DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action in response to amendment filed on 8 November 2024. Claims 3, 4, 6, 7, 12, and 13 have been amended. Claim 11 has been cancelled. Claims 14-21 have been added. Claims 1-10 and 12-21 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Step 1: The claims 1-10 are a method , claims 1 is a system and claims 13-21 are medium. Thus, each independent claim, on its face, is directed to one of the statutory categories of 35 U.S.C. §101. However, the claims 1-10 and 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 2A-Prong 1: Independent claims (1 and 12) recite acquiring project management data corresponding to a target user, wherein the project management data comprises an executing user, an executing node, and a node attribute; processing the project management data based on a preset data splitting dimension to obtain at least one panel view; and generating and displaying, based on the at least one panel view, a lane view corresponding to a target view dimension.
These limitations fall within “Certain Methods Of Organizing Human Activity” for commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations). Simply put, these limitation merely describe a process from new product development and project approval to final products .., including development requirement information , product design materials, project process document etc. which is clearly a business arrangement in its purest form. Claims 2-10 and 12-21, merely provide additional abstract concepts and narrow the abstract idea
of claims 1 and 12 . Further, claims 1-10 and 12-21, are recited at such a high level that the claimed steps amount to no more than a mental processes, such as concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) because a human can generate and display based on at least one panel view.
Step 2A-Prong 2: The only additional elements in independent claim 12 is some form of electronic device. This electronic device are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., a generic processor performing a generic computer functions of processing data and generic storage soring information or data) such that it amounts no more adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to
significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of
the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using the claimed
computer systems amount to no more than “apply” a selection of content on the systems.
Further, the courts have consistently recognized that merely presenting the results of
abstract processes of collecting and analyzing information, without more (such as identifying a
particular tool for presentation), is abstract as an ancillary part of such collection and analysis.
See, e.g., Content Extraction, 776 F.3d at 1347; Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, 772 F.3d 709,
715 (Fed. Cir. 2014). Examiner asserts that “generate and display panel view..” is not a particularly tool, thus it offers no more than presenting anything that includes the content that resulted from product development and project approval by a user.
In sum, the combination of steps that acquiring data, processing data and generating and displaying are at best is doing no more than generally linking the claims to network
environment that sends and receives communications– see MPEP 2106.05(h). See also, OIP
Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir.
2015) (sending messages over a network).
TLI Communications provides an example of a claim invoking computers and other
machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process. The court stated that the claims
describe steps of recording, administration and archiving of digital images, and found them to be
directed to the abstract idea of classifying and storing digital images in an organized manner. 823
F.3d at 612, 118 USPQ2d at 1747. The court then turned to the additional elements of
performing these functions using a telephone unit and a server and noted that these elements
were being used in their ordinary capacity (i.e., the telephone unit is used to make calls and
operate as a digital camera including compressing images and transmitting those images, and the
server simply receives data, extracts classification information from the received data, and stores
the digital images based on the extracted information). 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at
1747-48.
Similarly, these claims acquiring data, processing data and generating and displaying by
invoking computer systems as tools being used in an ordinary capacity to execute the abstract
idea. Thus, these additional elements do not add significantly more to the abstract idea because
they were simply applying the abstract idea on a computer system without sufficient recitation of
details of how to carry out the abstract idea. The claims merely offer conventional computer
systems to organizing Human Activity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grosz et al (US Patent No., 8, 806,331 B2) in view of Jing et al (US Pub., 2007/0174790 A1)
With respect to claim 1, Grosz teaches a method for view generation, comprising:
acquiring project management data corresponding to a target user (Col. 3, lines 43-45, dislcies acquiring photos[project management data] to add to a project Col. 4, lines 1-4, discloses proxy-login interface that enable a user or contributor to gain access to personal account [target user] acquire access to photo avaible through the personal account, and Col. 16, lines 26-36, dislcies acquiring photos to add to a MixbookTM.., ), wherein the project management data comprises an executing user, an executing node, and a node attribute(Col. 38, lines 16-34, discloses a user like user 2901 is working a project [executing user].., hierarchical recommendation .., categories 2906, [node] include “My Stickers” [attribute]); and
processing the project management data based on a preset data splitting dimension to obtain at least one panel view(Col. 28, lines 35-40, dislcies design to emulating paneling materials, Col. 44, lines 31-44, dislcies editing interface including various editing option including an option labeled 3D for dimensional print .., the default raised level may be previewed in systyle editor visually in the preview panel [panel view]).
Grosz teaches the above elements including them-selection page 700 for selecting an initial them for a project. Theme selection page 700 includes scroll menu 701 that contains a number of themes that a user may select from for use in a project .., visible portion of the window are them for “season” including Summer, Autumn, Winter, Sprint, Saint Patrik’s day and Easter (Fig. 1, Col. 12, lines 43-56) and MixbookTM editor (MBE) user interface (UI) for editing a project in progress according to an embodiment of the present invention UI (Fig. 8, and Col. 13, lines 12-20). Grosz failed to explicitly teach the corresponding Editor is generated and displayed based on the at least one panel view, a lane view corresponding to a target view dimension.
However, Jing teaches generating and displaying, based on the at least one panel view, a lane view corresponding to a target view dimension(Figs. 11-12,, 14 discloses generate view panel and dislcis display generated panel , and paragraph [0040], discloses generates the view panel for the list view. In block 1106, the component displays the generated panel). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for editor of Grosz with a feature of generating view panel of Jing in order to a user interface system displays the search result in a cluster/
view form using a cluster panel and a view panel (see Jing, paragraph [0004])
With respect to claim 2, Grosz in view of Jing teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Grosz teaches the method wherein the data splitting dimension comprises at least one of a role dimension, a permission dimension, a progress dimension, a processing time dimension, a requirement processing quantity dimension, a business type dimension, or a duration dimension(Col. 3, 28-30, discloses login/sign-up page presented to a user as a result of interaction with introduction page).
With respect to claim 3, Grosz in view of Jing teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Grosz teaches the method , wherein processing the project management data based on the preset data ( Col. 44, lines 31-44, dislcies editing interface including various editing option including an option labeled 3D for dimensional print .., the default raised level may be previewed in systyle editor visually in the preview panel) and splitting dimension to obtain the at least one panel view comprises: splitting, based on the data splitting dimension, the project management data into at least one set of sub-data(Col. 32, lines 43-47, discloses once a width and height dimension of the viewable are for each end product in the group is established ..). Grosz failed to explicitly teach the corresponding Editor is generated the panel view based on the at least one set of sub-data.
However, Jing teaches generating the panel view based on the at least one set of sub-data
(Figs. 11-12,, 14 discloses generate view panel and dislcis display generated panel , and paragraph [0040], discloses generates the view panel for the list view. In block 1106, the component displays the generated panel). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for editor of Grosz with a feature of generating view panel of Jing in order to a user interface system displays the search result in a cluster/ view form using a cluster panel and a view panel (see Jing, paragraph [0004]).
With respect to claim 4, Grosz in view of Jing teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Grosz teaches the method wherein [[a]] the lane view corresponding to [[a]] the target view dimension comprises: generating the lane view based on a horizontal layout dimension in the target view dimension and a vertical layout dimension corresponding to the data splitting dimension(Col. 32, lines 43-47, discloses once a width and height dimension of the viewable are for each end product in the group is established ..). Grosz failed to explicitly teach the corresponding Editor is generated the panel view based on the at least one set of sub-data.
However, Jing teaches wherein generating, based on the at least one panel view (Figs. 11-12,, 14 discloses generate view panel and dislcis display generated panel , and paragraph [0040], discloses generates the view panel for the list view. In block 1106, the component displays the generated panel). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for editor of Grosz with a feature of generating view panel of Jing in order to a user interface system displays the search result in a cluster/ view form using a cluster panel and a view panel (see Jing, paragraph [0004]).
With respect to claim 5, Grosz in view of Jing teaches elements of claim 4, furthermore, Grosz teaches the method further comprising: determining, based on the data splitting dimension, at least one panel view located in a first column(Col. 23, lines 48-44, discloses determine the optimal mode of traversing the page using the single presentation window used to present the slid show …); and
displaying a corresponding horizontal layout dimension at a target position of the at least one panel view(Col. 20, lines 14-18, discloses user may grab the slider handle of the bar 1006 and move it up or down (vertical slider) or left and right (horizonal slider)) .
With respect to claim 6, Grosz in view of Jing teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Grosz teaches the method wherein the panel view comprises a functional control and a basic information display control, such that basic information corresponding to the panel view is displayed when the basic information display control is triggered(Col. 21, lines 23-26, discloses the tool will skip intermediate layers if an item is selected to “move forward” to overlap or “move backward” to hide behind another item .., Col. 22, lines 65-67, discloses an image display window of a predefined geometric configuration disposed on a project page ) and at least one of functional sub-controls for comments, follows, or chats is displayed when the functional control is triggered(Col. 26, lines 48-50, discloses a user may configured a slid show or automated presentation [functional control is triggered] of a MixbookTM that include comment such as comment 1904).
With respect to claim 7, Grosz in view of Jing teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Grosz teaches the method wherein the panel view further comprises a hide and display control, such that the panel view is displayed in a folded manner when the hide and display control is triggered(Col. 21, lines 23-26, discloses the tool will skip intermediate layers if an item is selected to “move forward” to overlap or “move backward” to hide behind another item ..).
With respect to claim 8, Grosz in view of Jing teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Grosz teaches the method further comprising: displaying a content editing page in response to detecting a control for editing a content of the panel view and updating the panel view and a display position of the panel view in the lane view according to the edited content(Col. 23, lines 23-36 discloses a phot-editing toolbar 1401, is provided.., user to make edits to photo 1408. Toolbar 1401 appears along with the sizing frame 1404 when the user selects photo 1408 for 25 editing. Toolbar 1401 contains a photo zoom interface 1402 for enlarging and reducing [update] the photo size)
With respect to claim 9, Grosz in view of Jing teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Grosz teaches the method further comprising: updating, in response to detecting a drag-and-drop operation on the panel view, a display position of the panel view in the lane view based on the drag-and-drop operation(Fig. 8, discloses drop photo here, Col. 22, lines 26-36, discloses user may grab and drag over the blended color strip to determine a best color for front and Col. 29, lines 36-45, dislcies the shape is dragged off of the sidebar and dropped on the canvas .., algorithm autotmcially sizes the shape and places it on the page ..).
With respect to claim 10 , Grosz in view of Jing teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Grosz teaches the method further comprising: determining, based on the lane view, blocked panel views with duplicated display positions to perform personnel allocation based on the blocked panel views (Col. 15, lines 19-22, discloses a page tools interface 809 is provided in UI 800 to enable simple page manipulation such as adding a blank page, duplicating an existing page, and removing an existing page from the story bord and Col. 18, lines 48-52, dislcies detect attempted duplication of a partner alias, if a partner attempts to create duplicates.., the alias will be created ).
With respect to claim 13, Grosz teaches a non-transitory storage medium comprising computer-executable instructions, when executed by computer processor (Col. 5, lines 12-20 discloses physical computers, servers, and other computing machine ) are used to:
acquire project management data corresponding to a target user (Col. 3, lines 43-45, dislcies acquiring photos[project management data] to add to a project Col. 4, lines 1-4, discloses proxy-login interface that enable a user or contributor to gain access to personal account [target user] acquire access to photo avaible through the personal account, and Col. 16, lines 26-36, dislcies acquiring photos to add to a MixbookTM.., ), wherein the project management data comprises an executing user, an executing node, and a node attribute(Col. 38, lines 16-34, discloses a user like user 2901 is working a project [executing user].., hierarchical recommendation .., categories 2906, [node] include “My Stickers” [attribute]); and
process the project management data based on a preset data splitting dimension to obtain at least one panel view(Col. 28, lines 35-40, dislcies design to emulating paneling materials, Col. 44, lines 31-44, dislcies editing interface including various editing option including an option labeled 3D for dimensional print .., the default raised level may be previewed in systyle editor visually in the preview panel [panel view]).
Grosz teaches the above elements including them-selection page 700 for selecting an initial them for a project. Theme selection page 700 includes scroll menu 701 that contains a number of themes that a user may select from for use in a project .., visible portion of the window are them for “season” including Summer, Autumn, Winter, Sprint, Saint Patrik’s day and Easter (Fig. 1, Col. 12, lines 43-56) and MixbookTM editor (MBE) user interface (UI) for editing a project in progress according to an embodiment of the present invention UI (Fig. 8, and Col. 13, lines 12-20). Grosz failed to explicitly teach the corresponding Editor is generated and displayed based on the at least one panel view, a lane view corresponding to a target view dimension.
However, Jing teaches generate and display, based on the at least one panel view, a lane view corresponding to a target view dimension(Figs. 11-12,, 14 discloses generate view panel and dislcis display generated panel , and paragraph [0040], discloses generates the view panel for the list view. In block 1106, the component displays the generated panel). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for editor of Grosz with a feature of generating view panel of Jing in order to a user interface system displays the search result in a cluster/
view form using a cluster panel and a view panel (see Jing, paragraph [0004])
With respect to claim 12, Grosz teaches an electronic device, comprising:
one or more processors; and a storage apparatus, configured to store one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, cause that one or more processors (Col. 5, lines 12-20 discloses physical computers, servers, and other computing machine ) to:
acquire project management data corresponding to a target user (Col. 3, lines 43-45, dislcies acquiring photos[project management data] to add to a project Col. 4, lines 1-4, discloses proxy-login interface that enable a user or contributor to gain access to personal account [target user] acquire access to photo avaible through the personal account, and Col. 16, lines 26-36, dislcies acquiring photos to add to a MixbookTM.., ), wherein the project management data comprises an executing user, an executing node, and a node attribute(Col. 38, lines 16-34, discloses a user like user 2901 is working a project [executing user].., hierarchical recommendation .., categories 2906, [node] include “My Stickers” [attribute]); and
process the project management data based on a preset data splitting dimension to obtain at least one panel view(Col. 28, lines 35-40, dislcies design to emulating paneling materials, Col. 44, lines 31-44, dislcies editing interface including various editing option including an option labeled 3D for dimensional print .., the default raised level may be previewed in systyle editor visually in the preview panel [panel view]).
Grosz teaches the above elements including them-selection page 700 for selecting an initial them for a project. Theme selection page 700 includes scroll menu 701 that contains a number of themes that a user may select from for use in a project .., visible portion of the window are them for “season” including Summer, Autumn, Winter, Sprint, Saint Patrik’s day and Easter (Fig. 1, Col. 12, lines 43-56) and MixbookTM editor (MBE) user interface (UI) for editing a project in progress according to an embodiment of the present invention UI (Fig. 8, and Col. 13, lines 12-20). Grosz failed to explicitly teach the corresponding Editor is generated and displayed based on the at least one panel view, a lane view corresponding to a target view dimension.
However, Jing teaches generate and display, based on the at least one panel view, a lane view corresponding to a target view dimension(Figs. 11-12,, 14 discloses generate view panel and dislcis display generated panel , and paragraph [0040], discloses generates the view panel for the list view. In block 1106, the component displays the generated panel). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for editor of Grosz with a feature of generating view panel of Jing in order to a user interface system displays the search result in a cluster/
view form using a cluster panel and a view panel (see Jing, paragraph [0004])
With respect to claim 14, Grosz in view of Jing teaches elements of claim 13, furthermore, Grosz teaches the non-transitory storage medium wherein the data splitting dimension comprises at least one of a role dimension, a permission dimension, a progress dimension, a processing time dimension, a requirement processing quantity dimension, a business type dimension, or a duration dimension(Col. 3, 28-30, discloses login/sign-up page presented to a user as a result of interaction with introduction page).
With respect to claim 15, Grosz in view of Jing teaches elements of claim 13, furthermore, Grosz teaches the non-transitory storage medium , wherein processing the project management data based on the preset data ( Col. 44, lines 31-44, dislcies editing interface including various editing option including an option labeled 3D for dimensional print .., the default raised level may be previewed in systyle editor visually in the preview panel) and splitting dimension to obtain the at least one panel view comprises: splitting, based on the data splitting dimension, the project management data into at least one set of sub-data(Col. 32, lines 43-47, discloses once a width and height dimension of the viewable are for each end product in the group is established ..). Grosz failed to explicitly teach the corresponding Editor is generated the panel view based on the at least one set of sub-data.
However, Jing teaches generating the panel view based on the at least one set of sub-data (Figs. 11-12,, 14 discloses generate view panel and disclose display generated panel , and paragraph [0040], discloses generates the view panel for the list view. In block 1106, the component displays the generated panel). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for editor of Grosz with a feature of generating view panel of Jing in order to a user interface system displays the search result in a cluster/ view form using a cluster panel and a view panel (see Jing, paragraph [0004]).
With respect to claim 16, Grosz in view of Jing teaches elements of claim 13, furthermore, Grosz teaches the non-transitory storage medium wherein [[a]] the lane view corresponding to [[a]] the target view dimension comprises: generating the lane view based on a horizontal layout dimension in the target view dimension and a vertical layout dimension corresponding to the data splitting dimension(Col. 32, lines 43-47, discloses once a width and height dimension of the viewable are for each end product in the group is established ..). Grosz failed to explicitly teach the corresponding Editor is generated the panel view based on the at least one set of sub-data.
However, Jing teaches wherein generating, based on the at least one panel view (Figs. 11-12,, 14 discloses generate view panel and dislcis display generated panel , and paragraph [0040], discloses generates the view panel for the list view. In block 1106, the component displays the generated panel). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for editor of Grosz with a feature of generating view panel of Jing in order to a user interface system displays the search result in a cluster/ view form using a cluster panel and a view panel (see Jing, paragraph [0004]).
With respect to claim 17, Grosz in view of Jing teaches elements of claim 16, furthermore, Grosz teaches the non-transitory storage medium further comprising: determining, based on the data splitting dimension, at least one panel view located in a first column(Col. 23, lines 48-44, discloses determine the optimal mode of traversing the page using the single presentation window used to present the slid show …); and
displaying a corresponding horizontal layout dimension at a target position of the at least one panel view(Col. 20, lines 14-18, discloses user may grab the slider handle of the bar 1006 and move it up or down (vertical slider) or left and right (horizonal slider)) .
With respect to claim 18, Grosz in view of Jing teaches elements of claim 13, furthermore, Grosz teaches the non-transitory storage medium wherein the panel view comprises a functional control and a basic information display control, such that basic information corresponding to the panel view is displayed when the basic information display control is triggered(Col. 21, lines 23-26, discloses the tool will skip intermediate layers if an item is selected to “move forward” to overlap or “move backward” to hide behind another item .., Col. 22, lines 65-67, discloses an image display window of a predefined geometric configuration disposed on a project page ) and at least one of functional sub-controls for comments, follows, or chats is displayed when the functional control is triggered(Col. 26, lines 48-50, discloses a user may configured a slid show or automated presentation [functional control is triggered] of a MixbookTM that include comment such as comment 1904).
With respect to claim 19, Grosz in view of Jing teaches elements of claim 13, furthermore, Grosz teaches the non-transitory storage medium wherein the panel view further comprises a hide and display control, such that the panel view is displayed in a folded manner when the hide and display control is triggered(Col. 21, lines 23-26, discloses the tool will skip intermediate layers if an item is selected to “move forward” to overlap or “move backward” to hide behind another item ..).
With respect to claim 20, Grosz in view of Jing teaches elements of claim 13, furthermore, Grosz teaches the non-transitory storage medium further comprising: displaying a content editing page in response to detecting a control for editing a content of the panel view and updating the panel view and a display position of the panel view in the lane view according to the edited content(Col. 23, lines 23-36 discloses a phot-editing toolbar 1401, is provided.., user to make edits to photo 1408. Toolbar 1401 appears along with the sizing frame 1404 when the user selects photo 1408 for 25 editing. Toolbar 1401 contains a photo zoom interface 1402 for enlarging and reducing [update] the photo size)
With respect to claim 21, Grosz in view of Jing teaches elements of claim 13, furthermore, Grosz teaches the non-transitory storage medium further comprising: updating, in response to detecting a drag-and-drop operation on the panel view, a display position of the panel view in the lane view based on the drag-and-drop operation(Fig. 8, discloses drop photo here, Col. 22, lines 26-36, discloses user may grab and drag over the blended color strip to determine a best color for front and Col. 29, lines 36-45, dislcies the shape is dragged off of the sidebar and dropped on the canvas .., algorithm autotmcially sizes the shape and places it on the page ..).
Prior arts:
Grosz et al (US Patent No., 8, 806,331 B2) discloses a system for creating and editing image and or text-based projects includes a server connected to a data network, the server having access to a digital medium containing an executable graphics user interface (GUI) accessible by computer browser, at least one data repository residing on the network, the repository accessible to the server, the repository containing images, and product-related graphics, a print configuration engine implemented in software residing on and executable from the digital medium or another accessible medium,
Jing et al (US Pub., 2007/0174790 A1) discloses a method and system for providing a user interface for presenting images of clusters of an image search result is provided. The user interface system displays the search result in a cluster/view form using a cluster panel and a view panel. The cluster panel contains a cluster area for each cluster. The view panel may contain thumbnails of images of the search result in a list view or a mix view. When a user selects a cluster area from the cluster panel, the user interface system displays a list view of thumbnails for that cluster in the view panel.
Conclusion
/SABA DAGNEW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621