Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9, 19, 39, 46, 49, 52-53, 56, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang (US 2022/0232478).
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses an energy saving method, the method being performed by a base station and comprising:
determining an energy saving mode ([0004][0007], the network node sends power saving signaling, which implies that the network must first determines an energy saving mode, figs. 10-11, s300, s301); and
performing signal processing corresponding to the energy saving mode (figs. 10-11, the network node sends DCI carrying the power saving signaling which is performing signal processing corresponding to the energy saving mode; s303. perform operation processing based on the information about the power saving signaling).
Claims 39, 46, 53 are rejected similarly with claim 1 noting that Huang discloses a processor and memory (fig. 14).
Regarding claims 9, 49, 56, Huang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: indicating information about the energy saving mode ([0021], the power saving signaling includes at least one or more of the following information: wake up indication information, go-to-sleep indication information).
Regarding claims 19, 52, Huang discloses the method of claim 9, wherein indicating the information about the energy saving mode comprises:
enabling, by using an enable indication, a terminal device to detect the energy saving mode, wherein the enable indication comprises an RRC message or system information ([0017][0031], the configuration parameter is carried in radio resource control RRC signaling; configuration parameter is used by the first terminal device to monitor/detect the power saving signaling).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 17, 18, 47-48, 50-51, 54, 55, 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Li (WO 2020155166).
Regarding claims 2, 47, 54, Huang discloses the method of claim 1,
Huang does not explicitly disclose wherein the energy saving mode comprises a microsleep mode.
Li discloses the energy saving mode comprises a microsleep mode (Li, page 12, UE has 2 states: a sleep state (for power saving, such as micro sleep).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to combine the teachings as given by Huang with the teachings given by Li. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption of the user equipment (Li, Summary section).
Regarding claims 4, 48, 55, Huang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein performing the signal processing corresponding to the energy saving mode comprises:
Huang does not explicitly disclose in response to being in a microsleep mode, stopping at least one of the following: sending a first-range signal, or receiving a first-range signal,
wherein the first-range signal comprises at least one of the following: a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) signal, a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) signal, or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) signal.
Li discloses in response to being in a microsleep mode, stopping at least one of the following: sending a first-range signal, or receiving a first-range signal (Li, pages 11-12, fig. 5, during the micro sleep, RF components are turned off, when no grant is detected within a slot, that is, not monitoring the PDCCH),
wherein the first-range signal comprises at least one of the following: a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) signal, a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) signal, or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) signal (Li, pages 11- 12, fig. 5, the occasion when the UE monitors the PDCCH only without any scheduling grant and PDSCH/PUSCH/PUCCH will be referred to as PDCCH monitoring only case for the ease of reference. If the UE is unaware of the cross-slot scheduling of PDSCH in advance).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to combine the teachings as given by Huang with the teachings given by Li. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption of the user equipment (Li, Summary section).
Regarding claims 17, 50, 57, Huang discloses the method of claim 9, wherein indicating the information about the energy saving mode comprises
Huang does not explicitly disclose indicating a cell state to a terminal device according to downlink control information (DCI) signaling
Li discloses indicating a cell state to a terminal device according to downlink control information (DCI) signaling (Li, page 19, transmission signal includes a cell state).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to combine the teachings as given by Huang with the teachings given by Li. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption of the user equipment (Li, Summary section).
Regarding claims 18, 51, Huang and Li disclose the method of claim 17, wherein the DCI signaling carries at least one of the following information: a cell identity, an energy saving state indicator bit, or an activation identifier (Huang, [0030][0046], the configuration parameter further includes a radio network temporary identifier RNTI; identifier indicates a bandwidth part in an active state, Li, claim 23, information includes serving cell index).
Conclusion
/ZHENSHENG ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474