DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10, 12-18 as filed on 07/22/2026 are pending and herewith considered as indicated below. Claim 11 has been cancelled as of 07/22/2026
Drawings
2. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the groove as disclosed in claim 6 must be shown and labelled or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim 1-4, 7-10, 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park Dong San (KR 101464079 B1) (Herein San) in view of Han Byung Soo (KR 20140104188 A)(Soo).
In regards to Claim 1, San discloses
A connector assembly [Abstract] [Fig 2] for receiving and releasably fixing a post (11) [Fig 3], the connector assembly [Abstract] [Fig 2] comprising:
a base (300) [Fig 1] defining a first socket member (340) [Fig 1];
a second socket member (100) [Fig 2] configured to be in an abutting [Fig 2, Showing Abutting] relationship with, and rotatable relative to [Fig 5, Shown Rotatable, See Detailed Description of the Preferred Embodiment, Paragraph 0018 ”The flow body 100, which is coupled to the fluid coupling groove 220 of the valve body 200, can achieve a free flow”] , the first socket member (340) [Fig 1] of the base (300) [Fig 1], the second socket member (100) [Fig 2] comprising a recess (110) [Fig 2] for receiving at least part of the post (11) [Fig 3], in use; and
a locking member (200) [Fig 1, 5-6] configured to releasably couple [Fig 3, Showing Rotational Coupling] [See Detailed Description of the Preferred Embodiment, Paragraph 0013 “when the user grasps the adjustment handle 350 and adjusts the rotation of the adjustment handle 350 so as to perform the forward rotation or the reverse rotation”] with the base (300) [Fig 1] ,
wherein the locking member (200) [Fig 1, 5-6] comprises a through-hole (210) [Fig 1] to form:
an outer surface [Outer surface of (200), Fig 1]; and
an inner surface [Inner surface of (200), Figs 5-6]
wherein the post (11) [Fig 3] is configured to extend through the through-hole [Claims ,“A coupling hole 210 is formed at the lower end of the flow body 100 so that the flow body 100 and the coupling pipe 500 can be inserted thereinto”, additionally, since post (11) is coupled to (100), (11) has the ability to extend through] in use,
wherein the locking member (200) [Fig 1, 5-6] is movable between:
a first position [Fig 5, Showing first position, i.e. not tightened] in which the second socket member (100) [Fig 2] is rotatable [Fig 5] relative to the first socket member (340) [Fig 1]; and
a second position [Fig 6, Showing second position, i.e. tightened] in in which the locking member (200) [Fig 1, 5-6] is configured to apply a locking force [Fig 6, Showing Locking Force to element (320)] to the second socket member (100) [Fig 2] to prevent rotation [Fig 6, Showing Rotation Prevention] of the second socket member (100) [Fig 2] relative to the first socket member (340) [Fig 1].
However, fails to disclose
wherein the inner surface comprises a complimentary attachment portion configured to releasably connect with an attachment portion of the base,
Furthermore, Soo discloses
wherein the inner surface [Inner surface of (200), Figs 5-6, San] comprises a complimentary attachment portion [Treaded portion of (41), Fig 9] configured to releasably connect [“A threaded portion is formed at the lower end of the inner circumferential surface. The lifting sleeve 41 is screwed to the insertion tube 20”] with an attachment portion [Threaded portion of (20), Fig 9] of the base (300) [Fig 1],
Based on the prior art relied upon above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector assembly by to further include wherein the inner surface comprises a complimentary attachment portion configured to releasably connect with an attachment portion of the base as disclosed by Soo. When modified, the attachment portions on both the inner surface and attachment portion of the base allows for facilitating alignment, further reducing stress on the system in itself and allowing for precise and accurate installation.
In regards to Claim 2, San discloses
The connector assembly [Abstract] [Fig 2] according to Claim 1, wherein the first socket member (340) [Fig 1] comprises a seat [Top/Inside of (340)] [Fig 1], and wherein the second socket member (100) [Fig 2] comprises a rotation member (130) [Fig 3] configured to be located in the seat (340) [Fig 3].
In regards to Claim 3, San discloses
The connector assembly [Abstract] [Fig 2] according to claim 1, wherein the second socket member (100) [Fig 2] has a spherical region [Fig 3, Element (130) having a spherical region] configured to be in the abutting [Fig 3, Showing Abutting] relationship with the first socket member (340) [Fig 1].
In regards to Claim 4, San discloses
The connector assembly [Abstract] [Fig 2] according to claim 1, wherein the second socket member (100) [Fig 2] is mechanically coupled [Joined at 340, Fig 5] with the base (300) [Fig 1] and configured to rotate about a single axis [Fig 5, Showing Rotation along single Axis].
In regards to Claim 7, San discloses
The connector assembly [Abstract] [Fig 2] according to claim 1, wherein the base (300) [Fig 1] comprises:
a flange (330) [Fig 1]; and
a projection [Side of 340, Fig 1] having a proximal end and a distal end [Upper and lower end, Fig 1], the projection [Side of 340, Fig 1] extending from the flange (330) at the distal end [Lower end, Fig 1], and
wherein the proximal end [Upper end, Fig 1] of the projection [Unnumbered] [Fig 1] (See examiners comments) is shaped to form the first socket member (340) [Fig 1].
In regards to Claim 8, San discloses
The connector assembly [Abstract] [Fig 2] according to claim 7, wherein the projection [Side of 340, Fig 1] of the base (300) [Fig 1] has an outer surface [Fig 2, Showing Outer surface]
However, fails to disclose
wherein the projection of the base has an outer surface comprising the attachment portion configured to couple with the locking member.
Furthermore, Soo discloses
wherein the projection [Side of 340, Fig 1, San] of the base (300, San) [Fig 1] has an outer surface [Fig 1, Showing Outer surface of (340), San] comprising the attachment portion [Threaded portion of (20), Fig 9] configured to couple [As modified in Claim 1, above] with the locking member (200, San) [Fig 1].
In regards to Claim 9, San discloses
The connector assembly [Abstract] [Fig 2] according to claim 1, wherein the first socket member (340) [Fig 1] is arcuate [Fig 3, Showing Arcuate] [Per Merriam Webster, “curved like a bow”] .
In regards to Claim 10, San discloses
The connector assembly [Abstract] [Fig 2] according to claim 1,
However, fails to disclose
wherein the first socket member comprises one or more internal ridges.
However, it would have been obvious one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector assembly of San to have an additional internal ridge [220, Fig 3] in order to facilitate securement. When modified, the ridge (220), facilitates coupling which can be firmly fixed. [As disclosed by San, “The flow body 220 and the coupling hole 130 are kept in a tightly adhered state so that the flow body 100 coupled to the flow coupling groove 220 of the fixed body 200 can be firmly fixed”] In general, it has been held that the duplication of parts is considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art absent production of a new or unexpected result. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669.
In regards to Claim 12, San discloses
The connector assembly [Abstract] [Fig 2] according to claim 1, wherein the locking member (200) [Fig 1, 5-6] is configured [Fig 3, Rotational] such that an amount of locking force applied by the locking member (200) [Fig 1, 5-6] is adjustable by a user [See Detailed Description of the preferred Embodiment, Paragraph 0013, “This is to allow the fixing device 300 installed inside the fixed body 200 to smoothly flow upward and downward inside the fixed body 200 by adjusting the adjustment handle 350 5 and 6, when the user grasps the adjustment handle 350 and adjusts the rotation of the adjustment handle 350 so as to perform the forward rotation or the reverse rotation, the longitudinal movement of the adjustment handle 350 coupled to the adjustment hole 260 So that the fixing device 300 can form upward and downward flows inside the fixed body 200”].
In regards to Claim 13, San as modified discloses
The connector assembly [Abstract] [Fig 2] according to claim 8 ,
Soo discloses
wherein the attachment portion [Threaded portion of (20), Fig 9] of the projection [Side of 340, Fig 1, San] of the base (300, San) [Fig 1] and the attachment portion [Threaded portion of (41), Fig 9] of the locking member (200, San) [Fig 3] comprise complimentary screw threads [“A threaded portion is formed at the lower end of the inner circumferential surface. The lifting sleeve 41 is screwed to the insertion tube 20”] [Fig 9] .
In regards to Claim 14, San as modified discloses
The connector assembly [Abstract] [Fig 2] according to claim 13,
wherein the inner surface [Fig 3, Showing Inner Surface of (200)], of the locking member (200) [Fig 3] has a first region [Fig 3, Bottom of (200)] and a second region [Fig 3, Top of (200)] , wherein the first region [Fig 3, Bottom of (200)] comprises the attachment portion [Threaded portion of (41), Fig 9, Soo] ; and
wherein the second region [Fig 3, Top of (200)] is shaped to correspond to a shape [Second socket member, is rod shaped] of the second socket member (100) [Fig 2]
In regards to Claim 15, San as modified discloses
The connector assembly [Abstract] [Fig 2] according to claim 14.
wherein the second region [Fig 3, Top of (200)] comprises one or more ridges (220/270) [Fig 3] one or more ridges (220/270) [Fig 3] configured to provide friction to lock the second socket member (100) [Fig 2] in place [“And a coupling pipe (400) interposed between the flow body (100) and the coupling pipe (400) to control the flow of the coupling hole (130) seated in the floating coupling groove (220) (Not shown) of the fixing body 200 through the adjusting knob 350”] .
In regards to Claim 16, San discloses
A method [Claims] of releasably fixing the post (11) [Fig 3] to the connector assembly [Abstract] [Fig 2] of claim 1, the method comprising:
inserting [Fig 3, Showing Inserting] a part of the post (11) [Fig 3] within the recess (110) [Fig 2] of the second socket member (100) [Fig 2];
rotating [Fig 5, Showing Rotation to a desired position, the second socket member (100) [Fig 2] [See Detailed Description of the Preferred Embodiment, Paragraph 0018 “The flow body 100, which is coupled to the fluid coupling groove 220 of the valve body 200, can achieve a free flow”] to a desired position;
coupling [Fig 6, Showing Coupling the locking member to the base] the locking member (200) [Fig 1, 5-6] [See Detailed Description of the Preferred Embodiment, Paragraph 0013 “when the user grasps the adjustment handle 350 and adjusts the rotation of the adjustment handle 350 so as to perform the forward rotation or the reverse rotation”] to the base (300) [Fig 1] to fix the second socket member (100) [Fig 2] and post (11) [Fig 3] in the desired position.
In regards to Claim 17, San discloses
A system [Abstract] comprising:
The connection member [Abstract] [Fig 2] as claimed in claim 1 ; and
The post (11) [Fig 3] received in the recess (110) [Fig 2] of the second socket member (100) [Fig 2].
6. Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park Dong San (KR 101464079 B1)(Herein San) in view of Han Byung Soo (KR 20140104188 A)(Soo). And H. M. Hughs (US 0976879 A)(herein Hughs).
In regards to Claim 5, San discloses
The connector assembly [Abstract] [Fig 2] according to claim 1.
However, fails to disclose
wherein the recess in the second socket member comprises a substantially tapered section such that the post may be received in a press fit in the recess.
Furthermore, Hughs discloses
wherein the recess (110, San) [Fig 2] in the second socket member (100, San) [Fig 2] comprises a substantially tapered section (6) [Fig 2] such that the post (11, San) [Fig 3] [Also, see Hughs; Page 1, Lines 71-73] may be received in a press fit [Fig 2, Element (7) showing circular, intending a press fit] [See Hughs; Page 2, Lines 98-103] in the recess (110, San) [Fig 2].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector assembly as disclosed by San to include the a substantially tapered section as disclosed by Hughs. When modified, the tapering section as disclosed by Brewer allows for a fit for the post, to further eliminate any unnecessary movement during installation in the field. Additionally, including the tapered section allows for eliminating breakage of the post. [See Hughs; Page 1, Lines 71-73].
In regards to Claim 6, San as modified discloses
The connector assembly [Abstract] [Fig 2] according to claim 5, wherein the recess (110) [Fig 2] comprises a groove (10, Hughs) [Fig 2] towards a distal end [Lower end] [Fig 2, Hughs] of the tapered section (6, Hughs) [Fig 2], the groove (10, Hughs) [Fig 2] having an increased cross-sectional width [Fig 2, Showing the groove extending outwards compared to the tapered section] compared with tapered section (6, Hughs) [Fig 2].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector assembly as disclosed by San to include wherein the recess comprises a groove towards a distal end of the tapered, the groove having an increased cross-sectional width compared with tapered section as disclosed by Hughs. When modified, the groove allows for facilitating attachment [see Hughs Page 1, Lines 83-93].
7. Claim 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park Dong San (KR 101464079 B1)(Herein San) in view of Intagliata et al. (US 20100281791 A1)(Herein Intagliata) and Han Byung Soo (KR 20140104188 A)(Soo).
In regards to Claim 18, San discloses
a base (300) [Fig 1] defining a first socket member (340) [Fig 1];
a second socket member (100) [Fig 2] configured to be in an abutting relationship with, and rotatable relative to [As shown in Figs 1-5], the first socket member (340) [Fig 1] of the base (300) [Fig 1] , the second socket member (100) [Fig 2] comprising a recess (110) [Fig 2] for receiving at least part of the post (11) [Fig 3], in use; and
a locking member (200) [Fig 1, 5-6] configured to releasably couple [Fig 3, Showing releasably couple by rotation] with the base (300) [Fig 1] ,
wherein the locking member (200) [Fig 1, 5-6] comprises a through-hole (210) [Fig 1] to form:
an outer surface [Outer surface of (200), Fig 1]; and
an inner surface [Inner surface of (200), Figs 5-6]
wherein the post (11) [Fig 3] is configured to extend through the through-hole [Claims ,“A coupling hole 210 is formed at the lower end of the flow body 100 so that the flow body 100 and the coupling pipe 500 can be inserted thereinto”, additionally, since post (11) is coupled to (100), (11) has the ability to extend through] in use,
wherein the inner surface comprises a complimentary attachment portion configured to releasably connect with an attachment portion of the base, and
wherein the locking member (200) [Fig 1, 5-6] is movable between:
a first position [Fig 5, Showing a first position i.e. not tightened] in which the second socket member (100) [Fig 2] is rotatable relative to the first socket member (340) [Fig 1]; -and
a second position [Fig 6, Showing second position, i.e. tightened] in which the locking member (200) [Fig 1, 5-6] is configured to apply a locking force [Fig 6, Showing Locking Force to element (320)] to the second socket member (100) [Fig 2] to prevent rotation of the second socket member (100) [Fig 2] relative to the first socket member (340) [Fig 1].
However, fails to disclose
a kit comprising:
wherein the inner surface comprises a complimentary attachment portion configured to releasably connect with an attachment portion of the base, and
Additionally, Intagliata discloses
a kit [0008] comprising:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus as disclosed by San to include the kit as disclosed by Intagliata. When modified, the kit allows for an ease of procurement and installation.
Furthermore, Soo discloses
wherein the inner surface [Inner surface of (200), Figs 5-6, San] comprises a complimentary attachment portion [Treaded portion of (41), Fig 9] configured to releasably connect [“A threaded portion is formed at the lower end of the inner circumferential surface. The lifting sleeve 41 is screwed to the insertion tube 20”] with an attachment portion [Threaded portion of (20), Fig 9] of the base (300, San) [Fig 1],
Based on the prior art relied upon above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector assembly by to further include wherein the inner surface comprises a complimentary attachment portion configured to releasably connect with an attachment portion of the base as disclosed by Soo. When modified, the attachment portions on both the inner surface and attachment portion of the base allows for facilitating alignment, further reducing stress on the system in itself and allowing for precise and accurate installation.
Examiners comments
Figure 3, San
Response to Arguments
1. Objections to the Claims: Applicant' s argument with respect to the claim objections is persuasive and objection to the claims is hereby withdrawn.
2. Objections to the Drawings: Applicant' s argument with respect to the drawings is not persuasive and objection to the drawings is hereby maintained.
Applicant iterates: In regards to the drawing objection, specifically “the groove” as claimed in claim 6 is shown in Figure 4A.
Examiners Response: All elements claimed must be shown and labelled as per 37 C.F.R § 1.83(a). “The drawing in a nonprovisional application must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. However, conventional features disclosed in the description and claims, where their detailed illustration is not essential for a proper understanding of the invention, should be illustrated in the drawing in the form of a graphical drawing symbol or a labeled representation (e.g., a labeled rectangular box).” As per MPEP 608.02(d)(a)
3. Claim Rejections 35 USC 112: Applicant' s argument with respect to the claims rejected under 35 USC 112 is persuasive and rejection of the claims pursuant to 35 USC 112 is hereby withdrawn.
4. Claim Rejections 35 USC 102: Applicant' s arguments with respect to all claims have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant Iterates: Independent Claim 1 of the present application has been amended to incorporate limitations previously presented in claim 11, rewritten in independent form.
Examiners Response: As per the above, San is no longer relied upon to disclose independent claim 1. The additional limitations amending independent claim 1 has required a new grounds of rejection in regards to Claim 1. The combination of San in view of Soo is now relied upon.
5. Claim Rejections 35 USC 103: Applicant' s arguments with respect to all claims have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant recites: In regards to Claims 5-6, 8, 11, 13-15 and 18, as mentioned in the above, independent claim 1 has now been amended to correspond to previously presented claim 11.
Examiners Response: As per the above, in the 102 rejection.
Applicant recites: It is respectfully submitted that San and Soo, alone or in combination, fail to disclose a connector assembly with the features and advantages of that of claim 1, let alone teach or suggest the combination of features of recited in the claim. For example, as discussed below, it is respectfully submitted that the prior art combination fails to arrive at a combination that has both (1) "the locking member comprises a through-hole to form wherein, the post is configured to extend through the through-hole"; and (2) the "locking member configured to releasably couple with the base, [and that is] S movable between: a first position in which the second socket member is rotatable relative to the first socket member; and a second position in which the locking member applies a locking force to the second member to prevent rotation of the second socket member relative to the first socket member."
Examiner Response: Due to the arguments being directed towards the amendments, element 350 of san is no longer used to disclose the locking element, element 200 of san is now used for this limitation. Furthermore, element (200) of is no longer used to disclose the base, element 300 of san is now used to disclose this limitation.
Additionally, in regards to Soo and the complimentary attachment portion, as disclosed the in the above, a person of ordinary skill in the art would look at Soon, figure 9 and see the attachment between collet (40) and 20. As shown in figure 9, elements 40 and 20 are threadedly secured together.
Applicant Iterates on page 14 (parag 1-3) and 15, the locking member of claim 1, also requires to be "configured to releasably couple with the base, wherein the locking member is movable between: a first position in which the second socket member is rotatable relative to the first socket member; and a second position in which the locking member applies a locking force to the second member to prevent rotation of the second socket member relative to the first socket member".
Additionally, iterating the office does not directly rely on Soo to disclose the features however, San discloses the releasably coupled and moveable between features. The office contends that feature 200 of San is the first socket member and the base defines this, with that being in mind, the threaded attachment of Soo would not be compatible with either the base or the first socket member.
Additionally, iterating superimposing the threaded attachment onto the sidewall of the first socket member and using collet (40) of Soo as a locking member would not provide the same functionality as required by amended claim 1. The collet is only described as being cylindrical, if it were to allow the post to extend through it then coupling with the base would only be possible in the vertical direction. The purpose of the collet (40) of Soo is to secure the post in the recess of the collet, not being the same as a locking member as described in amended claim 1.
Examiners Comment: As described in the above, the amendments have necessitated a new grounds of rejection in terms of the locking member and the base. San no longer relies on elements (200) for the first socket member and base defining the socket member, and element (350) for the locking member. San now discloses, elements as follows; locking member (200) [Fig 1, 5-6], base (300) [Fig 1] , a first socket member (340) [Fig 1];
Additionally, collet (40) of San not as the locking member but only the attachment portion provided on collet (40) and the attachment portion provided on (20) as shown in figure 9. Soo discloses “A threaded portion is formed at the lower end of the inner circumferential surface. The lifting sleeve 41 is screwed to the insertion tube 20, In the longitudinal direction.”
Furthermore, as disclosed in claim 1, the locking member is discussed wherein it is moveable between a first and second position, locking and unlocking.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Z.K.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3635
/KYLE J. WALRAED-SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635