DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-13 and 15-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by World Patent Application Number 2020/056289 to Cato et al.
Cato et al. disclose a hoop lock (9) comprising: a lock body that comprises a housing (27) and a locking apparatus (16) accommodated in the housing (figure 6); and a closing hoop (10) that has at least one end (17) that is selectively locked to the lock body or released from the lock body by way means of the locking apparatus (figure 6), wherein an armoring is applied to at least one of the closing hoop (via 1) and the housing (via 28) of the lock body by way of buildup welding (6), as in claim 1.
Cato et al. also disclose the armoring comprises a hard metal (paragraph 28), as in claim 2, and the armoring is formed in the form of at least one armor bead (6), as in claim 3, wherein the armor bead extends over at least approximately the total length of the housing and/or over at least approximately the total length of the closing hoop (figure 2), as in claim 5, as well as the armor bead is a continuous armor bead (figure 2), as in claim 6, and where the armor bead is formed by a plurality of segments (7, 8) spaced apart from one another, as in claim 15.
Cato et al. further disclose the armoring is formed at at least one of a side surface and of the housing (figures 2 and 3 show the placement of the armoring), as in claim 7, wherein the armoring is formed at an outer side surface of the housing (shown in figures 6 and 7), as in claim 17, as well as the armoring is formed at an outer edge of the housing (shown in figures 6 and 7), as in claim 18, and wherein the armoring is formed centrally at at least one side surface of the housing, at at least one side surface of the housing offset from its center, in the region of at least one edge of the housing, and/or partly or completely at at least one edge of the housing (shown in figures 6 and 7), as in claim 8.
Cato et al. additionally disclose at least two side surfaces of the housing and/or at least two side surfaces of the closing hoop are provided with an armoring (shown in figures 6 and 7), as in claim 9, wherein at least two oppositely disposed side surfaces of the housing are provided with an armoring (figures 2 and 7), as in claim 21, and the armoring is formed in a depression (joints in 27) provided at a side surface of the housing (figure 7), as in claim 10, as well as the closing hoop is formed by a plurality of jointed bars (1, 10, 32-34) connected to one another in an articulated manner and the armoring is formed at at least one of the jointed bars (figure 6), as in claim 11, wherein the armoring is formed at a narrow side of the jointed bar (figure 2), as in claim 12, as well as the armoring is formed in a depression (junction of 7 and 8) provided at a side surface of the jointed bar (figure 2), as in claim 13.
Cato et al. also disclose the armoring is formed at at least one of a side surface and an edge of the closing hoop (figures 2 and 3), as in claim 16, wherein the armoring is formed at an outer side surface of the closing hoop (figures 2 and 3), as in claim 19, and the armoring is formed at an outer edge of the closing hoop (figures 2 and 3), as in claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over to Cato et al., as applied above.
Cato et al. disclose the invention substantially as claimed. However, Cato et al. do not disclose the thickness of the bead. It is common knowledge in the prior art to utilize a weld bead strong enough to secure desired components in the same field of endeavor for the purpose of strengthening the armor of the hoop lock. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize a bead having a width between 5 and 10 mm, and a thickness between 0.5 and 5 mm in order to provide a reinforced connection between the associated components.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to armored padlock assemblies:
U.S. Patent Number 12,428,876 to Cato et al.; U.S. Patent Number 9,890,561 to Perrenoud et al.; U.S. Patent Number 9,512,640 to Kyllonen et al.; U.S. Patent Number 4,561,272 to Goldstein et al.; U.S. Patent Number 3,976,434 to Shwayder; U.S. Patent Number 3,453,846 to Owen et al.; U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2024/0344367 to Abrahams; U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2024/0011332 to Kemper et al.; U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2005/0092038 to Becker et al.; U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2004/0093914 to Vito.
/CHRISTOPHER J BOSWELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675
CJB /cb/
January 6, 2026