DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8 November, 2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “52” has been used to designate both plate and component cover on Figure 6. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation the support bearing at least one component , and the claim 9 also recites the support bearing at least one of the following components which could be a valve or a pump or a non-return valve or a throttle valve or a plate exchanger or a condensation exchanger or an electrical heating resistor or a desiccant bottle or a filter which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner is interpreting the components of claim 9 as separate from the valve or pump of claim 1 in the interest of compact prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1- 4,9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102 (a) (2) as being anticipated by OH et al. (US-20210053415-A1-published 25 February, 2021).
As to claim 1, OH discloses a cooling module (Paragraph 49, integrated thermal management module) comprising: a support (Formed by coupling of the First portion-M1 and second portion-M2) comprising at least one channel for the flow of a heat-transfer fluid (Paragraph 55 mentions module with upper plate and lower plate forming a first portion M1, and a flow path forming between the upper plate and lower plate),
wherein the support bearing at least one component with a fluidic function (P1-P4, V1-V7), wherein the one component with a fluidic function comprises a valve or a pump (Paragraphs 63-67 mentions pumps P1-P4, and valves V1-V5, V7 with a fluidic function that is supported by the first portion M1);
a box (M2) for distribution of the heat-transfer fluid (Paragraph 56 mentions a space formed in the second portion M2 which houses components for distribution of heat transfer fluid),
wherein the box is configured to accommodate at least one heat-exchange component distinct from the component with a fluidic function, and is designed for circulation of a coolant fluid (Paragraph 56 mentions M2 as a space where refrigerant line, first heat exchanger, second heat exchanger may be mounted therein),
wherein the box is designed to permit within its interior an exchange of heat between the heat-transfer fluid and the coolant fluid (M2 is designed to permit heat exchange within its interior through the heat exchangers present inside the space),
wherein the box is formed at least partly by the support (Box-M2 is part of the support which is assembled as a single module by coupling with the first portion M1).
As to claim 2, OH teaches the limitations of claim 1, OH further discloses the cooling module, wherein the support (M1 +M2) comprises a first plate (U) and a second plate (D) assembled to one another in order to define the channel, wherein the plates are joined and forming together a circumference of the channel (Paragraphs 55-57).
As to claim 3, OH teaches the limitations of claim 2, OH further discloses the cooling module, wherein the channel is formed by a first cavity of the first plate and/or a second cavity of the second plate (Paragraph 57).
As to claim 4, OH teaches the limitations of claim 1, OH further discloses the cooling module, wherein the support comprises a single plate designed to bear the component(s) (Claim 3).
As to claim 9, OH teaches the limitations of claim 1, OH further discloses the cooling module, wherein the support is provided with two assembled plates (U-upper plate and D-lower plate, paragraph 56) or a single plate, bears at least one of the following components:
a pump to pump the heat-transfer fluid;
a valve for orientation of the heat-transfer fluid (Paragraph 53 mentions pumps P1, P2, P3, P4 along with valves V1, V2, V3, V4, V5, V7 are configured in a single module to be compactly arranged and may be modularized to be integrally coupled).
As to claim 10, OH teaches the limitations of claim 1, OH further discloses a heat-transfer fluid circuit of a heat pump, comprising the cooling module (Figure 5 illustrates the heat transfer fluid circuit of a heat pump).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over OH et al. (US-20210053415-A1-published 25 February, 2021), and further in view of, WU et al. (US-20230032094-A1-published 2 February, 2023).
As to claim 5, OH teaches the limitations of claim 1, OH further discloses the cooling module, wherein the box (M2)See Annotated Figure OH),
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Lateral wall, with a periphery, wherein the periphery is globally rectangular)]
Annotated Figure (OH)
OH, however, does not disclose that the lateral wall
However, WU teaches the lateral wall comprising a network of reinforcement ribs, wherein the network of ribs comprising ribs which intersect perpendicularly, the reinforcement ribs is provided to improve the impact resistance of the heat exchanger and improve the service life (See Annotated Figure WU 1 and WU 2, Paragraph 29).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Network of reinforcement ribs, wherein the network of ribs comprising ribs which intersect perpendicularly)]
Annotated Figure (WU 1)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify OH, to incorporate the network of reinforcement ribs which intersect perpendicularly to the box- comprising a lateral wall, with a periphery, wherein the periphery is globally rectangular, in order to improve the impact resistance and the service life of the cooling module.
As to claim 6, OH modified by WU teaches the limitations of claim 5, WU further discloses the cooling module, wherein the lateral wall with the support a first plate of the support, wherein the first plate forming a base of the box (Paragraph 26 mentions bottom plate 211 and the four side plates 212 are arranged and connected end to end in sequence, See Annotated Figure WU 2).
OH modified by WU, however, does not teach that the lateral wall is produced integrally with the support.
While OH modified by WU, as stated above, does not provide that the lateral wall is produced integrally with the support, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found producing the lateral wall integrally with the support entirely obvious absent present persuasive evidence that the particular production of the structure is significant. (See MPEP §2144.04 V (B)). Looking at the specification of the present invention, it is recited, “According to one of the aspects of the invention, the box comprises a lateral wall, with a periphery which in particular is globally rectangular, this wall being produced integrally with the support, in particular with the first plate, this plate forming a base of the box”. The specification fails to provide why the lateral wall being produced integrally with the support is critical, and therefore the formation of the box by lateral wall being produced integrally with the support is a matter of design choice, therefore one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify OH as modified by WU, to incorporate the lateral wall being produced integrally with the support, without any new or unexpected results directed to an outcome of the claimed shape, has not placed any criticality thereon.
[AltContent: arrow]As to claim 7, OH modified by WU teaches the limitations of claim 6, WU further discloses the cooling module, wherein the lateral wall comprises a free rim designed to receive a cover (1, See Annotated Figure WU 2).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Free rim designed to receive a cover 1)][AltContent: textbox (Cover)][AltContent: textbox (211 plate forming base of the box)]
Annotated Figure (WU 2)
As to claim 8, OH modified by WU teaches the limitations of claim 5, OH further teaches the cooling module, wherein the lateral wall of the box is added on and secured on the support (See Annotated Figure OH, Paragraph 56 mentions that the second portion box- M2 which has lateral wall is coupled with first portion M1 which implies that the lateral wall of the box is added on and secured on the support).
Conclusion
/BIGYAN BHATTACHAN/
Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763