DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/08/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. GB2208111.1, filed on 05/10/2022.
Claim Objections
Claim 1, 4-6 and 12 objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to claim 1 and 6, recite “centre” change to – center--.
In regards to claim 4-5, recites “polarised” change to – polarized--.
In regard to claim 12, recite “neighbours” change to – neighbors --
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-10 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manry Jr [US 9, 099, 777 B1].
In regards to claims 1. Manry Jr discloses a dual polarized dipole structure (Fig. 1 and Column 4, in lines 6-14 and Column 6, in lines 1-20, dual polarized antenna comprising dipole elements), comprising:
a first dipole arm comprising a first dipole, and a second dipole arm comprising a second dipole, the first and second dipoles being substantially planar and being joined to each other at a feed point of the dipole structure, the feedpoint disposed at a centre of the first and second dipole arms, whereby to form a dual polarized dipole radiating element for an antenna structure (Fig. 1-2 and Column 4, in lines 6-25, first dipole arm 120A, 120C and second dipole arm 120b, 120d joint 150);
Manry Jr does not specify in Fig. 1 wherein the first dipole arm and the second dipole arm are so arranged, with respect to a square unit cell, such that the first dipole and the second dipole are orthogonal to one another and so arranged as to lie on respective diagonals of the square unit cell.
Manry Jr discloses wherein the first dipole arm and the second dipole arm are so arranged, with respect to a square unit cell, such that the first dipole and the second dipole are orthogonal to one another and so arranged as to lie on respective diagonals of the square unit cell (Fig. 3 and Fig. 5, a square unit cell is arbitrarily defined as part of an array environment such that the first dipole and second dipole are arranged to lie on diagonals of the cell see for example the cell marked below based on the array of Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Manry Jr with wherein the first dipole arm and the second dipole arm are so arranged, with respect to a square unit cell, such that the first dipole and the second dipole are orthogonal to one another and so arranged as to lie on respective diagonals of the square unit cell for purpose of forming and operate in a frequency range extending from about 300.0 MHz to 3.0 GHz, (i.e., a wavelength of about 100 cm to 10 cm) as disclosed by Manry Jr (Column 3, in lines 50-67)
In regards to claims 2. Manry Jr discloses the dual polarized dipole structure of claim 1, wherein terminal portions of the first and second dipole arms, distal the feed point, are truncated, whereby to form triangular or cut-out end portions for the first and second dipoles (Fig. 1a, the additional features terminal portions of the dipole arms 120a-120d away from the feeding points forming sharp cut-outs).
In regards to claims 4. Manry Jr discloses the dual polarised dipole structure claim 1, further comprising a ground plane, wherein the radiating element projects outwardly from the ground plane (Fig. 7 and Column 5, in lines 13-18).
In regards to claims 5. Manry Jr discloses the dual polarised dipole structure claim 1, wherein respective end portions of each of the first and second dipole arms comprise inter-capacitive regions (Fig. 3-4 and Column 4, in lines 26-34).
In regards to claims 6. Manry Jr discloses a dual polarized dipole structure (Fig. 1 and Column 4, in lines 6-14 and Column 6, in lines 1-20, dual polarized antenna comprising dipole elements), comprising:
a first dipole arm comprising a first dipole, and a second dipole arm comprising a second dipole, the first and second dipoles being substantially planar and being joined to each other at a feed point of the dipole structure, the feedpoint disposed at a centre of the first and second dipole arms, whereby to form a dual polarized dipole radiating element for an antenna structure (Fig. 1-2 and Column 4, in lines 6-25, first dipole arm 120A, 120C and second dipole arm 120b, 120d joint 150);
Manry Jr does not specify in Fig. 1 wherein the first dipole arm and the second dipole arm are so arranged, with respect to a square unit cell, such that the first dipole and the second dipole are orthogonal to one another and so arranged as to lie on respective diagonals of the square unit cell. each a dual polarized dipole structure comprises an antenna array comprising multiple unit cells, each unit cell defining a square and comprising a dual polarized dipole structure each dual polarized dipole structure defining a radiating element of the antenna array,
Manry Jr discloses wherein the first dipole arm and the second dipole arm are so arranged, with respect to a square unit cell, such that the first dipole and the second dipole are orthogonal to one another and so arranged as to lie on respective diagonals of the square unit cell (Fig. 3 and Fig. 5, a square unit cell is arbitrarily defined as part of an array environment such that the first dipole and second dipole are arranged to lie on diagonals of the cell see for example the cell marked below based on the array of Fig. 5). each a dual polarized dipole structure comprises an antenna array comprising multiple unit cells, each unit cell defining a square and comprising a dual polarized dipole structure each dual polarized dipole structure defining a radiating element of the antenna array (Fig. 3-4, Column 4, in lines 53-56),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Manry Jr with wherein the first dipole arm and the second dipole arm are so arranged, with respect to a square unit cell, such that the first dipole and the second dipole are orthogonal to one another and so arranged as to lie on respective diagonals of the square unit cell for purpose of forming and operate in a frequency range extending from about 300.0 MHz to 3.0 GHz, (i.e., a wavelength of about 100 cm to 10 cm) as disclosed by Manry Jr (Column 3, in lines 50-67)
In regards to claims 7. Manry Jr discloses the antenna array of claim 6, wherein unit cells are arranged in a regular tessellation (Fig. 3-4 and Column 4, in lines 53-56).
In regards to claims 8. Manry Jr discloses the antenna array of claim 6, wherein each unit cell comprises a feed line configured to supply a signal to a corresponding feed point of the unit cell (Fig. 3-4 and Column 4, in lines 19-25).
In regards to claims 9. Manry Jr discloses the antenna array of claim 6, further comprising a set of mutual coupling plates configured to couple dipoles in unit cells adjacent one another (Fig. 3-4 and Column 4 lines 26-34 ).
In regards to claims 10. Manry Jr discloses the antenna array of claim 9, wherein each mutual coupling plate is arranged underneath a plane of the dipoles (Fig. 3-4 and Column 4 lines 26-34 ).
In regards to claims 13. Manry Jr discloses a platform comprising the antenna array of claim 6 (Fig. 8 and Column 5, in lines 21-30).
In regards to claims 14. Manry Jr discloses the platform of claim 13, wherein at least a portion of an outer conductive surface of the platform forms a ground plane for the antenna array (Fig. 8 and Column 5, in lines 21-30).
In regards to claims 15. Manry Jr discloses a platform comprising the antenna array of claim 12 (Fig. 8 and Column 5, in lines 21-30).
In regards to claims 16. Manry Jr discloses the platform of claim 15, wherein at least a portion of an outer conductive surface of the platform forms a ground plane for the antenna array (Fig. 8 and Column 5, in lines 21-30).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manry Jr [US 9, 099, 777 B1] in view of Rawnick et al [US 2008/0246680 a1]
In regards to claims 11. Manry Jr discloses the antenna array of claim 6,
Manry Jr does not specify wherein end portions of dipoles in unit cells adjacent one another are so configured as to define inter-capacitive digits
Rawnick discloses wherein end portions of dipoles in unit cells adjacent one another are so configured as to define inter-capacitive digits (Fig. 3 and Fig. 5 and Paragraph [0034])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Manry Jr with wherein end portions of dipoles in unit cells adjacent one another are so configured as to define inter-capacitive digits for purpose of improving bandwidth as disclosed by Rawnick (Paragraph [0032]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In regards to claims 17-20, recites “such that the first dipole and the second dipole are orthogonal to one another and so arranged as to lie on respective diagonals of the square unit cell; wherein the square unit cell has side p, and wherein the first and second dipoles extend diagonally across the square unit cell such that each of the first and second dipole arms have a length of, √2p; and wherein terminal portions of the first and second dipole arms, distal the feed point, are truncated, whereby to form triangular or cut-out end portions for the first and second dipoles.” as shown in claim 17.
The claim in the application are deemed to be directed to nonobvious improvement with Rawnick et al [US 2008/0246680 A1] who teaches A phased array antenna includes a substrate that is segmented into a plurality of array tiles. An array of dipole antenna elements is formed on the substrate with each dipole antenna element positioned on a respective one of the array tiles. Each dipole antenna element includes a medial feed portion and a pair of legs extending outwardly therefrom. Adjacent legs of adjacent dipole antenna elements include respective spaced apart end portions forming a gap between the respective end portions and defined by separate tiles. A capacitor coupler is positioned at each respective spaced apart end portion of adjacent legs and bridging a gap for capacitive coupling respective spaced apart end portions of respective adjacent dipole antenna elements together.
The primary reason of allowance is improvement with such that the first dipole and the second dipole are orthogonal to one another and so arranged as to lie on respective diagonals of the square unit cell; wherein the square unit cell has side p, and wherein the first and second dipoles extend diagonally across the square unit cell such that each of the first and second dipole arms have a length of, √2p; and wherein terminal portions of the first and second dipole arms, distal the feed point, are truncated, whereby to form triangular or cut-out end portions for the first and second dipoles.
Claim 3 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
“wherein the square unit cell has side p, and wherein the first and second dipoles extend diagonally across the square unit cell such that each of the first and second dipole arms have a length of, √2p.” as shown in claim 3
“wherein each of the first and second dipole arms are coupled to three dipole arms of their respective nearest neighbours.” as shown in claim 12.
Conclusion
WEI (VICTOR) CHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844
/WEI (VICTOR) Y CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844