DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure does not commence on a separate sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.52(b)(4) and 1.72(b). A new abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 9, 12-16, 18, 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 20180205439 A1), hereinafter Chen.
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches,
A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving a configuration for a channel state information (CSI) window having a size that is based at least in part on a time unit associated with the configuration; (Figure 4, label S41, paragraph 0097 – The UE receives the configuration in a measurement window to report CSI. Paragraphs 0105-0106 – The length of the window is specified by the base station to the UE. Paragraph 0110 – The length of the window is based on a number of sub-frames for CSI measurement).
receiving CSI reference signals (CSI-RSs); (Paragraph 0115 – The UE receives CSI-RS to measure from the base station).
generating a CSI report based at least in part on measurements of one or more CSI-RSs that are within the CSI window; and (paragraph 0115 – The UE uses the specified window for generating a CSI report for the CSI-RS measured in that time period).
transmitting the CSI report. (paragraph 0117 – The UE transmits the CSI measurements to the base station following the triggering signaling and measurements).
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the time unit corresponds to one or integer multiples of a CSI-RS periodicity. (Paragraph 0110 – The length of the window is based on a number of sub-frames for CSI measurement. Paragraph 0116 – In an example the length of the measurement frame is a set of subframes for the CSI periodicity).
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the time unit corresponds to one or integer multiples of a time interval between consecutive CSI-RS occasions. (Figure 7, Paragraphs 0153, 0154 – The measurement of the CSI-RS is done from a time period of n-T to n which would be an single integer time T between CSI-RS that make up the measurement window).
Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the time unit is based at least in part on system frame numbers. (paragraph 0157-0160 – The measurement is done based on the sub-frames of the CSI measurement).
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the configuration indicates a starting slot for the CSI window. (Figure 8, paragraph 0159 – The starting slot for measurement is following the CSI trigger).
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches,
The method of claim 6, wherein the starting slot is based at least in part on a system frame number. (Figure 8, paragraph 0159-0161 – The starting slot for measurement is the sub-frame immediately following the CSI trigger).
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches,
The method of claim 6, wherein the starting slot is based at least in part on an offset relative to a triggering slot. (Figure 8, paragraph 0159-0161 – The starting slot for measurement is the sub-frame immediately following the CSI trigger).
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the configuration indicates the size of the CSI window. (paragraph 0159 – The number of sub-frames to be measured is indicated to the UE).
Regarding claim 13, Chen teaches,
A method of wireless communication performed by a network entity, comprising:
transmitting a configuration for a channel state information (CSI) window having a size that is based at least in part on a time unit associated with the configuration; (Figure 4, label S41, paragraph 0097 – The UE receives the configuration in a measurement window to report CSI from a base station (network entity). Paragraphs 0105-0106 – The length of the window is specified by the base station to the UE. Paragraph 0110 – The length of the window is based on a number of sub-frames for CSI measurement).
transmitting CSI reference signals (CSI-RSs); and (Paragraph 0115 – The UE receives CSI-RS to measure from the base station.)
receiving a CSI report. (paragraph 0117 – The UE transmits the CSI measurements to the base station following the triggering signaling and measurements).
Regarding claim 14, Chen teaches,
The method of claim 13, wherein the time unit corresponds to one or integer multiples of a CSI-RS periodicity. (Paragraph 0110 – The length of the window is based on a number of sub-frames for CSI measurement. Paragraph 0116 – In an example the length of the measurement frame is a set of subframes for the CSI periodicity).
Regarding claim 15, Chen teaches,
The method of claim 13, wherein the time unit corresponds to one or integer multiples of a time interval between consecutive CSI-RS occasions. (Figure 7, Paragraphs 0153, 0154 – The measurement of the CSI-RS is done from a time period of n-T to n which would be an single integer time T between CSI-RS that make up the measurement window).
Regarding claim 16, Chen teaches,
The method of claim 13, wherein the time unit is based at least in part on system frame numbers. (paragraph 0157-0160 – The measurement is done based on the sub-frames of the CSI measurement).
Regarding claim 18, Chen teaches,
The method of claim 13, wherein the configuration indicates a starting slot for the CSI window. (Figure 8, paragraph 0159 – The starting slot for measurement is following the CSI trigger).
Regarding claim 26, Chen teaches,
A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory; and (Figure 11, label 114, paragraph 0192, 0193 – memory)
one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to: (figure 11, label 113, paragraph 0192, 0193 – processor coupled to memory
receive a configuration for a channel state information (CSI) window having a size that is based at least in part on a time unit associated with the configuration; (Figure 4, label S41, paragraph 0097 – The UE receives the configuration in a measurement window to report CSI. Paragraphs 0105-0106 – The length of the window is specified by the base station to the UE. Paragraph 0110 – The length of the window is based on a number of sub-frames for CSI measurement).
receive CSI reference signals (CSI-RSs); (Paragraph 0115 – The UE receives CSI-RS to measure from the base station.
generate a CSI report based at least in part on measurements of one or more CSI-RSs that are within the CSI window; and (Paragraph 0115 – The UE uses the specified window for generating a CSI report for the CSI-RS measured in that time period).
transmit the CSI report. (paragraph 0117 – The UE transmits the CSI measurements to the base station following the triggering signaling and measurements).
Regarding claim 27, Chen teaches,
The UE of claim 26, wherein the time unit corresponds to one or integer multiples of a CSI-RS periodicity. (Paragraph 0110 – The length of the window is based on a number of sub-frames for CSI measurement. Paragraph 0116 – In an example the length of the measurement frame is a set of subframes for the CSI periodicity).
Regarding claim 28, Chen teaches,
The UE of claim 26, wherein the time unit corresponds to one or integer multiples of a time interval between consecutive CSI-RS occasions. (Figure 7, Paragraphs 0153, 0154 – The measurement of the CSI-RS is done from a time period of n-T to n which would be an single integer time T between CSI-RS that make up the measurement window).
Regarding claim 29, Chen teaches,
The UE of claim 26, wherein the time unit is based at least in part on system frame numbers. (paragraph 0157-0160 – The measurement is done based on the sub-frames of the CSI measurement).
Claims 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Frenger et al. (US 20120028628 A1), hereinafter Frenger.
Regarding claim 19, Frenger teaches,
A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
determining that a channel state information (CSI) report is to be dropped if a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) is unavailable or not received; and (paragraph 0046 – The UE will not transmit a CSI report if not enough CSI-RS are received and the estimated channel quality goes below a configurable threshold).
refraining from transmitting a CSI report if a CSI-RS is unavailable or not received. (paragraph 0046 – The UE will not transmit a CSI report if not enough CSI-RS are received and the estimated channel quality goes below a configurable threshold).
Regarding claim 20, Frenger teaches,
The method of claim 19, wherein refraining from transmitting the CSI report includes refraining from transmitting the CSI report if the CSI-RS are unavailable or not received at a threshold quantity of CSI-RS occasions no later than a CSI reference resource. (paragraph 0046 – The UE will not transmit a CSI report if not enough CSI-RS are received and the estimated channel quality goes below a configurable threshold).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frenger in view of Bagheri et al. (US 20240172026 A1), hereinafter Bagheri.
Regarding claim 21, Frenger fails to teach,
The method of claim 19, wherein refraining from transmitting the CSI report includes refraining from transmitting the CSI report after a bandwidth part change or a serving cell activation.
However, Bagheri teaches,
The method of claim 19, wherein refraining from transmitting the CSI report includes refraining from transmitting the CSI report after a bandwidth part change or a serving cell activation. (paragraph 0063 – The CSI report is dropped following a bandwidth part change or serving cell activation).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Frenger to incorporate the refraining of transmitting a CSI report teachings of Bagheri. The purpose of doing so is to determine if the CSI report is reliable and/or available for transmission (paragraph 0005, Bagheri).
Regarding claim 23, Frenger fails to teach,
The method of claim 19, wherein refraining from transmitting the CSI report includes refraining from transmitting the CSI report after receiving a CSI report reconfiguration or a discontinuous reception configuration.
However, Bagheri teaches,
The method of claim 19, wherein refraining from transmitting the CSI report includes refraining from transmitting the CSI report after receiving a CSI report reconfiguration or a discontinuous reception configuration. (paragraph 0063 – The CSI report is dropped following a CSI reconfiguration).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Frenger to incorporate the refraining of transmitting a CSI report teachings of Bagheri. The purpose of doing so is to determine if the CSI report is reliable and/or available for transmission (paragraph 0005, Bagheri).
Claims 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frenger in view of Yuan et al. (US 20210211225 A1), hereinafter Yuan.
Regarding claim 22, Frenger fails to teach,
The method of claim 19, wherein refraining from transmitting the CSI report includes refraining from transmitting the CSI report after an uplink slot conflict.
However, Yuan teaches,
The method of claim 19, wherein refraining from transmitting the CSI report includes refraining from transmitting the CSI report after an uplink slot conflict. (Figure 5, label 510, paragraph 0067 – if multiple CSI reports come into conflict a CSI report with the lowest priority will be dropped).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Frenger to incorporate the refraining of transmitting a CSI report teachings of Yuan. The purpose of doing so is to determine how to deal with multiple CSI reports needing to be transmitted at the same time (paragraphs 0057-0062, Yuan).
Claims 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frenger in view of He et al. (US 20220094505 A1), hereinafter He.
Regarding claim 24, Frenger fails to teach,
The method of claim 19, wherein refraining from transmitting the CSI report includes refraining from transmitting the CSI report after an activation of semi- persistent CSI.
However, He teaches,
The method of claim 19, wherein refraining from transmitting the CSI report includes refraining from transmitting the CSI report after an activation of semi- persistent CSI. (Figure 4, label S401, paragraph 0107 – The UE receives a command to activate semi-persistent CSI. Figure 6, paragraph 0111 – The semi-persistent reporting is not transmitted when a triggering condition is not satisfied following the semi-persistent activation).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Frenger to incorporate the refraining of transmitting CSI report teachings of He. The purpose of doing so is to reduce power consumption (paragraphs 0003, 0004, He).
Claims 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frenger in view of Sun et al. (US 20230379031 A1), hereinafter Sun.
Regarding claim 25, Frenger fails to teach,
The method of claim 19, wherein refraining from transmitting the CSI report includes refraining from transmitting the CSI report after a specified quantity of CSI-RS occasions.
However, Sun teaches,
The method of claim 19, wherein refraining from transmitting the CSI report includes refraining from transmitting the CSI report after a specified quantity of CSI-RS occasions. (paragraph 0035 – If the number of CSI-RS causes a threshold associated with a number of CPUs for a UE to be exceeded the UE will not transmit a new CSI report and may use outdated or old CSI).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Frenger to incorporate the refraining from transmitting a CSI report teachings of Sun. The purpose of doing so is to establish a priority for which CSI are reported based on limited resources (paragraph 0035, Sun).
Claims 5, 8, 17, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Chen et al. (US 20220272717 A1), hereinafter Chen (2).
Regarding claim 5, Chen fails to teach,
The method of claim 1, wherein the time unit is based at least in part on an offset relative to a CSI-RS occasion location.
However, Chen (2) teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the time unit is based at least in part on an offset relative to a CSI-RS occasion location. (Paragraph 0097, 0098 – The measurement window timing is based on an offset from a CSI-RS).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen to incorporate the offset CSI-RS teachings of Chen (2). The purpose of doing so is to determine when a second device might receive a CSI-RS (paragraph 0096, Chen (2)).
Regarding claim 8, Chen fails to teach,
The method of claim 6, wherein the starting slot is based at least in part on an offset relative to a CSI reference resource slot or a reporting slot.
However, Chen (2) teaches,
The method of claim 6, wherein the starting slot is based at least in part on an offset relative to a CSI reference resource slot or a reporting slot. (Paragraph 0097, 0098 – The starting point of the time window is an offset from a CSI-RS reception time).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen to incorporate the offset CSI-RS teachings of Chen (2). The purpose of doing so is to determine when a second device might receive a CSI-RS (paragraph 0096, Chen (2)).
Regarding claim 17, Chen fails to teach,
The method of claim 13, wherein the time unit is based at least in part on an offset relative to a CSI-RS occasion location.
However, Chen (2) teaches,
The method of claim 13, wherein the time unit is based at least in part on an offset relative to a CSI-RS occasion location. (Paragraph 0097, 0098 – The measurement window timing is based on an offset from a CSI-RS).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen to incorporate the offset CSI-RS teachings of Chen (2). The purpose of doing so is to determine when a second device might receive a CSI-RS (paragraph 0096, Chen (2)).
Regarding claim 30, Chen fails to teach,
The UE of claim 26, wherein the time unit is based at least in part on an offset relative to a CSI-RS occasion location.
However, Chen (2) teaches,
The UE of claim 26, wherein the time unit is based at least in part on an offset relative to a CSI-RS occasion location. (Paragraph 0097, 0098 – The measurement window timing is based on an offset from a CSI-RS).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen to incorporate the offset CSI-RS teachings of Chen (2). The purpose of doing so is to determine when a second device might receive a CSI-RS (paragraph 0096, Chen (2)).
Claims 10, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Hosseini et al. (US 20200052813 A1), hereinafter Hossieni).
Regarding claim 10, Chen fails to teach,
The method of claim 1, wherein a first time unit of the CSI window is a time unit that includes a first CSI-RS occasion that is no earlier than a triggering slot.
However, Hosseini teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein a first time unit of the CSI window is a time unit that includes a first CSI-RS occasion that is no earlier than a triggering slot. (paragraph 0034 – The first slot includes a set of CSI-RS occurring after a downlink triggered grant).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chem to incorporate the time unit occurrence teachings of Hosseini. The purpose of doing so is to determine rate matching behavior (paragraph 0033, Hosseini).
Regarding claim 11, Chen fails to teach,
The method of claim 1, wherein a first time unit of the CSI window is a time unit that includes a triggering slot.
However, Hosseini teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein a first time unit of the CSI window is a time unit that includes a triggering slot. (paragraph 0034 – The first slot includes a set of CSI-RS occurring after a downlink triggered grant).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chem to incorporate the time unit occurrence teachings of Hosseini. The purpose of doing so is to determine rate matching behavior (paragraph 0033, Hosseini).
Conclusion
/RYAN CRIGLER/Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472