DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 23-26, 28, 29 and 32-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorny et al. (US PG Pub. 20190171095) in view of Koga et al. (US PG Pub. 20060050248).
Regarding claims 1, 32 and 35, Gorny discloses a laser projector system (Projector 200 comprises a light source—in this example, light source 202 is a bank of laser light sources (e.g., red, green and blue laser light) in which may be transmitted along light fibers 204r, g and b of fig. 2), comprising:
an opto-mechanical attenuator (set of irises 206r, g and b of fig. 2) configured to variably attenuate source light directed to an optical output thereof, wherein the source light is a laser beam (para. 0034; light source 202 is a bank of laser light sources (e.g., red, green and blue laser light));
an optical modulator (first modulator 210 of fig. 2) configured to generate spatially modulated light by modulating illumination light received from the optical output (from the output of the integrating rod 208 of fig. 2), said modulating being performed in accordance with image data representing a sequence of image frames, each of the image frames having a constant time duration (para. 0035; three DMD arrays (or alternatively, a three chip DLP assembly) respectively, as the optical components may split the incoming white light into its spectral components (e.g. red, green and blue respectively). As examples of other embodiments to FIGS. 1 and 2, a second modulator (not shown—but similar to 110 and/or 210) may thereafter affect another desired modulation (under control from controller 201) of light); and
first optics configured to optically couple the optical output to the optical modulator (integrating rod 208 of fig. 2) and further configured to project the spatially modulated light (projector optics 214 of fig. 2), thereby projecting the sequence of image frames, wherein the first optics includes an integrator rod (208) optically between the optical output and the optical modulator (illustrated in fig. 2), the integrator rod (208) having an output end facet configured to direct the illumination light toward the optical modulator (illustrated in fig. 2),
wherein the opto-mechanical attenuator (206) comprises a motion actuator (para. 0031; Iris 106 may (under control from controller 101) may expand and/or constrict the amount of light); and
a variable portion of the source light to change an optical power of the illumination light from a first fixed power level to a second fixed power level in a time shorter than the constant time duration (para. 0054; By providing histograms for each scene, a suitable method may allow for illumination sources to have adjustment profiles which may implement abrupt changes in addition to removing the need to delay and analyze the content.).
Gorny fails to teach wherein one or more reflective surfaces movable by the motion actuator to reflect away from the optical modulator, and wherein the one or more reflective surfaces are shaped such that approximately the same spatial homogeneity of the illumination light within the output end facet is maintained at the first fixed power level and at the second fixed power level.
Koga discloses a projection apparatus wherein one or more reflective surfaces (diaphragm blades 11a and 11b of 2A and 2B) movable by the motion actuator to reflect away (para. 0104; Material having high reflectivity such as bright aluminum (which has a reflectivity of ~88-95%) or material whose surface is plated with a material such as chrome having high reflectivity is preferably used at diaphragm blades 11 and 21) from the optical modulator (liquid crystal panel 55 of fig. 1), and wherein the one or more reflective surfaces are shaped such that approximately the same spatial homogeneity of the illumination light within the output end facet is maintained at the first fixed power level and at the second fixed power level (illustrated in figs. 5A and 5B; the blades 11a and 11b have the same illumination shape but different power levels).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify laser projection device of Gorny with the reflective blades of Koga in order to prevent heat transfer to a driving section of the diaphragm mechanism (Koga; para. 0104).
Regarding claim 2, Gorny discloses a laser projector system (Projector 200 comprises a light source—in this example, light source 202 is a bank of laser light sources (e.g., red, green and blue laser light) in which may be transmitted along light fibers 204r, g and b of fig. 2), comprising: an opto-mechanical attenuator (set of irises 206r, g and b of fig. 2) configured to variably attenuate source light directed to an optical output thereof, wherein the source light is a laser beam (para. 0034; light source 202 is a bank of laser light sources (e.g., red, green and blue laser light)).
Gorny fails to explicitly teach a difference between the first power level and second fixed power level is at least 90% of unattenuated optical power at the optical output; however, Gorny does teach that the iris 206 may expand or constrict the amount of light in the path to desirably affect (para. 0031); therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify projection device of Gorny stopping down the iris until the power is at least 90% in order to achieve a desired illuminance levels.
Regarding claims 23 and 24, Gorny discloses a laser projector system (Projector 200 comprises a light source—in this example, light source 202 is a bank of laser light sources (e.g., red, green and blue laser light) in which may be transmitted along light fibers 204r, g and b of fig. 2), comprising: an opto-mechanical attenuator (set of irises 206r, g and b of fig. 2) configured to variably attenuate source light directed to an optical output thereof, wherein the source light is a laser beam (para. 0034; light source 202 is a bank of laser light sources (e.g., red, green and blue laser light)).
Gorny fails to teach wherein the constant time duration is approximately 20 ms or approximately 40 ms.
Koga discloses wherein the constant time duration is approximately 20 ms or approximately 40 ms (para. 0106; voice coil motor can work at a speed of response of 1/30 msec sufficiently, and thereby following luminance fluctuation of a moving image…therefore, Koga is capable of the listed speeds when brightness of the projected image changes continuously (para. 0086)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the laser projector of Gorny with the motor of Koga in order to achieve the high dynamic ranges can be performed without deteriorating quality of a moving image (Koga; para. 0106).
Regarding claim 25, Gorny discloses a laser projector system (Projector 200 comprises a light source—in this example, light source 202 is a bank of laser light sources (e.g., red, green and blue laser light) in which may be transmitted along light fibers 204r, g and b of fig. 2), comprising: an opto-mechanical attenuator (set of irises 206r, g and b of fig. 2) configured to variably attenuate source light directed to an optical output thereof, wherein the source light is a laser beam (para. 0034; light source 202 is a bank of laser light sources (e.g., red, green and blue laser light)).
Gorny fails to teach wherein the opto-mechanical attenuator further comprises a holder rotatably connected to a stationary base, the holder having mounted thereon at least one mirror having the one or more reflective surfaces; and wherein the motion actuator is configured to rotate the holder with respect to the stationary base to vary said variable portion.
Koga discloses wherein the opto-mechanical attenuator (diaphragm mechanism 20 of fig. 11A) further comprises a holder (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 12 below) rotatably connected to a stationary base, the holder having mounted thereon at least one mirror having the one or more reflective surfaces (the diaphragm blades 21a and 21b are highly reflective; para. 0104); and wherein the motion actuator (not explicitly shown; however, disclosed in para. 0099; diaphragm blades 21a and 21b are coupled with each other by gears 22a and 22b, linked with a motor (not shown) and move) is configured to rotate the holder with respect to the stationary base to vary said variable portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the laser projector of Gorny with the motor of Koga in order to achieve the high dynamic ranges can be performed without deteriorating quality of a moving image (Koga; para. 0106).
Regarding claim 26, Gorny discloses a laser projector system (Projector 200 comprises a light source—in this example, light source 202 is a bank of laser light sources (e.g., red, green and blue laser light) in which may be transmitted along light fibers 204r, g and b of fig. 2), comprising: an opto-mechanical attenuator (set of irises 206r, g and b of fig. 2) configured to variably attenuate source light directed to an optical output thereof, wherein the source light is a laser beam (para. 0034; light source 202 is a bank of laser light sources (e.g., red, green and blue laser light)).
Gorny fails to teach wherein the opto-mechanical attenuator further comprises an optical carriage translatable along a stationary optical rail, the optical carriage having mounted thereon an optical aperture having the one or more reflective surfaces; and wherein the motion actuator is configured to translate the optical carriage along the stationary optical rail to vary said variable portion.
Koga discloses wherein the opto-mechanical attenuator (apparatus of fig. 2A and 2B) further comprises an optical carriage translatable along a stationary optical rail (frame 12 of fig. 2A and 2B), the optical carriage (12) having mounted thereon an optical aperture (diaphragm wings 11a and 11b of fig. 2A and 2B) having the one or more reflective surfaces (para. 0104; Material having high reflectivity such as bright aluminum or material whose surface is plated with a material such as chrome having high reflectivity is preferably used at diaphragm blades 11 and 21); and wherein the motion actuator (motor 15 of fig. 2A) is configured to translate the optical carriage along the stationary optical rail to vary said variable portion (shown in fig. 2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the laser projector of Gorny with the motor of Koga in order to achieve the high dynamic ranges can be performed without deteriorating quality of a moving image (Koga; para. 0106).
Regarding claims 28 and 29, Gorny discloses a laser projector system (Projector 200 comprises a light source—in this example, light source 202 is a bank of laser light sources (e.g., red, green and blue laser light) in which may be transmitted along light fibers 204r, g and b of fig. 2), comprising: an opto-mechanical attenuator (set of irises 206r, g and b of fig. 2) configured to variably attenuate source light directed to an optical output thereof, wherein the source light is a laser beam (para. 0034; light source 202 is a bank of laser light sources (e.g., red, green and blue laser light)).
Gorny fails to teach wherein one of the one or more reflective surfaces has an opening therein having a shape of: a tapered slot; two or more circles of different respective diameters; a rhombus; or a stepped polygon.
Koga discloses wherein one of the one or more reflective surfaces has an opening therein having a shape of: a tapered slot; two or more circles of different respective diameters; a rhombus; or a stepped polygon edge cutout (illustrated in fig. 2B stepped polygon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the laser projector of Gorny with the motor of Koga in order to achieve the high dynamic ranges can be performed without deteriorating quality of a moving image (Koga; para. 0106).
Regarding claim 33, Gorny discloses a laser projector system (Projector 200 comprises a light source—in this example, light source 202 is a bank of laser light sources (e.g., red, green and blue laser light) in which may be transmitted along light fibers 204r, g and b of fig. 2), comprising: an opto-mechanical attenuator (set of irises 206r, g and b of fig. 2) configured to variably attenuate source light directed to an optical output thereof, wherein the source light is a laser beam (para. 0034; light source 202 is a bank of laser light sources (e.g., red, green and blue laser light)).
Gorny fails to teach further comprising: a photodetector configured to generate an electrical signal responsive to changes of the optical power; and an electronic controller configured to control attenuation of the source light in the opto-mechanical attenuator based on the electrical signal.
Koga discloses further comprising: a photodetector (brightness detecting apparatus 17 of fig. 2A) configured to generate an electrical signal responsive to changes of the optical power; and an electronic controller configured to control attenuation of the source light in the opto-mechanical attenuator based on the electrical signal (para. 0049-0050; Brightness detecting apparatus 17 detects brightness of an image to be projected. Brightness detecting apparatus 17 detects luminance of the frame from an input video signal, calculates an average value of the luminance of the frame, and sends a control signal of a rotation angle of motor 15 to motor controller 16.
[0050] Motor controller 16 drives motor 15 based on the received control signal, and moves diaphragm blades to certain positions. Diaphragm blades 11a and 11b are driven by motor 15 in such a manner that an area of opening 13 becomes large when a bright image is projected and an area of opening 13 becomes small when a dark image is projected. Thus, high dynamic ranges can be performed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the laser projector of Gorny with the motor of Koga in order to achieve the high dynamic ranges can be performed without deteriorating quality of a moving image (Koga; para. 0106).
Regarding claim 34; Gorny discloses wherein the electronic controller (201) is further configured to control the optical modulator in accordance with the image data (para. 0035; three DMD arrays (or alternatively, a three chip DLP assembly) respectively, as the optical components may split the incoming white light into its spectral components (e.g. red, green and blue respectively). As examples of other embodiments to FIGS. 1 and 2, a second modulator (not shown—but similar to 110 and/or 210) may thereafter affect another desired modulation (under control from controller 201) of light—such that, when projected through projector optics 214 may affect a desired projected image on a screen (not shown) to one or more viewers).
Claim(s) 27 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorny et al. (US PG Pub. 20190171095) and Koga et al. (US PG Pub. 20060050248) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kato (US PG Pub. 20090073530).
Regarding claim 27, Gorny as modified by Koga discloses a laser projector system (Projector 200 comprises a light source—in this example, light source 202 is a bank of laser light sources (e.g., red, green and blue laser light) in which may be transmitted along light fibers 204r, g and b of fig. 2), comprising: an opto-mechanical attenuator (set of irises 206r, g and b of fig. 2) configured to variably attenuate source light directed to an optical output thereof, wherein the source light is a laser beam (para. 0034; light source 202 is a bank of laser light sources (e.g., red, green and blue laser light)), and wherein the one or more reflective surfaces are configured to reflect portions of the optical beam (the irises of fig. 2 reflect a portion of the beam when they are constricted).
Gorny as modified by Koga fails to teach wherein the one or more reflective surfaces include an approximately conical reflective surface.
Kato discloses an image forming apparatus wherein the one or more reflective surfaces include an approximately conical reflective surface (illustrated in fig. 9B the aperture members 458A and 458B feature a conical shape).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the laser projection device of Gorny and Koga with the conical shaped aperture of Kato in order to reduce or prevent reflection of stray light at the inner walls defining the apertures 458A, 458B.
Regarding claim 31, Gorny as modified by Koga discloses a laser projector system (Projector 200 comprises a light source—in this example, light source 202 is a bank of laser light sources (e.g., red, green and blue laser light) in which may be transmitted along light fibers 204r, g and b of fig. 2), comprising: an opto-mechanical attenuator (set of irises 206r, g and b of fig. 2) configured to variably attenuate source light directed to an optical output thereof, wherein the source light is a laser beam (para. 0034; light source 202 is a bank of laser light sources (e.g., red, green and blue laser light)), and wherein the one or more reflective surfaces are configured to reflect portions of the optical beam (the irises of fig. 2 reflect a portion of the beam when they are constricted).
Gorny as modified by Koga fails to teach further comprising second optics configured to generate a focused optical beam by focusing the source light; and wherein the one or more reflective surfaces are configured to reflect portions of the focused optical beam.
Kato discloses further comprising second optics (cylindrical lens 57 of fig. 8) configured to generate a focused optical beam (cylindrical lenses focuses the beam into a line) by focusing the source light; and wherein the one or more reflective surfaces (aperture 458A and 458B are made of a metal sheet that is reflective as noted in para. 0040; apertures 58A, 58B, which serve as reflective surfaces for stray light) are configured to reflect portions of the focused optical beam (para. 0040).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the laser projection device of Gorny and Koga with the conical shaped aperture of Kato in order to reduce or prevent reflection of stray light at the inner walls defining the apertures 458A, 458B.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorny et al. (US PG Pub. 20190171095) and Koga et al. (US PG Pub. 20060050248) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Karuzuka et al. (US PG Pub. 20090147224).
Regarding claim 30, Gorny as modified by Koga discloses a laser projector system (Projector 200 comprises a light source—in this example, light source 202 is a bank of laser light sources (e.g., red, green and blue laser light) in which may be transmitted along light fibers 204r, g and b of fig. 2), comprising: an opto-mechanical attenuator (set of irises 206r, g and b of fig. 2) configured to variably attenuate source light directed to an optical output thereof, wherein the source light is a laser beam (para. 0034; light source 202 is a bank of laser light sources (e.g., red, green and blue laser light)), and wherein the one or more reflective surfaces are configured to reflect portions of the optical beam (the irises of fig. 2 reflect a portion of the beam when they are constricted).
Gorny as modified by Koga fails to teach further comprising collimation optics configured to generate a collimated optical beam by collimating the source light.
Karuzuka discloses further comprising collimation optics (collimating lens 2 of fig. 1) configured to generate a collimated optical beam by collimating the source light (laser 1 of fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify lasers of Gorny and Koga with the collimating lenses of Karuzuka in order to transform a naturally diverging beam into a parallel, low-divergence beam that can travel long distances without spreading out.
Conclusion
/DANELL L OWENS/Examiner, Art Unit 2882 24 June 2026
/TOAN TON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2882