DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-12, and 16-25 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits: This application is a 371 of PCT/CN2022/091704 filed 05/09/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 11/8/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Notice re prior art available under both pre-AIA and AIA
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10-11 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da Silva et al. (US Pub. No.: 2023/0236776319607), and further in view of Hong (US Pub. No.: 2023/0292092).
As per claim 1, Da Silva disclose A medium access control (MAC) layer instance (see Fig.4-6, an exemplary DL MAC PDU. A MAC Service Data Unit (SDU), see para. 0107-0110) configured to perform operations comprising:
determining to transmit a first MAC control element (MAC CE) (see para. 0107-0110, the Logical Channel ID (LCID) field identifies the logical channel instance of the corresponding MAC SDU or the type of the corresponding MAC CE as described in the tables above for the Downlink Shared Channel (DL-SCH), there is one LCID field per MAC subheader, determining to transmit a first MAC control element (MAC CE));
constructing a MAC sub protocol data unit (sub-PDU) including a MAC sub-header and a payload including the first MAC CE (see para. 0107-0110, tables 6.2.1-3a, 6.2.1-b 6.2.1-2a and 6.2.1-2b, the Logical Channel ID (LCID) field identifies the logical channel instance of the corresponding MAC SDU or the type of the corresponding MAC CE as described in the tables above for the Downlink Shared Channel (DL-SCH). There is one LCID field per MAC subheader. The LCID field size is 6 bits. If the LCID field is set to 34, one additional octet is present in the MAC subheader containing the eLCID field and follow the octet containing LCID field. If the LCID field is set to 33, two additional octets are present in the MAC subheader containing the eLCID field and these two additional octets follow the octet containing LCID field; The extended Logical Channel ID (eLCID) field identifies the logical channel instance of the corresponding MAC SDU or the type of the corresponding MAC CE as described in tables tables 6.2.1-3a, 6.2.1-b 6.2.1-2a and 6.2.1-2b for the DL-SCH and UL-SCH respectively. The size of the eLCID field is either 8 bits or 16 bits. The Length (L) field indicates the length of the corresponding MAC SDU or variable sized MAC CE in bytes. There is one L field per MAC subheader except for subheaders corresponding to fixed-sized MAC CEs, padding, and MAC SDUs containing UL CCCH. The size of the L field is indicated by the Format (F) field. There is one F field per MAC subheader except for subheaders corresponding to fixed-sized MAC CEs, padding, and MAC SDUs containing UL CCCH. The size of the F field is 1 bit, with O indicating Length of 8 bits and 1 indicating Length of 16 bits. Figure 6 shows an exemplary MAC subheader for a variable sized MAC CE with 8-bit L field. Finally, the Reserved (R) bit is set to 0 / constructing a MAC sub protocol data unit (sub-PDU) including a MAC sub-header and a payload); and
mapping the MAC sub-PDU to a transport block (TB) for transmission on a physical (PHY) layer (see Fig.4, para. 0091-0093, the MAC layer provides mapping between LCHs and PHY transport channels, LCH prioritization, multiplexing into or demultiplexing from transport blocks (TBs), hybrid ARQ (HARQ) error correction, and dynamic scheduling (on gNB side). The PHY layer provides transport channel services to the MAC layer and handles transfer over the NR radio interface, e.g., via modulation, coding, antenna mapping, and beam forming / mapping the MAC sub-PDU to a transport block (TB) for transmission on a physical (PHY) layer).
Although Da Silva disclose the extended Logical Channel ID (LCID) field identifies the logical channel instance of the corresponding MAC SDU or the type of the corresponding MAC CE as described in tables 6.2.1-3a, 6.2.1-b 6.2.1-2a and 6.2.1-2b for the DL-SCH and UL-SCH respectively. The size of the eLCID field is either 8 bits or 16 bits.
Da Silva however does not explicitly disclose indicating, in the MAC sub-header, a logical channel identifier (LCID) value that identifies a first group of MAC CEs categorized based on a feature, the first group of MAC CEs including the first MAC CE.
Hong however disclose indicating, in the MAC sub-header, a logical channel identifier (LCID) value (see Fig,16, para. 0208-0214, a MAC sub-header indicating a logical channel identifier (LCID) value) that identifies a first group of MAC CEs categorized based on a feature, the first group of MAC CEs including the first MAC CE (see Fig.15, Fig.6, para. 0120-0124, 0134, 0153, 0177-0184, 0186-0192, 0209-0214, a new MAC subheader is defined to be distinct from the MAC subheader included in the existing DL-SCH and transmitted on the MBCH, the corresponding MAC subheader include one or more fields of the MBS QoS flow identifier, MBS session identification information, MBS radio bearer identification information, logical channel identification information, length, G-RNTI, and information for indicating transmission/reception of data with MBS traffic logical channels associated with the MBS radio bearer differentiated using the separated LCID space value independent/distinct from the LCID space for DL-SCH. Or, the MAC subheader may include code information obtained by mapping/coding any information described above. The MBS session data transmission is provided only on downlink. The UE may differentiate the MBS session data based on the information included in the MAC subheader for the received MAC PDU and transmit it to the higher layer / indicating, in the MAC sub-header, a logical channel identifier (LCID) value that identifies a first group of MAC CEs categorized based on a feature, the first group of MAC CEs including the first MAC CE).
Examine Note: Instant published specification disclose, see paragraph 0006, “Still further exemplary embodiments are related to a medium access control (MAC) layer instance configured to perform operations. The operations include determining to transmit a first MAC control element (MAC CE), constructing a MAC sub protocol data unit (sub-PDU) including a MAC sub-header and a payload including the first MAC CE, indicating, in the MAC sub-header, a group identifier (group ID) identifying a first group of MAC CEs in an extended LCID (eLCID) space, the first group of MAC CEs including the first MAC CE and mapping the MAC sub-PDU to a transport block (TB) for transmission on a physical (PHY) layer.”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of indicating, in the MAC sub-header, a logical channel identifier (LCID) value that identifies a first group of MAC CEs categorized based on a feature, the first group of MAC CEs including the first MAC CE, as taught by Hong, in the system of Da Silva, so as to enable a UE to effectively receives and processes MBS data, see Hong, paragraphs 7-11.
As per claim 10, the combination of Da Silva and Hong disclose the MAC layer instance of claim 1.
Da Silva further disclose wherein the first group of MAC CEs are included within an extended LCID (eLCID) group (see para. 0107-0110, tables 6.2.1-3a, 6.2.1-b 6.2.1-2a and 6.2.1-2b, a first group of MAC CEs are included within an extended LCID (eLCID) group).
Hong further disclose wherein the first group of MAC CEs are included within an extended LCID (eLCID) group (see para. 0192, the logical channel identifier may be set to use 1-octet/2-octet extended LCID (eLCID) on the DL-SCH, the base station differentiates and transmits the data belonging to the MBS session using a different RNTI for each MBS QoS flow).
As per claim 11, Da Silva disclose A medium access control (MAC) layer instance (see Fig.4-6, an exemplary DL MAC PDU. A MAC Service Data Unit (SDU), see para. 0107-0110) configured to perform operations comprising:
determining to transmit a first MAC control element (MAC CE) (see para. 0107-0110, the Logical Channel ID (LCID) field identifies the logical channel instance of the corresponding MAC SDU or the type of the corresponding MAC CE as described in the tables above for the Downlink Shared Channel (DL-SCH), there is one LCID field per MAC subheader, determining to transmit a first MAC control element (MAC CE));
constructing a MAC sub protocol data unit (sub-PDU) including a MAC sub-header and a payload including the first MAC CE (see para. 0107-0110, tables 6.2.1-3a, 6.2.1-b 6.2.1-2a and 6.2.1-2b, the Logical Channel ID (LCID) field identifies the logical channel instance of the corresponding MAC SDU or the type of the corresponding MAC CE as described in the tables above for the Downlink Shared Channel (DL-SCH). There is one LCID field per MAC subheader. The LCID field size is 6 bits. If the LCID field is set to 34, one additional octet is present in the MAC subheader containing the eLCID field and follow the octet containing LCID field. If the LCID field is set to 33, two additional octets are present in the MAC subheader containing the eLCID field and these two additional octets follow the octet containing LCID field; The extended Logical Channel ID (eLCID) field identifies the logical channel instance of the corresponding MAC SDU or the type of the corresponding MAC CE as described in tables tables 6.2.1-3a, 6.2.1-b 6.2.1-2a and 6.2.1-2b for the DL-SCH and UL-SCH respectively. The size of the eLCID field is either 8 bits or 16 bits. The Length (L) field indicates the length of the corresponding MAC SDU or variable sized MAC CE in bytes. There is one L field per MAC subheader except for subheaders corresponding to fixed-sized MAC CEs, padding, and MAC SDUs containing UL CCCH. The size of the L field is indicated by the Format (F) field. There is one F field per MAC subheader except for subheaders corresponding to fixed-sized MAC CEs, padding, and MAC SDUs containing UL CCCH. The size of the F field is 1 bit, with O indicating Length of 8 bits and 1 indicating Length of 16 bits. Figure 6 shows an exemplary MAC subheader for a variable sized MAC CE with 8-bit L field. Finally, the Reserved (R) bit is set to 0 / constructing a MAC sub protocol data unit (sub-PDU) including a MAC sub-header and a payload); and
mapping the MAC sub-PDU to a transport block (TB) for transmission on a physical (PHY) layer (see Fig.4, para. 0091-0093, the MAC layer provides mapping between LCHs and PHY transport channels, LCH prioritization, multiplexing into or demultiplexing from transport blocks (TBs), hybrid ARQ (HARQ) error correction, and dynamic scheduling (on gNB side). The PHY layer provides transport channel services to the MAC layer and handles transfer over the NR radio interface, e.g., via modulation, coding, antenna mapping, and beam forming / mapping the MAC sub-PDU to a transport block (TB) for transmission on a physical (PHY) layer).
Although Da Silva disclose the extended Logical Channel ID (LCID) field identifies the logical channel instance of the corresponding MAC SDU or the type of the corresponding MAC CE as described in tables 6.2.1-3a, 6.2.1-b 6.2.1-2a and 6.2.1-2b for the DL-SCH and UL-SCH respectively. The size of the eLCID field is either 8 bits or 16 bits.
Da Silva however does not explicitly disclose indicating, in the MAC sub-header, a value of a Reserved (R) bit that identifies a first set of logical channel identifier (LCID) tables or a second set of LCID tables used to determine a logical channel or MAC CE identity from an LCID value included in the MAC sub-header.
Hong however disclose indicating, in the MAC sub-header, a value of a Reserved (R) bit (see Fig,14, para. 0173, 0189, 0208-0214, Referring to FIG. 14, 0 / a value of a Reserved (R) bit, is used as the LCID value for DL-SCH, 1-32 are used as the logical channel identifier of the radio bearer, and 33 or 34 is used to use the extended logical channel ID. Since the LCID is also used to distinguish various MAC CEs, only 12 values (35-46) are currently reserved among 6-bit values (0 to 63)) indicating, in the MAC sub-header, a value of a Reserved (R) bit that identifies a first set of logical channel identifier (LCID) tables or a second set of LCID tables used to determine a logical channel or MAC CE identity from an LCID value included in the MAC sub-header (see Fig.15, Fig.6, para. 0120-0124, 0134, 0153, 0177-0184, 0186-0192, 0209-0214, a new MAC subheader is defined to be distinct from the MAC subheader included in the existing DL-SCH and transmitted on the MBCH, the corresponding MAC subheader include one or more fields of the MBS QoS flow identifier, MBS session identification information, MBS radio bearer identification information, logical channel identification information, length, G-RNTI, and information for indicating transmission/reception of data with MBS traffic logical channels associated with the MBS radio bearer differentiated using the separated LCID space value independent/distinct from the LCID space for DL-SCH. Or, the MAC subheader may include code information obtained by mapping/coding any information described above. The MBS session data transmission is provided only on downlink. The UE may differentiate the MBS session data based on the information included in the MAC subheader for the received MAC PDU and transmit it to the higher layer / indicating, in the MAC sub-header, a logical channel identifier (LCID) value that identifies a first group of MAC CEs categorized based on a feature, the first group of MAC CEs including the first MAC CE).
Examine Note: Instant published specification disclose, see paragraph 0006, “Still further exemplary embodiments are related to a medium access control (MAC) layer instance configured to perform operations. The operations include determining to transmit a first MAC control element (MAC CE), constructing a MAC sub protocol data unit (sub-PDU) including a MAC sub-header and a payload including the first MAC CE, indicating, in the MAC sub-header, a group identifier (group ID) identifying a first group of MAC CEs in an extended LCID (eLCID) space, the first group of MAC CEs including the first MAC CE and mapping the MAC sub-PDU to a transport block (TB) for transmission on a physical (PHY) layer.”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of indicating, in the MAC sub-header, a value of a Reserved (R) bit that identifies a first set of logical channel identifier (LCID) tables or a second set of LCID tables used to determine a logical channel or MAC CE identity from an LCID value included in the MAC sub-header, as taught by Hong, in the system of Da Silva, so as to enable a UE to effectively receives and processes MBS data, see Hong, paragraphs 7-11.
As per claim 22, Da Silva disclose A medium access control (MAC) layer instance (see Fig.4-6, an exemplary DL MAC PDU. A MAC Service Data Unit (SDU), see para. 0107-0110) configured to perform operations comprising:
determining to transmit a first MAC control element (MAC CE) (see para. 0107-0110, the Logical Channel ID (LCID) field identifies the logical channel instance of the corresponding MAC SDU or the type of the corresponding MAC CE as described in the tables above for the Downlink Shared Channel (DL-SCH), there is one LCID field per MAC subheader, determining to transmit a first MAC control element (MAC CE));
constructing a MAC sub protocol data unit (sub-PDU) including a MAC sub-header and a payload including the first MAC CE (see para. 0107-0110, tables 6.2.1-3a, 6.2.1-b 6.2.1-2a and 6.2.1-2b, the Logical Channel ID (LCID) field identifies the logical channel instance of the corresponding MAC SDU or the type of the corresponding MAC CE as described in the tables above for the Downlink Shared Channel (DL-SCH). There is one LCID field per MAC subheader. The LCID field size is 6 bits. If the LCID field is set to 34, one additional octet is present in the MAC subheader containing the eLCID field and follow the octet containing LCID field. If the LCID field is set to 33, two additional octets are present in the MAC subheader containing the eLCID field and these two additional octets follow the octet containing LCID field; The extended Logical Channel ID (eLCID) field identifies the logical channel instance of the corresponding MAC SDU or the type of the corresponding MAC CE as described in tables tables 6.2.1-3a, 6.2.1-b 6.2.1-2a and 6.2.1-2b for the DL-SCH and UL-SCH respectively. The size of the eLCID field is either 8 bits or 16 bits. The Length (L) field indicates the length of the corresponding MAC SDU or variable sized MAC CE in bytes. There is one L field per MAC subheader except for subheaders corresponding to fixed-sized MAC CEs, padding, and MAC SDUs containing UL CCCH. The size of the L field is indicated by the Format (F) field. There is one F field per MAC subheader except for subheaders corresponding to fixed-sized MAC CEs, padding, and MAC SDUs containing UL CCCH. The size of the F field is 1 bit, with O indicating Length of 8 bits and 1 indicating Length of 16 bits. Figure 6 shows an exemplary MAC subheader for a variable sized MAC CE with 8-bit L field. Finally, the Reserved (R) bit is set to 0 / constructing a MAC sub protocol data unit (sub-PDU) including a MAC sub-header and a payload); and
mapping the MAC sub-PDU to a transport block (TB) for transmission on a physical (PHY) layer (see Fig.4, para. 0091-0093, the MAC layer provides mapping between LCHs and PHY transport channels, LCH prioritization, multiplexing into or demultiplexing from transport blocks (TBs), hybrid ARQ (HARQ) error correction, and dynamic scheduling (on gNB side). The PHY layer provides transport channel services to the MAC layer and handles transfer over the NR radio interface, e.g., via modulation, coding, antenna mapping, and beam forming / mapping the MAC sub-PDU to a transport block (TB) for transmission on a physical (PHY) layer).
Although Da Silva disclose the extended Logical Channel ID (LCID) field identifies the logical channel instance of the corresponding MAC SDU or the type of the corresponding MAC CE as described in tables 6.2.1-3a, 6.2.1-b 6.2.1-2a and 6.2.1-2b for the DL-SCH and UL-SCH respectively. The size of the eLCID field is either 8 bits or 16 bits.
Da Silva however does not explicitly disclose indicating, in the MAC sub-header, a group identifier (group ID) identifying a first group of MAC CEs in an extended LCID (eLCID) space, the first group of MAC CEs including the first MAC CE.
Hong however disclose indicating, in the MAC sub-header, a group identifier (group ID) (see Fig,16, para. 0185, 0208-0214, the MBS session data is transmitted with a new MAC subheader distinct from the existing MAC subheader, on the DL-SCH. Or, the MBS session data may be transmitted, with a specific value designated in any field included in the typical MAC subheader. The corresponding MAC subheader may include one or more fields of the MBS QoS flow identifier, MBS service/session identification information, MBS radio bearer identification information, logical channel identification information, length, G-RNTI, and information for indicating transmission/reception of data with MBS traffic logical channels associated with the MBS radio bearer differentiated using the separated LCID space (value) distinct from the LCID space (value) for DL-SCH. Or, the MAC subheader may include code information obtained by mapping/coding any information / a group identifier (group ID)) identifying a first group of MAC CEs in an extended LCID (eLCID) space, the first group of MAC CEs including the first MAC CE (see Fig.15, Fig.6, para. 0120-0124, 0134, 0153, 0177-0184, 0186-0192, 0209-0214, a new MAC subheader is defined to be distinct from the MAC subheader included in the existing DL-SCH and transmitted on the MBCH, the corresponding MAC subheader include one or more fields of the MBS QoS flow identifier, MBS session identification information, MBS radio bearer identification information, logical channel identification information, length, G-RNTI, and information for indicating transmission/reception of data with MBS traffic logical channels associated with the MBS radio bearer differentiated using the separated LCID space value independent/distinct from the LCID space for DL-SCH. Or, the MAC subheader may include code information obtained by mapping/coding any information described above. The MBS session data transmission is provided only on downlink. The UE may differentiate the MBS session data based on the information included in the MAC subheader for the received MAC PDU and transmit it to the higher layer / indicating, in the MAC sub-header, a logical channel identifier (LCID) value that identifies a first group of MAC CEs categorized based on a feature, the first group of MAC CEs including the first MAC CE).
Examine Note: Instant published specification disclose, see paragraph 0006, “Still further exemplary embodiments are related to a medium access control (MAC) layer instance configured to perform operations. The operations include determining to transmit a first MAC control element (MAC CE), constructing a MAC sub protocol data unit (sub-PDU) including a MAC sub-header and a payload including the first MAC CE, indicating, in the MAC sub-header, a group identifier (group ID) identifying a first group of MAC CEs in an extended LCID (eLCID) space, the first group of MAC CEs including the first MAC CE and mapping the MAC sub-PDU to a transport block (TB) for transmission on a physical (PHY) layer.”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of indicating, in the MAC sub-header, a group identifier (group ID) identifying a first group of MAC CEs in an extended LCID (eLCID) space, the first group of MAC CEs including the first MAC CE, as taught by Hong, in the system of Da Silva, so as to enable a UE to effectively receives and processes MBS data, see Hong, paragraphs 7-11.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-8, 12, 16-21 and 23-25 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bergquist (US Pub. No.:2020/0137798) – see Fig.7, para. 0096-0098, “In this example, the header 704 is a MAC subheader 705. In some examples of this example, the subheader 704 for a CCCH SDU with fixed size may consist of the following fields: [0097] LCID 706: The Logical Channel ID field with a fixed LCID value X in the range 000000-111111, e.g. 000000, used to indicate CCCH access with a fixed size SDU. In this example, the value in the LCID field 706 is the first indicator 707. [0098] R: Reserved bit, set to “0”. As depicted in panel a), there is a first R field 708, and a second R field 709”.
Xu (US Pub. No.:2020/0146062) – see Fig.2A, para. 097-0198, “services and functions of a MAC sublayer may comprise mapping between logical channels and transport channels, multiplexing/demultiplexing of MAC Service Data Units (SDUs) belonging to one or different logical channels into/from Transport Blocks (TBs) delivered to/from the PHY layer, scheduling information reporting, error correction through Hybrid Automatic Repeat request (HARQ) (e.g. one HARQ entity per carrier in case of Carrier Aggregation (CA)), priority handling between UEs by means of dynamic scheduling, priority handling between logical channels of one wireless device by means of logical channel prioritization, and/or padding. A MAC entity may support one or multiple numerologies and/or transmission timings. In an example, mapping restrictions in a logical channel prioritization may control which numerology and/or transmission timing a logical channel may use.”.
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469