DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
Line 2, replace “comprises” with “includes.” Legalese style language is not permitted within the abstract.
It is also noted that the abstract appears to contain reference numerals which are normally not included within the abstract.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 2, Line 25, replace “embodiment,” with “embodiment;”
Page 2, Line 27, replace “embodiment,” with “embodiment;”
Page 2, Line 29, replace “gripper,” with “gripper;”
Page 2, Line 31, replace “2,” with “2;”
Page 2, Line 32, replace “embodiment,” with “embodiment;”
Page 2, Last Line, replace “embodiment,” with “embodiment;”
Page 3, Line 2, replace “gripper,” with “gripper;”
Page 3, Line 4, replace “6,” with “6;”
Page 3, Line 6, replace “spring,” with “spring;”
Page 3, Line 8, replace “hose,” with “hose;”
Page 3, Line 10, replace “hose,” with “hose;”
Page 3, Line 11, replace “embodiment,” with “embodiment;”
Page 3, Line 13, replace “12” with “12;”
Page 3, Line 14, replace “state,” with “state;”
Page 3, Line 15, replace “state,” with “state;”
Page 3, Line 17, replace “embodiment,” with “embodiment;”
Page 3, Line 18, replace “detent,” with “detent;”
Page 3, Line 19, replace “17,” with “17;”
Page 3, Line 22, replace “attachment,” with “attachment;”
Page 3, Line 23, replace “19,” with “19;”
Page 3, Line 25, replace “embodiment,” with “embodiment;”
Page 3, Line 27, replace “embodiment,” with “embodiment;”
Page 3, Line 29, replace “joiner,” with “joiner;”
Page 3, Line 30, replace “23,” with “23;”
Page 3, Line 31, replace “23,” with “23;”
Page 3, Line 32, replace “use, and” with “use; and”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The “connector means” in claims 3, 4, 7, 8 have structure in the form of an “aperture”.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a third plurality of spaced apart apertures.” However, it is indefinite and unclear as to what is meant by the “third apertures” as there does not appear to be any first or second apertures? Clarification is required.
Claim 14 recites “a fourth plurality of wire grippers.” However, it is indefinite and unclear as to what is meant by the “fourth grippers” as there does not appear to be any first, second or third apertures? Clarification is required.
Claim 14 recites “each slide saddle being substantially as claimed in claim 1.” However, the term “substantially” leaves it indefinite and unclear as to what is meant by the term “substantially”? I.e., is it all of the elements as recited in claim 1 or just some elements?
Claim 15 recites the limitation "said third plurality of apertures" in Lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally, it is indefinite and unclear as to what is meant by the “third apertures” as there does not appear to be any first, or second apertures? Clarification is required.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "said third plurality of apertures" in Line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally, it is indefinite and unclear as to what is meant by the “third apertures” as there does not appear to be any first, or second apertures? Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 507,966 (Bradford).
Regarding Claims 1 and 6-9, Bradford teaches: Claim 1 - a slide saddle (3) for use with a tension board (1) of substantially constant transverse cross-sectional shape for straining mesh style fencing materials having a first plurality of spaced apart substantially horizontal wires and a second plurality of spaced apart substantially vertical wires, said slide saddle (3) comprising a hollow tubular body (6) having an interior transverse cross-sectional shape arranged to slidingly engage said tension board cross-sectional shape and seat said slide saddle (3) on said tension board (1), a connector means (9/10) on said body (6) shaped to connect with a wire gripper corresponding to said slide saddle (3), and a releasable detent means (5) sized to releasably engage with one of a third plurality of spaced apart apertures (2) extending along said tension board (1), (Figures 1-4); Claim 6 – wherein said hollow body (6) comprises a strip having a generally C-shaped configuration, (Figures 1-4); Claim 7 – wherein said strip has a projection (9) extending therefrom and said connector means (10) comprises an aperture (10) in said projection (9), (Figures 1-4); Claim 8 – wherein said -releasable detent means (5) is located adjacent said aperture (10), (Figures 1-4); Claim 9 – wherein the slide saddle (3) is configured to be attached to a tension board (not positively recited as part of the claimed invention) which has a solid generally U or V-shaped configuration, (Figures 1-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 1,056,287 (Lockridge) in view of U.S. Patent No. 9,918,568 (Blake).
Regarding Claim 1, Lockridge teaches: Claim 1 - a slide saddle (A) for use with a tension board (2 – not positively recited) of substantially constant transverse cross-sectional shape for straining mesh style fencing materials having a first plurality of spaced apart substantially horizontal wires and a second plurality of spaced apart substantially vertical wires, said slide saddle (A) comprising a hollow tubular body (17/18) having an interior transverse cross-sectional shape arranged to slidingly engage said tension board cross-sectional shape and seat said slide saddle (A) on said tension board (2), a connector means (21/24) on said body (A) shaped to connect with a wire gripper corresponding to said slide saddle (A), and a detent (screws seen in Figure 4) sized to engage said tension board (2), (Figures 1-4).
Lockridge does not teach: the detent being a releasable detent means sized to releasably engage with one of a third plurality of spaced apart apertures extending along said tension board (Claim 1). However, Blake teaches: Claim 1 – wherein it is well known for connectors (57 and 80) to slide along supports (20 and 40) and attach to said supports (20 and 40) via releasable detents (56 and 86), (Figures 1-7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the saddle of Lockridge to have the detent being a releasable detent means sized to releasably engage with one of a third plurality of spaced apart apertures extending along said tension board (Claim 1) as taught by Blake as it would have been obvious to try for the purposes of easily adjusting the position of the saddle along the tension boards.
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 1,056,287 (Lockridge) in view of U.S. Patent No. 9,918,568 (Blake), and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 7,740,233 (Larsen).
Regarding Claims 2-5, Lockridge as modified by Blake teaches the saddle as described above, in addition to Lockridge teaching: Claim 3 – wherein said body (17/18) has a projection (19/20) extending therefrom and said connector means (21/24) comprises an aperture (21) in said projection (19/20), (Figures 1-4); Claim 5 – wherein the slide saddle (A) is configured to interact with a tension board (again noted that this element is not positively recited a spart of the claimed invention) having a hollow substantially square or substantially rectangular configuration, (Figures 1-4); and Blake teaching: Claim 4 - wherein said releasable detent means (86) is located adjacent a projection (84) on the body (80), (Figures 1-7).
Lockridge as modified by Blake does not teach: wherein said hollow body comprises a looped strip (Claim 2). However, Larsen teaches: Claim 2 – wherein saddles can be in the form of looped strips (such as (230) as seen in Figure 13g), (Figure 13g). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the body of the saddle of Lockridge as modified by Blake to have wherein said hollow body comprises a looped strip (Claim 2) as taught by Larsen as it would have been an obvious substation of one known element (the integral body (230) of Larsen) for another (the pivoting body (17/18) of Lockridge) to obtain the predictable result having a single body with no additional structure which may need repaired or manufactured.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOSHUA E RODDEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642