DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) was/were submitted on 11/08/2024 and 09/17/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 11-12, 14-15, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramachandra et al. (US20240172060A1), hereinafter referred to as Ramachandra, in view of Wu (US 2025/0168093 A1), hereinafter referred to as Wu.
Regarding claim 1, Ramachandra teaches: A processor of a user equipment (UE) (see FIG. 10 UE (930), Processing circuitry (938)) configured to perform operations comprising (¶[0146] Hardware 935 of UE 930 further includes processing circuitry 938, which may comprise one or more programmable processors, application-specific integrated circuits, field programmable gate arrays or combinations of these (not shown) adapted to execute instructions ):
receiving, from a network with which the UE has a connection, a secured message comprising a configuration for a dynamic identifier ( see ¶[0059] a method by a UE includes receiving, by the UE, at least one UE identifier (such as the C-RNTI or another identifier) via the RRC configuration. In an embodiment, the UE identifier may be received from a network node (e.g. gNB). Only one of the UE identifier is used at any given point in time; ¶[0060], a method by a UE includes one or more of the following steps: ¶[0061], 1) The UE receives a list of C-RNTIs, as part of an RRC procedure and within one or multiple RRC message such as, for example, as part of the RRC Reconfiguration procedure, within an RRCReconfiguration message; ¶[0062], a. The network node transmits to the UE an indication of a C-RNTI to be used by the UE via lower layer signaling (e.g., MAC CE). The “indication” step may correspond to the UE an action of updating the used C-RNTI, assigning a new C-RNTI according to the indication, and/or changing to a new C-RNTI according to the indication; ¶[0065], b. The method also includes the possibility of the indication being transmitted in a MAC CE including the UE identifier, such as the C-RNTI; ¶[0067] the C-RNTI list may be provided in an RRC message such as, for example, a RRCReconfiguration message:), wherein the configuration comprises a plurality of identifiers that are each to be used by the UE during a different time period when the UE is connected to the network ( see ¶[0062], a. The network node transmits to the UE an indication of a C-RNTI to be used by the UE via lower layer signaling (e.g., MAC CE). The “indication” step may correspond to the UE an action of updating the used C-RNTI, assigning a new C-RNTI according to the indication, and/or changing to a new C-RNTI according to the indication; ¶[0066], c. The method optionally includes the possibility of steps 1 and 2 being combined so that the UE receives a list of C-RNTIs via RRC signaling and receives an indication via lower layer signaling of which of the configured C-RNTIs the UE shall use; ¶[0067] the C-RNTI list may be provided in an RRC message such as, for example, a RRCReconfiguration message); and
exchanging communications with the network, wherein the communications comprise the dynamic identifier ( see ¶[0019], a method by a UE includes receiving, from a network node, an indication of a list of UE identifiers for the UE to use in a target candidate cell… Based on the indication, the UE determines a UE identifier among the list of UE identifiers to use at the target candidate cell; ¶[0058], a gNB, includes transmitting, to a UE, at least one UE identifier (such as the C-RNTI or another identifier) via a RRC configuration. Only one of the UE identifier is used at any given point in time. The method further includes ways of signaling a change (update, assignment) of the C-RNTI or other identifiers to be used by the UE ).
Although Ramachandra teaches (see ¶[0019], a method by a UE includes receiving, from a network node, an indication of a list of UE identifiers for the UE to use in a target candidate cell… Based on the indication, the UE determines a UE identifier among the list of UE identifiers to use at the target candidate cell; ¶[0058], a gNB, includes transmitting, to a UE, at least one UE identifier (such as the C-RNTI or another identifier) via a RRC configuration. Only one of the UE identifier is used at any given point in time. The method further includes ways of signaling a change (update, assignment) of the C-RNTI or other identifiers to be used by the UE ), but does not explicitly state exchanging communications with the network.
However, Wu, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches (see Wu ¶[0079], the UE 102 receives an RRC message (e.g., RRC reconfiguration message), including the C-RNTI, from the CU-CP 172A via the DU 174 or another base station; ¶[0103], The UE 102 monitors a PDCCH from the DU 174 using the C-RNTI to communicate 418 data (e.g., UL data and/or DL data) with the base station ).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramachandra's teachings with Wu's above teaching in order to reduce latency and improve resource allocation efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches: The processor of claim 1, wherein the plurality of identifiers comprise a plurality of Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifiers (C-RNTIs) ( see Ramachandra ¶[0062], a. The network node transmits to the UE an indication of a C-RNTI to be used by the UE via lower layer signaling (e.g., MAC CE). The “indication” step may correspond to the UE an action of updating the used C-RNTI, assigning a new C-RNTI according to the indication, and/or changing to a new C-RNTI according to the indication; ¶[0066], c. The method optionally includes the possibility of steps 1 and 2 being combined so that the UE receives a list of C-RNTIs via RRC signaling and receives an indication via lower layer signaling of which of the configured C-RNTIs the UE shall use; ¶[0067] the C-RNTI list may be provided in an RRC message such as, for example, a RRCReconfiguration message).
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches: The processor of claim 1, wherein the configuration further comprises a period of time during which each of the plurality of identifiers are to be used. ( see Ramachandra ¶[0058], a gNB, includes transmitting, to a UE, at least one UE identifier (such as the C-RNTI or another identifier) via a RRC configuration. Only one of the UE identifier is used at any given point in time; ¶[0062], a. The network node transmits to the UE an indication of a C-RNTI to be used by the UE via lower layer signaling (e.g., MAC CE). The “indication” step may correspond to the UE an action of updating the used C-RNTI, assigning a new C-RNTI according to the indication, and/or changing to a new C-RNTI according to the indication ).
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches: The processor of claim 1, wherein the secured message comprises a radio resource control (RRC) message (see Ramachandra ¶[0067], the C-RNTI list may be provided in an RRC message such as, for example, a RRCReconfiguration message; Wu ¶[0079], the UE 102 receives an RRC message (e.g., RRC reconfiguration message), including the C-RNTI).
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches: The processor of claim 1, wherein the communications comprise unicast downlink (DL) communications from the network and unicast uplink (UL) communications to the network (see Wu ¶[0103], The UE 102 monitors a PDCCH from the DU 174 using the C-RNTI to communicate 418 data (e.g., UL data and/or DL data) with the base station ).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramachandra's teachings with Wu's above teaching in order to reduce latency and improve resource allocation efficiency
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches The processor of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a further secured message comprising an updated configuration for the dynamic identifier; and updating the UE with the updated configuration for the dynamic identifier ( see Ramachandra ¶[0058] The method further includes ways of signaling a change (update, assignment) of the C-RNTI or other identifiers to be used by the UE via non-RRC signaling. Examples of such non-RRC signaling include MAC signaling such as for example by way of a MAC CE; ¶[0063] The UE receives an indication of a C-RNTI to be used by the UE via lower layer signaling (e.g., MAC CE). The “indication” step may correspond to the UE action of updating the used C-RNTI, assigning a new C-RNTI according to the indication, and/or changing to a new C-RNTI according to the indication ).
Regarding claim 11, Ramachandra teaches: A processor of a base station (see FIG 10, Base Station (920), Processing circuitry (928)) configured to perform operations comprising (¶[0145] base station 920 further includes processing circuitry 928, which may comprise one or more programmable processors, application-specific integrated circuits, field programmable gate arrays or combinations of these (not shown) adapted to execute instructions ):
sending, to a user equipment (UE) with which the base station has a connection, a secured message comprising a configuration for a dynamic identifier ( see ¶[0059] a method by a UE includes receiving, by the UE, at least one UE identifier (such as the C-RNTI or another identifier) via the RRC configuration. In an embodiment, the UE identifier may be received from a network node (e.g. gNB). Only one of the UE identifier is used at any given point in time; ¶[0060], a method by a UE includes one or more of the following steps: ¶[0061], 1) The UE receives a list of C-RNTIs, as part of an RRC procedure and within one or multiple RRC message such as, for example, as part of the RRC Reconfiguration procedure, within an RRCReconfiguration message; ¶[0062], a. The network node transmits to the UE an indication of a C-RNTI to be used by the UE via lower layer signaling (e.g., MAC CE). The “indication” step may correspond to the UE an action of updating the used C-RNTI, assigning a new C-RNTI according to the indication, and/or changing to a new C-RNTI according to the indication; ¶[0065], b. The method also includes the possibility of the indication being transmitted in a MAC CE including the UE identifier, such as the C-RNTI; ¶[0067] the C-RNTI list may be provided in an RRC message such as, for example, a RRCReconfiguration message:), wherein the configuration comprises a plurality of identifiers that are each to be used by the UE during a different time period when the UE is connected to the base station ( see ¶[0062], a. The network node transmits to the UE an indication of a C-RNTI to be used by the UE via lower layer signaling (e.g., MAC CE). The “indication” step may correspond to the UE an action of updating the used C-RNTI, assigning a new C-RNTI according to the indication, and/or changing to a new C-RNTI according to the indication; ¶[0066], c. The method optionally includes the possibility of steps 1 and 2 being combined so that the UE receives a list of C-RNTIs via RRC signaling and receives an indication via lower layer signaling of which of the configured C-RNTIs the UE shall use; ¶[0067] the C-RNTI list may be provided in an RRC message such as, for example, a RRCReconfiguration message); and
exchanging communications with the UE, wherein the communications comprise the dynamic identifier( see ¶[0019], a method by a UE includes receiving, from a network node, an indication of a list of UE identifiers for the UE to use in a target candidate cell… Based on the indication, the UE determines a UE identifier among the list of UE identifiers to use at the target candidate cell; ¶[0058], a gNB, includes transmitting, to a UE, at least one UE identifier (such as the C-RNTI or another identifier) via a RRC configuration. Only one of the UE identifier is used at any given point in time. The method further includes ways of signaling a change (update, assignment) of the C-RNTI or other identifiers to be used by the UE ).
Although Ramachandra teaches (see ¶[0019], a method by a UE includes receiving, from a network node, an indication of a list of UE identifiers for the UE to use in a target candidate cell… Based on the indication, the UE determines a UE identifier among the list of UE identifiers to use at the target candidate cell; ¶[0058], a gNB, includes transmitting, to a UE, at least one UE identifier (such as the C-RNTI or another identifier) via a RRC configuration. Only one of the UE identifier is used at any given point in time. The method further includes ways of signaling a change (update, assignment) of the C-RNTI or other identifiers to be used by the UE ), but does not explicitly state exchanging communications with the network.
However, Wu, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches (see Wu ¶[0079], the UE 102 receives an RRC message (e.g., RRC reconfiguration message), including the C-RNTI, from the CU-CP 172A via the DU 174 or another base station; ¶[0103], The UE 102 monitors a PDCCH from the DU 174 using the C-RNTI to communicate 418 data (e.g., UL data and/or DL data) with the base station ).
Regarding claim 12, the combination teaches: The processor of claim 11, wherein the plurality of identifiers comprise a plurality of Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifiers (C-RNTIs) ( see Ramachandra ¶[0062], a. The network node transmits to the UE an indication of a C-RNTI to be used by the UE via lower layer signaling (e.g., MAC CE). The “indication” step may correspond to the UE an action of updating the used C-RNTI, assigning a new C-RNTI according to the indication, and/or changing to a new C-RNTI according to the indication; ¶[0066], c. The method optionally includes the possibility of steps 1 and 2 being combined so that the UE receives a list of C-RNTIs via RRC signaling and receives an indication via lower layer signaling of which of the configured C-RNTIs the UE shall use; ¶[0067] the C-RNTI list may be provided in an RRC message such as, for example, a RRCReconfiguration message).
Regarding claim 14, the combination teaches: The processor of claim 11, wherein the configuration further comprises a period of time during which each of the plurality of identifiers are to be used ( see Ramachandra ¶[0058], a gNB, includes transmitting, to a UE, at least one UE identifier (such as the C-RNTI or another identifier) via a RRC configuration. Only one of the UE identifier is used at any given point in time; ¶[0062], a. The network node transmits to the UE an indication of a C-RNTI to be used by the UE via lower layer signaling (e.g., MAC CE). The “indication” step may correspond to the UE an action of updating the used C-RNTI, assigning a new C-RNTI according to the indication, and/or changing to a new C-RNTI according to the indication ).
Regarding claim 15, the combination teaches: The processor of claim 11, wherein the secured message comprises a radio resource control (RRC) message (see Ramachandra ¶[0067], the C-RNTI list may be provided in an RRC message such as, for example, a RRCReconfiguration message; Wu ¶[0079], the UE 102 receives an RRC message (e.g., RRC reconfiguration message), including the C-RNTI).
Regarding claim 17, the combination teaches: The processor of claim 11, wherein the communications comprise unicast downlink (DL) communications from the base station and unicast uplink (UL) communications to the base station (see Wu ¶[0103], The UE 102 monitors a PDCCH from the DU 174 using the C-RNTI to communicate 418 data (e.g., UL data and/or DL data) with the base station ).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramachandra's teachings with Wu's above teaching in order to reduce latency and improve resource allocation efficiency.
Regarding claim 18, the combination teaches: The processor of claim 11, wherein the operations further comprise:
sending a further secured message comprising an updated configuration for the dynamic identifier, wherein the updated configuration is sent after a predetermined period of time ( see Ramachandra ¶[0058] The method further includes ways of signaling a change (update, assignment) of the C-RNTI or other identifiers to be used by the UE via non-RRC signaling. Examples of such non-RRC signaling include MAC signaling such as for example by way of a MAC CE; ¶[0063] The UE receives an indication of a C-RNTI to be used by the UE via lower layer signaling (e.g., MAC CE). The “indication” step may correspond to the UE action of updating the used C-RNTI, assigning a new C-RNTI according to the indication, and/or changing to a new C-RNTI according to the indication ).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramachandra, in view of Wu, and further in view of Tripathi et al. (US 2021/0144581 A1), IDS submitted on 11/08/2024, hereinafter referred to as Tripathi.
Regarding claim 19, the combination teaches the processor of claim 11. The combination, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to receiving a capability message from the UE comprising an indication the UE supports the dynamic identifier.
However, Tripathi, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: receiving a capability message from the UE comprising an indication the UE supports the dynamic identifier ( see ¶[0106] the device may convey the device's capability to use HC-RNTI to the radio network during the random access procedure; ¶[0109] The gNB/eNB may optionally request the UE to provide the UE's “personality attributes.”; ¶[0110] if the UE supports HC-RNTI and the UE's personality attributes are compatible with the HC-RNTI, the network may allocate the HC-RNTI to the user and may decide to use longer DRX cycles ).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Tripathi's above teachings in order to optimize delay tolerant services and support large capacity cells ( see Tripathi ¶[0010]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Tripathi prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (Ramachandra prior art) based on design incentives (optimize delay tolerant services and support large capacity cells) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3, 6, 9-10, 13, 16, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Examiner's Note:
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yamaguchi et al. ( US 2009/0111479 A1), Method and apparatus for allocating connection identifier in wireless communication system
Sharma et al. ( US 2021/0160726 A1), Method and apparatus for management of extended mobile device identity information
Shi et al. ( US 2019/0090282 A1) discloses apparatus and method for determining a random access radio network temporary identity (RA-RNTI), apparatus and method for transmitting a random access response (RAR) and a communication system
/MANG BOI THAWNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476