DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 51 and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 51 and 53, the phrases "preferably" and “in particular” renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 28-38 and 40-54, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heusser et al. (U.S. 2012/0104294).
Regarding claim 28, Heusser discloses:
A hydraulic valve assembly, comprising:
a connection block 20 (see paragraph 0040)
at least one valve section (S2-SX) hydraulically connected to the connection block 20 (see paragraph 0040)
a main electronics holder (11) with a main electronics module (16) disposed therein (see paragraph 0043; see Figure 6)
wherein the valve section (S2-SX) comprises a valve section electronics holder (11) with a valve section electronics module (16) disposed therein (see paragraph 0043; see Figure 6)
Further regarding this limitation, Figure 6 shows the detailed view of valve 21 (valve of the connection block 20) and of valves SX.
Regarding claim 29, Heusser discloses:
wherein the connection block (20) comprises the main electronics holder (11) in the form of a connection block electronics holder (11), and wherein the main electronics module (16) is a connection block electronics module 16 (see paragraph 0043)
Regarding claim 30, Heusser discloses:
wherein the main electronics module (16) is detachably disposed in the main electronics holder 11
Regarding claim 31, Heusser discloses:
wherein the valve section electronics module (16) is detachably disposed in the valve section electronics holder 11
Regarding claim 32, Heusser discloses:
wherein the main electronics module (16) and the valve section electronics module (16) are different, the main electronics module (16) comprising a main control unit µC1 (see paragraph 0040; see Figure 5)
Regarding claim 33, Heusser discloses:
wherein the valve section electronics module (16) comprising a secondary control unit µC2 (see paragraph 0040)
Regarding claim 34, Heusser discloses:
wherein the hydraulic valve assembly comprises an electrical backbone (K), the main electronics module (16) and the valve section electronics module (16) being connected to one another via the electrical backbone K (see paragraphs 0039, 0040, 0042)
Regarding claim 35, Heusser discloses:
wherein the main electronics module (16) comprises a backbone communication unit K (see paragraphs 0039-0042)
Regarding claim 36, Heusser discloses:
wherein the main electronics module (16) comprises an external communication unit (S0) for connection to a bus system K (see paragraphs 0039-0040)
Regarding claim 37, Heusser discloses:
wherein the external communication unit (S0) comprises an interface for wireless communication or data transmission (see paragraphs 0041, 0042)
Regarding claim 38, Heusser discloses:
wherein the valve section electronics module (16) comprises a movement control unit m4, m5 (see paragraph 0040; see Figure 5)
Regarding claim 40, Heusser discloses:
wherein the valve section (S2-SX) comprises a movable hydraulic closing member 12 (see paragraph 0043; see Figure 6)
Regarding claim 41, Heusser discloses:
wherein the valve section electronics module (16) comprises a position sensor (72) for monitoring a position of the closing member 12 (see paragraph 0040; see Figure 5)
Regarding claim 42, Heusser discloses:
wherein the valve section (S2-SX) comprises at least one working connection (A, B) for connecting a hydraulic consumer 50 (see Figure 5; see paragraph 0040)
Regarding claim 43, Heusser discloses:
wherein a signal- controlled movement of the closing member (12) relieves the working connection A, B
Regarding claim 44, Heusser discloses:
wherein a signal via a bus system (K) initiates the signal-controlled movement (see paragraphs 0039-0041)
Regarding claim 45, Heusser discloses:
wherein the valve section electronics module (16) comprises a sensor module 72 (see paragraph 0040)
Regarding claim 46, Heusser discloses:
wherein the valve section (S2-SX) is a first valve section (S2) and the valve section electronics module (16) is a first valve section electronics module (16), and the hydraulic valve assembly comprises at least one second valve section (SX) with a second valve section electronics module (16), wherein the connection block (20) is hydraulically connected to the first valve section (S2) and the second valve section SX (see paragraphs 0040-0043)
Regarding claim 47, Heusser discloses:
wherein the main electronics module (16) is connected to the first valve section electronics module (16) via an electrical backbone K (see paragraphs 0039, 0040)
Regarding claim 48, Heusser discloses:
wherein the second valve section electronics module (16) has a feed-through for the electrical backbone K (see paragraphs 0039-0040)
Regarding claim 49, Heusser discloses:
wherein the second valve section electronics module (16) is connected to the first valve section electronics module 16 (see paragraphs 0039-0043; see Figure 4)
Regarding claim 50, Heusser discloses:
wherein the first valve section electronics module (16) comprises a secondary control unit (µC2) and wherein the second valve section electronics module (16) does not comprise a secondary control unit µC2 (see paragraph 0040; µC2 can be either a control or evaluation electronics)
Regarding claim 51, Heusser discloses:
wherein the first valve section (S2) comprises at least one first actuating unit (m4) and wherein the second valve section (SX) comprises at least one second actuating unit (m5), wherein the first actuating unit (m4) and the second actuating unit (m5) are connected to a movement control unit (µC2) of the first valve section electronics module (16), wherein the first actuating unit (m4) is a first solenoid or a first electromechanical drive, and wherein the second actuating unit (m5) is a second solenoid or a second electromechanical drive (see paragraph 0040)
Regarding claim 52, Heusser discloses:
wherein the first valve section electronics module (16) comprises a backbone communication unit K (see paragraph 0039)
Regarding claim 53, Heusser discloses:
wherein the second valve section (SX) comprises a movable hydraulic closing member (12), the movable hydraulic closing member (12) is a spool piston (12), wherein the second valve section electronics module (16) comprises a second position sensor (72) for monitoring a position of the closing member 12 (see paragraph 0040)
Regarding claim 54, Heusser discloses:
wherein the second position sensor (72) is connected to a secondary control unit (µC2) of the first valve section electronics module 16
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heusser in view of Altice et al. (U.S. 2013/0178093).
Regarding claim 39, Heusser discloses the invention as essentially claimed, but fails to disclose wherein the main electronics module comprises a voltage connection and a voltage regulator, wherein a supply voltage can be applied to the valve section electronics module via an electrical backbone.
Altice teaches a valve controller wherein a main electronics module (202) comprises a voltage connection and a voltage regulator (206), wherein a supply voltage can be applied to a valve section electronics module (204) via an electrical backbone (see paragraphs 0018 and 0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Heusser to provide wherein the main electronics module comprises a voltage connection and a voltage regulator, wherein a supply voltage can be applied to the valve section electronics module via an electrical backbone. Doing so would regulate the voltage to one level (see paragraph 0037), as recognized by Altice.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Arbter et al. (U.S. 2010/0211227) discloses: a hydraulic valve assembly, comprising: a connection block 14b (see paragraph 0039); at least one valve section (16, 25a, 25b, 41) hydraulically connected to the connection block 14b (see Figures 1 and 4; see paragraph 0040); a main electronics holder with a main electronics module (95) disposed therein (see paragraph 0044; see Figure 1);wherein the valve section (16, 25a, 25b, 41) comprises a valve section electronics holder (41) with a valve section electronics module (25a) disposed therein (see paragraph 0043).
/KELSEY E CARY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753