatom position (regioisomers), in the design of structurally related compounds (2016, e.g., Tables 1-3 and Fig. 4). Ritchie and MacDonald specifically evaluate alternative N-, O-, and S- containing heterocycles as well as positional isomers differing in the location of ring nitrogen atoms, thereby evidencing that exploration of such heteroatom substitutions and positional variations was a recognized medicinal-chemistry approach for obtaining related analogs and optimizing compound properties.
Accordingly, absent evidence establishing a patentable distinction resulting from the particular heteroatom identity or placement recited in each application, the claimed compounds would have been obvious variants of the compounds claimed in the respective copending applications. The claims therefore are not patentably distinct from the claims of the identified copending applications.
Additionally, to the extent the copending applications contain claims directed to identically worded compositions and/or methods comprising or utilizing compounds of the overlapping or obvious compound genera discussed above, such claims likewise fail to define patentably distinct subject matter. This is particularly evident where the respective method claims recite identical methods differing only by reference to compounds encompassed by the overlapping or obvious genera.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Communication
/D.M.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/SARAH PIHONAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627