DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Claims 1-9, drawn to a sleep monitoring method, in the reply filed on 8/3/26 is acknowledged. Applicant has amended the claims to overcome the restriction. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the amended limitations "(i) a first comparison of said current sleep signal to a set of at least two curves representative of time sequences of stages of sleep determined for a reference time period, called reference sleep signals" (Remarks, page 2), are allegedly not found in the cited prior art of Halperin. Note that the “current sleep signal” includes “at least one curve representative of a time sequence of stages of sleep during a current period”.
This is not found persuasive because Halperin teaches, e.g.:
¶ 50: Other embodiments of the invention include methods and systems for monitoring a clinical condition including monitoring clinical parameters during sleep and identifying sleep stages and comparing the clinical parameters in at least one sleep stage to baseline clinical parameters for that sleep stage. The methods and device for identifying sleep stages may include a motion acquisition module, a pattern analysis module and an output module, as described below.
¶ 54: receive the physiological signal from the sensor over a time duration of at least two hours at a given period of at least one first baseline day,
¶ 371: “Alternatively, the baseline value may be a typical value for a relevant segment of the general population.”
¶ 375: In some applications, the process described above is executed for multiple sleep stages, the data from the multiple sleep stages being used to monitor the clinical condition. That is, for each identified sleep stage, the average respiration rate, heart rate and other clinical parameters are calculated. This data is compared to a baseline defined for that subject for each identified sleep stage, in order to identify the onset or progress of a clinical episode.
¶ 376: For some applications, for each night, for each hour (or for longer durations of time, such as more than two hours) of sleep, counted from the onset of sleep, the average respiration rate, heart rate and other clinical parameters are calculated. This data is compared to baseline (i.e., each of the averages is compared to a respective baseline) in order to identify the onset or progress of a clinical episode.
¶ 392: “For some applications, pattern analysis module 16 derives a score for each parameter based on the parameter's deviation from baseline values (either for the specific patient or based on population averages)”
¶ 394: In some applications, the control unit identifies a baseline value corresponding to a day of the week, and derives a score based on a deviation of the identified clinical parameter from the day-specific baseline value. For example, as noted above, breathing patterns in sleep may change over a weekly schedule of the subject; for example, physical activity of the subject may generally recur on a particular day of the week. The control unit identifies the baseline value in response to the weekly schedule. For example, in response to recurring outdoor play on a particular day of the week, the control unit may identify a breathing-rate baseline value corresponding to the particular day of the week that is greater than the baseline value for other days of the week. (It is noted that a baseline value may be said to correspond to a particular day of the week if it corresponds to the sleeping period at the end of, or immediately following, the particular day of the week. For example, the baseline value identified for a subject who went to sleep at 1:00 a.m. Monday would typically be the baseline value that corresponds to Sunday.) Additionally or alternatively, system 10 identifies a first baseline value corresponding to a weekend day, and a second baseline value, which is different from the first baseline value, corresponding to a weekday. For example, system 10 may identify that the average respiration rate in sleep during weekends is higher than on weekdays, and may therefore use in weekends a different (i.e., higher) baseline for comparison and decision on whether a clinical episode is present or oncoming.
Thus, Halperin teaches the comparison in multiple ways (note here that “contribution over the prior” in the context of unity of invention, includes both anticipation and obviousness):
First, the claim does not preclude the comparison of multiple current curves/signals (“at least one”) to multiple reference curves/signals. As noted above, Halperin compares weekday sleep data to weekday baselines and weekend data to weekend baselines (e.g. ¶ 394).
Second, the same would apply to any sleep signal segment/stage, as the claims do not preclude this. Any sleep segment identified as a sleep stage (such as in Halperin ¶ 50), e.g. detection of slow-wave sleep or REM sleep, is “representative of a time sequence of stages of sleep” as the stages of sleep have a known sequence. Halperin does teach comparing multiple sleep stages to multiple respective baselines of said stages (e.g. ¶ 375).
Third, the claims do not preclude that the multiple reference curves are averages. This too, is taught by Halperin (e.g. 371, 392).
Fourth, Halperin teaches that the baseline may be over “at least one …day” (¶ 54), making it prima facie obvious to select multiple days within the range of “at least one day”.
Thus, the common technical features between the groups do not make a contribution over the prior art and the restriction on the basis of lack of unity of invention is proper.
Given the fact that Applicant has amended the claims, further evidence to the lack of unity in light of the known prior art, which fully meets Claim 1 and thus the technical features common between the elected and non-elected groups, can be found in the subject matter rejection section below.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 10-13, and 15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected groups, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8/3/26.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the labels of the drawings are not legible. See PCT Rule 11.13. The scale and clarity of the drawings and the labels in particular should be revised to be “distinguished without difficulty”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because it refers to “any claim 1”. 37 CFR 1.75 requires that “Any dependent claim which refers to more than one other claim (“multiple dependent claim”) shall refer to such other claims in the alternative only”. Accordingly, the claim has not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “user equipment”, and “monitoring device” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea and/or natural law/phenomena without significantly more.
Step 1)
Claim 1 recites a method, thus it belongs in one of the four statutory categories.
All dependent Claims meet this step.
Step 2a, prong one)
The claims recite “determining at least one curve representative of a time sequence of stages of sleep during a current period…obtaining an indicator of disturbance of said sleep of said user comprising a first comparison of said current [at least one curve] to at least two curves representative of time sequences of stages of sleep determined for a reference time period…[and] making a decision to [communicate]…an alert notification …according to said indicator of disturbance of said sleep and at least one decision criterion” which are directed to an ineligible concept. These elements recited in claim 1 are drawn to an abstract idea since they involve a mental process that can be practically performed in the human mind including observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion and using pen and paper and/or they involve mathematical concepts in the form of mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and/or mathematical calculations. Each of the steps, recited at the high level of generality, do not involve overly complex steps nor require any particular time constraint. They simply involve processing data and generating an output that has no required accuracy. As such, the identified abstract steps, recited at the high level of generality, do not suggest an undue level of complexity for a person with ordinary skill in the art to be practically performed in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper. These limitations would also cover: i) a physician conducting a simple sleep study of a patient, which would fall under the abstract idea- methods of organizing human activity [see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).II.C.iii], ii) a mental process performed in the human mind or by mere use of pen and paper, such as observing and evaluating the sleep of a subject, and iii) solving mathematical relationships involved in curve comparisons.
All dependent claims include this ineligible concept.
Step 2a, prong two)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because: the claims do not recite an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. The claims merely add the generic “user equipment”, “monitoring device”, “communication network”, and “signal”. These generally link the use of the exception to a generic technological environment or field of use, and merely use generic hardware to gather data, perform the ineligible concept, and communicate a result thereof. These are mere extra solution activities. The additional elements do no more than generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use because they are merely an incidental or token addition to the claim for data gathering or communicating of results that does not alter or affect how the process steps of are performed. Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, while considering the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when considering the elements taken individually. For example, there is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. None of these limitations add to the claims: a) improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field, b) use of the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, c) a particular machine or a transformation, or d) use of the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. The independent claims do not even provide an output that is perceptible by a user, something which is indicative of the generality of the scope of the claims and the lack of integration to anything practical.
Thus, Claim 1 does not meet the requirements of Step 2a, prong two.
Claims 2-3, 7 further expand on the abstract idea itself (“said determining” which belongs in Step 2a, prong one), and/or add extra-solution activities that merely add details to type of data gathered (“obtaining”).
Claims 4, 9, present more details of the abstract idea itself (which belongs in Step 2a, prong one), without adding anything to it.
Claim 5-6 further expand on the abstract idea itself, and add the generic automated means for performing the idea (“artificial intelligence”).
None of these add to the claims: a) improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field, b) use of the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, c) a particular machine or a transformation, or d) use of the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Step 2b)
Claim 1 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because of all the reasons explained in Step 2a, prong two, and in addition, all of those additional elements individually or in combination are well-understood, routine and conventional activity in the field. The generic “user equipment”, “monitoring device”, “communication network”, and “signal”., are all well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, as evidenced by Halperin. These are recited with a high level of generality, that merely append the exception to the bare minimum of any type of monitoring in the art. This conclusion is further supported by the subject matter rejections below.
Thus, Claim 1 fails to meet the requirements of Step 2b.
Claims 2-3, 7 further expand on the abstract idea itself (“said determining” which belongs in Step 2a, prong one), and/or add extra-solution activities that merely add details to type of data gathered (“obtaining”).
Claims 4, 9, present more details of the abstract idea itself (which belongs in Step 2a, prong one), without adding anything to it.
Claim 5-6 further expand on the abstract idea itself, and merely add the generic automated means for performing the idea (“artificial intelligence”).
All additional elements individually or in combination are well-understood, routine and conventional activity in the field, as further evidenced by the subject matter rejections.
Thus, Claims 1-7, and 9 are not eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 1 and 3, the terms “in proximity to” are relevant and subjective, making the metes and bounds of the claims unclear. The terms are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised with reasonable certainty of the scope of the invention.
In Claim 1, it is unclear what “called current sleep signal” refers to. Is it the “at least one curve”, the “time sequence” (“representative of” does not necessarily require they are one and the same), the “stages of sleep”, or the “current time period”?
In Claim 1, it is unclear what “called reference sleep signal” refers to. Is it the “set of at least two curves”, the “time sequences” (“representative of” does not necessarily require they are one and the same), the “stages of sleep”, or the “reference time period”?
Regarding Claim 1, in the limitation “a first comparison”, it is unclear what the term “first” is meant to convey. There is no second or third comparison in the claim. Is the term meant to limit the sequence of steps, or is it a nominal term?
In Claim 2, the last sentence appears to be incomplete, making the scope of the claim unclear. “That is connected” to what?
In Claims 3 and 4, the terms “an obtaining” and “an updating” do not preclude a verbal noun, and are thus unclear as to whether they refer to steps, intended uses, fields of use or otherwise optional limitations.
In Claim 3, it is not clear whether the “at least one sensor” and the “at least one item of user equipment” are the same or different from the previously recited same terms in Claim 2.
In Claim 4, it is not clear whether the “as reference sleep signal” is the same or different or part of “called reference sleep signals” of Claim 1.
In Claim 5, in “associate…at least one segment…of said current set, respectively at least one segment …of said reference sets, with at least one stage of sleep”, the phrase is incomplete, making it unclear as to whether both of the different sets or one of them is associated with the stage of sleep.
Claim 7 attempts to recite a Markush group, but does so improperly. According to MPEP 2173.05(h), the proper format for reciting a (Markush) group of alternative limitations is either "R is A, B, or C" or "R is selected from the group consisting of A, B, and C" and it is improper to use the term “comprising” instead of “consisting of.”
Thus, the “respiratory noises” should be “and respiratory noises” and the two partial pressures that currently recite “and/or” should be listed as two different alternatives of the group.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20170281017 by Halperin.
Regarding Claim 1, Halperin teaches a method for monitoring sleep of a user using at least one item of user equipment located in proximity to said user, said at least one item of user equipment being connected to a communication network (e.g. ¶¶ 291, 298, 378: sensor 30), wherein said method is implemented by a monitoring device (e.g. ¶¶ 291-292, Fig. 1: control unit 14 with user interface 24 including “a communication line for relaying the raw and/or processed data to a remote site for further analysis and/or interpretation” or analyzing the data itself; ¶¶ 292, ¶398: remote computer for analysis of the raw data) and comprises:
determining at least one curve representative of a time sequence of stages of sleep during a current time period, called current sleep signal (e.g. ¶¶ 50,167-171,173-174,187,193-195, 375: sleep signal from the sensor, wherein sleep stages are identified);
obtaining an indicator of disturbance of said sleep of said user (e.g. ¶¶ 50, 58-59, 352, 375, 392: monitoring a condition and issuing an alert when an episode or adverse event is predicted, by comparing parameters of the current curves to “at least one” respective baseline) comprising:
a first comparison of said current sleep signal to a set of at least two curves representative of time sequences of stages of sleep determined for a reference time period, called reference sleep signals
[e.g. As noted in the Restriction/Election section:
Halperin teaches, e.g.:
¶ 50: Other embodiments of the invention include methods and systems for monitoring a clinical condition including monitoring clinical parameters during sleep and identifying sleep stages and comparing the clinical parameters in at least one sleep stage to baseline clinical parameters for that sleep stage. The methods and device for identifying sleep stages may include a motion acquisition module, a pattern analysis module and an output module, as described below.
¶ 54: receive the physiological signal from the sensor over a time duration of at least two hours at a given period of at least one first baseline day,
¶ 371: “Alternatively, the baseline value may be a typical value for a relevant segment of the general population.”
¶ 375: In some applications, the process described above is executed for multiple sleep stages, the data from the multiple sleep stages being used to monitor the clinical condition. That is, for each identified sleep stage, the average respiration rate, heart rate and other clinical parameters are calculated. This data is compared to a baseline defined for that subject for each identified sleep stage, in order to identify the onset or progress of a clinical episode.
¶ 376: For some applications, for each night, for each hour (or for longer durations of time, such as more than two hours) of sleep, counted from the onset of sleep, the average respiration rate, heart rate and other clinical parameters are calculated. This data is compared to baseline (i.e., each of the averages is compared to a respective baseline) in order to identify the onset or progress of a clinical episode.
¶ 392: “For some applications, pattern analysis module 16 derives a score for each parameter based on the parameter's deviation from baseline values (either for the specific patient or based on population averages)”
¶ 394: In some applications, the control unit identifies a baseline value corresponding to a day of the week, and derives a score based on a deviation of the identified clinical parameter from the day-specific baseline value. For example, as noted above, breathing patterns in sleep may change over a weekly schedule of the subject; for example, physical activity of the subject may generally recur on a particular day of the week. The control unit identifies the baseline value in response to the weekly schedule. For example, in response to recurring outdoor play on a particular day of the week, the control unit may identify a breathing-rate baseline value corresponding to the particular day of the week that is greater than the baseline value for other days of the week. (It is noted that a baseline value may be said to correspond to a particular day of the week if it corresponds to the sleeping period at the end of, or immediately following, the particular day of the week. For example, the baseline value identified for a subject who went to sleep at 1:00 a.m. Monday would typically be the baseline value that corresponds to Sunday.) Additionally or alternatively, system 10 identifies a first baseline value corresponding to a weekend day, and a second baseline value, which is different from the first baseline value, corresponding to a weekday. For example, system 10 may identify that the average respiration rate in sleep during weekends is higher than on weekdays, and may therefore use in weekends a different (i.e., higher) baseline for comparison and decision on whether a clinical episode is present or oncoming.
Thus, Halperin anticipates the comparison in multiple ways:
First, the claim does not preclude the comparison of multiple current curves/signals (“at least one”) to multiple reference curves/signals (also note here, that comparing parameters or features of a curve/signal to parameters or features of another curve/signal, meets comparing one curve/signal to another). As noted above, Halperin compares weekday sleep data to weekday baselines and weekend data to weekend baselines (e.g. ¶ 394).
Second, the same would apply to any sleep signal segment, as the claims do not preclude this. Any sleep segment identified as a sleep stage (such as in Halperin ¶ 50), e.g. detection of slow-wave sleep or REM sleep is “representative of a time sequence of stages of sleep” as the stages of sleep have a known sequence. Halperin does teach comparing multiple sleep stages to multiple respective baselines of said stages (e.g. ¶ 375).
Third, the claims do not preclude that the multiple reference curves are averages. This too, is taught by Halperin (e.g. 371, 392).]
making a decision to emit an alert notification in the communication network, made according to said indicator of disturbance of said sleep and at least one decision criterion (e.g. ¶¶ 43,59,90,93,96,350,352,372,356,381,392: an alert is generated when a threshold is crossed, based on the comparison. The alert can be emitted by the control unit, which is “in the communication network”, or the output can also be send to a smartphone).
Regarding Claim 2, Halperin teaches the method for monitoring the sleep of a user according to claim 1, wherein said determining said current sleep signal comprises obtaining at least one current set of time sequences of measurements of at least one physiological parameter representative of the sleep of the user collected during said current time period by at least one sensor of said at least one item of equipment that is connected (e.g. abstract, ¶¶ 50,167-171,173-174,187,193-195, 375: sleep signal from the sensor, e.g. from a motion sensor 30, wherein sleep stages are identified).
Regarding Claim 3, Halperin teaches the method for monitoring the sleep of a user according to claim 2, wherein the method further comprises:
- determining said reference sleep signals on the basis of an obtaining of at least one reference set of time sequences of measurements of said at least one physiological parameter collected during said reference time period by at least one sensor of at least one item of user equipment connected to said communication network and located in proximity to said user and/or worn by the user (e.g. ¶ 376: weekend and weekday baselines are determined).
Regarding Claim 4, Halperin teaches the method for monitoring the sleep of a user according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises, after obtaining said indicator of disturbance, an updating of said set of reference sleep signals comprising recording said current sleep signal as reference sleep signal when said at least one decision criterion is not met (See MPEP 2111.04. II: In a method claim, if the condition for performing a contingent step is not satisfied, the performance of the step need not be carried out in order for the claimed method to be performed. In other words, in method claims, contingent steps are required only when there is a step positively reciting meeting the contingency prior to said step. In this case, there is no step of meeting the contingency of “when said …criterion is not met”, thus the limitations of the claim are optional under the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding Claim 7, Halperin teaches the method for monitoring the sleep of a user according to claim 2, wherein said at least one physiological parameter is chosen from a group consisting of: cardiac activity (e.g. abstract, ¶¶ 44, 61: heart rate).
Regarding Claim 9, Halperin teaches the method for monitoring the sleep of a user according to claim 1, wherein said at least one decision criterion comprises at least one threshold of disturbance of the sleep, said decision criterion being met when said indicator of disturbance is greater than or equal to said at least one threshold of disturbance (e.g. ¶ 352: nighttime detection of abnormal breathing based on a threshold).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halperin, as applied to Claim 3, in view of US 2018/0064388 by Heneghan.
Regarding Claim 5, Halperin teaches the method for monitoring the sleep of a user according to claim 3, yet does not explicitly disclose wherein the determining of said current sleep signal, respectively of said reference sleep signals, comprises implementing an artificial intelligence module configured to associate, on the basis of a characterization model of said sleep of said user, at least one segment of said time sequences of measurements of said current set, respectively at least one segment of said time sequences of measurements of said reference sets, with at least one stage of sleep.
However, Heneghan teaches an analogous sleep monitoring method, wherein an artificial intelligence classifier, including nearest neighbor classifier, random forest classifier, support vector machine, decision tree, neural networks, and linear discriminant classifier models, is used to characterize sleep stages in a physiological sleep signal (e.g. ¶155). As noted in claim 1, Halperin teaches identifying sleep stages in the current and reference signals. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select artificial intelligence classifiers in the identification of sleep stages of current and baseline sleep signals in a method according to the teachings of Halperin, as taught by Heneghen, as this would predictably classify sleep stages, and it would only amount to a selection among known and limited options that would have been obvious to try.
Regarding Claim 6, Halperin as modified in Claim 5 teaches the method for monitoring the sleep of a user according to claim 5, wherein the method comprises a previous learning of said characterization model on the basis of a learning database associating segments of time sequences of measurements of at least one physiological parameter representative of the sleep of a panel of users collected during a period of sleep in a controlled environment with at least one stage of sleep (Heneghan, ¶ 115: “such classifiers may be trained, as discussed earlier, using features extracted from motion and pulse-related data collected during sleep sessions that are conducted under the oversight of professional or trained sleep scorers using specialized equipment and in-depth analysis of each time interval being evaluated—such data may be referred to herein as “benchmark” motion data and/or pulse-related data. Thus, for example, the features extracted from motion and pulse-related data collected during time periods or time windows that have been assigned, by a sleep scorer, a sleep stage of “deep sleep” may be used to train the classifier to assign a “deep sleep” classification to time windows or time periods having features that match the criteria of the classifier developed during such training. The classifier is initially built and tested on benchmark data using cross validation techniques such as k-fold cross validation and leave-one-out cross validation.”).
/MANOLIS PAHAKIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3796