DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the Amendments and Arguments filed 15 July 2026. As directed by applicant, only claim 11 is amended. Claims 34 and 35 are added. No claims are cancelled. This is a Final Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
[Note: Strikethrough indicates that the reference does not disclose that limitation]
Claims 11- 16 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Thomas (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2002/ 0117059) in view of Johnson (U.S. Patent 3,581,651).
Regarding claim 11, Thomas discloses a needle head in a meat injection device (Fig. 1) having a brine injecting needle bridge (12), the needle bridge comprising a plurality of needle head cavities (fig. 1, area withing pressure cylinder 20, which is pressurized ), the needle head defining a longitudinal axis (extending vertically) and comprising:
a base (piston 18), wherein the base forms a body configured to be movably received (the piston may be received in any of the pressure cylinders; when these are received, they would have to be repressurized) within, and to travel along the longitudinal axis of any one of the plurality of needle head cavities (It can be seen in fig. 3 that the piston travels along the longitudinal axis of the cavity that is within in the bridge)
at least one needle (10)
.
However, Thomas does not teach explicitly teach wherein any one of the needle head cavities “has a non-circular cross section, the non-circular cross section lying substantially orthogonally to the longitudinal axis, wherein the non-circular cross section of the base is shaped to correspond to a non-circular cross section of each of the plurality of needle head cavities, and the at least one needle is “fixed to and extending from the base”.
However, Thomas does teach that the squeeze grid (fig. 2, element 24) has square sections for putting pressure on the tube valves. And Johnson, in his device for injecting meat teaches a square reservoir for inputting injectade into the needles which may be pressurized for pushing out the liquid (Johnson, fig. 3; column 3 lines 39-41). Thus, it would be obvious to modify Thomas in view of Johnson to have square pressure cylinders to put pressure on the liquid to force into the needles in order to, in a conventional way, have the liquid be forced into the needles, in order for the shape of the liquid/pressure chamber to match the shape of the squeeze grid and to have a needle secured to a piston sliding in a pressure chamber in a conventional way, the design choice of a conventional shape achieving not unexpected results, this shape being common in injecting devices.
And while Thomas in view of Johnson teaches all the above limitations, it still does not teach “the at least one needle is “fixed to and extending from the base”.
However, Johnson, further teaches needles, “fixed to and extending from the base (Johnson, figs. 1, 2; 13 is fixed to the base and the head. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Thomas in view of Johnson, to have the needles fixed to the base, in order to have the needles properly secured within an injection head to be sure that it efficiently pierces the food product in order that the intended injectade goes into the food properly as intended and this is a conventional method used to achieve not unexpected results...
Regarding claim 12, Thomas in view of Johnson teaches all the limitations of claim 11, as above, and further teaches a needle head wherein the periphery of the non-circular cross section comprises at least two arcs that do not share the same center (Thomas, fig. 2, the corners of the rectangle have at least two circular arcs that do not share the same center).
Regarding claim 13, Thomas in view of Johnson teaches all the limitations of claim 12, as above, and further teaches a needle head, wherein the periphery of the non-circular cross section comprises a first arc and a second arc, the first arc and the second arcs each defined at least by a curvature and a length, wherein the first and second arcs differ in arc curvature (1st arcs are the corners where the curvatures are the same and non-zero; and the second arcs are the sidewalls where the curvature is zero, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, Thomas in view of Johnson teaches all the limitations of claim 13, as above, and further teaches a needle head wherein the periphery of the non-circular cross-section periphery comprises at least two first arcs equal in curvature and length, and at least two second arcs equal in curvature and length (Thomas, fig. 2, fig. 2, has several of these mounting elements 26 and thus has at least two of the first arcs and two of the second arcs).
Regarding claim 16, Thomas in view of Johnson teaches all the limitations of claim 11, as above, and further teaches a needle head wherein the needle head base comprises a groove arranged peripherally for releasably attaching sealing means, and wherein a depth or a width of the groove varies along a periphery of the needle head base (Thomas, squeeze grid 24, arranged peripherally for releasable attaching sealing means to close the valves; comprising may mean further added to, and ¶0009, wherein the width, thickness, of the squeeze grid varies around the periphery, for instance, the horizontal connections, as seen in fig. 2, are less thick than the vertical connections, allowing for pressure to bend the horizontal connections and thus seal the tubes and allowing for elasticity §0023.).
Regarding claim 31, Thomas in view of Johnson teaches a needle head according to claim 11, wherein a periphery of the non-circular cross section of the needle head defines a regular curved polygon with a constant width (fig. 2,).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Thomas (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2002/ 0117059) in view of Johnson (U.S. Patent 3,581,651) and further in view of Henning (U.S. Patent 6,658,990).
Regarding claim 17, Thomas in view of Johnson teaches all the limitations of claim 11, as above, but does not further teach a needle head comprising at least three needles wherein the at least three needles are arranged in the needle head base equidistantly from each other at a 60° angle. However, Henning does teeth at least three needles wherein the insertion points of three needles into the needle head base are arranged at substantially 60° (Henning, fig. 2, the row layout of the needles puts at least three in a triangular configuration that are arranged at substantially 60° to each other ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Corominas with the teachings of Henning, to use the configuration of Henning to place the needles in the needle head, in order to have the needles be tightly fit and closely arranged, in order to arrange the needles in a very compact way, not just in rows and columns, but on the diagonals, which allows for compact spacing given the circular nature of the needles and needle slots.
Claims 15, 32 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Thomas (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2002/ 0117059) in view of Johnson (U.S. Patent 3,581,651) and further in view of Prosenbauder (U.S. Patent 4,953,456).
Regarding claim 15, Thomas in view of Johnson teaches all the limitations of claim 14, as above, but does not further teach needle head wherein the periphery of the non-circular cross-section comprises three first arcs equal in curvature and length, and three second arcs equal in curvature and length such that the periphery defines a shape with three-fold rotational symmetry. However, it is noted that Johnson already teaches a base of a certain shape (square) and Prosenbauder teaches a base of another shape (round), thus it is known in the art to have different shapes for the base, and particularly one with rotational symmetry. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Johnson in view of Prosenbauder to have the base be of a different shape, and it would have been a matter of design choice to choose a different symmetrical shape, as those are known in the prior art, ant the different shape (three equal arcs) would have worked equally well to effect the injection of the liquid, as Prosenbauder teaches putting a plurality of injection needles on a shaped symmetrical head (Prosenbauder, fig. 2b; see MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(B)).
Regarding claim 32, Thomas in view of Johnson teaches all the limitations of claim 31, as above, but does not further teach needle head wherein the periphery of the non-circular cross section of the needle head defines a Reuleaux triangle. However, it is noted that Thomas already teaches a base of a certain shape (square). And Prosenbauder teaches that needle heads may come in other shapes, such as circular (Prosenbauder, fig. 1). Thus, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Thomas in view of Johnson to have the base be of a different shape, and of the well-known Reuleaux triangle, and it would have been a matter of design choice to choose a different symmetrical shape (for at least aesthetic purposes), as those are known in the prior art, and the Rouleau triangle shape would have worked equally well to effect the injection of the liquid , fig. 2b; see MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(B)).
Regarding claim 33, Thomas in view of Johnson and Prosenbauder teaches all the limitations of claim 32, as above, but does not further teach needle head comprising three needles, each needle arranged in proximity to vertices of the Reuleaux triangle. However, given the teachings above, and that Prosenbauder has only 4 needles his symmetrical base (shaped like a circle), it would have been obvious to have one only one needle at the center of each symmetrical corner, in order to be aesthetically pleasing but also inject the injectade in a consistent and predictable matter.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 34 and 35 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 15 July 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the references do not teach or provide a reason to modify piston 18 and pressure cylinder 20 so that piston 18 has a non-circular cross section shaped to correspond to a non-circular cross section of pressure cylinder 20 (Remarks, p. 6 last paragraph and, at least, the last two paragraphs of p. 9)). Examiner disagrees.
MPEP §2144.04 (IV)(B) provides the rationale that changes in shape do not amount to unobvious limitations and Thomas and Johnson provide the evidence that different shapes of needles and heads are well known in the art. Further evidence of such non-circular shapes, already in the record, is Allinquant (U.S. Patent 3,661,072) figs. 1-3, teachings a non-circular needle and head. Thus, in light of the different shapes of the needles and heads, it would have been obvious to use various shapes to affect the needle head as the different shapes would be a design choice and would work as effectively. And this reasoning applies to all the claims that indicate a shape for the needle head (claims 12-15, 17, 31-33), and further evidence is brought for some of the claims. (Incidentally, the shape does provide an articulable benefit in the even spacing, as claimed, for claims 34-35 and these claims are found allowable). Regarding claim 16 (Argued on Remarks, p. 12), the art reads on the claim, in that the head can be understood to comprise what the piston fits into.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached PTO-892.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAWRENCE H SAMUELS/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761